engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 17 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports from $1,000 to $1,200

This page runs from $1,000 to $1,200.

Previous · Page 17 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$1,000Moissanite––––Moissanite ring bought for under $1000; a lab diamond version of the same dream ring would have cost several thousand dollars
$1,000Moissanite–cushionother20126mm cushion moissanite in palladium with a half micropave band, bought roughly 12-13 years before the comment
$1,000Other gemstone1.56 ctheart–2024Heart-shaped diamond-alternative simulant, described as diamond-equivalent (cttw), paid under $1,000
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Picked from about 15 rings she liked priced $500-1,500; he chose one within that budget, exact price not given
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Chose a small, low-profile classic ring around $1,000 instead of something bigger and pricier
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundgold–Quote from Provence for a 2ct round lab diamond in 10k gold; over $1,000
$1,000Moissanite–emerald–20241ct emerald cut moissanite with tapered baguette side stones; writer called this vendor pricier than some others
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––Later upgraded to a 2.5 ct stone for under $1k, likely lab-grown given writer's regret about not having that option in 2002
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer's own ring cost around $1k; says anything under $5k isn't worth insuring
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–white gold–Starter ring; later upgraded to a bigger natural diamond once more financially secure, price not stated
$1,000Natural diamond2 ct––1956Writer's father bought it for their mother; cited as proof diamonds can hold value over decades
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Chose a ring under $1,000 instead of a diamond around $20,000; part of a low-spending lifestyle that helped the couple become mortgage-free by 32
$1,000–––––The asker's second ring, a little over $1,000; fiance picked from links she sent
$1,000Natural diamond2.28 ct–white gold20242.28 total carats of diamonds in 14k white gold from a pawn shop, likely mispriced; appraised over $4,000 to replace
C$1,000––––2024Spent about $1k; fiancée loved it and would have been upset by a three-months'-salary ring
C$1,000Moissanite–––2024Household income about $250k at proposal; moissanite solitaire cost $1k after tax; would've been devastated losing something pricier
C$1,000––––2004Spent under $1,000; married almost 20 years; suggests just asking your partner what ring they'd actually want
C$1,000–––––Custom piece where the writer got to pick the stone
C$1,000–––––Chose a modest ring and put the savings toward buying a house instead
C$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Ring cost about $1k with small diamonds compared to friends' rings; prioritizes other spending over jewelry
C$1,000––––2024Spent about $1k; together almost 15 years; says a partner who cares about ring value isn't worth being with
C$1,000–––––Cheap placeholder ring for the proposal; shopped together after for a $1,000 ring; her wedding band was $2,500-3,000, midpoint used
C$1,000Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab sapphire center stone with small diamonds; asked partner what style of ring she wanted first
C$1,000–––––Found on Etsy for under $1,000; suggests having a partner help pick to guarantee she'll love it
$1,000Sapphire–––2024Writer wasn't fully sure of the exact price, estimated around this figure
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.2 ctround–2024Paid under $1,000 for a 2.2ct IGI-certified round stone, set
£1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Replaced a lost moissanite engagement ring with a lab-grown diamond version from a China-based online vendor, under £1k
$1,000–––other2024Fiance ordered white gold but the vendor shipped sterling silver instead and would not properly fix it
$1,000Moissanite––yellow gold2024Custom 18k yellow gold moissanite ring, vendor found via an online group's community-vetted list
$1,000Moissanite––––Moissanite engagement ring bought on Etsy, indistinguishable from diamond without equipment
$1,000Moissanite––––Custom moissanite ring with seven stones, about $1000 total
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalgold–Oval lab stone under 700, total ring in 14k gold with mele diamonds across the band came to just over 1000
$1,000Moissanite–––2024Custom 1ct moissanite ring with a hidden halo
$1,000Moissanite–oval–2024Custom setting based on a reference photo; oval moissanite center
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold202414k solitaire band, stone set by an overseas jeweler, bought recently
£1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said0.6 ctmarquise––Engagement ring bought for almost £1,000; wearer says it looks bigger and more elegant than its size
A$1,000–––––Own wedding band cost $300 separately from the roughly $1k spent on the wife's ring
A$1,000–––––Partner spent this and it was plenty
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said6 ct–gold202410k gold ring; 6ct is stated as total stone weight, not one center stone
$1,000Moissanite–marquise–2024Writer corrected an earlier $800 estimate to the exact $1000 price
$1,000Moissanite––––Combined household income was $150k but husband wouldn't spend more than this on a moissanite that came out looking brown instead of the requested champagne color; she was happy to give it back in the divorce
£1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––1ct lab diamond solitaire including setting
C$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–gold–1.3ct lab diamond ring, about $700 USD, from an AliExpress seller in 14k gold
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.84 ct–white gold2024Stone plus 14k white gold solitaire setting, under $1k total after 15% discount
£1,000Lab-grown diamond0.7 ct–yellow gold–18ct yellow gold with a platinum claw setting; designed together in-store at Diamonds Factory
£1,000–––––Basic but classic ring; offered to upgrade later but partner chose to keep the original
£1,000Other gemstone––––Replacement ring with an aquamarine after the first was stolen; writer finds it more beautiful than a plain diamond
$1,000––––2024Melted down and recast grandmother's ring, reusing its own gold and stone, into a new ring for $1,000
£1,000Other gemstone––––Alexandrite engagement ring, color-changing stone, called quite affordable
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctpear–20241ct pear solitaire, a loose diamond set in a custom-made setting; wedding band cost more than the ring itself
$1,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024A matching diamond set made by an overseas vendor, described as under $1,000 total
C$1,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Got a custom lab diamond ring for under 1k CAD, cited to show the asker's budget is realistic
$1,000––––2024Bought recently; total cost was just under $1,000, prioritized the gesture over price
$1,000Moissanite–oval––2.10 ctw oval solitaire moissanite ring bought during a sale, discounts stacked
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctround––Newer lab diamond, GIA-graded with an AGS triple-0 cut mention, cost 1/12 of the original $12k natural ring.
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ctovalrose gold2025A little over $1k for a 2.66ct D oval lab diamond in 10k rose gold, cited as cheaper than moissanite cost six years earlier
$1,000Moissanite––––Vintage-style ring with center moissanite and an accent Australian opal, bought on Etsy; chosen over diamond for ethical reasons
$1,000Other gemstone––––Dislikes diamonds; ring set with pearls and opals instead
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.15 ct––2025Quote for a 2.15ct solitaire with a pave ring, under $1000; cited to say the asker's 14k quote is not out of line
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.01 ct–yellow gold20252mm cathedral setting, 6 prong
$1,000Moissanite–––2022Spent about $1,000 on a moissanite engagement ring roughly three years before this comment
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Used a diamond-cluster design of tiny diamonds that reads as one larger stone to save money
$1,000Moissanite–––2022Moissanite engagement ring, much cheaper than diamond so a bigger stone was affordable
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.89 ctcushiongold2025Custom-made set with 1.89ct cushion lab diamond main stone, band and setting fee together around $1,000 in 10k gold
$1,000––––2025Bought a ring similar in style to the one in the asker's post for $1,000; later saw a near-identical ring listed on Etsy by a different seller for $700
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctprincessgold2025Double band with 24 melee diamonds and 3ct princess center, 14k; three weeks start to finish
$1,000––radiantgold2025Reset her existing diamond into a new 14k gold bezel setting with a new, thinner band, down from 18k gold; all in about $1000
$1,000–––––Ring cost $1k, writer still loves it years later
$1,000Moissanite––gold–Cost less than one week of his salary; worn daily over six years, still looks new
€1,000–––––Custom-made engagement ring under 1000 euros; her wedding band, with diamonds and a sapphire, under 500 euros
$1,000–––––Tiny diamond flush-set in the band
$1,000–––––Asked for a less expensive ring but fiance gave her the dream ring anyway
1,000––––2005Price given in New Zealand dollars, about 20+ years before the comment
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Solitaire lab diamond built online, price included taxes
$1,000Other gemstone––––Chose an affordable simulant stone during grad school; jeweler offered to replace it with a real diamond later
$1,000Moissanite––––About $1000 from memory for a moissanite on a band; chosen over a greyish included natural stone near $4,000 for the stone alone; bought years back
$1,000–––––A cousin's ring, said to look similar to the friend's $15k ring mentioned in the same comment
$1,000–––––Bought secondhand at a pawn shop; says it is worth around $30,000
$1,000Moissanite–round––Round solitaire moissanite ring from RingComeTrue, described as not showing much rainbow flash
A$1,000–––––Doesn't wear the engagement ring often, wears the wedding band day to day instead
A$1,000Other gemstone––other–Groom's replacement ring, a design called sanguinius in silver and gold with a ruby and filigree
A$1,000–––––Says most people they know have tattooed rings instead of buying one
A$1,000Lab-grown diamond––gold–Writer never wanted a ring and let the store pick the design
$1,000–––––A stock band close to her custom design was quoted at this price for a travel ring; she decided it wasn't worth it just for a dupe
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said0.3 ctprincesswhite gold2005One of the first rings she saw while shopping about 20 years before the comment; the inclusion later showed to the naked eye outside store lighting
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Happy with what she paid for her lab diamond ring
$1,000Natural diamond–––1988Ex-partner bought her this natural diamond ring in 1988 for over $1,000.
$1,000–––––Custom ring with no diamond; expects it would have cost more with one
$1,000––––2025Upgrade ring from an Etsy seller, exact price unknown but under $1,000
$1,000–––––Total for both partners' engagement rings combined; they wear cheap replicas day-to-day since they're careless with jewelry
$1,000–––––Original ring, later lost
$1,000Moissanite––––Prioritized a home purchase and honeymoon over ring cost, in a VHCOL area
£1,000Lab-grown diamond0.7 ct–gold2025Tailor-designed lab diamond ring, 18-carat gold with a platinum claw setting, for about £1k; also bought a matching eternity ring there
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab diamond plus the first setting; the stone later moved to a second setting and this original setting later got a different stone, price not given.
$1,000––––2025Bought a similar Etsy vintage-style princess ring for less than $1,000
$1,000–––––Writer said just under 1k
$1,000Natural diamond––––Family diamond reset into a new setting for about 1000; her band was 400, his 900
$1,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushion––Elongated cushion cut lab diamond; stone and setting together came to under $1k
$1,000Natural diamond0.4 ct–––Initially considered a cheaper ring under $500 before settling on this one
$1,000–––––Chose a modest ring to spend more on the honeymoon instead
£1,000Moissanite––platinum–Came in under this amount even after paying extra to upgrade to platinum
£1,000Moissanite––platinum–Hearts-and-arrows moissanite in a twisted platinum band, well under £1,000
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Later resold this lab ring privately at a loss; also owned and sold a separate natural-diamond ring
$1,000Natural diamond1.23 ct––1974Badly cut stone with a weak K color grade, bought at a pricey local jewelry store
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–gold2024Writer's cousin's ring, 14k or 18k gold, writer isn't fully sure which, bought the year before the comment
$1,000Sapphire––––Ring bought for a girlfriend ahead of a planned proposal; the relationship ended first and it can't be resold for what he paid
$1,000––––2025What she paid for his ring in return; no sale applied
$1,000Other gemstone1.5 ct––2025Made-to-order 1.5ct fancy yellow CZ ring instead of a diamond, cost under $1,000
$1,000––––2025Matching twin rings for the couple, bought that spring
$1,000–––––Own ring for his partner, described as well under $1000, contrasted with the roughly $10k he suggests an overseas Pakistani-American could spend
$1,000–––––1920s platinum art deco style ring bought secondhand online
$1,000Other gemstone––––Writer's sister's ring, colored gemstone instead of diamond so most cost was the setting
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––gold–Writer's niece's ring, a modest lab diamond in a gold setting, plus a plain gold wedding band with no separate price given
$1,000–––––First ring when they could barely afford it, early in the marriage
$1,000–––––Retail value close to 6000, but paid only 1000 due to working in the jewelry industry
$1,000Moissanite––––Chose a cheaper moissanite under budget out of fear of losing a pricier ring; partner plans a second ring as a future anniversary gift
$1,000–––––Writer's father bought this for writer's mother though he could not really afford it at the time; later upgraded at their tenth anniversary
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Boyfriend initially wanted a mined diamond but switched to lab for cost and ethics; the same specs in natural would have run over $10k
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.5 ct––2025Solitaire setting mentioned, stone shape not stated
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctradiantwhite gold20251.5ct radiant center with about 0.25ct trapezoid side stones, bought in April, said to be well under $1000
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant––Near-perfect specs; writer says an equivalent natural would run over $50k
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Estimates saving at least $50,000 versus friends' mined stones by choosing lab; inherited a separate mined ring with poor resale reality
$1,000Lab-created coloured stone––platinum2025Lab-grown alexandrite center with moissanite accents in platinum; matching wedding band bought separately
$1,000––––2025Fiance bought her dream engagement ring for under $1,000, cited as proof a nice ring needn't be expensive
£1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Bought a secondhand ring for well under retail value
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.03 ctovalwhite gold2025Bought a 2.03ct blue lab diamond oval solitaire in 14k white gold from an overseas vendor for just under $1,000
1,000No stone (plain band)––––Amount in SGD; custom-made rings for the couple together; she dislikes diamonds so no stone was used
$1,000Moissanite–––2025Recently upgraded to a 3ct moissanite ring for under $1000
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Engagement ring a little over $1k; chose a lab-grown diamond after discussing preferences with husband beforehand.
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushionwhite gold–Elongated cushion, IGI cert; full ring under $1k, and a follow-up comment put the loose stone alone under $500
$1,000–2 ct–white gold–Bezel-set white gold ring; says higher gold usage explains a higher cost than the asker's
$1,000Moissanite––––2 ct DEW moissanite with a fancy, rare cut shape, cost under $1,000
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Established couple in their 40s; she chose a modest ring she loves though her husband could have spent far more
$1,000Sapphire0.5 ct–gold–Handmade gold ring with a half-carat natural sapphire from a small artisan jeweler
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer believes her ring cost under $1,000 and says a $30k spend would have upset her
$1,000Other gemstone––––Husband later bought her a diamond simulant worth under $1k; she loves it
$1,000–––––Considers $1,000 for her original ring more than enough at a young age
$1,000–––––Owns several inexpensive rings (3 engagement rings, a couple of bands) each around this price; avoids costly jewelry for fear of losing it
$1,000–––––Bought on clearance; picked it herself; barely wears it now
$1,000–––––Engagement ring cost 1k; husband now earns 120k a year; year not given
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold–Custom-made ring, diamond and mounting both sourced from the same maker
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––1ct solitaire later resold at a loss
$1,000–––––Under $1,000; she helped choose it; the couple spent more on the wedding day itself
$1,000–––––Grandmother's engagement ring reset in a new, slightly customized setting for well under 1k, as she recalls
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Ordered a lab-grown ring and band online from an India-based maker to avoid US jeweler markups
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Insisted on a $1k lab-grown 2-carat D-color ring despite a personal income of $200k
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctmarquisegold2026Writer said 'just under $1k'; 14k gold band
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Upgrade bought in-store at a steep markup vs online prices
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.2 ctemerald––Toi-et-moi style with two center stones, 2.2ct emerald and 2.04ct pear
C$1,000–––two tone–Illusion double-halo setting in platinum and rose gold, sent from India by her future mother-in-law; could afford more but chose not to
$1,000–1 ct–––Spontaneous purchase, gold ring with roughly 1-carat center stone and accents, just over $1,000
$1,000Natural diamond0.6 ct–––First setting for a 0.60 ct diamond inherited from mother-in-law over 30 years ago
C$1,000Natural diamond––yellow gold–Small, ethically sourced Canadian diamond
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––Toi et moi style, customized
£1,000Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct–platinum20241.20ct lab diamond in an 18ct platinum band, top grade colour/clarity, just over £1000; says the same ring is about £2000 now due to metal prices
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold202618k gold ring with import fees included; bought via an online group's vetted overseas vendor list
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold20261.5ct lab diamond in a simple 14k solitaire setting, paid under $1k
$1,000Sapphire––gold–One of a same-sex couple's two engagement rings, small sapphire and lower-karat gold, each about this price
$1,000Sapphire––gold–The couple's other engagement ring, same approximate price and style
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––A friend's lab-grown diamond ring, bought for around this amount or under; friend is happy with it
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold202618k gold ring with a 2ct lab diamond, bought from a vetted China vendor list; buyer tested gold authenticity and it came with a diamond certificate.
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Writer's own 3ct lab diamond ring
$1,000–––––No other specs given by writer
$1,000Moissanite––white gold–2ct-equivalent moissanite bought whole from a jeweler in the city's jewelry district, haggled for a cash discount
$1,000–––––No other specs given; simple setting
€1,000–––––Her own engagement ring; she calls it about the same value as her husband's wedding band
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.57 ctroundgold–2.57ct E VS1 ideal round with baguette accents in a 14k setting, under $1,000 total
$1,000––––2026Second engagement, matching rings for both partners bought together in Tokyo, total for both not per ring
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ct–white gold2026Bought for a proposal the following week; 1ct in 14k white gold, on sale for roughly 400 off
C$1,000–––––No further detail given beyond the amount spent
C$1,000––––2020Replacement ring bought about 20 years after the original
C$1,000–––––Not fully sure of the exact amount; recalls it was under $2000 and probably closer to $1000
$1,000–2 ct–––Ordering a ring plus a 2ct diamond together from fayjewelry.com for just under $1,000
$1,000–––––Original engagement ring price, worked out as $500 less than the writer's later $1500 upgrade ring
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.03 ctradiant–2026Custom radiant lab diamond ring with setting from an Etsy seller, a little over the stated figure
C$1,000Lab-created coloured stone–––2026Lab-grown sapphire ring from Ottawa designer Magpie; arrived the wrong size with a bent prong, adding about $150 for resizing and repair
$1,000–––––Paid from a joint account; still has it ten years later despite offers to upgrade
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold2026Pink lab diamond solitaire in 10k gold, order still in progress; setting plus stone under $1,000.
1,000Sapphire0.5 ct–yellow gold–0.5ct sapphire with diamond side stones in 14k yellow gold, custom made
1,000–––––As long as it looked nice they were fine; wedding band and proposal ring each cost about 1k
£1,000–––––Partner doesn't like diamonds; saved up and spent as much as could afford at the time
$1,000–––––Friend's Costco ring ran a little over $1,000; Costco doesn't size rings in-house so it was sized at Kay's
£1,000–––platinum2011Diamond solitaire; platinum band cost more than the stone at the time
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ct–gold20262.66ct H VVS1 lab diamond ring, 14k gold, priced around $1,000 after price-matching the stone through Loose Grown Diamonds
£1,000–––––Chose the ring together with her partner; wary of debt since it would be shared once married
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Ring type not stated; a baguette fell out after a week, Jared first asked $500 to reset it then did it free; local jeweler built up gold for $10
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushionyellow gold2026Buyer's own ring, a little over $1,000, bought through a group sale online; still awaiting delivery
C$1,000–1.52 ct–––Diamond bought from Calavera, custom setting made overseas from the writer's own measurements, then set by a local jeweler for $50; all-in under this amount
$1,000Moissanite––platinum20264-carat center stone plus about 1 carat in side stones, platinum band, under this price
$1,000–––––Total price given only via a photo caption, no carat or specs stated in text
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2026Pink lab diamond ring bought for under $1,000, offered as comparison to the asker's $5,325 yellow diamond ring
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––A US-based buyer cited their own lab-grown 2ct ring purchase as a price reference for Indian buyers
$1,000Moissanite–––2026Fiancé's moissanite ring; she believes it cost under $1k and would have been fine with cheaper
£1,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold–18k gold with a 1 ct lab stone; the jeweler knew them from a cheer team and cut the price; many competing Jewellery Quarter shops
£1,000Sapphire––other–Asked for a silver ring set with a sapphire, under £1,000
$1,000–––––Husband spent around $1,000 on her dream ring even though he earns more than that
$1,000––––2013Wedding photographer's own ring; married 13 years, contrasts with lavish rings she's seen end in divorce
$1,000Lab-grown diamond––––A bit over one thousand dollars for a lab-grown stone; exact figure not given
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2026Replying to a claim that a 1.25ct lab diamond ring must cost more than 2.25k; says their own 2ct ring cost less than 1000
€1,000–––––Couple worth about 2.2 million euros (after 200k rental debt) but kept the ring modest; they also drive 10-year-old cars
£1,000Lab-grown diamond1.7 ct–––Heavily discounted because it was a custom ring someone else had returned; resizing afterward cost a separate £80
$1,000–0.5 ctroundyellow gold–Bought in person rather than online for the personal touch and easier returns or adjustments
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct––20261.2ct old-mine-cut lab diamond ring made by Fiorese for about $1,000
$1,000Lab-grown diamond4.04 ct–gold202614k gold ring with a 4.04ct E VVS2 lab diamond; writer asks whether this was a good price
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold–Custom 2ct lab solitaire, low-set basket with cathedral rail, hidden halo and 6 prongs; simple design kept the cost under $1k
$1,000Lab-grown diamond–––2023Ring assembled for the writer's brother on a $1,000 budget; GCAL 8X lab diamond plus an Ivy and Rose setting, right on budget
$1,012Lab-grown diamond2.13 ctovalgold2024East-west bezel oval; 14k setting custom made in China, local jeweler charged $30 extra to set the stone
$1,019Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundwhite gold2025Quote for a 2ct F VVS2 engagement ring plus a separate pave wedding band; asking if it's a good deal
$1,032Lab-grown diamond3.34 ctroundwhite gold2025Stone was $682 plus a PayPal fee; custom setting in 10k white gold
$1,040Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Bought a 2ct lab diamond center stone from Loose Grown Diamond and commissioned a 14kt semi-mount with two 6mm side stones from overseas maker Provence
$1,047Lab-grown diamond0.94 ct–gold2025Stone found for $217 at White House Brothers, an identical listing Rare Carat had at about $750 was price-matched down to $217; 14K gold setting
$1,050Natural diamond––––Used grandmother's center stone in a new setting (setting just under $1000, total about $1050 after a small stone-setting fee); her custom band was just under $600, his custom Damascus steel band was about $450
$1,050Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemeraldyellow gold2025Ready-to-wear 1.5ct lab emerald-cut signet ring in 14k yellow gold with IGI cert, bought for her boyfriend when she proposed; $950 base plus $100 for a personalized engraving, $1050 total
$1,050Lab-grown diamond2.06 ctmarquise––One of several quotes from the asker's local jeweler; buyer said this one looked reasonable while the other three on the same screenshot seemed steep
£1,063Sapphire––––Sapphire halo ring
$1,070Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025Different shape than the writer's 3ct moissanite ring, very similar bezel setting
$1,070Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct––2025Solitaire built with a discount code; writer said the cut showed almost no bow-tie effect
$1,074Lab-grown diamond3.22 ctmarquise–2025Full setting included; considers the asker's ring overpriced by comparison
1,080Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Friend's ring, price included resizing; picked from a stackable line meant to pair with a bigger-stone wedding band later
1,088Diamond, lab or natural not said1.01 ct–white gold2026The person asking priced the ring in Singapore dollars; buyers were split on whether the stone is lab or natural
€1,090Lab-grown diamond–––2024Ordered a yellow lab-diamond solitaire online from Stroili Oro before proposing; said ~1200 once, then 1090; buyers doubt the cert matches the stone.
$1,090Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–20232ct round H VS1 lab diamond ring bought last July for $800 stone plus a $290 Fiorese setting; prices have shifted since
$1,095Natural diamond0.67 ct–platinum20241939 platinum ring with a 2/3ct center stone bought at an antique mall on a tighter budget; described as a Cartier-style tank ring
$1,100–––––Nicer ring bought a couple of years after the first
$1,100Moissanite–––20214ct diamond-equivalent with a halo; custom service, took about 8 weeks to arrive
£1,100–––––Chosen together; writer says she wouldn't dare wear it if it cost much more
$1,100––––2022Ended up paying this for two rings total after the first order fell through
$1,100Moissanite–oval––Latest and largest ring, a big oval stone
$1,100Moissanite––white gold202218k palladium white gold with moissanite, expected to last forever
$1,100Moissanite–oval–2022Ordered a 12x9mm oval moissanite ring from Mona, arriving soon; calls western retail markups insane
$1,100Moissanite––––A stack of three moissanite rings bought separately over about a year, now alternated with the original ring for comfort
$1,100––––2012Bought spontaneously at the mall while intending to buy truck tires instead
$1,100–0.5 ct––2012Three-stone ring bought about 10 years before the comment, while money was tight
$1,100Moissanite––platinum2022950 platinum drove the price up; asked for a brilliant cut but received crushed ice cut instead, still loves the ring
A$1,100–––white gold–Repurposed her father's old white-gold wedding band, melted down and remade into a custom ring
$1,100Moissanite––––Partner paid roughly this; she is glad he took on no debt and says they can upgrade later
£1,100––––2013Equal to a month's wages at the time; she still wears it and loves it
£1,100––––2016Price included a warranty
$1,100––––2020Planned wedding never happened because of COVID; dress also went unworn
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Loose stone from loosegrowndiamond, custom 14k setting made by Provence over WhatsApp; total of 1100 includes a setting fee beyond the 300 setting cost
$1,100Lab-grown diamond––––Family works in jewelry; had the same ring remade at wholesale price plus labor cost
$1,100–––––Quote for a brand-new platinum ring with larger diamonds than her original gold ring, considered as an alternative to remaking.
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearwhite gold2025Did the legwork buying and setting it herself; hidden halo
$1,100–––––Fiance spent about a third of one paycheck on her ring; she spent about a twelfth of her after-tax paycheck on his band
$1,100Moissanite––––3-carat moissanite the wife wears; a jeweler who recognized it as moissanite still later offered far more to buy it back
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20253ct center stone with small accent diamonds; buyer called it amazing value.
$1,100Lab-grown diamond––––Second ring bought for comparison; writer treats neither as an investment, just for enjoyment.
$1,100Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab grown sapphire center with diamond accents; budget was $3k, came in well under
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2.35 ctmarquise–2025Stone plus custom setting and setting fees combined; roughly $1000 for the stone plus about $100 more to have it set
£1,100Lab-grown diamond1 ct–platinum–Platinum solitaire with a 1ct lab diamond
$1,100Sapphire1 ct–gold–14k gold engraved split shank band
$1,100–––––Bought on sale months after seeing it; original tag price was $2,400
$1,100Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Secondhand ring bought on eBay; appraised at over $12,000 when taken in for resizing
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct–yellow gold202518k yellow gold setting with a 2.5mm band
$1,100Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–gold2025Center stone only, bought in June of this year; side stones add about another 0.30-0.40ct, not included in the price
$1,100Diamond, lab or natural not said–pearplatinum2024Used Stonealgo to find the stone; almost 5ct pear in platinum, all-in price, exact weight not given
$1,100Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum2025Writer said the stone was nearly 5 carats; called it the most beautiful ring they'd gotten anywhere
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearplatinum2025Fancy blue pear-shaped lab diamond in a platinum setting; total price
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctroundplatinum20253-stone ring, hearts-and-arrows cut, 9.8 Stonealgo score; setting alone ran about $730; side stones (quoted at 0.5ct each) later reset smaller at 0.25ct each since they looked oversized and prongs needed adjusting
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.4 ctroundgold2024Hearts-and-arrows cut round diamond; same vendor custom-made a 10k gold setting with lab diamond accents
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.22 ctmarquise––Marquise solitaire lab diamond chosen to go bigger within budget; specs good but not flawless
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald–2025Loose stone from Luvansh, setting made by Provence from a photo, set locally; total under $1,100, about a year before the comment
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquiseyellow gold2026Lab-grown marquise ring being made in 14k gold
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.21 ct–gold20263.21ct ring on a 14k band being made by a Chinese vendor for about $1,100 or a bit more
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundtwo tone2026Tulip 6-prong setting currently being made by the writer's local jeweler
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––20242.5 carat stone, setting and setting labor, bought a couple of years ago when gold prices were lower
$1,100Natural diamond0.3 ct––19920.3 ct solitaire bought when they were both 22; her very slim band was about 90
$1,100––––2026Custom ring designed with a rep named Anthony at Fiorese; total came to a little over $1,100
$1,100Natural diamond1 ct–yellow gold202618k solid gold 1ctw natural diamond eternity band from Costco, item #1614197; carat figure is total weight across the band, not one stone
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–2026Pear-cut stone in a bezel setting, all-in price, not yet delivered
£1,100Other gemstone––gold–A seafoam tourmaline center stone set in gold
$1,100Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald–20265ct emerald-cut lab diamond from Luvansh for under $600, custom mount from Fay Jewelry for around $500
$1,100Lab-grown diamond4 ct–gold2026Set in a gold half bezel; buyer called the price insane for the specs
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Pave band setting; total including tax was under 1300
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear––Most recent upgrade, price covers diamond and setting together
$1,100Sapphire––gold–Replacement vintage ring bought after the first one went missing
$1,100–––––Customs duty bill of about $50 arrived roughly a month after the $1100 piece shipped from Singapore
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2025A recent lab-grown replacement stone graded ideal across the board by AGS, costing about one-tenth of her original natural diamond
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–3ct loose lab diamond set in 10k gold for under $1,100 total
$1,100Natural diamond0.5 ctheartyellow gold1991Heart solitaire, 14k yellow gold; the store has since closed. A later comment from the same writer calls it 1/5 ct instead of 1/2 ct, likely a typo.
$1,120–––white gold2013Same channel-set diamond-and-ruby ring, quoted in 14K white gold instead of platinum
$1,120Moissanite–––2022Tiffany-style c&c setting; matching wedding band bought separately on Etsy
$1,142Lab-grown diamond2.13 ctoval––Custom 14k gold setting with lab side diamonds made by Fay Jewelry (fayjewelry.com) for $625; center stone $487; local jeweler charged $30 to set the stone, total $1142
$1,145Lab-grown diamond2.57 ct–gold–Overseas Etsy seller; total for stone plus thick gold band was exactly $1,145, first described as about $1,200.
$1,150Lab-grown diamond1 ctovalyellow gold2025In-store quote for the ring style the person asking initially favored, not the one his girlfriend picked; buyers said the price was fine but criticized the thin band and prong design
£1,150–––––Bought during a 40% sale plus an extra promotion, down from an RRP of £2500
$1,150Lab-grown diamond1.7 ctradiantyellow gold2025Before tax; same ratio as the asker's stone, two diamond baguette side stones
$1,150Lab-grown diamond3.94 ctradiantyellow gold2025Setting with a diamond halo was still being made at time of comment
$1,150––––2025Local jeweler did the requested customization for about half June's 2300 quote for the same design with a smaller stone
$1,150–––––Married at 22; now decades later says the ring's cost has no bearing on the marriage
$1,151Lab-grown diamond2.08 ct–––Upgraded from a 1.5ct cz to this lab stone and reset it into her existing ring
$1,160Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2025Stone price given separately from the combined stone-plus-setting total
$1,160Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant––Loose lab diamond bought for a past partner plus a separate custom-made setting; year not stated, from an earlier relationship
$1,169Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold2026Custom-cut triangle diamond accents; total includes stone plus having it set in 14k solid yellow gold; a similar natural ring elsewhere would have cost roughly $31,000
$1,170Lab-created coloured stone1.2 ct–rose gold–She chose it herself: lab sapphire on sale from 334, 14k rose gold solitaire setting, plus a 250 fee to set her own stone
$1,175Lab-grown diamond1 ctpearyellow gold2026Custom fancy vivid pink pear lab diamond with 2 kite sapphires, 18k yellow gold, blue high-tech ceramic band; regrets stone size/color
$1,180–––––$740 was the setting cost alone; $1180 was the full total including everything else
$1,190–––other2013Same channel-set diamond-and-ruby ring, quoted in palladium instead of platinum
$1,195Other gemstone0.34 ct–gold2026Claimed-Victorian emerald and old mine cut diamond cluster ring; seller asking price, not bought, emerald possibly synthetic or treated, 10k-14k gold, damaged prongs, no hallmarks or lab report
$1,195Other gemstone0.34 ctothergold2026A Victorian-style celebration ring under negotiation: about 0.34 ct emerald center plus 0.36 cttw old mine cut diamond accents, 10k-14k gold, emerald not lab tested for treatment
$1,200Sapphire––––Picked her own $1200 sapphire solitaire with a gold halo, one of the cheapest her jeweler had; price wasn't the main factor
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2024Custom ring: center stone sold as ruby, accents sold as lab diamonds and opals; later assessed as possibly CZ/glass and sapphire, dispute ongoing
$1,200Natural diamond0.5 ct–platinum–Vintage diamond ring bought from a vintage dealer; writer likes that it had a previous owner
$1,200–––––Writer says the amount spent shouldn't matter if it's the right person
$1,200Natural diamond0.5 ct–––Reused his mother's half-carat diamond in a new band; sold the old ring's gold to offset the cost
$1,200Moissanite––––Went with a moissanite ring instead of spending two months' income (~$9,000) on a diamond, in order to pay off student loans
£1,200–––––Financed on a 0% interest card, repaid over 10 months
$1,200–––––Husband's budget was $6,000 but she didn't spend all of it
$1,200––––1991Both were young and in the military with a small budget; still loves the ring
$1,200–––––The writer's own ring, cheaper due to different preferences
$1,200–––––On sale, originally listed at $2,000
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctradiant––2 carat radiant lab diamond ring, cited as proof a good-looking lab stone doesn't need to cost much
$1,200–––––Bought while he was a college senior on an ROTC stipend; she still wears it often
C$1,200Moissanite–cushionplatinum2022Elongated cushion solitaire with a hidden halo in PT950 platinum
A$1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Picked the ring out himself rather than with partner; lab-grown stone; spent $1,200
$1,200Lab-grown diamond1.54 ctprincess––Bought a diamond ring for his wife online as a cheaper alternative to pawn-shop pricing, shipped
£1,200–2 ctround–2016A 2-carat solitaire from a local jeweller
£1,200––––2019Bought 4 years before comment; wife later lost the ring and a replacement now costs more
£1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown chosen for ethics and lower cost; smaller stone since wife has tiny hands
£1,200––––2022A woman proposing to her male partner; custom ring with a fox and moon engraving
£1,200–––––Writer's own husband's spend on her ring
£1,200–––––Ring for his first marriage
£1,200–––––Earns £50k/year; ring cost about 3 months of disposable income by his own estimate; also bought a necklace and earrings
£1,200Moissanite––rose gold–14k rose gold with moissanite instead of diamond; couldn't justify diamond prices
£1,200–––––Budget was about £1k but she chose one at £1.2k; proposed initially with a hula hoop
£1,200–––––Worn for work
£1,200–––––Less than a 3-month take-home would have been; wife picked it after proposing to him with a sweet ring
£1,200Other gemstone––gold–Gold band with a centre emerald and a diamond either side; plain gold wedding band
£1,200–––––Grandmother's ring resized in platinum during a 6-year engagement
£1,200–––––An ex-fiancée's ring; relationship ended and writer let her keep it
$1,200Lab-grown diamond0.5 ct–other2023Local jewelry store quote for a 0.5ct lab diamond on a plain silver band; ended up not buying this one
$1,200––––2023Exactly the ring she wanted
£1,200––––2023Wedding bands made to match; added 7 small diamonds to her band to match his ring's price
$1,200––––2023Elopement trip cost about 4-5k, half of that on the photographer
$1,200Natural diamond––––Big-looking Costco ring for about 1.2k; someone guessed it cost around 5k; still looks as it did in the display case
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2021Second ring for the same wife, under 1 ct yet better looking; store not named (discussion context points to Costco)
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.18 ctemerald–2024Emerald cut solitaire engagement ring; buyer praised craftsmanship and the buying experience
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.18 ct––2024Whole ring including setting, bought using a promo code; writer loves the ring
$1,200–––––Diamond passed down from husband's grandmother; paid ~$1,200 to reset it, ring itself valued around $6k; wedding band was $3,000; he couldn't have afforded $6k outright at the time
$1,200Other gemstone––––London blue topaz center stone with a moissanite halo and pave
C$1,200Other gemstone––white gold2024Fiancé spent about $1,200 despite earning more than the person asking; compromised on no diamonds for a dainty emerald white gold ring
C$1,200–––––Wife chose her own ring and also picked out the writer's cheaper wedding band; happy four years on
C$1,200–––––Brief mention with no other detail given
C$1,200–––––Diamond ring found at an estate sale, valued at over $5k but paid $1,200
$1,200––––2024Bought on a Valentine's Day sale
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct–––Price included the setting
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–platinum2024Stone type not specified in the reply
$1,200–0.72 ct–––0.72 is total carat weight, not center stone alone; writer says price is approximate from memory
£1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown diamond ring; writer says he and his wife can't tell it apart from natural; cost half a month of his wage
1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said––––CHF 1200 ring with a small diamond, well under any 'three months salary' guideline
£1,200Sapphire––––Commissioned locally; sapphire sourced from Hatton Garden set with diamonds; also spent £2.5k on an engagement watch for his partner (not the ring)
$1,200Other gemstone1 ct––2024Chose non-diamond stones; 1 carat is stated as total weight, not one center stone
$1,200Lab-grown diamond1 ctemeraldwhite gold–Custom-made 14k white gold men's ring, 6mm wide, 1ct emerald-cut lab diamond, modeled on a specific inspiration ring
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.06 ct––20253.06ct E VVS2 lab stone including tax; recommends loose-stone sellers over big-name retailers
C$1,200Moissanite––yellow gold–Three moissanite stones in an 18k yellow gold cathedral setting; less than a month of her husband's salary
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalgold20252.5ct center, 2.75ct total weight including band stones
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2024A separate lab diamond ring bought about a year before this comment for $1200; writer believes it could still sell for close to that
$1,200–––––Fiancee spent $1,200 on the ring; already bought a house and expecting a baby
$1,200–––––Boyfriend is having a ring designed that will cost $1,200; writer says she'd be fine with $50 too
€1,200Other gemstone––––Goldsmith made a green tourmaline ring for a customer's proposal; customer's ring budget had been 5000 euros, much left unused
$1,200––––2013Upper-middle-class household; thought the amount was excessive at the time
$1,200–––––Writer is very happy with it; says $5k would buy an amazing ring and 3 months' salary is unnecessary
$1,200Other gemstone–––2015Morganite ring from an Etsy shop, chosen to save for other goals; held up well after about a decade
$1,200–––––Writer loves it; says husband wanted to spend more but that would have made her uncomfortable
$1,200–––––Chosen from many options fiance showed her; preferred saving the difference for travel over a $10k ring
$1,200Moissanite––gold202518k gold setting with lab-diamond shoulder stones and a moissanite center, instead of the mined diamond originally budgeted at $7,000-$10,000
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalgold20253ct oval lab diamond, good cut/color/clarity, set in a 14k gold solitaire; no trade-in option there
A$1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown diamond solitaire
A$1,200––––2015Ring valued at 1800, paid 1200 while on Centrelink welfare payments; partner later said she didn't want a nicer one
A$1,200–––––Wife's engagement ring
A$1,200–––––Was low-income at the time of proposing
$1,200Natural diamond––white gold2000Small antique-style stone bought on the spot in the NYC diamond district; writer calls it a 'mind cut' (old mine cut)
$1,200––marquise–1998Small marquise bought around the time of a home purchase, well under a 3-month-salary budget
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2025Writer estimates a mined equivalent diamond would have cost about $75,000
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025Full ring with a 3-carat stone of slightly lower specs than the asker's, cited as evidence the person asking overpaid
$1,200–––––Price is after tax and warranty; budget was $2500 but the ring she liked cost less; avoided a diamond to keep him out of debt.
$1,200–––––Felt like a lot at the time until learning friends had rings around 10000 and 20000
$1,200––––2025A small local goldsmith built the ring from family gold and stones for $1,200 after the bigger store's $6,000+ quote
$1,200––––2025Another ring bought from the same type of reseller, who had also acquired it for about $200; supposedly worth $3,500-4,000+, with resale offers of $2,000-3,500
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2025Vendor price-matches competitors; buyer called it a good price point for the ring pictured
$1,200––––2025Wedding bands still being shopped for, likely also Costco, under 1000
$1,200Moissanite––gold–Gold band ring from a jeweler whose Instagram handle suggests a moissanite specialist, in an online group discussion
$1,200Natural diamond0.75 ct–––Used Kay Jewelers' trade-in program to lower the net cost; suggests comparing local and online jewelers too, since chain prices ran high
C$1,200Natural diamond0.24 ctround–2016First engagement ring, later upgraded
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–––2024Lab diamond kept the price down
$1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Bought a same-grade stone online; separately notes gold prices have risen and is unsure of the setting's purity.
£1,200Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Bespoke platinum trilogy with a lab diamond and sapphire accents matching her birthstone; free resize included
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.52 ctmarquise–2025Entire ring with lower specs than the asker's stone, just over $1200, ordered from an overseas vendor
$1,200––––2025Picked out via a link she sent; husband agreed to the price without pushback
$1,200––––2025Originally $1,500, bought on Black Friday for $1,200 plus a $500 gift card bonus
$1,200–––––Her dream ring
$1,200Lab-grown diamond––––Upgraded to a lab diamond a few years after the original moissanite ring
$1,200–––––An acquaintance's ring, reported by writer
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct––2025Very similar design to the asker's boutique ring but with a 3.5ct stone; just finished
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2025Fiance bought a 2ct stone and setting together; writer called the result perfect
$1,200Lab-grown diamond–ovalrose gold2025Self-designed with fiance; 14k rose gold, 2mm band, IGI-certified oval stone, ring price about $1200ish
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctcushionwhite gold2025Custom-made antique-style elongated cushion cut ring with milgrain and pave, ordered for well under this price, cited as proof lab diamonds keep costs low
$1,200–1.5 ct–white gold–Custom made, lifetime warranty, made in the USA; unrelated to the Rare Carat price-match method in the post
$1,200–––––Ring cost this amount despite the writer being independently wealthy; values it for its meaning, not its price.
$1,200–––––Happy with a modest ring despite wealthy parents; chose to live frugally rather than lean on family money

Previous · Page 17 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 231 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.