engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 19 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports from $1,500 to $2,000

This page runs from $1,500 to $2,000.

Previous · Page 19 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Husband earned 120k and she 80k at the time; they now own two properties and investments
$1,500–––––Ring from her now-ex, who insisted on paying 1500 over a 30-dollar ring she loved; nice but not the one she wanted; year not given
$1,500–––––The writer's daughter's ring, picked out by her now-husband; they also bought a new condo around the same time
$1,500Moissanite––gold–Chose an $1,500 moissanite-and-gold ring with diamond side stones over partner's $7-10k mined-diamond budget
$1,500Moissanite––white gold–18K white gold with a moissanite stone; writer's '2K' read as about 2 carats, not dollars
$1,500–1.55 ctmarquise–2026Step cut marquise, length-to-width ratio 1.95
$1,500–1.5 ctmarquise–2026Bought during a store sale; original price before the discount was about $2,100
$1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.6 ct–platinum–Caps jewelry spending at $2-3k even with more income; not clear if lab or moissanite
$1,500Lab-grown diamond2.81 ctprincessrose gold2025Writer's son's ring, bought near Christmas with a coupon; 2mm band; happy with a simple petal-prong solitaire
$1,500Lab-grown diamond––––Customized lab-grown ring bought in China; chose the smaller ring plus $15k in stocks over a bigger diamond
$1,500–1.86 ctemeraldyellow gold–1.8mm 14k gold band; price-matched to a listing on loosegrowndiamonds; wedding bands not yet bought
$1,500–––white gold–White gold cathedral setting upgrade, about 4mm wide, price uncertain ('maybe')
$1,500–3 ctoval––Pave band with a hidden halo
$1,500–––––Writer told him not to spend that much
$1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.7 ctovalrose gold20262.7ct oval E/VVS2 ring in rose gold from Brilliance, spent under $1,500
£1,500–––––Husband bought it secondhand on eBay; came with a valuation confirming market value, later re-valued for peace of mind
$1,500Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalyellow gold2026Maker quoted this for another buyer's 2ct oval hidden-halo ring in 14k yellow gold at 2026 gold prices, likely GHI color VS-plus
$1,500–2.7 ctoval–2026Cathedral-style setting with a basket top
$1,500–2.7 ctovalrose gold–2.7ct oval E VVS2 ring cost $1,500; her 2mm 14k gold band unpriced, his 5mm band $800; all under $3k total
$1,500–1.5 ctpear––Pear cut ring in a similar style to the asker's design, almost $1,500
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.86 ctemeraldgold–14k gold half bezel setting, price matched through Rare Carat
$1,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Buyer reports paying this for a 3ct D VS1 diamond ring, cited as pushback against the asker's higher quoted price
$1,500Lab-grown diamond4.19 ctpearrose gold2026Center pear stone plus 1.49ct of accent stones on the band, all bought from one US vendor
$1,500Lab-grown diamond4.5 ctcushionyellow gold202610k yellow gold ring, cited as proof the person asking shouldn't pay $6k
$1,500Natural diamond0.5 ctroundwhite gold2002Engaged 24 years before the comment; solitaire, no lab option existed at the time
$1,500Moissanite–emerald––Chose a 3ct emerald-cut moissanite ring for about $1,500 over a smaller natural diamond he'd also considered (~$3,000); his fiancee didn't reveal it was moissanite until after buying it
$1,500–––––Researched cut and clarity extensively before buying; prioritized cut quality over carat size
$1,500––––2026Partner told him exactly what she wanted
$1,500Lab-grown diamond–––2026Lab diamond upgrade ring after years of hinting to her husband; only $500 more than he originally spent
$1,500Lab-grown diamond–oval–2026$1500 deposit paid toward a custom lab oval diamond ring (target 3.3-3.7ct, D or E, VVS2, ideal cut); seller stopped responding after taking the deposit, a scam; full price and delivery unknown
$1,500Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval–2026Found the stone on Aurelinne, then price-matched through Rare Carat; diamond plus setting came to under $1,500.
$1,500Lab-grown diamond––gold2026Estate-auction find (EBTH), 18k gold; local jeweler said it should have cost 3-4x more; writer now wishes stone were smaller.
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1 ctemeraldgold–Flawless emerald-cut synthetic diamond in a 14k gold setting; fiancee picked the style and capped size at 1ct; income about $90k
1,500–––––SGD amount; she loved it and that was all that mattered
1,500––––2023Wedding band bought 2024, about the same price as the ring; avoided 24k gold for softness
1,500Lab-grown diamond––––Lab diamond; says he can't tell it apart from natural
1,500Sapphire––––Pink sapphire chosen to match her favorite color and September birthstone
1,500Lab-grown diamond0.57 ct–––Capped budget at 2k; picked together; rarely worn since it gets in the way
£1,500–––––A friend's partner paid over this for their ring
£1,500–––––Paid for his wife's ring over ten years before the comment, specs not recalled; put ring savings toward a house deposit and band savings toward the honeymoon
£1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Ring type not stated; worn for over ten years in an active life with no problems
$1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Reused stones she already owned in a new setting, all-in under $1,500, no debt taken on
$1,500Moissanite––––Moissanite ring for $1,500; happy with it and nobody has questioned whether it is real
$1,500–––––Bought on sale, cost about half of a fortnightly paycheck
$1,500Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2025Price-matched a ~5ct VS1 lab stone found elsewhere for $1,060; total ring with a setting on sale came to about $1,500; paid far more for their previous largest stone, a 4.12ct H VS2
$1,500Moissanite––––Husband chose a moissanite that reads as a diamond; couple could afford more but preferred the cheaper option
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–Custom made at a jeweler, 18k gold cathedral setting with pave accent diamonds
$1,503Lab-grown diamond0.53 ct–––Jeweler's patented 81-facet round cut; married 5 years by time of post, exact purchase year not stated
$1,513Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctmarquiserose gold2025Bezel setting with a band tapering 5mm to 2mm, still being made at time of comment
$1,514Lab-grown diamond2.86 ctradiant–2025Lab radiant solitaire upgrade bought online with a $100-off discount on orders over $1,000; found the vendor through a lab diamond group and called it one of the more affordable labs she compared.
$1,520Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctcushion–20252.75ct center, 3ct total weight including side diamonds on the band
$1,523Lab-grown diamond2.29 ctoval–2023Loose lab diamond bought online; matching custom setting from overseas maker quoted ~$450 before ship/tax; her band from same maker was ~$400
$1,539Lab-grown diamond4.93 ctradiantwhite gold2026$687.20 for a 4.93ct F VS1 lab radiant diamond bought in March, plus $851.93 for a custom white gold euro shank cathedral setting combining two of the vendor's stock designs
$1,550Other gemstone–other––Custom engagement ring with a diamond-chip bezel set in a coffin-shaped onyx, cost about the same as the asker's $1,550 gold-and-labor price despite using less gold
$1,550–5.6 ctemerald––One of writer's first auction wins, felt they overpaid before learning similar rings resurface at better prices
$1,550Lab-grown diamond1.79 ctroundyellow gold2024Ordered a 1.79ct lab diamond in a six-prong trellis 14k yellow gold setting for a price comparable to a forum-linked ~$1550 example; later hit a shipping delay from India
$1,560Moissanite–––20152.04ct moissanite with a half-diamond twist band (ENR704 style), bought about 8 years before the comment
$1,560Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold–CAD quote for a wedding band and engagement ring set, size 7, 14k gold, not yet purchased
$1,565Lab-grown diamond4.45 ctpear–2025Budget lab pear stone plus $265 for a solitaire setting with a gallery rail for extra security; setting also lowered for free on request.
$1,565Lab-grown diamond4.45 ctpear–2025Budget lab pear stone plus $265 for a solitaire setting with a gallery rail for extra security; setting also lowered for free on request.
$1,569Lab-grown diamond1.59 ctroundwhite gold20261.59ct round G/VS2 IGI lab diamond, price-matched $800→$484, set in 14k white gold (Christian Siriano) for $1,085; $1,684 total w/ tax & appraisal.
$1,580Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctradiant–2025Stone found on Calavera, price-matched through Rare Carat and set in their Vivian setting; total includes tax
$1,582Lab-grown diamond2.11 ct–yellow gold2023IGI-certified loose lab stone set by an Etsy maker in 10k gold with lab diamonds in the band, then set by a local jeweler for $150; ring appraised at $5,500
$1,587Lab-grown diamond3.56 ctovalyellow gold2024Bought a 3.56ct oval lab diamond in a 14k yellow gold setting about a year before this 2025 comment
$1,600Moissanite–roundwhite gold20234ct/10mm moissanite halo ring plus a matching 2mm half-eternity band, bought together for a 10th wedding anniversary
$1,600Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctroundgold2023Quote for an 18k ring with stones around the band and a lab-grown round center stone; asking whether the price is legitimate
$1,600Natural diamond0.51 ctroundgold2025Second quote considered, a smaller stone described only as brilliant cut (likely round) in the same style 18k setting, IDT certified
$1,600Natural diamond0.75 ct–––Quote from same jeweler for smallest natural upgrade option using full trade-in credit
$1,600Lab-grown diamond–ovalgold2026Elongated oval lab stone with 18k gold band, priced by an unnamed seller; a buyer guessed the stone at about 3ct; still verifying before paying
$1,600Natural diamond––––Tried rings on together; ended up with a low-set fancy blue diamond instead of a standard white solitaire; second-priciest item in the whole wedding after food.
£1,600Moissanite–cushionplatinum2021Charles & Colvard Forever One stone, half eternity band with hidden halo and studded prongs, lifetime warranty; custom made by Etsy seller Amy
C$1,600–0.75 ct–––About $1300 USD by her own conversion; 0.75 is total carat weight, not one large stone; not a solitaire
$1,600Sapphire–pear––Blue pear sapphire; has since added about $900 of bands to it
£1,600–––––Bought at a physical shop, thrilled with it despite initial reluctance to spend that much
$1,600Moissanite––––DEF color-range brilliant-cut moissanite on a twisted split-shank band with diamond accents
$1,600Moissanite––white gold–14k white gold ring, 10mm center stone with 1mm halo, sized 8; graded D color VVS like a diamond report.
$1,600Natural diamond––white gold–White gold diamond ring picked at a jewelry outlet based on looks
$1,600Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Ring from her earlier marriage felt like too much to risk on her hand; she asked her new partner for something sturdy around 600 to 1k
£1,600–––––A specific type of diamond ring with personal significance, which explains the price
£1,600––––1999Platinum wedding bands cost more, both heavier with more diamonds; rings no longer worn after weight gain
£1,600Other gemstone––––Green sapphire centre stone, bought at a 20% discount from a small family-run jeweller
£1,600–––––Figure given as an inflation-adjusted 'today's money' estimate, not the original nominal price
£1,600Lab-grown diamond––platinum–An equivalent natural diamond would have cost about £5000
$1,600Sapphire–––2017Blue, heat-treated natural sapphire with natural diamond accents
$1,600Sapphire––white gold–Pink sapphire with diamonds set on a white gold band
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.68 ctmarquise–2023Third of three quotes from the same SoCal jeweler, price includes the band
£1,600Moissanite––––Moissanite engagement ring from a previous relationship
$1,600Diamond, lab or natural not said2.6 ct–platinum2024Eternity band ordered as a gift for her best friend, plus $35 shipping; total diamond weight, not a single center stone
$1,600Natural diamond––––Bought for his then-wife years before this comment; year not given
$1,600Lab-grown diamond4.51 ctradiantyellow gold2024Custom-designed 14k yellow gold ring; exchanged an originally ordered 3ct stone for this 4.51ct; bought as an everyday alternate to her main ring to avoid resizing during pregnancy; repeat-customer price
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3.17 ctradiantgold202414k gold halo setting, radiant solitaire
$1,600–––––Partner picked it while on sale at $1,600; original price was around $2,500
C$1,600–––––Custom design from a small family-owned jeweller; ring and band cost about the same
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3.66 ctroundgold–Ring with a gold setting, price given as under $1,600
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.44 ct––2024Stone plus a local jeweler's fee to set it, total for stone and setting
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1 ct––20243-stone upgrade ring, 1ct lab-grown center plus two 0.5ct side stones, replacing the original opal ring after 7 years
$1,600Moissanite––platinum–Platinum setting with moissanite center bought before a 6-month engagement; husband later upgraded to a 3.01ct lab diamond, price not given
$1,600–––––Final price after applying a trade-in credit noticed when checking the receipt
£1,600Lab-grown diamond–––2024Just over 1ct, almost flawless-grade lab diamond with two smaller side stones; says an equivalent mined stone would run £7-8k
1,600Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––CHF ~1.6k for a 1-carat lab-grown diamond described as very good clarity and color
£1,600Lab-grown diamond––––Fiancee wanted lab grown, a pleasant surprise; roughly 40% of writer's take-home pay at the time
$1,600Lab-grown diamond2.15 ct––2024Stone bought online from Luvansh, then set by a local jeweler; other buyers flagged Luvansh as heavily advertised with mixed reviews
$1,600Lab-grown diamond4.6 ctpearplatinum2025Pink fancy-color stone
$1,600Lab-grown diamond2.89 ctprincess–2025Price-matched to Luvanash; setting was on sale; exchanged from an earlier 2.15ct stone with 1.6mm band for just $37 more before Luvanash raised prices
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–Paid $1,600 for a 3-carat lab diamond in a pave white gold setting
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2025Recreated a 1.5ct center, 7/8-halo lab diamond ring seen at Jared for $4,000; local jeweler sourced the same band with better-quality diamonds for $1,600
$1,600–––gold–Gold diamond ring; had asked him not to spend more than 1000
A$1,600Other gemstone––––Chose a white Coober Pedy opal instead of a diamond, finds diamonds too plain on her
$1,600–––––Ring price includes a lifetime warranty; the band figure covers two wedding bands worn alongside it.
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctround–20253ct round bezel setting from a US-based jeweler, chosen partly to avoid import tariff issues
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Upgraded to about 2.5 ctw lab ring with a 1.5-ct center; jeweler built it for less than the 4000 retail price of a similar Jared ring, with higher-quality stones
$1,600Moissanite––––Her fiancee's ring, cost estimated by the writer, moissanite center
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.22 ctovalplatinum–Total price including tax
$1,600Other gemstone––white gold–Friend's custom-made aquamarine ring on a simple white gold band, mentioned for comparison
$1,600Lab-grown diamond2.09 ct–gold2025Old-mine-cut lab diamond ring custom made: $750 stone + $750 setting + $100 labor to set = $1600 total; resale ~$800 on lab jewelry sub
$1,600––––2023Engaged in 2023; asked him to keep it under 3k and it cost 1600; each spouse out-earns the person asking; eloped and spent on travel instead
$1,600Lab-grown diamond4 ctmarquiseyellow gold–Ring the writer (a maker) built for a coworker; hidden-halo pave band, price includes shipping
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold2026Dutch marquise cut lab diamond, 14k gold, bought with a coupon from an India-based Etsy seller
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3.06 ct–gold202614k gold setting with hidden halo, all-in price for a ring just bought for the writer's girlfriend
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–Etsy shop promo cut listed $1900 to $1600; band left too thin (1.4-1.5mm) at bottom per seller's suggestion, otherwise happy
$1,600–––rose gold–Similar to the asker's 2ct oval but with pear side stones
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold202514k white gold, 5.6g, 66 total diamonds incl. 1ct tw accents; Hearts and Arrows noted
$1,600Diamond, lab or natural not said1.2 ct–––A 1.2ct stone ring bought from a jeweler located in a mall, similar to the asker's ring
C$1,600–––––Writer says this was about 3 days' worth of salary
$1,600Natural diamond––platinum1998Borrowed money for first wife's platinum diamond ring; marriage ended in divorce five years later
$1,600Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026New setting for a 4ct lab stone
£1,600–––––Paid over 6 months interest-free; monthly take-home was £2,100 at the time
£1,600–––––Chose by design more than price; wouldn't have gone over £3k
£1,600–––––Bought from an independent Indian-owned jeweller; says it would have been much more from a high-street shop
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctcushiongold–3.6ct old mine cushion lab stone (described as fiorese-cut) with a 10k gold cathedral setting and pave diamonds on the bridge, stone and setting together
$1,600Lab-grown diamond––platinum–In the process of designing an 8-10 carat platinum eternity band, quoted around $1,600
$1,600Sapphire3.2 ct–gold2022Vintage heavy solid 14kt ring with a natural sapphire jeweler called not top quality (green flashes); bought from a gold/diamond broker on eBay
$1,622Lab-grown diamond3 ctround–2025Far cheaper than the other three quotes for nearly the same specs, prompting the person asking to ask if it's too good to be true
$1,625Moissanite–––2019Recalls paying $1,500 or $1,750 about six years ago for a fancy moissanite setting with accent stones and metalwork
$1,630Lab-grown diamond4 ctroundgold–One of several lab diamond rings she owns; far less than her original natural diamond ring from 13 years earlier
$1,650–––––Originally $2,035; went on sale for 25% off the next day, bringing the final price down
$1,650Lab-grown diamond1.51 ct––2023A different buyer bought a complete lab-grown ring shipped to their door, offered as a cheaper alternative to the asker's natural stone
$1,650Lab-grown diamond1.89 ctoval–2024Suggested as a much cheaper alternative to the Jared quote
€1,650Lab-grown diamond4.7 ct–white gold2025Bought last week; considers the price lucky for the size and grade
$1,650Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundwhite gold2025Bought a 3ct round EF-VS2 lab diamond ring from Von Diamonds after finding James Allen's version overpriced; paid about half of James Allen's $3,300 price for a similar ring
$1,650Lab-grown diamond3.19 ct–two tone–Asking price for a preloved 3.19ct lab diamond ring in 18k two-tone gold from a private seller in an FB group; would need resizing from 4.5 to 7.75
$1,650Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold20263ct lab diamond with 14k gold setting from a US-based independent seller, avoiding import tariffs
€1,650–0.25 ct–yellow gold–Wedding bands not yet bought, guessing about 500 each on Etsy
$1,650Lab-grown diamond––––Separate quote from a different online jeweler for an entire ring including the center diamond, shared as a comparison point
$1,650Lab-grown diamond6 ctoval–2026Oval solitaire from a maker contacted directly via WhatsApp for a real quote; website list price was much higher
$1,660Lab-grown diamond2.24 ctroundgold2025Old-European-cut stone from Fiorese, set separately in an antique-style 14kt gold band bought a few weeks before the comment.
$1,667Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalwhite gold2026Bought for the writer's fiancee, cited as a much cheaper comparison to the asker's quote
$1,675Lab-grown diamond0.79 ct–platinum2026Alternative Shane Co quote for the 0.79ct version of the same ring, $310 less than the 1.01ct option
$1,675Lab-grown diamond1.7 ctovalwhite gold20266-prong tulip cathedral setting; bought online as an upgrade ring
$1,683Lab-grown diamond2.15 ct–gold2024Fancy intense orangey pink lab diamond via a group order, $620/carat plus $350 for a 10k gold setting, no taxes or shipping fees
$1,690Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–white gold–3.5ct lab-grown center VS1 D, plus two 1ct VS1 D side stones and two 1/4ct trilliants, white gold euro shank
$1,690Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–gold–Custom overseas build; 3.5ct D VVS1 center plus two 1ct D VVS1 side stones and two half-carat step-cut trilliants, 6.5ct total weight, 10k
$1,690Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctemerald–20265-stone ring: main emerald cut plus two 1ct side emeralds and two trilliants on a Euro shank
$1,696Lab-grown diamond2.24 ctpear–2023Bought just over a year before the comment; appraised well above the paid price; says prices now would be even lower
$1,699Natural diamond1.68 ct–platinum–Cheaper of the candidate rings, a composite/cluster setting of smaller stones arranged to look larger; girlfriend picked it, still deciding
$1,699Lab-grown diamond2.94 ctmarquise–202418kt setting with hidden halo, replacing an earlier Luvansh ring; being made to order at time of posting
$1,700Moissanite––white gold2024Quote for a 14k white gold ring with 6 accent stones; jeweler said the price is the same whether the accents are moissanite or lab diamond
$1,700–––gold–Same Etsy seller quoted the identical signet ring in solid 10k gold for $1,700, $1,500 more than the plated version; buyers called the jump steep
$1,700Lab-grown diamond1.81 ctround–2025Listed as Super Ideal cut; vendor price-matched a cheaper competitor quote, order already being made
$1,700–––––Engagement ring total cost; wedding band not yet bought, expected to be a plain band for a few hundred dollars
$1,700–––––Engagement ring price with wedding bands: $600 for her band, $1400 for his; wanted to stay under $1000 initially but fell in love with a particular stone
$1,700Moissanite–marquiserose gold2021Marquise center with a sunburst halo from a US vendor, chosen to avoid the bow-tie seen in overseas marquise stones
C$1,700–––––Vintage-style ring picked out together at a consignment shop; negotiated the price down a bit
$1,700–––––Designer wedding ring bought new; later resold on eBay for a fraction of the price
$1,700Moissanite––––He first bought a $700 ring, then they swapped in a $1,000 moissanite stone she liked better
$1,700Natural diamond1 ct–––Vintage Art Deco style with 4 sapphire baguette accents from a consignment antique store
$1,700Moissanite–––2022Happy with the stone's quality
$1,700––––2023Partner originally budgeted $10k but the ring ended up costing about $1,700; she calls it stunning and exactly her style
A$1,700–––––Roughly 1.7k, under 2k; matched the style his partner wanted
$1,700Other gemstone1 ct–––1ct ruby center with a moissanite halo; a mined-diamond halo on the same design would have run $4-5k.
£1,700–––––Picked out mostly by his wife; three months' salary would have been about £7,500 for him, which he calls insane
£1,700–––––Writer wrote '1700k', read as £1,700 given context; just bought
£1,700––––2013Bought at a vintage jewellery store which swapped the stone from another ring; a fancy retail shop wanted £5000+ for a plainer ring
$1,700––––2023Writer says ring price is an estimate, around $1700
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.21 ct–––Lab diamond with two marquise side stones; custom made by a local jeweler at a lucky discounted price
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.11 ctcushionrose gold2023Custom-made fancy pink lab diamond ring with diamond accents, made to order in under a week after sending a reference photo for the exact pink shade
$1,700Lab-grown diamond1.4 ct–––Solitaire lab diamond chosen over moissanite for better outdoor sparkle in a cloudy climate
$1,700––––2015Wife's ring; buyer advised saving most money for wedding, apartment and moving costs instead
$1,700Lab-grown diamond1.94 ctmarquiseyellow gold–Stone remembered as 875-900 after tax; setting made by melting down old 14k gold rings given by family, custom CAD design by a local jeweler who specializes in recasting; later appraised just over 10,000
$1,700Natural diamond1 ct––2024Bought for a friend's ring; solitaire setting
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctradiant––Replacement lab diamond ring with a 1/4ct pave band, bought with the same 30% discount as her first ring
£1,700Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Recently bought; advises shopping around
$1,700Lab-grown diamond–––2024Engagement ring; GIA report matched the lab diamond center stone; figures approximate after a diamond swap and band size change
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.65 ctcushionplatinum2024Custom art-deco setting; upgrade from an earlier moissanite ring for a 40th birthday
C$1,700–––––Another friend's ring, reported secondhand
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.64 ctcushionplatinum2025Antique-style setting with a total of 49 diamonds
$1,700Lab-grown diamond–––2025Lab stone bought via an online auction with a simple custom setting; would rather keep the rest of a big budget for other things
$1,700Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2025Paid a further $550 to a local jeweler to mount the stone, on top of the stone and setting costs
$1,700–1 ctprincess–2025Trade-up princess-cut solitaire bought recently at Reeds Jewelers
$1,700––––2025Couple split ring costs; her ring cost more than his due to her own taste, not his fault
$1,700Lab-grown diamond––gold–Found the identical lab diamond and setting far cheaper online than a comparison site's $12,000 price; partner had never bought fine jewelry before
$1,700Other gemstone––white gold–A-grade ruby halo ring with real diamond accents
$1,700––––2025Husband proposed a $3k budget, she pushed lower, they met in the middle
$1,700Moissanite––––Three-stone moissanite ring with a hand-engraved, thicker band, still being made
$1,700Natural diamond1 ctroundwhite gold2018Custom tulip bezel setting for a 1 ct round diamond given by family
$1,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantyellow gold2026Replacement ring bought because the original couldn't be resized to fit
$1,700–––––Husband's annual income mentioned to show the ring was a small fraction of it; she picked the ring herself
$1,700Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctcushiongold–Elongated cushion cut, 1.24 length/width ratio, 18k gold, price includes shipping
$1,700Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2026Wrote a photo of a 5ct ring bought for this price as proof lab diamonds are this cheap now, not a scam
$1,700Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Platinum recreation of a natural diamond and emerald design seen online, remade with a lab diamond center and natural green garnet side stones
€1,700Lab-grown diamond0.83 ctround–2023Partner bought this round stone three years before the comment; now worth much less as lab prices fell
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2 ctprincesswhite gold–14k tulip setting; band diamonds add about 1.9 carat on top of the center stone
$1,700Diamond, lab or natural not said2.06 ctovalrose gold2026Price includes tax; also has D VVS2 pear side stones at 1/4 carat each; free shipping, made in USA, 30-day return
C$1,700Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold20261 ct lab diamond in 14k gold from an Etsy shop; about $1,500 for the ring plus $200 in import duties, came with a serial number
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval–2026Oval with side pear accents; vendor has thousands of reviews, 5/5 rating; 3-week turnaround, 30-day free returns.
$1,700Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctemeraldgold2026Emerald-cut stone with baguette side stones in 14k gold; vendor sent many videos before purchase
£1,700––––2021Went in expecting to spend about £1k but fell in love with a pricier ring
$1,700Lab-grown diamond6 ctoval–2026About to buy a 6 ct oval solitaire lab diamond ring from a vendor recommended in the sub, says past purchases from similar vendors went well
$1,700Lab-grown diamond6 ctoval–2026Stone plus setting, bought from an online vendor found through a lab diamond community list
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalgold2026Just over $1,700 for a 2 ct D VVS triple-excellent oval in 14k gold, bought online with a 30-day return policy
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval––Bought online with free delivery and a 30-day return window
$1,700Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctcushion–20264.01ct yellow cushion diamond in custom 14k mounting with side stones, order in progress, no shipping cost yet
$1,700Lab-grown diamond–––2026Similar ring being custom made overseas by Provence for about $1,700, offered as comparison to the asker's quote
$1,700Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––4 ct engagement ring with a custom-made setting and side stones from a Chinese maker; writer praises such makers for lab diamonds set in real gold
$1,700Moissanite–oval–2022Quote for a 9x6mm oval moissanite ring; the person asking asked if the price was fair
$1,710Lab-grown diamond4 ctradiantplatinum2024Recreated a $35k natural-diamond estate ring look; discounted center stone from Rockher, custom platinum setting with tsavorite and lab-diamond side stones from Fayjewelry, center stone mounted by a local jeweler
$1,710Lab-grown diamond6 ctoval––Currently having a 6ct oval solitaire made by this overseas vendor.
$1,720Lab-grown diamond4.05 ct––2025Custom setting $850 plus $50 to have local jeweler set it
$1,730Lab-grown diamond2.94 ct–gold–Loose lab diamond bought separately, setting with added diamonds from Fiorese, local jeweler charged 40 to mount it
$1,735Lab-grown diamond2 ct–yellow gold–Online quote for a 2ct lab diamond plus 14k yellow gold setting; had not purchased yet as of the discussion
$1,740Lab-grown diamond–––2025Price-matched a cheaper lab diamond listing and got the setting price-matched too; appraised well above what was paid
$1,740Natural diamond1.31 ctoval–2025Stone measures 9.29 by 6.11mm
$1,749Lab-grown diamond1.93 ct–gold2026Specs similar to the asker's stone; local jeweler charged $1,400 including labor for a 3.5mm 14k cathedral band
$1,750–––––He planned about 5k, under a month's salary; she picked a cheaper ring
$1,750–––––Estimated original retail cost of the engagement ring, later resold after the divorce through Worthy
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.51 ctmarquise–2023One of three quotes from a SoCal jeweler for a lab marquise solitaire, price includes the band
$1,750Lab-created coloured stone––yellow gold2025Independent custom jeweler quoted this for a hand-made 14k gold ring with a lab-grown ruby like the asker's reference photo; range given was $1,500-$2,000
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ctmarquiseplatinum2025Bought loose lab marquise diamond online, then custom-set in platinum by a DTLA jeweler for the setting fee
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ct–platinum2025Loose stone bought online, then set locally in DTLA; total for a platinum setting
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Pink lab-grown diamond bought at a small shop in the Philippines for roughly $1,700-1,800
$1,750Natural diamond0.6 ct–yellow gold2018Remembered as 1500-2000; mined diamond, designed and crafted by an artist; wedding band was free, passed down from mother-in-law; years later a different jeweler found the artist had used a cheap pre-fab basket soldered
$1,750Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1978Original ring bought in 1978 on credit card, stated as $1,500-$2,000; stolen in a 1981 robbery and replaced via insurance
£1,750––––2022The same exact ring now costs £2250 online, blamed on rising gold prices
$1,763Lab-grown diamond2.93 ctmarquise–2026Diamond price was matched to a listing from Loose Grown Diamond
$1,768Lab-grown diamond2.99 ctcushion––Price-matched an Aurelinne-sourced stone through Rare Carat for the full ring cost
$1,775–2.55 ctemeraldrose gold–Cathedral solitaire setting; appraised at nearly 3 times what was paid, for replacement-value insurance, adding only about 3 a year to the premium
$1,785Lab-grown diamond3.27 ctpearwhite gold2025$1785 for a 3.27ct D VS1 triple-excellent elongated pear lab diamond, custom made in 14k white gold, plus $50 import duties; replaced an earlier inexpensive Amazon proposal ring
$1,792Lab-grown diamond3.76 ctcushionplatinum2026Sourced stone online then mailed it overseas to have the platinum setting made
$1,793Lab-grown diamond2.32 ctmarquise–2025First-time buyer configuring a CVD Type IIa stone with a separate setting at checkout, not yet confirmed as purchased.
$1,795Lab-grown diamond4.13 ctpear–2024IGI inscription checked under a loupe and matched the paperwork after early fears of being scammed
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.52 ctroundgold2026Remade ring with hidden-halo cathedral setting and smaller 3.52ct lab diamond (ideal-cut hearts and arrows); previous ring had a 4.82ct stone in a thinner 1.7mm band. Each partner's second marriage.
$1,800Diamond, lab or natural not said3.52 ctroundgold2026Remade from a thinner previous band (1.7mm) into a thicker cathedral setting with hidden halo, downsizing the center stone from 4.82ct to 3.52ct; out-the-door price including tax was about $1,800
$1,800Moissanite––––Forever One moissanite bought to get a bigger center stone cheaply for a 15th-anniversary upgrade; price recalled uncertainly
A$1,800–––––Bought using their shared account; not comfortable wearing jewelry pricier than a nice phone or laptop
$1,800Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab-created emerald center stone with 3 black diamonds on each side
$1,800Sapphire––––Green sapphire engagement ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––2-carat lab diamond from Lightbox, reset into her existing ring for extra cost
A$1,800Other gemstone––––Husband picked an antique ring with a non-diamond stone; a lot of money for him at the time
A$1,800Natural diamond––platinum–Custom black diamond on a platinum band, chosen because his fiancee loves black diamonds
A$1,800–––––Husband's budget was $5k but she picked a ring that fit perfectly in-store for $1,800
A$1,800Other gemstone––––Second engagement (different partner) was garnet and diamond, a one-of-a-kind antique-store find; $1,800
A$1,800–––––Bought on sale; earns more than the traditional pay-based rule would suggest; partner rarely wears it
$1,800–––platinum2023Quote breakdown: ~$800 platinum setting, $150 CAD design, $150 labor, $700 for two 0.3ct total pear side stones; no charge for their own center stone; before tax
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Replaced a returned, milky moissanite; the 400 bought a new head on her original ring; vendor named in her follow-up reply
$1,800Moissanite––––High-quality 2 ct moissanite that still threw strong rainbows and drew questions about being real; later replaced by a diamond ring, price not given
£1,800–––––Researched table, cut and clarity carefully to get good value
£1,800––––2008A master's student at the time; drove a very cheap car for over a year afterward
£1,800–––––Partner picked her own ring at half price from a £2000 budget
$1,800Sapphire0.5 ct–white gold2022Husband replaced her ring the year before the comment, after the original was stolen in a mugging 5 years earlier
$1,800Natural diamond2.09 ctemeraldyellow gold2023Upgrade stone bought secondhand from an estate site for $500; local jeweler quoted $1,300 for a custom 14k setting, not yet ordered
$1,800–1 ct–––GIA-certified nearly-flawless 1ct solitaire found at a pawn shop
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctasschergold20233.07ct asscher with an 18k solitaire setting, price included tax.
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–3-carat lab diamond in an 18k setting from a US-based jeweler; also owns moissanite but wouldn't pay more than $1,000 for that
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct––20242ct lab diamond bought online and set by a NJ-based jeweler; total under $1,800 including overnight shipping
$1,800–––––Combined an antique ring he bought with his grandmother's and his mother's rings into one custom engagement ring; her wedding band was $100
C$1,800–––––Considering an option at Spence costing at most $1,800; can't wear rings at her job
C$1,800Lab-grown diamond1.77 ct––2024Jeweler sourced his own 1.77ct lab-grown stone for $1,500, a steal; total ring cost $1,800 after a discount
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Assembled from a loose stone at loosegrowndiamond and a semi-mount from Tianyu, set by a local jeweler, all under $1,800
$1,800Moissanite––––Husband paid $1,800 for her 2ct (DEW) moissanite ring from Moissanite Co.; she says comparable stones now run about $600-1300 elsewhere
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Setting and lab diamond bought together from a family-owned jewelry business
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2.3 ct–platinum2024Bought overseas; platinum setting
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum20245ct G VS2 pear diamond set in platinum, all-in price for a deal found via StoneAlgo; writer calls it their dream ring
£1,800–––––Bought instead of the ~£9k ring partner really wanted due to budget; later bought that originally-wanted ring at a big discount during a closing-down sale, exact price not given
£1,800–––––Chosen after a demoralising day comparing rings in Birmingham's jewellery quarter
£1,800Sapphire––––Large pale sapphire with lab-grown diamonds either side, from Hatton Garden
£1,800–1.1 ct–platinum–Colourless stone with a sapphire either side; wife loves it
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–platinum–2 total carat weight lab-grown diamond platinum ring, color grade G
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundyellow gold2024Custom order, used a LAB30 coupon; original price before discount was about $2,300; setting cost more than the stone
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval––Comparison example bought elsewhere; color not given, unclear if price is stone-only or full ring
£1,800–––––Partner planned to spend £2,000-£3,000 but found the perfect ring for £1,800, less than one month of his take-home pay
£1,800–––––The ring they've decided on costs around £1,800; 3 months' salary would be nearly £8k by comparison
$1,800–––––Handmade ring; valued the gesture, quality and look over resale value
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5.46 ctcushion––Price-matched a Calavera stone; the store also handled the setting
A$1,800––––1999Her very first engagement ring, from an earlier relationship
$1,800Moissanite–––2014Chose moissanite over family pressure for a diamond; put the savings toward a duplex purchase instead
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2025Ordered a roughly 13x11mm cushion lab diamond for $1800 but canceled after learning the listed dimensions were spread wider than stated
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise––Bought through her employer jewelry store at employee cost; a comparable natural stone would run $8k-$60k depending on source and quality
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctcushionrose gold–Fancy vivid blue stone, modified elongated cushion, solitaire cigar band
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.25 ctradiantwhite gold–6-prong white-gold tulip cathedral setting
$1,800Natural diamond0.56 ct–yellow gold2021Writer calls it her 'first stone'
$1,800Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct–––Diamond designed and sourced through Rare Carat's website
£1,800–––––Antique Victorian three-stone engagement ring
$1,800––––1991Paid 34 years before the comment
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctcushionyellow gold2025Family-friend private jeweler's custom petal-prong setting has big gaps and an insecure stone; he denies fault, no refund; a 30th-birthday gift, her first real engagement-style ring.
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct–platinum20252.2mm half-pave platinum setting; price matched to a store searchable by certificate number, not the cheapest one; insured via Jeweler's Mutual using the receipt rather than an appraisal since lab stones are losing value
$1,800Moissanite––––No one can tell it apart from a diamond, per the writer
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–pearplatinum–Almost 5ct pear lab diamond ring set in platinum, called cheap next to the asker's $7,500 quote
$1,800Lab-grown diamond1.38 ctroundplatinum2025Replacement ring bought in June: $600 for a 1.38ct round lab diamond (GIA, VVS2, E, excellent cut) bought online plus $1200 for a platinum hidden-halo setting from a local jeweler; separate $1750 platinum wedding band wi
$1,800Natural diamond0.59 ct–white gold2003First husband paid $1800 plus tax for a 0.59ct white-gold ring back in 2003
$1,800Natural diamond0.98 ctround–2020Vintage 1930s-40s transitional-cut estate ring bought on eBay; now estimated worth about $6k
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum2026Paid $1800 for a 5ct pear-cut diamond set in platinum, cited to argue the asker's $10k quote was overpriced
$1,800–––––First engagement ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–yellow gold–3-stone setting; carat figure is total weight, not center stone
$1,800–––platinum2024Recreated a $35,000 1stDibs-style ring: lab center stone plus a custom platinum setting made in China, back when metals were cheaper.
1,800Other gemstone––––Spinel gemstone ring
1,800Sapphire––gold–Her partner's ring, both a same-sex couple; 14k gold
1,800Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct–––Wife barely wore it, said it got in the way when typing
$1,800Lab-grown diamond7.16 ctmarquisegold2026Large marquise stone in 14k gold, still being made
£1,800–––––A vintage ring both partners chose together, cost split 50/50; thought it would be pricier than it was
£1,800Lab-grown diamond1.8 ct–gold2026Got a discount as sister had bought a ring from the same shop the year before; no extra diamonds on the shoulder unlike the asker's
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctradiant–2026Custom-designed with a matching wedding ring, under this price
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctemeraldplatinum2024Lab diamond bought 2024, mounted in platinum with lab diamond side stones; stone alone would cost far less today but mounting rose
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctothergold–Antique-style 'moval' cut, just over 3ct, set in 18k gold
$1,800Diamond, lab or natural not said0.8 ct–––10-year anniversary ring in a similar antique-style setting, bought a few years before this 2026 comment
$1,815––––2024Custom designed with a $150-off coupon applied
$1,845Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctovalgold202418k gold split cathedral setting with double prongs, customized and seen in person before deciding
$1,850Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctradiantyellow gold2025Hidden halo with a diamond eternity-style band, includes shipping; designed by the writer herself
$1,850Lab-grown diamond0.83 ct––20230.83ct HPHT lab diamond engagement ring cost the equivalent of $1,850 in Sweden, bought three years before the comment.
$1,866Lab-grown diamond5.46 ctcushion–2025Ring with setting; price matched a stone listed on Calavera
$1,866Diamond, lab or natural not said5.46 ctcushion–2025Elongated cushion in a cathedral setting; cut graded ideal by a diamond marketplace though bought elsewhere
$1,875Lab-grown diamond–emeraldplatinum2023Emerald-cut ring with 3 small side stones on each side, platinum, slightly smaller than the asker's 1.44ct.
$1,890–2.52 ctemeraldyellow gold–4-prong setting; appraised for about 2.5 times what was paid
$1,890Lab-grown diamond5 ct–gold–Toi et moi style ring; 5ctw is total stone weight, not a single stone
$1,895Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–platinum2024Center stone lab-grown; 0.3ct natural diamond side stones bring the total to 3.37ct; bought secondhand with eBay authentication
C$1,900Other gemstone––––Morganite halo with small diamond accents, designed remotely from reference photos
$1,900Other gemstone1 ct––2022Unheated ruby ring with diamond accents, Japan Gemological Certificate, cited as a much better deal than the asker's loose ruby
$1,900–––––Partner aimed around $6,000 but her dream ring came in well under that
A$1,900–––––Bought an unattractive auction ring for the diamond, then had it remade using the existing gold and part of an old bracelet
$1,900Natural diamond–––2023Jeweler mounted the writer's great-aunt's loose center stone diamond; price is for the setting only
$1,900–1.5 ct–white gold–Considers the Costco ring in the post overpriced compared to this 1.5ct ring in 14k white gold
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.68 ctcushion–2023Custom-cut old mine cushion lab diamond bought during the cutter's September sale, overseas (China) via a WhatsApp rep; stone came back 2.68ct instead of the ordered 3ct and the cutter offered a refund for the size diffe
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Picked a 2-carat lab-grown stone; buyer says nice rings don't have to be expensive
A$1,900Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold20241 carat lab diamond with an 18k gold band, no-frills design
$1,900–––gold–14kt pave setting; a second lab diamond ring purchase, separate from her Fiorese piece
£1,900Sapphire––––Custom-make shop; picked the sapphire stone, girlfriend designed the rest
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctoval–2025Found the stone via Stone Algo; stuck with this jeweler for warranty and workmanship
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Lab-grown 1.5ct diamond, all-in price including the setting
$1,900Lab-grown diamond4.02 ct–white gold2025Full ring with a hidden-halo 14k white-gold setting
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushionwhite gold–Brilliant cut with a lab-grown tapered baguette on either side
$1,900––––2025Writer's own engagement ring, paid for by her fiance
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.67 ct––2025All-in price for a fancy pink diamond in a simple locally-made setting, mentioned as a comparison to the asker's blue diamond ring
$1,900Lab-grown diamond5 ctpear–2025Custom pear-shape setting with gallery rail and extra prongs, no halo; price given as 'so far' while ring still being made
$1,900Diamond, lab or natural not said1.09 ct––2025Chose a local jeweler for convenience, lifetime warranty, biannual maintenance and lifetime diamond insurance; now second-guessing whether he could have done better
$1,900Lab-grown diamond–cushionyellow gold2025Ready-made antique-style cushion cut lab diamond bought from a small online seller after disliking three round stones; ordered afternoon, delivered by next morning
C$1,900Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold–18k yellow gold; clarity given as VVS1/2
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.11 ctroundwhite gold–Went custom instead of the jeweler's $10k quote; halo with side stones and matching band, still being made
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Family-run Michigan Etsy shop; customized order received in 12 days with IGI certificate
$1,900Lab-grown diamond4.1 ctcushionwhite gold2026Antique cushion stone plus a separate custom 10k white gold setting, each about $950
$1,900Lab-grown diamond––––Paid for a custom green lab diamond in a bezel setting from a local jeweler, more than online would cost, after the original $750 budget grew
€1,900Natural diamond––––Husband spent about €1900 on her vintage-style natural diamond ring; she spent the same on his ring
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–platinum2026Writer says they paid about $1500 less than the asker's $3400 quote, for a 2.4mm platinum band
£1,900––––2019Found plenty of good options in the £1-2k range; recommends lab diamonds as cheaper and free of child labour concerns
£1,900––––2019Close to a month's post-tax pay at the time
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–––Custom-designed ring built around a 3.3ct solitaire
$1,920Lab-grown diamond2.15 ctpear–20232.15ct E VS1 HPHT pear with ideal proportions; Ritani price-matched a much lower price found elsewhere, vs $3,920/$4,777 listed at Ritani/James Allen
$1,938Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctemerald––Ring total of 1938 includes the setting
$1,939Lab-grown diamond2.28 ctroundwhite gold2026Option B: HPHT stone for the same setting design; tweezer video showed only slight non-noticeable bluing; vendor suggested PayPal Friends and Family payment
£1,950–––––Custom made; a lower-purity gemstone would have cost about £1,500
$1,950Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval––Full ring from overseas vendor (contact Summer); now planning to buy a 3ct stone from LooseGrownDiamond and have it set locally
$1,975Natural diamond0.6 ctround–19940.60 ct round with two dark ruby trillions, receipt kept; her channel-set diamond and ruby band about 600; married 32 years, no wish to upgrade
$1,980Lab-grown diamond4.47 ctasscheryellow gold202518K yellow gold, J-K color, size US6, no IGI cert; adding one would run about $50 per carat
$1,980–––––Local jeweler's quote for an entire ring; said it would still run about 1800 for just the setting if the buyer supplied their own diamond
$1,980–2 ctemeraldwhite gold20262ct elongated emerald cut with trapezoid side stones, 14k white gold, no band stones; buyer still felt this seemed high
$1,985Lab-grown diamond1.01 ct–platinum2026Quote for a 1.01ct D/VS1 lab diamond in the platinum solitaire setting; includes lifetime resizing, stone replacement, and cleaning every 6 months
$1,994Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctovalgold202514k gold hidden-halo oval; exchanged an initial 1.51ct IF stone for this larger, lower-clarity one before delivery to fiancee; crafted in India, shipped via a NY office
$1,999Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctprincess–2025Listing she was considering with side stones, plus tax; her post first said 3ct but comments later say 2ct
$1,999–––––Originally priced 5000, about two weeks of his pay; waited for it to drop before buying
$2,000Natural diamond0.9 ct–gold2024Half-eternity design, nine 0.10ct E/VVS2 stones (0.90ct total, no single center stone) in 14k gold from a local maker; still deciding, not bought
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct––2025Husband's suggested alternative; the person asking felt the specs were not great for that price
$2,000Natural diamond0.74 ctprincessgold2025Quote being considered for an 18k princess-cut natural stone ring from a Dubai seller; certified by IDT rather than GIA/IGI
$2,000–1.3 ct––2025Private secondhand seller (coworker's son) asked this for a multi-stone ring described as 1.3 total carat weight; buyers said it was overpriced and the person asking decided to pass
$2,000–0.59 ct–white gold2025Second ring the person asking is considering, a 0.59ct diamond in 14k white gold, asking $2000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4.04 ctovalwhite gold2026Chose LGD over a ~$2,600 mall quote and five other online vendors also near $2k or less; upgraded from 3.5 to 4 ct and changed setting with no issue; fast turnaround
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–Local jeweler who designs his own pieces quoted this for a 3ct lab stone in a 14k gold setting; didn't ask about specific quality preferences beyond lab vs natural
$2,000Moissanite–roundtwo tone20206-prong two-tone solitaire, 8.25mm (about 2ct equivalent) moissanite in 18k yellow gold and platinum; the thin (~1.7mm) 18k band bent easily and needed repeated warranty repairs.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushionyellow gold20263ct OMC elongated cushion lab diamond (9.5x7.6mm) in more durable 10k yellow gold via a Provence group order; paid less than the $2000 spent on her original moissanite ring.
£2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Picked the specific diamond's size, cut, colour and clarity online; felt it gave about 50% more ring for the money than a high-street shop; bought a while before this comment
A$2,000Other gemstone––––Antique ruby engagement ring; her separate wedding band paired a ruby with a lab diamond and fooled the insurance appraiser as natural
$2,000Moissanite––platinum2018Self-designed one-of-a-kind ring with diamond side stones; platinum ran about $300 more than white gold would have
$2,000–––––Bought on clearance; writer says pricier designs above about $4k looked tackier and wife preferred the cheaper ones
$2,000–––––Husband bought a cheap ring; years later they reworked it into a bigger ring using the same stones, paid in cash
$2,000Moissanite––platinum2021Choosing between a round or cushion cut from a local moissanite jeweler to support a small business
$2,000––––2011Paid about $2k for an engagement ring roughly ten years before this comment; the ring was returned after the engagement ended.
C$2,000Moissanite––––Writer estimates a comparable natural diamond would have cost 8-10k
£2,000–––––£2k budget haggled down a little; bought a pre-owned ring in person from an independent seller
£2,000–––––Husband designed the ring and chose the diamond at Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter; described as ethically sourced by the jeweller
£2,000–––––Husband upgraded the ring a few years later as an anniversary gift
£2,000–––––Writer's sister-in-law's solitaire ring
$2,000Natural diamond0.74 ct–––Chose a lower color grade with fluorescence in a yellow-gold setting to look whiter; researched proportions and saw the stone in person first
$2,000––––2022Writer's own engagement ring; matched against partner's cheaper ring plus extra gifts
$2,000––––2022Replacement ring bought after losing a family heirloom ring; second of two replacements bought over time
$2,000–––––Girlfriend's preferred ring cost about 2000, well above the writer's 700 budget; later called over 2000 in a follow-up comment.
$2,000Moissanite––––Custom engagement ring with a 3ct moissanite center stone, cost under $2000
$2,000–––––Local jeweler met their $2k cap exactly even though the ring was originally priced $335 higher
$2,000–––––Told fiance this amount was reasonable and it got her the size and color she needed most
$2,000–––––She picked it out herself over three stores of shopping together
C$2,000Moissanite–––20222ct moissanite ring from Vancouver's Evorden, a custom-order jeweler; loves it
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.46 ctpearyellow gold–Bezel setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctpearplatinum2022Buyer's own pear diamond ring; another buyers suspected the stone was lab rather than natural given the low price
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2022Recently bought a lab stone; a mined equivalent would run $18-20k

Previous · Page 19 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 241 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.