engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

2024 · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Prices in 2024: 330 Rings Bought That Year

Buyers who bought an engagement ring in 2024 paid a median of $2,000 across 330 purchases, and half paid between $945 and $5,000. That is 21% above the $1,650 median for rings bought in 2023.

$2,000median ring bought in 2024, 330 purchases
65%lab-grown, among buyers who named the stone
$2,375lab-grown diamond ring (158)
$6,975natural diamond ring (24)
$444median price per carat of a loose lab-grown stone (135)

Rings bought in 2024, by center stone

A loose lab-grown diamond cost a median $444 per carat in 2024, 40% below the $737 of 2023.

Center stoneRingsMedianMiddle halfMedian carat
Natural diamond24$6,975$2,000 to $15,0001.5 ct
Lab-grown diamond158$2,375$1,500 to $4,5003 ct
Moissanite43$372$56 to $7003 ct DEW
Sapphire8$4,250$1,500 to $8,600–
Other gemstone5$85$30 to $1,200–
Diamond, lab or natural not said23$1,200$350 to $4,0001.28 ct

Every ring bought in 2024

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$1No stone (plain band)–––2024A $1 silicone ring from a multipack at the discount retailer Ross, worn on principle instead of a traditional diamond ring
$2Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024A thrift-store placeholder ring used for the proposal itself, not the real ring
$3No stone (plain band)–––2024A $3 beaded ring used for the proposal itself, later replaced by a ring picked out together
$14Moissanite–––2024Very cheap 1ct solitaire used for the proposal; passed as real and got compliments, even an insurance question
$15––––2024Not marketed as an engagement ring, but used as an inexpensive placeholder for the proposal before designing the real ring together
$20Other gemstone–––2024Cheap CZ ring used to propose; picked real rings together later during the engagement, price not given
$21Moissanite––other2024Worn for over two years by the time of this post; often mistaken for an antique ring given her vintage style
$25Moissanite–emeraldother20244ct emerald-cut moissanite pave ring in S925 silver, bought via an AliExpress SuperDeal discount
$25Moissanite–radiantother2024Same buyer also bought the radiant-cut version of the same ring at the same discounted price
$30Other gemstone–––2024Sterling silver cubic zirconia placeholder ring while saving for the real thing.
$35Moissanite–radiantother2024Gold-plated silver radiant moissanite ring from an AliExpress seller; the same design in solid gold costs far more
$36Moissanite–roundother2024Thin sterling silver setting, bought at writer's own request
$40Moissanite–––2024Cheap sterling-silver placeholder e-ring bought to test the style before buying a pricier version later
$40No stone (plain band)–––2024Silicone ring used as the engagement ring itself
$40––––2024Wears this instead since the original ring couldn't be resized
$40Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Cheap solitaire bought just to test stone carat sizes on her finger before ordering a real ring
$40Moissanite––other2024Sterling silver moissanite ring; later upgraded and passed it to her daughter
$43Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Fiancé (unfamiliar with US ring-spending norms) proposed with a $43 ring, about 1/100th of his monthly salary; the person asking considering a $2-3k ring for herself
$49Moissanite–ovalother2024925 sterling silver band; 2-carat oval option cost more than the base listing price
$50Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024One of three placeholder rings bought over a year to test cuts and settings before the real ring, about $50 each
$50Moissanite–––2024Gift from boyfriend, bought while the ring was on sale at roughly this price
$50––––2024Placeholder department-store ring worn after selling a custom silver ring he disliked from his own proposal
$56Moissanite––other2024Sterling silver 1ct moissanite travel ring.
$75Natural diamond–otheryellow gold2024Estate/pawn ring, 14k gold with small diamonds and emeralds; marked down from $500 to $100 after a stone fell out, $75 final with a Black Friday deal and tax; he swapped in his own pink sapphires
$75––––2024Inexpensive ring that looked far pricier than it was; later lost
$85Other gemstone–––2024Bought a ring marketed as moissanite from Amazon seller Moisland for $85; tested as glass or cubic zirconia (fake); returned it
$89Moissanite–emerald–2024Bought the same reviewed Tianyu emerald-cut ring on sale in a smaller size, a year after the original review
$100––––2024Original ring couldn't be resized
$135––––2024Writer wasn't fully certain, estimated it cost around this
$150––––2024Paid to have a new ring made after the original was lost or swapped in shipping; awaiting delivery
$175Sapphire–––2024Chose sapphire over diamond
$189Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Picked out and bought her own ring; her partner paid her back after his next payday since both were only working part-time
$200––––2024No negative comments received about the ring.
$200Moissanite––yellow gold2024Custom recreation of a photographed ring via an Alibaba seller; 18k gold, cost is approximate per writer
$200Moissanite–radiant–2024Crushed-ice radiant-cut moissanite ring bought off AliExpress, described as very shiny
$200Moissanite––gold2024Moissanite solitaire bought on Amazon in 14k gold; thinks the asker's roughly $300 sterling silver ring is a bit pricey for the material
$211Moissanite––other202420ct champagne/gold moissanite with zircon side stones in 925 silver, bought during an 11.11 sale; one microscopic nick on the girdle
$240Moissanite––gold2024Bought this ring design from GemOdes on Etsy in 14k gold, loves it
$290No stone (plain band)––other2024Covers a matching pair of tungsten carbide rings for both partners, bought when writer proposed
$291Moissanite–emeraldyellow gold20249x11mm 5 ct emerald-cut moissanite in 10k yellow gold, cathedral setting with 2mm band, called an impulse-buy steal
$300Moissanite––other2024Sterling silver band
$350––––2024Fiance's spend given as $300-400; midpoint used.
$350Moissanite–––2024Dream ring bought overseas; writer's favorite vendors were GoldenBird and Kuololit
$350Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold202414k gold ring the writer calls both her engagement and wedding ring; simple design, worn daily about a year and a half
$360Moissanite–––2024Custom order shared as an example ring, 6 prongs and specific band thickness, ordered July 25 and received August 12
$372Moissanite––yellow gold2024Custom 3-stone high-dome rose cut, 10k yellow gold; plus $30 FedEx shipping and $12 AliExpress fee, about $414 total
$400Moissanite––platinum2024AliExpress ring marketed as platinum, bought on sale with coupons (normal price $700-1000); jewelers here suspect it's really rhodium-plated silver, arrived scratched with plating spots
$425Moissanite–cushionyellow gold2024Custom 10k gold cushion moissanite ring with lab sapphire and garnet accents; shipping included in price
$500Lab-grown diamond0.95 ctoval–2024Ordered a 0.95ct oval ring from an affordable lab diamond vendor for $500
$500Moissanite–cushiongold20243ct elongated cushion moissanite with hidden halo and accent stones on the band, 10k gold
$500Moissanite–––2024Husband proposed with an Etsy moissanite ring; couple picked it out together
$500Lab-grown diamond0.2 ctovalgold202410k gold band with a small oval lab diamond; writer says it's exactly what she wanted
$500––––2024Writer's own ring, deliberately chose a cheaper option and found a reputable Etsy jeweler
$500Lab-grown diamond1.07 ct–rose gold202414k rose gold ring with a halo and pave setting, bought around Black Friday
$500Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ct–gold2024Bought a couple years before the comment, before gold prices rose
$550––––2024Writer picked options under $300 but fiancee likely paid roughly double; actual ring was $500-600
$600Moissanite–asscheryellow gold202418K yellow gold custom elongated asscher, GH moissanite, 8x6.5mm, made by Ella at Tianyu; one of two test settings on a size 5 finger
$600Moissanite––white gold2024Bought via WhatsApp seller Lucy; also bought lab diamond earrings separately for $570
$600Moissanite–––2024Custom design via a well-reviewed Chinese jeweler found through an online group and Alibaba; bought pre-tariffs
$600Lab-grown diamond1 ctroundtwo tone20241.0ct G lab old-European-cut solitaire, 10k white gold prongs on a 10k yellow gold shank; stone didn't match vendor's example photos/videos, refund dispute in progress
$667Lab-grown diamond1.32 ctradiant–2024Price matched a $340 stone listing (vs RC's own $1320) down to this total in a plain setting
$693Lab-grown diamond2.03 ctovalwhite gold20242.03ct oval G/VS1 lab diamond (IGI) from Luvansh, $330, set into a 50-year-old family setting; $363 more for new bezel/prongs, resize, rhodium plating.
$700Moissanite–asscheryellow gold202418K yellow gold custom elongated asscher, GH moissanite, 9x7.5mm; larger of two test settings from the same maker
$700Moissanite–emeraldgold2024Hidden-halo setting in 10k gold; fiance researched options carefully due to student-loan budget worries; no one notices it isn't mined
$700Moissanite–ovalrose gold2024Custom rep-made moissanite ring from a China-based maker; wrong ring arrived in the mail, dispute ongoing
$700Moissanite–ovaltwo tone202418k rose gold band with 18k white gold head, hidden halo, engraving included; total with shipping
$760Lab-grown diamond2.17 ct–yellow gold20242.17ct lab diamond solitaire, 14k yellow gold stock setting; bought last year, prices have since risen
$800Moissanite––white gold2024Fiancé bought it on Etsy at writer's request to keep the price down
$800Moissanite––white gold2024Two-carat moissanite set in white gold
$800––––2024Bought secondhand through an Etsy resale listing, saving about $1,000 off the original price
$850Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Custom engagement ring made by Starsgem (rep Tracy) with a 2ct lab diamond, about two years before the comment; expects it costs more now
$892Moissanite–––2024Paid a $700 quote plus $192 for a CAD redesign on a custom halo ring; delivered ring's halo stone count/size didn't match the approved CAD
$900––––2024Partner's wedding band bought separately; writer's own band not added yet
$900Lab-grown diamond1.04 ct––2024$900 all-in for a 1.04ct IGI D VVS2 excellent-cut diamond with a 1.6mm band; upgraded from a big-box-store ring, more compliments in 2 months than in 2 years with the old one
$900Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearwhite gold2024Hidden-halo solitaire setting from Starsgem; stone-setting labor still to be paid separately
$900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold20241.5ct lab solitaire bought via an internet ad; same ring was marked 2999 in store
$945Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctroundgold2024Bought through writer's own wholesaler; she contrasts it with an earlier, pricier earth-mined diamond she now regrets
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Picked from about 15 rings she liked priced $500-1,500; he chose one within that budget, exact price not given
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Chose a small, low-profile classic ring around $1,000 instead of something bigger and pricier
$1,000Moissanite–emerald–20241ct emerald cut moissanite with tapered baguette side stones; writer called this vendor pricier than some others
$1,000Natural diamond2.28 ct–white gold20242.28 total carats of diamonds in 14k white gold from a pawn shop, likely mispriced; appraised over $4,000 to replace
$1,000Sapphire–––2024Writer wasn't fully sure of the exact price, estimated around this figure
$1,000–––other2024Fiance ordered white gold but the vendor shipped sterling silver instead and would not properly fix it
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold202414k solitaire band, stone set by an overseas jeweler, bought recently
$1,000Moissanite–marquise–2024Writer corrected an earlier $800 estimate to the exact $1000 price
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctpear–20241ct pear solitaire, a loose diamond set in a custom-made setting; wedding band cost more than the ring itself
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Upgrade bought in-store at a steep markup vs online prices
$1,012Lab-grown diamond2.13 ctovalgold2024East-west bezel oval; 14k setting custom made in China, local jeweler charged $30 extra to set the stone
$1,040Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Bought a 2ct lab diamond center stone from Loose Grown Diamond and commissioned a 14kt semi-mount with two 6mm side stones from overseas maker Provence
$1,095Natural diamond0.67 ct–platinum20241939 platinum ring with a 2/3ct center stone bought at an antique mall on a tighter budget; described as a Cartier-style tank ring
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Loose stone from loosegrowndiamond, custom 14k setting made by Provence over WhatsApp; total of 1100 includes a setting fee beyond the 300 setting cost
$1,100Diamond, lab or natural not said–pearplatinum2024Used Stonealgo to find the stone; almost 5ct pear in platinum, all-in price, exact weight not given
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.4 ctroundgold2024Hearts-and-arrows cut round diamond; same vendor custom-made a 10k gold setting with lab diamond accents
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––20242.5 carat stone, setting and setting labor, bought a couple of years ago when gold prices were lower
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2024Custom ring: center stone sold as ruby, accents sold as lab diamonds and opals; later assessed as possibly CZ/glass and sapphire, dispute ongoing
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.18 ctemerald–2024Emerald cut solitaire engagement ring; buyer praised craftsmanship and the buying experience
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.18 ct––2024Whole ring including setting, bought using a promo code; writer loves the ring
$1,200––––2024Bought on a Valentine's Day sale
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–platinum2024Stone type not specified in the reply
$1,200Other gemstone1 ct––2024Chose non-diamond stones; 1 carat is stated as total weight, not one center stone
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2024A separate lab diamond ring bought about a year before this comment for $1200; writer believes it could still sell for close to that
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2024Lab diamond kept the price down
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2 ct–yellow gold20242ct diamond in 18k yellow gold custom made overseas in China for $1,200 in July 2024
$1,250Lab-grown diamond3.23 ctcushion–2024Elongated cushion cut in a simple solitaire setting
$1,280Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionyellow gold2024Bought a 4ct cushion lab diamond via an estate-auction site, then had an Etsy maker build a custom 14k yellow gold setting for it; her 4th piece from that maker
$1,300Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct––2024Stone alone about 750, ring with setting 1300
$1,300Lab-grown diamond6.03 ct–gold20246.03ct G VS1 lab diamond ring with 14k gold setting, cited after the person asking found a similar 6.5ct stone listed for $12,642 elsewhere
$1,300Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctround–2024Stone was $700, band brought the whole ring to $1300; vendor sent video and photos before purchase
$1,300––––2024Ring originally listed at $3k, bought on sale for $1300; partner had wanted to spend up to $5k
$1,390Lab-grown diamond5.54 ctovaltwo tone2024Set in a mixed 10k gold and platinum setting
$1,400––––2024Custom ring made through CustomMade.com, cheaper than a comparable ready-made ring
$1,400Lab-grown diamond3.56 ctemeraldplatinum2024One of several rings made last year
$1,400––ovalyellow gold2024Paid about $1000 less than the asker's $2400 ring for an oval bezel just over 1ct, 14k yellow gold setting
$1,421Lab-grown diamond2.77 ctround–2024Setting custom made in China for $370, plus $150 for a local jeweler to set the diamond into it
$1,440Lab-grown diamond5.11 ctovalyellow gold2024Stone $1,100 with a 15% Labor Day sale + $340 custom 14k gold setting; separate $150 paid to a local jeweler to set the stone.
$1,450Lab-grown diamond–––2024Ordered a similar fancy vivid blue stone/ring from an online lab-diamond vendor for this price
$1,450Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctround–20242.75ct round lab diamond, Triple Excellent grading, set in a 14kt white gold six-claw prong setting; kept the 2019 natural ring for sentiment
$1,450Lab-grown diamond3.51 ct–white gold2024For his wife; 14k white gold, super ideal cut; chose Brilliance over Luvansh on specs; says both pieces in his photo came to just under 3,000
$1,500Lab-grown diamond5.25 ctheartwhite gold20245.25 total carat weight (cttw) Fire Light lab diamond heart ring, 14K white gold, described as near-colorless VS-range clarity; bought secondhand at an estate sale
$1,500Natural diamond1.01 ct–white gold2024Custom CAD-designed 18K white gold ring with a hand-picked salt-and-pepper diamond, made in Thailand and imported to the US; appraised for insurance
$1,500––––2024Writer still feels it was too much, compared with others spending $10k+
$1,500Natural diamond0.68 ct–gold2024Bought this 18k gold .68ct natural diamond ring secondhand for $1500; appraised recently at $1900
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval–2024Stone from Ritani, setting made by a popular sub vendor, assembled by a local jeweler
$1,500––––2024Vintage ring bought in mid-20s; a friend couple spent about the same on a custom lab ring
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold2024Second engagement ring, 14k gold setting
$1,500––––2024Upgrade bought late last year; declined a 7k ring he offered; household income about 250k/year
$1,550Lab-grown diamond1.79 ctroundyellow gold2024Ordered a 1.79ct lab diamond in a six-prong trellis 14k yellow gold setting for a price comparable to a forum-linked ~$1550 example; later hit a shipping delay from India
$1,587Lab-grown diamond3.56 ctovalyellow gold2024Bought a 3.56ct oval lab diamond in a 14k yellow gold setting about a year before this 2025 comment
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.44 ct––2024Stone plus a local jeweler's fee to set it, total for stone and setting
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1 ct––20243-stone upgrade ring, 1ct lab-grown center plus two 0.5ct side stones, replacing the original opal ring after 7 years
$1,600Lab-grown diamond2.15 ct––2024Stone bought online from Luvansh, then set by a local jeweler; other buyers flagged Luvansh as heavily advertised with mixed reviews
$1,650Lab-grown diamond1.89 ctoval–2024Suggested as a much cheaper alternative to the Jared quote
$1,683Lab-grown diamond2.15 ct–gold2024Fancy intense orangey pink lab diamond via a group order, $620/carat plus $350 for a 10k gold setting, no taxes or shipping fees
$1,699Lab-grown diamond2.94 ctmarquise–202418kt setting with hidden halo, replacing an earlier Luvansh ring; being made to order at time of posting
$1,700Lab-grown diamond–––2024Engagement ring; GIA report matched the lab diamond center stone; figures approximate after a diamond swap and band size change
$1,710Lab-grown diamond4 ctradiantplatinum2024Recreated a $35k natural-diamond estate ring look; discounted center stone from Rockher, custom platinum setting with tsavorite and lab-diamond side stones from Fayjewelry, center stone mounted by a local jeweler
$1,795Lab-grown diamond4.13 ctpear–2024IGI inscription checked under a loupe and matched the paperwork after early fears of being scammed
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Setting and lab diamond bought together from a family-owned jewelry business
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum20245ct G VS2 pear diamond set in platinum, all-in price for a deal found via StoneAlgo; writer calls it their dream ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundyellow gold2024Custom order, used a LAB30 coupon; original price before discount was about $2,300; setting cost more than the stone
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctemeraldplatinum2024Lab diamond bought 2024, mounted in platinum with lab diamond side stones; stone alone would cost far less today but mounting rose
$1,815––––2024Custom designed with a $150-off coupon applied
$1,845Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctovalgold202418k gold split cathedral setting with double prongs, customized and seen in person before deciding
$1,895Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–platinum2024Center stone lab-grown; 0.3ct natural diamond side stones bring the total to 3.37ct; bought secondhand with eBay authentication
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Picked a 2-carat lab-grown stone; buyer says nice rings don't have to be expensive
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion–202420-year anniversary upgrade to an elongated 2ct cushion-cut diamond from a local North Jersey jeweler; original heirloom ring kept to alternate wearing.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–white gold2024Just bought: 2ct lab engagement ring with side diamonds in 14k white gold, about 2k all in
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Three-stone ring with all-lab stones from a family-owned jewelry store; buyer said gold cost was the biggest expense
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctoval–2024Paid in the low $2,000s for a custom design after two earlier ring attempts with a different jeweler didn't feel right; came with a free lab diamond necklace thrown in
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Approximate amount, not exact; says a natural equivalent would have run $10k-$15k.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct––20244ct diamond in a solitaire setting; writer called it beautiful, stone type not stated but price implies lab-grown
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.07 ctradiantgold2024Radiant cut with hidden halo and pave side stones, 14k gold setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctpearwhite gold20245.08ct lab pear set in 14k white gold, purchased the December before the post, total around $2,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctprincess–2024Kite-set princess cut; added a lifetime warranty for a bit extra covering stone loss; worn daily at a bartending job for almost a year with prongs still secure
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Had Ouros duplicate the design of a $75k antique old mine cut halo ring seen online; no issues since purchase.
$2,000Natural diamond–round–2024Final stone chosen after narrowing down from a $2,000-2,500 budget toward a smaller, better-color round diamond; exact final carat/color not stated
$2,000Natural diamond1.3 ctmarquiseplatinum2024Vintage 1940s-50s-style platinum marquise ring (about 11x5.6mm) bought with a bonus ring guard for about $2,000, well under other vintage marquise prices seen
$2,075Lab-grown diamond1.36 ct––2024Local jeweler built a custom setting around a picked-out 1.36ct lab diamond, sent a 3D preview video first
$2,100Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctovalwhite gold202414k white gold solitaire, ring still being made/shipped at time of comment; similar rings elsewhere cost over $4k
$2,109–3.08 ctradiant–202414kt pave setting radiant solitaire; later replaced with a marquise stone from a different vendor
$2,120Lab-grown diamond3.03 ct–platinum2024Includes 2x1ct total weight blue diamond side stones
$2,146Lab-grown diamond2.44 ctcushionplatinum2024Ordered stone from Luvansh, set at Jared with baguettes using a gift card
$2,150Lab-grown diamond–oval–20242.15ct-range oval recommended by a sales concierge; still deciding whether to keep it or exchange within the return window
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctpear–2024Recent purchase; the person asking asked the community whether the total price was a good deal
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said1.2 ctprincessplatinum2024Wrote asking for opinions but had already bought it before posting; buyers urged a return for lower color/higher clarity instead
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said2.02 ctroundwhite gold2024Super ideal cut; white gold shared-prong setting with 10 accent diamonds; stone origin not stated
$2,200Lab-grown diamond––gold2024Large, eye-catching stone bought as a bucket-list item, described as a temporary ring, set in 18k gold
$2,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctoval–2024Bought around Christmas, arrived in February; had customer-service and shipping issues but the ring itself was praised
$2,300Lab-grown diamond–––2024Engagement ring bought from Raad Jewelers, no stone specs given besides a photo
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald–2024Emerald-cut center from Brilliance.com; site was running 30% off lab diamonds at the time
$2,400Diamond, lab or natural not said1.28 ct––2024Stone, setting and everything included; bought during a Black Friday sale, would cost more now
$2,450Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctroundplatinum2024Paid a little over $1,100 for a Hearts & Arrows round stone plus $1,350 for a custom platinum setting, bought in March
$2,465Lab-grown diamond5.09 ctemeraldyellow gold20245.09ct emerald cut I/VS1 IGI lab diamond in 14k yellow gold, bought on a 10% off sale with a custom setting fee for the larger stone; about 4 weeks to arrive
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–––2024Current, much larger lab diamond ring said to cost about 1/4 of the original $10k natural wedding set.
$2,500Lab-grown diamond4.66 ct–rose gold2024Main 4.66ct stone plus DEF VS1 tapered baguette side stones sourced separately, totaling about 5.5ct; appraisal cost not included
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–oval–2024A similar cathedral-style setting but with a lab diamond instead of moissanite, all-in price, still being made
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctovalgold202418k gold band with accent diamonds; a local jeweler confirmed it was a real lab diamond
$2,600Lab-grown diamond5.82 ct–gold202410k gold setting; separate ~200 setting fee estimated, still pending at time of comment
$2,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalwhite gold2024Out-the-door price, bought this week
$2,600Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Shopped around to find this stone-plus-setting price point at a local jeweler
$2,700Lab-grown diamond–––2024Custom lab ring quoted at $5,500 when designed in Dec 2022; price had fallen by the time they actually bought it a few months before this 2024 comment
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.17 ctprincesswhite gold202418k white gold setting; writer feels they overpaid
$2,760Lab-grown diamond2.02 ct–gold2024Stone bought earlier in the year, custom bezel setting made locally; prices have since dropped
$2,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Set price for diamond plus setting from a small local jeweler; a buyer guessed roughly 3ct G VS2 excellent radiant in 14k white gold from price-matching, not confirmed by the person asking
$2,800Lab-grown diamond––gold2024Custom-made by a local jeweler in 14k gold with lab diamonds because retail chains didn't have the style; $500 commission plus a $500 ring holder brought the total spent to $3,800
$2,800Lab-grown diamond3.67 ct––2024Custom piece; 3.67 is total carat weight (ctw) across stones, not a single center stone
$2,800––––2024Bought on sale, slightly over original budget; also paid for insurance
$2,947Lab-grown diamond3.47 ctradiantwhite gold2024Bought in early 2024; writer thinks it would be cheaper now
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.52 ctradiant–2024College-budget solitaire, radiant cut, for a size-4.5 finger; simple band left room for her planned two wedding bands.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2024Replacement ring ordered from Delicate Gem for $3,000 total (band and diamond), bigger and better quality than the returned Jared's ring
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4.45 ct––2024Upgraded ring bought via a lab-diamond marketplace; writer's original ring was natural
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Fiancé's ring represented several months of savings; stone type (lab or natural) not stated
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5.01 ct––20245.01ct center stone ring, total price approximate
$3,000Moissanite–––2024Custom-made 3ct moissanite; writer estimates an equivalent diamond ring would have cost about $15k
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–white gold2024Upgraded from a smaller 20-year-old ring; 2.51ct F VS1 ideal-cut CVD lab diamond on a 14k white gold tulip setting, 2mm band
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.02 ct––20243-stone ring, 1.02ct center with two 0.25ct side stones, boyfriend paid $3,200 total
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctpear–2024Bezel setting, described as super comfortable to wear
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.24 ct–white gold2024Custom design made low-set to avoid spinning while playing piano
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctradiant–2024Bought for a girlfriend not yet proposed to; diamond $2,250, setting custom-made from a Frank Darling-inspired design, total out the door about $3,500; jeweler also price-matched an earlier Ritani quote
$3,500Sapphire3.36 ctroundgold2024Self-designed 3.36ct natural Ceylon sapphire with 3 round + 1 marquise diamond side stones; sapphire bought loose at an Asia gem expo, setting made by a local jeweller
$3,500Lab-grown diamond4.22 ctcushion–2024Elongated cushion stone bought online, then custom set locally for about $1,000
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum2024Price-matched a StoneAlgo lab report number for $2,000 off; total includes a care plan
$3,582Lab-grown diamond4.35 ctradiant–2024Radiant solitaire, stone and setting bought together from this online lab diamond vendor
$3,600Lab-grown diamond4 ctemerald–20244-carat lab emerald cut, GIA certified
$3,900Lab-grown diamond4.66 ct–platinum2024Sourced the diamond from Ritani after a bait-and-switch mishap over a smaller stone, then had it set separately in solid platinum
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold20243ct marquise lab diamond with a simple gold band and 6-prong setting; stone was $3,400 of the $4,000 total
$4,000Moissanite–cushiongold2024Custom hand-cut antique elongated cushion moissanite from a domestic maker; $2,000 stone, $1,200 design/CAD/manufacturing, $800 hand engraving
$4,000Lab-grown diamond7 ctemeraldwhite gold2024Chubbier emerald ratio, bezel setting, 3mm band
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Near-flawless, colorless lab diamond; writer says about $3k possible with a simpler setting
$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–oval–2024$3.2k for the certified stone alone, $4k total for the finished pave ring with hidden halo
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2024Stone from a wholesale site; David Klass made a matching setting and 1ct eternity band, hidden halo, about $4k total including the diamond
$4,100Lab-grown diamond4.5 ctmarquise–2024Marquise lab diamond engagement ring for fiancee bought online; buyers called the cut strong for the price but warned resale value would drop sharply
$4,100Other gemstone7.6 ct––2024Replacement ring after losing the original; stone and setting billed separately; stone arrived with an inclusion despite being advertised as loupe clean
$4,100Lab-grown diamond5.68 ctradiantwhite gold2024Bought early in the prior year; diamonds set into the band
$4,200Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Bought a similar ring, 3.5 total carat weight with a 3ct center, calling it similar to the asker's Helzberg quote
$4,300Lab-grown diamond1.63 ctother–2024Custom elongated-hexagon lab diamond ring, 2.29ct total weight with accent stones; price included appraisal and laser-mounting; other jewelers quoted almost $4,000 for the center stone alone
$4,500–4.5 ctoval–2024Ordered via text and video call from out of state; contrasted with a worse Jared quote for the same size
$4,500Lab-grown diamond–––2024Was a big financial stretch at the time; partner rarely wears it, prefers a cheaper fashion ring
$4,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Fiance bought it; worn daily for 2 years in a manual manufacturing job with no scratches, dents or loose stones
$4,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Lab-grown diamond engagement ring, about 4 months old; identical-spec natural stone quoted at $12,900 for comparison
$4,800Lab-grown diamond8 ct–platinum2024Self-bought 8ct lab-created diamond ring in platinum with a hidden diamond halo, a few weeks before this comment
$4,800Lab-grown diamond8.11 ctemeraldplatinum2024Hidden-halo platinum setting; found the vendor through Stonealgo
$4,800Lab-grown diamond9.25 ct––2024Custom ring with radiant center and tapered baguettes; 9.25ct is the total stone weight, not just the center stone
$4,900Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctcushion–2024Ten-year upgrade, elongated cushion (1.3 ratio) lab stone plus setting and tax; kids' birthstones set inside the band.
$5,000Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct––20245k lab-grown diamond engagement ring (1.3ct) with a certificate; mother calls it fake since her own natural ring cost 20k
$5,000Natural diamond1 ct–gold2024Fully custom engagement ring with natural 1ct champagne center stone and natural accent stones, 14k gold; jeweler focused on comfort and durability
$5,000Lab-grown diamond2.15 ctradiant–2024The asker's own ring; chose lab-grown for a bigger stone that fits her larger fingers on a reasonable budget
$5,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum2024Just over $5k for a platinum 1.5ct lab diamond ring that would have cost over $20k natural; also got free pearl and diamond jewelry with the purchase
$5,000––––2024Boyfriend budgeted about $3k after hint-dropping but the ring ended up closer to $5k once sales tax was included
$5,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Conflict-free lab grown diamond
$5,000Lab-grown diamond8 ct––2024Ring with hidden pave halo, price per carat implies lab-grown, used as comparison against the asker's quote
$5,000Sapphire1.5 ct––2024Custom two-stone ring: a Montana sapphire with inclusions (kept cost down) paired with a lab diamond, each ~1.5ct, plus lab diamond accents; deposit placed
$5,000Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald–2024Ten-year upgrade; jeweler first quoted $10k for the 5ct emerald HPHT stone, buyer negotiated down to $5k by citing a friend's lower price for a similar stone
$5,100Lab-grown diamond3.62 ctround–20243.62ct round stone cost $4.1k after tax plus $1k for the band; says the asker's deal isn't bad if the band is included
$5,200––––2024Put a deposit down on a ring after switching from a disappointing Frank Darling appointment that same day; final all-in price was more than expected but felt worth it
$5,200Lab-grown diamond2.57 ct–yellow gold202418k yellow gold ring with 2x0.5ct trapezoid side stones; being returned after vendor sent 14k gold instead of 18k and skipped the paid engraving
$5,200Lab-grown diamond4.02 ct–platinum2024Bought Feb 2024, side trapezoids 0.80ct each; jeweler has done about 10 pieces for the writer
$5,200Lab-grown diamond4 ct–platinum2024Bought secondhand after a divorce, with authenticity papers verified by a jeweler; total weight 5.9ct including small accents
$5,500Lab-grown diamond6 ctradiantgold20246ct E VVS1 radiant lab diamond bought loose for $4,000 with a 30% coupon; a jeweler's 18k gold hidden-halo setting brought the total to about $5,500
$5,500Lab-grown diamond4.2 ctovalgold202418k gold custom 3-stone ring: 4.2ct lab-grown oval center; side-stone size still being disputed after CAD looked oversized; store's first custom order
$6,000––––2024Writer wanted to cap it at $2k but partner pushed for more
$6,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Budget set before shopping; engaged 2 months before comment; ring drew 20+ compliments from strangers
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.8 ctcushionplatinum2024Writer's own ring, two 0.3ct trillion side stones, custom nearly-1oz platinum setting
$6,000Natural diamond1 ctpear–20241-carat antique pear-cut diamond from Andria Barbone, found for far less than the 25k+ versions of the same style; buyer says it looks larger than its weight
$6,000–4 ctprincess–2024Hidden halo setting, pave band, like the asker's ring
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Bought a 2.5ct lab diamond ring about 2 years before this 2026 comment
$6,400Natural diamond1 ctemeraldgold20241ct emerald-cut, dual-graded diamond bought at Costco ($4,600 w/tax); local jeweler built a custom 14k gold bezel setting for $1,800, net of trading in the ring's original platinum Costco mounting
$6,500Natural diamond1.3 ct––2024Antique c.1890s 18k gold ring bought from a curator in spring 2024; stone weight estimated 1.2-1.4ct from the setting, not unmounted
$6,700Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum2024Elongated cushion cut center; setting includes two 1ct side stones; done remotely with videos, not yet delivered
$6,700Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum20244ct elongated cushion center with 1ct E VS1 cushion side stones each, total 6ct in the piece
$6,700Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum20246-carat-total wedding anniversary upgrade: 4ct E VS1 elongated cushion center with two 1ct E VS1 elongated cushion side stones, platinum setting, bought remotely from NYC jeweler Harry at Delicate Gem
$6,738Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctroundplatinum2024Bought the rough 4.42ct HPHT lab stone for $2,970, paid Southwest Diamond Cutters (Ashley) $2,317.50 to recut it down to 4.01ct, plus a $1,450 platinum David Klass setting; reselling because the recut stone wears too big
$6,950Natural diamond2.5 ct–yellow gold20242.5ct natural M/VS2 GIA diamond from Brilliance $6,200, appraised near quadruple that; mounted with an 18k yellow gold band bought on eBay for about $750
$7,000––––2024The asker's own engagement ring, wedding was five months out at the time of posting
$7,000Sapphire–––2024Custom non-traditional design with a sapphire center stone instead of diamond; engagement fell through and the person asking is now trying to sell it
$7,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum202418th-anniversary upgrade; lab elongated cushion custom-set into a platinum three-stone ring; diamond ~$3.5-4k, setting from $3.1k, total under $7k
$7,000––––2024More than writer expected her partner to spend
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Paid around $7,000 for a 3-carat lab diamond from a local jeweler; comparable specs looked pricier online
$7,000Natural diamond2 ctemerald–2024Ordered a 2ct emerald natural diamond, IGI-graded H/SI2 after asking for SI1; trapezoid setting; certificate approved but photos never provided and vendor's customer service was poor
$7,000Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctcushionyellow gold2024Fiance's ring, bought from a local jeweler in November 2024, likely above market
$7,500Lab-grown diamond–––2024Custom crushed-ice-look center stone; ordered Oct 2024, took until April 2025 to arrive
$7,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Small, lower-quality diamond ring bought at Jared's for $7,500; later returned
$7,500––––2024Married the year before the comment; wishes they had spent less since she rarely wears jewelry
$7,965Natural diamond1.51 ctradiantplatinum2024Custom platinum split-shank build with hidden 58-diamond halo; $7,980 all in with tax; total stone weight 2.07 ct with melee
$8,050Lab-grown diamond10 ctovalwhite gold202410-ct oval lab diamond in a thin white-gold band; later returned partly over durability and practicality concerns
$8,300Natural diamond1 ctroundplatinum2024Platinum halo pave setting; buyer weighing a return within the 30-day window to try a different vendor
$8,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–rose gold2024Custom 1.5ct pinkish-brown GIA-graded lab diamond halo with 28 champagne side stones in rose gold; now regrets the style
$8,500Lab-grown diamond5.78 ct–platinum2024Buyer's partner paid this for a diamond in the same platinum setting style as the asker's ring, cited as a value comparison
$8,600Sapphire–ovalplatinum2024Custom-designed natural green Montana sapphire with diamond accents, made by an independent local jeweler; came in a bit under his original ~$9k estimate
$9,000––––2024Setting changed last year, raising the total to a little over $9k
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3.74 ctradiant–2024Custom-made 3.74ct D/VVS2 lab radiant diamond in an invisible/floating halo setting; comes with a lifetime warranty
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3.32 ctovalplatinum2024Total ring with platinum setting came to about $10k after tax; chose a nicer stone than first shown
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctroundplatinum2024Round brilliant lab diamond on platinum with ~10 melee stones and engraving; called a lot to pay for a lab
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–round–2024GIA diamond deposit paid via Dubai vendor; forum flagged sloppy cut (42.5% pavilion); ~$10k all-in incl. band; $2200 deposit at risk if he backs out.
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design; paid a $5k non-refundable deposit toward the $10.5k total for the ~3.3ct size they chose; buyers said it was overpriced
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design and setting from a small local jeweler; paid a non-refundable $5k deposit, about half the total, before work started
$10,800Natural diamond1.52 ctovalwhite gold2024Price includes the 18k white gold setting shown; still needs to be set and sized
$11,000––––2024Got engaged under two weeks before commenting; had to research to understand why the ring cost that much
$11,000––––2024Diamond picked out together, ring being made at time of comment
$11,500Natural diamond2.02 ctovalgold20242.02ct J SI1 oval with strong blue fluorescence in a custom 18k ring; several buyers called it overpriced for the specs
$12,000–3.1 ctemerald–2024Original online diamond order (about $12k) couldn't be returned; a local jeweler with a family tie did an even swap for a 3.10ct emerald-cut stone instead.
$12,000Natural diamond1.7 ct––20241.7ct I-color stone cost $10,400; $12k all-in with a pave band setting
$13,000––––2024Couple designed the ring together with the exact stones wanted
$15,000Natural diamond2 ctradiantwhite gold2024HPHT color-treated natural radiant, hidden halo, white gold head; jeweler had not verbally disclosed the treatment, and the setting was called flimsy, so the person asking decided to return it
$15,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–platinum2024Platinum setting
$15,000––––2024Writer says she likes wearing nice jewelry
$16,000Sapphire5.3 ct–white gold202418k white gold ring with natural diamonds and a 5.3ct natural heated royal-blue sapphire, made by a jeweler friend for the writer's mother
$17,000––––2024Engagement ring only; total for ring plus both wedding bands together was about $20k
$17,000Natural diamond1.5 ctoval–2024First upgrade, oval cut
$18,000Natural diamond–––2024Bought the previous December; partner specifically wanted a natural diamond
$20,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Paid close to this after getting a much higher Tiffany quote for a similarly sized stone
$20,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Writer spent about $20k on lab-grown diamond jewelry this year despite worrying prices could fall further next year
$21,000Lab-grown diamond–radiantplatinum2024Stone alone from JannPaul cost $15k last fall; mounting it in platinum will add about $6k more, not yet done
$25,000––––2024Just spent this on the ring; household income 300k, fiance needed convincing to feel okay about it
$28,000––––2024Destination wedding for 40 people with multiple events
$32,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.52 ct––2024Custom brick-and-mortar build; paid premium for 1-on-1 design service, compared BN/JA/BE prices first; appraised at $43,100 by Pacific Gemological Laboratory
$32,500Natural diamond–––2024NYC independent jeweler matched a diamond (color, clarity, triple excellent, no fluorescence) Tiffany had listed at $65k, for about half the price
$40,000Natural diamond–––2024Custom Toi et Moi ring being made for a proposal next month; writer also considered a 6-carat lab alternative around 25000 but wanted a natural stone
$100,000Natural diamond3.5 ctcushion–2024Custom elongated-cushion cut from a 4+ct rough down to 3.5ct to avoid crushed ice; roughly $100k total for stone, recut and setting

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 187 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

The year is the one the buyer named, or the year they wrote when the purchase was recent. Rings bought long before the buyer wrote, with no year given, are not counted on any year page.