engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 10 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports up to $20

This page runs from $0 to $20.

Previous · Page 10 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
–Natural diamond1.7 ct––2025Medium blue fluorescence stone quoted by a different jeweler; writer walked away after online warned against it
–Lab-grown diamond2.71 ct–platinum–Loose lab diamond for daily wear set in a platinum 3-stone setting; very happy with the purchase
–Lab-grown diamond–round–2025Picked the largest of three round eye-clean H+ options found via a helper's search ($573/$616/$678); waiting to see if the vendor can secure it
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Bought a 3ct D VVS1 lab diamond with GIA+AGS ideal-cut papers, disclosed by the seller as HPHT, from Calavera for around $2,000
–Lab-grown diamond3.25 ctother–2022Quote for a Jann Paul Decagon, roughly 3.2-3.29ct, D-F color, IF-VVS2 clarity, HPHT lab stone; never purchased
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2025Loose HPHT center diamond under $1000 via a a diamond buyers' forum diamond-picking service; two ~0.5ct side stones also found under $200 each; setting not yet made
–Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2025Loose cushion cut lab diamond bought online, arrived the week before and pleased his wife
–Lab-grown diamond–other–2025Hexagon-shaped lab diamond bought directly from the vendor by email after its listed price kept climbing; disappointing once it arrived
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctround–2025Cut called 'Round Nova'; price ($1,875-1,950) includes 9% Singapore tax, picked up personally on a layover to skip import fees and get about 7% tax refunded, ring destined for Thailand
–Lab-grown diamond––––Jeweler's offer on an old-stock stone with an old-style cut and CVD graining per forum review; not bought
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Cost of the loose stone(s) already bought; now shopping for a custom jeweler to set them without exceeding this budget
––––yellow gold–Antique 18k yellow-gold band, 2.3mm, size 10.5, found after watching listings a long time; a new comparable band was quoted over $1,000.
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Cost works out to about $49,000 less than the roughly $50,000 a natural equivalent would run; a jeweler spotted it as lab-grown on inspection.
–Lab-grown diamond2.07 ctround–2025Transitional-style old-cut lab diamond bought loose online; writer wasn't thrilled paying this much for the puffy-crown facet style
–Lab-grown diamond–round–2025Clean hearts-and-arrows HPHT stone bought instead of the jeweler's offer, after forum review; described as very sparkly on arrival
–Lab-grown diamond–round––First diamond ordered before getting community feedback; flagged for possible graining/striation haziness from CVD growth
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Considering this heavily-included lab diamond at a $6,680 ask; the person asking separately also mentions $12,000 as still a lot of money, possibly a related listing
–Natural diamond2.83 ctround–20252.83ct OEC bought loose from Rita on the Rocks for $9,985; all-in $11,800 after polishing and GIA grading; seller had misrepresented original stats
–Lab-grown diamond1.3 ctround–2025HPHT lab diamond bought loose from Whiteflash's in-house vetted inventory for an anniversary ring; setting still being decided
–Natural diamond3.06 ctcushiontwo tone2025Elongated antique diamond bought loose via Instagram, then set with 0.86ct custom french-cut side stones, hand engraving and milgrain; price not stated; replaces her inherited three-stone anniversary ring
–Natural diamond1 ctround––The original 1ct H SI1 diamond now being traded in toward an upgrade; some additional clouds weren't visible on the report
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2011Only discovered when the ring broke at 15 years that the stones weren't lab diamonds; the set had cost probably under $600 CAD total.
–Natural diamond2.02 ctpear–2025Natural light-brown (U-V) pear diamond, VS2, 2EX cut/polish, 11.49x6.82x4.12mm with a visible bow-tie; initial ask was $4,000, later described as $2,600 and called a fair price by buyers
–Natural diamond1.03 ctasscher–2025Loose 1.03ct D/IF Type IIA natural asscher; buyers felt D/IF wasn't worth the premium over a D-F VVS2+ stone at far less; the person asking now leaning toward returning it
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct––2026Quote for two ~1ct lab-grown center stones for a toi-et-moi anniversary ring: a round brilliant $2000 plus a square nova $2350, before a 16% import tariff; final design later switched to a round brilliant paired with a c
–Natural diamond–otherplatinum2025Antique platinum French-cut band, ~26 stones ~2-3ctw; eBay $5k asking negotiated to $3k, then $475 refund for lower ctw; net ~$2860.
–Natural diamond0.4 ct–––Loose antique old mine diamond the person asking considered buying to reset into a custom replica of a sold antique ring
––––––Quote to recreate an antique-style setting with 6 single-cut diamonds in the petals, center stone bought separately; mixed online reviews but cheaper
––––––Competing quote to recreate just the antique-style setting, without center stone, from a jeweler praised for reliable work
––––––Another competing quote for the setting alone, without center stone
–Lab-grown diamond1.42 ctround–2026Chose this 1.42 ct D VVS2 stone (no confirmed H&A mark) over a 1.3 ct D VS1 H&A option for only about $29 more; shipped from India in 5-9 days with free returns
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Original diamond now being traded in toward a James Allen upgrade requiring 2x its price
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctround–2006Wore a 1.5 ct round solitaire for 20 years before considering an upgrade; no price stated
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctround–2026Tested a 3 ct look with a cubic zirconia stand-in, found it too big, and settled on buying a 2 ct round diamond instead; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctround–2026Bought a 3.6 ct round and instantly felt it looked too big for a social circle where large diamonds aren't the norm; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctcushion–2026Sent the round back to the vendor and exchanged it for a same-weight 3.6 ct cushion with a 1.05 length-to-width ratio, since cushions face up smaller; no price stated
–Natural diamond2 ct–––Traded in a 2 ct natural diamond ring years later for a higher-quality but smaller stone since she rarely wore larger stones; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctother–2026Custom Quadex-cut lab diamond from Brian Gavin, GIA graded 'Premium' (D/VVS2+) under GIA's newer lab-diamond scale; set as a solitaire with a knife edge and four claw prongs; also ordered a stacking pave wedding band; no
–Lab-grown diamond3.83 ct––2026Paid a jeweler for a 3.83 ct CVD lab diamond meant for setting, then spotted crystal/graining issues in review videos and disputed a refund; no price stated
–No stone (plain band)––two tone2024Bought a retired Tiffany Lucida wedding band in rose gold and platinum two-tone from a preloved Tiffany reseller about a couple years before this post; no price stated
–––––2026Quoted $1 more to upgrade her ACA at Whiteflash but would lose about $2,500 in trade-in credit versus her purchase price; she declined
––1.02 ct–two tone–Quoted about $2,000 for a custom 3mm cathedral tulip-basket setting in yellow and white gold to hold her existing 1.02 ct stone; the wax was already underway.
–Lab-grown diamond–round––Bought a loose lab round brilliant stone to fit in a setting she already owns, while still hunting for an antique-cut stone for the same setting
–Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctround–202610th-anniversary upgrade stone another buyer found; arrived with a faint champagne/brown tint
–Lab-grown diamond–round–2026Bought a round Ideal-cut HPHT lab diamond upgrade for $374 via Rare Carat, who price-matched William & Sons; targeting 2-2.6ct D-G eye-clean.
––––––Artist reused diamonds and metal from three inherited family rings to build a new set valued around 9k but paid at less than half that.
––––gold202614k vintage-engraved custom setting with a hidden halo; center stone sourced separately through the same maker.
–Other gemstone––––A 1/4ct diamond ring they wanted was discontinued before they secured it, so they bought a cubic zirconia ring instead; no price given
–Moissanite––––Custom 20th-anniversary moissanite upgrade combining the design she originally wanted with her current style, plus a matching custom wedding band; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Bought from a well-respected local jeweler; other buyers said the price was inflated
–Lab-grown diamond1.9 ctoval––Stone only, bought on sale, a little over $400
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctoval––Just under 4ct oval; writer notes elongated cuts cost more than rounds
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––Price-matched a $2,200 retailer setting down to $700 after finding the identical GIA-numbered stone listed cheaper elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald––International shipping included, bought a few months before the comment
–Lab-grown diamond4.04 ct–––Paid under $700
–Lab-grown diamond1.8 ctcushion–2025Stone only, bought a year before the 2026 comment
––––––Estate-sale set: two diamond rings (1ctw each) plus a matching wedding band (0.4tcw); wearing one ring until the actual proposal
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Sourced through a diamond broker who presented five stones with detailed cut/symmetry comparisons
–Lab-grown diamond3.35 ctother––A 'moval' (modified oval) cut stone; writer knew a cheaper one existed but fell in love with this one
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2026Recently price-matched a 2ct D-color lab diamond down to about $550, roughly a third of the original ~$1,650 asking price.
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Described as an 'almost perfect' 3ct stone
–Lab-grown diamond–emerald––Bought from the labgrowndiamond website, cheaper options existed but writer preferred these specs
–Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctround––Writer jokingly hopes the stone is real given the low price
––––platinum–Says they paid about the same $2k-$2.5k range to have their own sourced stone set in platinum
–Natural diamond3.13 ctoval–2026Quote for a 3.13 ct SI1 oval with a noticeable bow-tie; the person asking planned to keep looking elsewhere for better cut
–Lab-grown diamond1.61 ctoval––Colourless oval cut stone
–––––2026Quote from chain jewelry stores for labor alone to set a loose stone, not including the setting itself; range given as $300-800.
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026Loose stone found via rarecarat IGI-cert price-match method, bought from the cheapest retailer listing that certified stone
–––––2026Custom half-bezel, split-shank setting, heavy on gold, with CAD renders and a free second wax casting as a repeat customer; stone priced separately.
–Natural diamond–––202610kt gold setting made overseas for $650 for an existing natural round stone, plus $120 for a local jeweler to set it.
–Lab-grown diamond3.4 ct–––Picked own certified stone; reverse-searched the cert number and found the identical stone listed elsewhere for far more
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion––Loose stone bought at a TikTok live diamond auction
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctemerald––Second loose stone bought same way, at a TikTok live diamond auction
––3 ct–––Brought a 3ct stone to a jeweler for setting; suggests a jewelry repair place instead of a standard jeweler
–Lab-grown diamond4.05 ctradiant––Loose stone, works out to about $148/carat
–––––2016Just under 1 carat, mall retail package price covering the engagement ring plus two wedding bands
––––––Custom jeweler built a Frank Darling-style Deco Edge ring; appraised at $6,800, actual price paid said to be less but not disclosed
–Natural diamond6.52 ct––2026No-heat natural yellow sapphire; asking $1500/carat, still negotiating; one of two stones the person asking is deciding between for a custom ring
–Natural diamond9.1 ct––2026Second option: 9.1ct yellow sapphire asking $1150/carat; buyers preferred the smaller 6.52ct stone for better color and wearability
––––––Was told three paychecks was the expected answer; personally thinks that's too much
–Natural diamond2.2 ct–––Stone price alone, not including the setting
––––––Ring and wedding band together cost about $2.5k more than her fiancé's budget; he covered the difference gladly
–––––2026Heirloom stone reset into a new setting; engagement ring plus her wedding band together cost almost $4k, she helped pay
––––––Paid an extra $2k herself to get a slightly larger center stone
–––––2026Men's Cartier trinity wedding band, first purchase
–––––2026Replacement Cartier trinity band bought after he lost the first one
––––yellow gold2026Quoted about $2,600 for an 18k yellow-gold 6mm chunky custom band by a maker recommended for old-mine-cut stones
––––yellow gold2026New intricate 18k setting made this year for about $3.5k as gold prices rose; stones bought separately
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctcushion–2026Loose 2.5ct champagne pink cushion lab diamond ordered from a US online lab-diamond seller for about $950 AUD
––––––Ring cost £1,000 more than husband's budget; she compromised by buying both wedding rings herself
––––––Chose a bigger carat costing $900 more than her boyfriend wanted to spend; she's covering the difference
–Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold2025Both wedding bands together, 14k gold with small lab diamonds and engraving, cost €2,800
–Lab-grown diamond–––2026Each partner's CAD-designed, cast engagement ring plus wedding band set cost in the $8-10k range; one set gold, one platinum, each about half an ounce
––––––Writer bought her own Tiffany wedding band (and her husband's) herself, roughly $3k, rather than have him choose to spend that
–––––2016Engagement ring plus an integrated double wedding band totaled $22k; partner declined her offers to help pay
––––––Writer, the higher earner, paid about $3.5k on top of her partner's budget for a custom ring
––––––Ring cost about $1.5k over their initial budget; in exchange she covered his half of that month's mortgage
––––––Paying about $1,200 total toward the ring via a monthly installment plan
––––––Used an employer jewelry-store discount and payroll-deducted 0% financing; covered about $1,500 beyond partner's budget
–Lab-grown diamond––––The ring's setting went about $1,900 over budget; she paid for the lab diamonds, he covered the overage by working overtime
––––––Quoted about $500 for a new setting for a marquise lab diamond ring she's assembling
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––rose gold2025Had own stone set into a simple solitaire mounting with a 2mm band, 14k rose gold
––––––Quoted $6-8k for a wedding set but had it custom made for under $3k using a custom-cut diamond
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Loose lab stone bought from an Alibaba-based lab diamond seller; higher clarity than needed, that's what was in stock
–Lab-grown diamond1.54 ctround–20261.54ct round lab diamond for a trilogy ring, bought via a diamond buyers' forum after a price match; also bought two 0.66ct lab side stones, price not stated; buyers flagged pavilion/crown misalignment despite high certi
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.74 ctround–20202.738ct G VVS2 diamond, WF's branded A Cut Above cut, custom Knife Edge setting with heavy rework; no price stated; buyer in Canada
–Lab-grown diamond––white gold–Lab diamond eternity band, melee-sized stones so low total carat weight but sparkles nicely; bought from a vendor in China
–Moissanite––white gold–Full eternity band with 4mm moissanite stones
–Lab-grown diamond2.76 ct––2022Surprise HPHT-grown upgrade diamond for wife replacing her 1.69ct; small discount code applied; new setting made separately by a local jeweler
–Natural diamond1 ct––2023Bought first, a 60/60-proportioned round with HCA 2.2 and strong blue fluorescence; later cancelled after forum feedback the cut was mediocre
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–white gold–5-stone carre-cut lab diamond band (five .40ct stones, 2ct total weight) in 14k white gold, made by designer DK; reselling it never worn except to try on
–Natural diamond3.85 ctround–2023Custom-cut ACA quote to upgrade wife's 2.6ct for 10th anniversary; ~40% above a comparable non-ACA stone; trading in old stone; starts Jan 2024
–Natural diamond3.5 ct––2023HPHT-treated (Bellataire) loose diamond seen at a dealer a few hours away; steered away after forum pushback on the treatment and cut quality.
–Lab-grown diamond3.86 ctradiant–2023Loose 3.86ct F VS1 lab radiant, 65% table/64.7% depth, bought online with IGI report; another buyer recalls it being listed around $2100 shortly before this sale.
–Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2023Second loose lab radiant (about 3.3ct, slightly smaller and deeper than the 3.86ct stone) bought at roughly half that stone's price as a comparison; had similar windowing plus more light leakage and was returned.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.03 ctround–2023One of two loose-diamond quotes the person asking was weighing for a simple existing-style setting
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.03 ctround–2023Second quote the person asking was weighing, same specs as first, different GIA stone
–Natural diamond1.04 ctround––Custom-cut Crafted by Infinity (CBI) diamond bought for a previous relationship's engagement ring; AGS report confirms it is natural; shape assumed round since that is CBI's signature cut
–Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct––2023Hearts & Arrows; first of three lab candidates compared for a three-stone ring.
–Lab-grown diamond2.27 ct––2023Second of three candidates compared.
–Lab-grown diamond2.31 ct––2023Hearts & Arrows; third of three candidates compared.
–Lab-grown diamond3.52 ctroundplatinum2023List price $1,854, discounted 15% to $1,575 for the loose stone; minor striations and one small dark inclusion, both said to be eye-clean; later set in a platinum 6-prong setting
–Lab-grown diamond3.01 ct––2023One of four lab diamond options sourced by a forum helper while shopping; not purchased
–Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct––2023Favorite option on optical symmetry and price, but another buyer purchased this exact stone before the person asking could decide
–Lab-grown diamond3.33 ct––2023Another of four lab diamond options sourced while shopping; not purchased
–Lab-grown diamond4.04 ct––2023Largest of four lab diamond options sourced while shopping; not purchased
–Lab-grown diamond5.46 ct––20235.46ct CVD lab diamond bought for a platinum Vatche U113 setting; IGL H grade, still inside the return window over cut-quality concerns
–Natural diamond1.9 ctround–20241.9ct E VS2 Whiteflash A Cut Above diamond priced just under $30K; setting made separately by a local jeweler, about 4 weeks production
–Lab-grown diamond1.9 ctcushion–2023Loose antique-style cushion-cut lab diamond bought from DBL, then writer decided to go a different direction and resold it
–Lab-grown diamond2.55 ct–platinum2023Local platinum solitaire setting quote (no side stones, 5-6 prongs) for a 2.55ct diamond already bought from LooseGrownDiamond.com; still choosing a setter.
–Lab-grown diamond1.01 ctround–20231.01ct loose lab diamond; buyer noticed a reflective glare instead of shine from one angle almost straight overhead and later returned it
–Lab-grown diamond4.16 ctround–2023Loose stone with a blue nuance, Adiamor's own Affinity Cut; final-sale purchase after tracking its price fall from $17k+ over two years
–Natural diamond3.02 ctradiant–2023The asker's favorite of several quotes from a friend's jeweler for a loose ~3ct radiant; later found the identical stone listed cheaper elsewhere
–Natural diamond3.06 ctradiant–2023Second quote from the same jeweler for an alternative stone with more visible inclusions
–Natural diamond–radiant–2023Third quote from the same jeweler; a less clean SI1 but larger stone, exact carat not given
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Loose GCAL 8X lab diamond bought on impulse; buyer had earlier bought a Frank Darling eternity band and liked their service
–Natural diamond1 ctemerald–2023Local Brisbane jeweller quoted this to have a 1ct emerald-cut stone custom cut in India, as an alternative to sourcing an existing loose stone
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2021The asker's example: a lab diamond bought two years before this Dec-2023 post, said to be worth only a fraction of the price by the time of posting
–Natural diamond5 ctemerald––The asker's comparison example: a natural emerald-cut stone bought by a savvy buyer for over this much would fetch roughly this much or more if resold for cash
–Natural diamond–cushion–2023Vintage (~20+ year old) modern-cushion diamond, warm color; the accompanying EGL report graded it noticeably higher than GIA did; later reset into a custom yellow-gold bezel to suit its warm tone
–Natural diamond1 ct––1997The asker's original earth-mined engagement ring, bought about 27 years before this post; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond1.68 ctround–2024Quote for a 1.68ct round lab diamond to replace the center stone in an existing setting; listed 46% below the site's own fair-price estimate
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalyellow gold2024Aunt bought loose oval for niece's boyfriend plus custom setting; said it saved about 40% vs a $6k+ ready-made ring; exact price paid not stated
–Lab-grown diamond3.56 ctoval––One of two loose CVD ovals the person asking compared; bow tie visible despite the ideal-cut label
–Lab-grown diamond3.41 ctoval––Second of two loose CVD ovals the person asking compared; buyers leaned toward this leaner-cut stone
–Lab-grown diamond3.6 ct––2024HPHT-grown stone quoted by the asker's jeweler; a community member later found the same stone listed elsewhere for under $2,200 with a shallow pavilion angle
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024HPHT stone quoted by the asker's jeweler; exact carat unclear in the garbled listing text, roughly 4ct
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctoval–2024Lab oval quoted by the asker's jeweler among several options
–Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct––2024Lab diamond quoted by the asker's jeweler among several options
–Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct––2024Another lab diamond quoted with the same stated specs as a costlier option; price difference not explained here
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Lab diamond quoted by the asker's jeweler; specs beyond the listing link were not given
–Lab-grown diamond3.67 ct––2024HPHT stone quoted by the asker's jeweler for $3,500; the same stone was also listed on Adiamor for $3,838
–Lab-grown diamond––––Owns a lab-grown solitaire from James Allen with a six-prong knife-edge setting, but finds the head sits too low/squat; price not stated
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.54 ctcushion––First of three antique cushion diamonds the person asking was comparing from jewelers before buying
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.85 ctcushion––Second antique cushion diamond option the person asking was comparing
–Diamond, lab or natural not said4.03 ctcushion––Third antique cushion diamond option the person asking was comparing, no video available for this one
–Lab-grown diamond1.83 ctround–2024Chose this 1.83ct D VS1 excellent-cut lab diamond over three others viewed in person at Frank Darling's office
–Lab-grown diamond2.52 ctradiant–2024Loose stone bought from Adiamor for its pink-brown face-up color at K color; set with Ouros side stones into a pre-owned setting from another forum member; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2024The asker's own stone bought a couple weeks earlier; carat is total weight (ctw), HPHT-grown triple-excellent ideal cut, color E-F
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundyellow gold2024Custom engagement ring in progress with JannPaul; 2mm band, bridge height lowered after forum feedback; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond–otherplatinum2024Custom decagon-cut engagement ring on order from JannPaul; requested 1.81-1.89ct D or E color VVS1 decagon in platinum; deposit paid, first CAD rendering missed several requested design changes; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.79 ct–platinum2022Platinum French-cut diamond eternity-style wedding band, size 7, hand engraved with milgrain; 1.79 ctw is total diamond weight across the band, not one center stone
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2024Two loose natural stones over 2.5ct she was deciding between, both quoted around this price; the second was larger but worse color/clarity with strong blue fluorescence and a possible haze
–Natural diamond0.4 ct––2024First of three jeweler quotes the person asking was choosing between; not the one bought
–Natural diamond0.52 ct––2024Second of three jeweler quotes the person asking was choosing between; not the one bought
–Natural diamond0.6 ct––2024Third of three jeweler quotes the person asking was choosing between; not the one bought
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Loose lab diamond, targeted about 1.2ct, chosen for near-ideal proportions on a $2k stone budget; planned a solitaire mount now and a wedding band later
–Natural diamond0.5 ct–platinum2024One of two Costco wedding bands bought to pair with a 1.75ct G VS2 solitaire; 13 diamonds totaling 0.50ctw, thicker band
–Natural diamond0.63 ct–platinum2024The second of two Costco wedding bands under consideration; 12 diamonds totaling 0.63ctw, slightly larger stones but lower color
–Lab-grown diamond1.9 ctround–2024Asking price for a 1.9ct lab OEC on hold; ultimately passed after buyers flagged a dark, obstructed center
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Loose lab diamond bought online, disliked and returned within 3 days; also paid $257 customs fee on receipt and $216 for return shipping/insurance.
–Lab-grown diamond0.4 ctround–2024First lab-grown diamond ordered for an e-ring, picked for HCA 1.3 and Stonealgo 9.9 scores; girlfriend wanted about 0.4ct
–Lab-grown diamond1.27 ct–yellow gold2024Center stone plus stock 14k yellow-gold 3-stone Jemima setting; price not stated; ordered 0.15ct side stones each but received ones nearly double that size
––––yellow gold2024Custom 18ct yellow-gold half-band, claw-set micropave with H-J melee, claws plated white gold to match a vintage 1910 engagement ring; ~$1,925 USD
–Lab-grown diamond2.9 ctemerald–2024Initial lab emerald-cut stone bought before the proposal; graded excellent cut but showed strong optical windowing, later replaced
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquisetwo tone2024Lab marquise bought for $1,200 after price-shopping 5 vendors (one quoted $4,500 for the same stone); custom two-tone setting later made by David Klass
–Natural diamond3.1 ctcushion–2024Antique old mine cushion diamond bought loose from a reseller for about $34k, later insured and sent off to be set in a custom designer mounting.
–Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2024Asking price for a loose DeBeers Forevermark diamond originally graded VS2 G by DeBeers but downgraded to SI1 by GIA; matched the asker's roughly $10k budget.
–Natural diamond1.53 ctround–2024One of two loose diamonds the buyer was weighing; a local option, scored HCA 1.9 and StoneAlgo 8.4
–Natural diamond1.4 ctround–2024The other candidate stone, not local; scored HCA 1.0 and StoneAlgo 7.8 but drew ASET cut concerns from buyers
–Natural diamond1.9 ctround––Quote for a 1.9ct H VS2 GIA diamond; forum said the cut (HCA 3.2, 61% table) was too poor to justify the price.
–Natural diamond3.09 ctcushion–2024Antique estate diamond bought loose for a 20th-anniversary right-hand ring, to be set later; store gave a 30-day return policy to test it at home
–Natural diamond1.9 ctroundplatinum2024Whiteflash A Cut Above (ACA) diamond bought after years of tracking prices and inventory on a spreadsheet; set in platinum by a local jeweler; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround––Loose lab diamond bought some years ago, first described as 'around 7k' then clarified via the store's trade-in quote as $7,150
–Natural diamond2.4 ctround–2024James Allen 'True Hearts' branded cut, put on hold as a possible upgrade using the lab stone's full trade-in credit; budget $14,300-$16,000; decided to wait rather than buy
–Natural diamond1.81 ctasscher–2024Quote for a loose natural 1.81ct Asscher via a family trade connection; experts called the cut poor (overly dark, 70.3% depth) and doubted the price
–Natural diamond––––Quote for an HPHT color-treated natural diamond; buyers warned of poor resale and said a lab stone would be a better value at that budget
–Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctround–2024Candidate lab OEC quoted by her local jeweler; no cut-proportion photos available, community called it overpriced and poorly cut
–Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctcushion–2024Same jeweler's second candidate, a re-cut 'modified OMC cushion' that reads more rounded than a typical cushion; also passed on
–Natural diamond1.7 ctround–2024Loose 1.7ct diamond quote under consideration, HCA cut score 2.5, no setting chosen yet
–Natural diamond1.7 ctround–2024Alternative 1.7ct diamond quote, HCA cut score 0.9 (better cut), about half the price of the E/IF option, small feather noted
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushion–2024Considering a 1.5ct elongated cushion lab diamond listed under $450 from Loose Grown Diamonds (LGD); still deciding, no purchase confirmed in discussion
–Natural diamond1.7 ctoval–2024Local jeweler's quote for a loose 1.70ct F/VS2 oval the person asking was considering, about $2.5k above the same stone listed on B2C Jewels
–Lab-grown diamond–round–2025Father's budget of about $300 for a round lab stone (0.7-1ct, G+ color, VS2+ clarity) as a 30th wedding anniversary gift for the mother; original pick sold out, substitute with matching specs found
–Lab-grown diamond3.11 ctemerald–2025Loose emerald-cut stone bought for an engagement ring, 1.46:1 ratio; returned to Whiteflash for bad windowing before mounting
–Natural diamond5 ct––2025Bought this fancy-color diamond from a closing jewelry store's stock, then had it set separately by her own jeweler
–Natural diamond1.42 ctother––Quote for JannPaul's patented Decagon Hearts & Arrows cut, 1.41-1.43ct G VS1-VVS2 bracket, all-in with tariff/CC fees, stone only
–Natural diamond1.52 ctother––Second JannPaul quote bracket, 1.51-1.53ct G VS1-VVS2, all-in with tariff and card fees, stone only
–Natural diamond1.6 ctround–2025Friend's custom setting quote rose $800 over the original emailed quote after the diamond was shipped; buyer and vendor split the difference (about $400 extra) rather than switching vendors; stone is a roughly 1.6ct D-E-
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctround––1ct round bought loose during the Lightbox closing sale, stone alone; roughly 6.4-6.5mm; budgeting under $500 for a separate setting
–Natural diamond1.2 ctoval–2025Friend's proposal diamond quoted at James Allen; buyers called D/IF overkill for this size and suggested lower grades instead
–Natural diamond1.4 ct––2025Traded in a .91ct diamond bought in 2015 for a 1.40ct with the same cut specs but slightly lower color, paying $600 more under the store's upgrade policy
–Natural diamond2.71 ctround–2025Bought uncertified from an Instagram seller at a Vegas gem show, then paid to have it recut and GIA-recertified; this total covers both costs
–Natural diamond0.7 ctroundrose gold20243/4 eternity band, .70 TCW of accent diamonds, worn flush with her solitaire; retailed at $2,900 new.
–Lab-grown diamond–––2026Quote for a GCAL 8x graded CVD lab diamond around $3k; community flagged visible CVD graining as a possible dealbreaker and called the per-carat price high
–Natural diamond1.59 ct–white gold–Paid over this amount for the loose diamond originally; the matching solitaire setting alone currently retails around 1259 new
–Natural diamond1.21 ctpear––Loose antique-style pear diamond bought for a personal collection, turned out too small for the buyer, now being resold
–Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct––2024Bought a 2.51 ct solitaire on a size 5.25 finger about two years before this post; now finds it too big to wear comfortably, no price stated
–Natural diamond0.51 ctcushion–2026Recently bought a 0.51 ct GIA-graded fancy brownish pink cushion diamond, 5.02x4.57x2.79mm, now designing a custom setting for it; no price stated
–Natural diamond0.52 ctcushion–2026Bought a 0.52 ct K VS2 old-mine-cut diamond, newly cut in antique style, from 77diamonds for a toi et moi ring paired with a sapphire; IGI report says no fluorescence though the stone visibly glows pink under UV; no pric
–Natural diamond–round––Husband bought this antique toi et moi ring (two old European cut diamonds, each just under 2 ct, white gold, no hallmarks, likely 1940s-50s) at auction years after their wedding and gave it as a belated engagement ring;
–Natural diamond1.5 ct––2015Original Memoire diamond band with a plain setting, 9 stones totaling 1.50tcw (0.16ct each); later reset into a new David Klass setting; carat is total weight, not per stone
–Lab-grown diamond5.05 ctroundplatinum20265.05ct F VS2 lab round brilliant set in a platinum tulip mount; bought as a 21st-anniversary gift after a hard health year, price not stated
–Other gemstone0.7 ct–yellow gold–The asker's own purchase: aquamarine and diamond ring, 9-carat yellow gold; spent significantly less than the £1000 budget, exact amount not given
––––––Antique consignment-shop band covered in diamonds, matches her engagement ring; bought despite tight finances
–Moissanite––white gold2022Buyer's husband's custom 14k white gold band (6mm wide, 1.8mm thick) with stones cost a bit over $600 at Tianyu; took 5-6 weeks to make
–Natural diamond2.31 ctcushion–2022Loose diamond listing the person asking was weighing; elongated cushion l/w 1.14; dealer said cut term is marketing-only for cushions
–Natural diamond1.51 ctradiant––One of two candidate mined elongated radiants being compared before buying, price in Australian dollars; the other option was a 1.29ct G/VS2 with no price given
–Natural diamond1.83 ctround–2022Quote for a natural diamond from an Australian jeweller drop-shipping overseas stock; two further options (1.9ct and 2ct F VS2) were quoted near $33-34k.
–Lab-grown diamond3.01 ct–––Quote for the loose stone only from a local jeweler she otherwise finds overpriced but likes their settings
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctoval––Starting quote from an unnamed premier jeweler for a D-E color, VS2-or-better 5ct lab oval
–Lab-grown diamond4.26 ctcushion–2022Stone only, no setting yet; elongated crushed-ice cushion, cut more crushed ice than expected but called a good deal; deciding between white gold/platinum or rose gold solitaire
–Lab-grown diamond1.02 ctround–2022Diamond only; ordered on layaway with an $800 deposit paid so far; mounting bought separately at the same shop
–Lab-grown diamond–––2022Returned the chain-store ring and bought a nicer lab diamond ring from James Allen instead for about half the price of the first ring
–No stone (plain band)–––2022Husband's wedding band bought at Costco then engraved by their own jeweler; $460 total vs an $815 insurance-equivalent retail value for the same ring
–Other gemstone1.2 ctpear–2022Loose 1.2ct unheated ruby listed just under $5k with an AGL report, intended for an engagement ring, not yet bought
–Natural diamond–––2022Quote from a local dealer for a D-color SI1 diamond; buyer weighing medium blue fluorescence and facet quality before deciding.
–Natural diamond1.51 ctroundyellow gold2022GIA-certified loose diamond quote for a yellow-gold engagement ring setting; medium fluorescence discussed as a value factor
–Natural diamond1.6 ctround–2022Second quote considered by the person asking, bigger and higher clarity but lower color and strong (not medium) fluorescence, called a possible better value
–Lab-grown diamond–round––Lab diamond the person asking was considering at $1600; buyers guessed it would face up around 1.5 to 2ct based on the stated measurements
–Natural diamond–––2022GIA E/SI2 loose diamond quote the writer was deciding on, not a triple-excellent cut; table around 62%
––1.4 ct––2022Pear-shaped side stones about 0.05ct each, sized for a 4.25 finger; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctasscheryellow gold–First setting-only quote for a simple 14k 4-prong round band to hold a loose lab diamond bought elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctasscheryellow gold–Second setting-only quote from a different local jeweler for the same simple band
–Moissanite–ovalwhite gold–10x7mm heart-and-arrows oval in a 14k white gold cathedral setting with hidden halo; no price stated
–Sapphire1.81 ctround–2022Considering a 1.81ct round teal/blue-green heat-treated sapphire; called overpriced by several buyers for a dark, color-zoned, deep-cut stone
–Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctoval–2022Jeweler's asking price for a loose 3.02 ct oval lab diamond the person asking was deciding on, not yet bought
–Natural diamond1.24 ctother–2022Loose GIA natural trillion, no fluorescence, excellent polish/symmetry, thick girdle; being weighed for a bezel-set hidden-halo ring
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–white gold2022Vivid blue 2ct lab diamond center with two 0.5ct pear lab diamond side stones, self-made by the person asking (a lab-grown diamond jeweler) for his wife; made in both cushion and oval center versions; no price given
–Natural diamond0.91 ctmarquise––Quote for the loose stone only, setting not included; jeweler said the price follows from what their own suppliers charge
–Moissanite–emeraldyellow gold20229x7 emerald cut solitaire, 10k yellow gold, bought via Amazon; runs a little small, sizes restock often
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctemeraldyellow gold20221 ctw emerald-cut lab diamond eternity band, 14k yellow gold; no price stated
–No stone (plain band)––yellow gold2022Plain 14k yellow gold knife-edge spacer band, no center stone; no price stated
––3.1 ctoval–2022Partner surprised her with a 3.1ct stone though she'd said she'd be happy with 2ct; worn on a just-under-size-4 finger; no price given
–––––2022Quote for a diamond enhancer band with 2.125 tcw of small stones to pair with her marquise ring; she did not buy it after warnings about markups
–Lab-grown diamond0.52 ct––2020Half-carat eye-clean lab diamond bought overseas about two years before the 2022 post; later set into a ring
–Moissanite–peargold2022Custom 4ct pear (8x12mm) vs vendor's 3ct stock; ring+band set in 10k gold; ordered via AliExpress, 17 days start to finish
–Natural diamond1.22 ctround–2022Current trade-in quote to upgrade her diamond before the jeweler closes for good; total into the stone would reach about $11,000
–Lab-grown diamond4.75 ct–platinum2022The asker's own 4.75ct lab stone in a plain Tiffany-style platinum Ritani setting; no price stated, the person asking says she has bought seven rings from Ritani
–Natural diamond1.01 ctoval–20221.01ct E VVS2 oval with fluorescence, quoted by a local jeweler; the person asking had not yet bought sight-unseen
A$0–––––Second marriage; ring from a gumball machine, wedding band real but delicate gold at metal cost, ceremony abroad
$1–––––Ex-partner bought this off a market stall after previously window-shopping at real jewelers; she had expected to spend $150-200
$1No stone (plain band)–––2024A $1 silicone ring from a multipack at the discount retailer Ross, worn on principle instead of a traditional diamond ring
$1No stone (plain band)––––Used a pack of cheap latex rings despite a high household income
$1––––2026Now wears a $1 rubber ring instead of the earlier $16 one
£1–––––Writer doesn't recall the exact price, thinks it cost either £1 or £2
£1–––––Proposal ring bought for about a pound at a Thai market on the way back home
$2No stone (plain band)––other–Cheap stainless-steel travel dupe of her real ring and band, bought separately at the same price, so the real set isn't risked while traveling
$2Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024A thrift-store placeholder ring used for the proposal itself, not the real ring
A$2–––––Bought at an the person asking shop
A$2–––––A mood ring from a Christmas cracker used as the actual proposal ring
€2–––––Proposed with a very cheap ring, says cost doesn't matter
$3Diamond, lab or natural not said––––A placeholder ring bought to propose with in Mexico while the real custom ring was still being made
$3No stone (plain band)–––2024A $3 beaded ring used for the proposal itself, later replaced by a ring picked out together
C$3–––––Cheap replacement wedding set bought online; she says it sparkles beautifully and she'll replace it again when worn out
$4Other gemstone––––Cubic zirconia ring bought at a thrift store, worn alongside a gold wedding band
$4Other gemstone––other–Sterling silver ring with an unspecified cheap fake stone, bought cheaply and proudly worn despite its low cost
£4––––1999Still married 24 years after buying this very cheap ring
$5–––other–Wife bought herself a cheap silver ring instead of a traditional diamond ring
£5–––––Deliberately tiny brass ring; writer says she dislikes jewellery and would have objected to more
$5–––––Thrift store ring chosen together
$5Other gemstone––other2014Silver ring with cz stones cost about $5 in her country; later upgraded on their 10th anniversary, price not given
£5No stone (plain band)––––A cheap placeholder cat ring bought on Etsy while waiting to pick her own real ring
£5–––other–A copy of a Roman copper ring, used for the proposal itself
$5Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Spent very little on purpose, calling it a purely symbolic gesture
£6Other gemstone––––Bought from a maker at a local market; chose a favourite coloured stone instead of a diamond
$7Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2025Cheap AliExpress lookalike of a similar-looking large stone ring, bought as an inexpensive copy
C$7––––2024Wife happy with a $7 ring off Amazon, afraid of losing something more valuable
$7No stone (plain band)––––Chose a $7 ring with no diamond so they could prioritize saving for a house down payment while renting
$8Other gemstone––––Then-boyfriend proposed with a cheap cubic-zirconia ring, intended only as a placeholder before choosing a real ring together
A$8–––––Bought online; writer says it was good it was cheap since the ring was later lost
$8Moissanite––other–3-stone silver moissanite ring (2ct-equivalent cyan center stone plus two colorless side stones), bought for $8 with a new-customer promo on AliExpress
$8Moissanite––other2025Cheap 3-stone silver replica ring; 1.5ct center, 2.5ct total weight
$9––––2012Deliberately inexpensive ring to emphasize relationship matters more than ring cost
$9Diamond, lab or natural not said––––A $9 black Amazon ring worn as a first engagement ring; upgraded four or five years later
$10––––2024Exact replica of writer's real engagement ring bought on Amazon, for travel or situations she won't risk the original
$10Other gemstone––––Cubic zirconia stackable band worn as a stand-in during pregnancy; no tarnish after 17 months
£10–––––Exactly as requested by his partner
€10No stone (plain band)––other2018The asker's original cheap silver ring from when she got engaged/married, replaced later because it felt harsh and masculine.
$10No stone (plain band)––––An inexpensive infinity-style ring that turns her skin green; they haven't had the money yet to replace it
$10–––––Writer's friend's husband proposed with this cheap ring on a trip abroad; couple ring-shopped together for the real one after
$10Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Bought a cheap $10 Amazon solitaire to wear in public as an obvious married/engaged signal instead of her real ring, partly to avoid theft and questions about cost
$10Other gemstone3 ct–––A cubic zirconia ring bought just to test carat size before the real purchase, now kept as a travel ring
$10–––––Writer's own ring, bought cheaply from Amazon
$10No stone (plain band)––––Hand-made a wooden ring himself over about a week rather than buying one
$10––––2025Wears this fake ring for beach, cruise or pool trips where the real ring could be lost
£10–––––Cheap eBay ring from a past marriage, writer says it wasn't just a placeholder
$10Moissanite–ovalother2026Cheap sterling silver ring bought casually just for the stone, not used as the final engagement ring; turned out too big
$10No stone (plain band)––other–Grandfather bought a plain silver band for 10 since they could not afford more; they were married 57 years
A$10Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2010A novelty $10 eBay ring given at the original proposal, years before the diamond upgrade; year worked back from a 10-year anniversary that fell at the start of COVID
£11Other gemstone––––Black stainless steel with cubic zirconia, self-chosen
C$11––––2006Very cheap first ring bought about 18 years before the comment
$12––––2004Split the cost of a novelty ring bought at a local festival instead of following any salary rule
$12No stone (plain band)––other–Gold-colored stainless steel band with no stone, doesn't tarnish, worn about 2 years
$12No stone (plain band)–––2023Cheap tungsten band worn around the house instead of risking the real ring
12Diamond, lab or natural not said––––CHF 12 engagement ring, deliberately minimal spending
$12Other gemstone–––2025Cheap imitation diamond solitaire bought as a decoy to wear instead of her real sapphire engagement ring when worried about losing it
$12Diamond, lab or natural not said––other–Sterling silver ring, writer thinks the stone is cut glass rather than a real gem
$12–––––Husband's current wedding ring, a $12 silicone band from Amazon, after losing three previous rings over 30-plus years of marriage
$12––––2025A silicone ring worn daily instead of her real engagement ring and wedding band
$12––––2025Wears this instead since her real engagement and wedding rings no longer fit and her job is physically demanding
$13Moissanite––––Stock moissanite ring in silver, worn as an inexpensive alternative to CZ
$14Moissanite––––A 14-dollar moissanite she loves for its sparkle; not called her engagement ring outright, but wrote in a discussion about engagement rings
£14Other gemstone––other–Cubic-zirconia sterling-silver ring from Etsy, came as a 2-ring set with a £10 cashback deal; wedding bands are secondhand 9ct gold from eBay, hers thinner, his thicker/wider
$14Moissanite–––2024Very cheap 1ct solitaire used for the proposal; passed as real and got compliments, even an insurance question
$14––––2025Cheap travel/backup ring, no further specs given
$15–––––Cheap Amazon lookalike worn on multi-city trips instead of her real engagement ring, since she loses jewelry often
£15–––––Wife proposed on 29 February with a cheap ring first
£15–––––Won on the 15th attempt at a claw machine
C$15–––other2001Silver band bought while traveling in India about 23 years before this comment; still married with two teenage sons
$15Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Buyer's mother bought a cheap stand-in ring while traveling so she wouldn't risk losing her real ring
$15–––––Rhinestone ring bought as a symbolic stand-in while her real ring is being resized after weight loss
$15––––2024Not marketed as an engagement ring, but used as an inexpensive placeholder for the proposal before designing the real ring together
$15No stone (plain band)––––Wears this $15 Amazon band day to day instead of her real 1-carat ring
A$15––––2024A symbolic ring bought in the city where the couple met; the location and memory mattered more than the ring itself, wedding bands similarly cheap
$15Other gemstone––––Used as a stand-in while her real ring was being insured; noticed the shine difference between the simulant and a real diamond
€15Moissanite––––Same sterling-silver ring style the person asking found, bought from Joyce Jelly on AliExpress for under 15 euros
£15––––2025Cheap stand-in ring for wearing at work after her real engagement ring needed a stone replaced; husband had suggested a £100-150 option instead
$15Other gemstone––other–Husband proposed with a silver CZ ring from Amazon; writer unsure if the price he quoted is accurate
$15––––2026Close-enough fake ring worn abroad instead of the real one
$15––––2026Cheap fake travel ring
$15––––2026Bought right after getting engaged, worn hiking and camping and planned for the honeymoon
$16Moissanite–––2022Cheap moissanite ring bought from the Kalala shop on AliExpress; IJ color option.
$16Moissanite––other–One of two sterling-silver moissanite travel rings ordered from Temu together; this pair included one disappointing yellow-toned stone and one gorgeous one
$16––––2026An earlier placeholder ring that cost about $16
$16––––2020A $40 ring marked down to $16 at Kohl's, still worn 6 years after the comment; wedding band was an inexpensive Amazon buy
$16Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Cheap travel/backup ring with a clear stone bought as a stand-in for her main colored-diamond ring
£16––––2013Partner picked the ring herself; both wedding bands cost £60 each, bought about ten years before the comment
£17–––––Writer says this is the amount she asked her husband to spend
$17Other gemstone–––2025A cubic zirconia dupe of her ring that she wears instead of the real one
£17–––––Favourite ring ever despite the very low price
A$17–––––Bought at half price; partner dislikes expensive rings
$18Other gemstone–heartother2025Gold-plated sterling silver heart-cut ring with fake ruby-colored stone, bought after catching up on rent and medical debt; came with a backup
A$18–––––Together fifteen years; happy the money was saved for something else
$19Other gemstone––––Fake gold/CZ band from Amazon worn pinned to a badge while scrubbing into surgery as a nurse
C$19–––––Doesn't care whether the stone is real; gets many compliments on the cut
$20Other gemstone––other2023Partner's Amazon ring, passed off as a costly real diamond; the person asking later confirmed CZ stones in S925 sterling silver. She likes the look, not the lie
$20Moissanite––other2025Another the person asking purchase during a sale, a 3 ct moissanite ring for $20 or less
£20––––1976Neither wanted to spend more while saving for a house, 45 years before the comment
£20–––––Replaced later after this one broke in an accident; replacement price not given
$20–––other–Plain band worn most of the time instead of her diamond rings, married 10+ years
$20–––––Fake Amazon ring worn instead of the real one when solo traveling abroad
A$20–––––Bought a cheap $20 ring from eBay; quickly decided they weren't 'ring wearing people'
A$20–––––Used a $20 costume-shop dress ring just to pop the question, then designed the real rings together with a jeweller afterward
A$20–––––Cheap gimmick ring bought while travelling for the proposal
$20No stone (plain band)––other–Black tungsten ring with a gold-tone band, $20 each for both partners; had originally wanted $300 Etsy rings with lab-made gems
$20–––––A friend's boyfriend proposed with this Amazon placeholder ring and gave the real diamond ring after they returned home
£20–––––Married in a registry office
€20–––––Novelty ring bought at a Disneyland Paris shop while proposing
£20–––––Writer says he lives practically and rejects the idea that marriage requires an expensive ring
£20Diamond, lab or natural not said––––A Harry Potter golden snitch themed ring instead of a diamond
£20–––––Writer's partner would rather money went to their kids
£20–––––A Disney-themed ring; partner liked it despite family disapproval of the low cost
$20Other gemstone––other2023Cheap CZ/silver placeholder ring used to propose so the girlfriend could design her real ring herself afterward
€20–––––First ring cost 20 euros; writer says her partner was open about the price
$20–––––Fiance proposed with a cheap Amazon-sold ring but was upfront it was a stand-in, wanting her to help pick the real one together
$20––––1997Husband bought her original ring from a stranger in a parking lot; married nearly 26 years, has had nicer diamond rings since
$20–––––Husband bought her first engagement ring from a coworker in a parking lot; year not given; they are now married
$20Other gemstone––other2023Fiance's proposal ring: sterling-silver setting with a cubic-zirconia stone he claimed was an expensive custom diamond piece
$20––––2002Cheap costume replica of a celebrity's pink diamond ring bought around the time of that couple's early-2000s engagement
$20Other gemstone–––2024Cheap CZ ring used to propose; picked real rings together later during the engagement, price not given
$20Diamond, lab or natural not said––––20 dollar engagement ring from a department store; she sees the marriage, not the ring, as the investment
$20Moissanite––other–Silver and moissanite ring
$20–––––Silicone band worn at work instead of the real engagement ring, which was bought separately at an unstated price
$20Other gemstone3 ctradiant–2024Cheap cubic-zirconia ring bought to test carat size and feel before choosing the real proposal diamond
$20No stone (plain band)––other–Cheap silver band bought on AliExpress to wear instead of her pricier moissanite ring while traveling or camping
$20––––2024Bought a cheap look-alike travel ring to wear at work all week, saving the real engagement ring for weekends
$20––––2024Keeps a $20 decoy ring for places she might lose or damage it (store, pool, amusement park), real ring stays home
£20Other gemstone–––2019Sterling silver CZ stand-in ring worn instead of real ring for 5 years, kept in a bag otherwise
$20––––2022Cheap travel stand-in ring worn daily for two years to protect the real ring; still intact
$20––––2024Third cheap fake ring worn daily; real ring stays boxed for special occasions since she loses and breaks things often
£20–––––Inexpensive placeholder ring used for the proposal itself; partner later chose the real ring
$20Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Ordered a $20 Amazon dupe ring to get used to wearing something in place of her real ring during sleep and other risky activities
$20–––––Bought at a market in Cancun, Mexico
$20–––––Gold-plated interim ring from Etsy, worn after a bent paperclip and before a later ring whose price wasn't given
$20Natural diamond––platinum–Bought cheap at an antique store thinking it was sterling and zircon; turned out to be platinum with a genuine diamond
£20–––––A cheap traveler's-choice ring bought for a proposal made in London
$20–––––Bought off Amazon and says it honestly looks real
$20Other gemstone–––2025Topaz dupe of her custom blue diamond kite ring, bought on Etsy; the real ring is still being insured
$20Other gemstone––other–Silver and CZ Amazon dupe of her solitaire, worn at pools, beaches, or when nervous about theft
$20–––––Casual travel ring she wasn't worried about losing since it was so cheap
€20–––––Amount recalled only approximately
$20No stone (plain band)––gold–Engraved gold everyday/travel stand-in for her moissanite engagement ring, bought on Etsy for under $20
$20Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2025Decoy ring for the same safety reason; writer recalls the price approximately, not exactly
$20–––––A friend's simple etched gold band from Etsy; the friend doesn't wear much jewelry
$20–––––Bought a $20 look-alike travel ring at Target to wear on vacation instead of the real rings
$20–––––Amazon dupe worn instead of her real ring; runs about half a size larger than her actual ring
$20––––2025Wears this Amazon lookalike instead of her real ring whenever she second-guesses a trip
$20––––2025Bought a CZ lookalike of her real ring to wear while traveling
$20–––––Wore this $20 mall ring as a stand-in after her real engagement ring was stolen from a drawer years into the marriage.

Previous · Page 10 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 251 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.