engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 28 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports from $10,000 to $15,000

This page runs from $10,000 to $15,000.

Previous · Page 28 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$10,000–––––A friend who earns less than the writer's household spent this on a ring
$10,000–––––A friend recently spent more than $10k on a ring for their 10th anniversary
$10,000––––2015Felt like a lot at the time; the only fancy jewelry they've bought
$10,000Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Customized platinum ring by a well-known NYC diamond district jeweler; brand name mattered less than jeweler reputation
$10,000–––––An original $25k ring was returned because she was uncomfortable with the cost; settled on a $10k antique stone in a new setting, and would have gone up to $18k for the right cut
$10,000–0.88 ct–platinum2008Platinum band with a shallow-cut 0.88ct flawless stone, bought around 2008-2009 while prioritizing a home down payment
$10,000–––––Cost split between partners, $7k and $3k; ring has no center stone, by her choice
$10,000–1 ct–platinum2015Name-brand platinum ring bought about a decade before the comment
$10,000––––2017Put an entire $10k signing bonus into the ring on a $60k/yr salary so they wouldn't need to upgrade later
$10,000––––2015Spent this while in business school; thinks a too-small ring would hurt social status among peers who compare rings
$10,000–––––Approximate figure, not precisely recalled
$10,000–––––Husband's salary was about $175k a year at the time.
$10,000–––––About 2.5 months of his take-home pay at the time.
$10,000––––2015Her mom's ring, bought over a decade before this comment.
$10,000–1.6 ctpear–2012Pave multi-band setting; says lab-created diamonds now look enviably affordable by comparison
$10,000–––––Combined household income of 350000
$10,000–––––Couple in their 30s, chose a stone she won't feel the need to upgrade later; paid outright with no debt
$10,000Natural diamond––––Ex-husband paid over $10k for her engagement ring; after their divorce she was offered only about $1,000 for it
$10,000Natural diamond1.58 ct–yellow gold–Smaller diamonds set across the band
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–gold2025Custom-designed 3ct ring with 18K gold band came out set far higher than the design she approved
$10,000–––––Equivalent to about $13,500 CAD at the time
$10,000Natural diamond–––2015The asker's original ring, bought about ten years before this comment as a maxed-out grad student; considering an upgrade with lab side stones
$10,000Lab-grown diamond5.1 ctradiant–2025Loose 1.37-ratio radiant lab diamond bought online, then custom-set with hidden halo and ~0.40ct E-F VVS2 diamond basket; buyer says price was 'less than 10k'
$10,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Paid a bit more than the asker's roughly $10k lab quote, for an almost-3-carat natural diamond
$10,000––––2025Writer (the groom) says he spent just over $10k; no specific budget was requested by his fiancee
$10,000––––2025Originally would have been $16k+, he designed it himself and brought the cost down to $10k
A$10,000Other gemstone10 ct–––10-carat emerald center stone with an emerald-style band, bought in India
$10,000–––––Diamond bought online, ring custom made by a local jeweler; writer thought it was overspending but loves the result
$10,000–––––Writer's sister's ring, over $10k, custom designed
$10,000–––––Wanted a real diamond to hand down; custom made, higher than the $2-4k she expected
$10,000–––––Cost less than one month's salary for husband; calls the 3-months-salary rule a marketing gimmick
$10,000–––––Fiance is 25 and works in the mines; writer didn't want a ring near three months' wages (about $30k)
$10,000–3.5 ctroundplatinum2023Platinum ring with round and baguette diamonds, 3.5ct total, upgrade about 2 years before the comment
$10,000–––––Custom upgrade after nearly 20 years married; husband earns $190k/year
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ctpear––Fiance earns $225k/year; couple set a $10k budget and picked a 2.66ct pear lab diamond together
$10,000Natural diamond–pear–2011Price included setting and design services; stone sourced from husband's home country in West Africa
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Mentioned secondhand elsewhere online: someone's husband recently paid this for a 2ct lab diamond, cited as an example of extreme markup
$10,000–1 ct––2000Similar-style ring bought about 25 years before this comment
$10,000–1 ct–––Original engagement ring, 1ct, cost over $10k; sat unworn for years because the high profile scratched her kids
$10,000–3 ct–platinum20253ct VS1 solitaire in platinum found on eBay for $10k, appraised at $20k retail; fiance bought it for her
$10,000Natural diamond1 ct–––Wife's 1 ct ring cost close to $10,000; has purchase paperwork and an insurance rider on it
$10,000Lab-grown diamond––––Highly customized lab-grown ring cost about $10,000, designed in person in the US; sourcing overseas would have been cheaper
$10,000Natural diamond2.02 ctcushion–2026Boyfriend bought it recently for around 10k; she suggests the same seller for 2 ct natural stones under 15k
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer says only that it ran to five figures; she wanted a bigger stone but did not want him past his comfort level
$10,000––––2026Just engaged; fiance spent about 10k; he works two jobs and earns over 200k
$10,000Natural diamond––––Upgraded to a 10k ring over a decade before the comment; says she likely would not spend that much now, least of all on a natural stone
$10,000–––––Fiance earning $250k spent $10k on her ring; she still felt it was pricey
$10,000Natural diamond0.75 ctmarquise–2026Double halo marquise
$10,000Natural diamond––––An upgrade received several years ago; an original ring from about 15 years earlier was very small and inexpensive, price not given
$10,000––––1999Natural diamond ring bought 27 years before the comment; the same design in lab diamond would cost far less today
$10,000–––––Child-free couple with no wedding, chose to spend more on rings instead
$10,000–––––Writer's sister's partner spent this on her ring
$10,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Boutique jeweler made it in-house; gold pave band made up rest of the $10k total beyond the ~$7.5k stone
$10,000Natural diamond2 ctround––Quote from her usual jeweler to upgrade to a 2ct round while keeping her original princess-cut stone; not taken
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1980Partner says dad bought this grandma's ring in 1980 for $10k, after first claiming $4k from a seller; ring later found silver-plated glass, both claims doubted.
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1996Fiancé then said it was his grandmother's ring, claimed bought about 30 years earlier for this amount; ring proved to be glass, not diamond.
$10,000Natural diamond–––2008Engagement ring bought at Costco 18 years before the comment for $10k, appraised for double; jeweler said clarity exceeded expectations.
$10,000–––––Husband separately lost two replacement wedding bands and had a third surgically implanted; no price given for those bands
$10,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026Writer worried this price for a 4ct lab diamond and setting wasn't as reasonable as hoped
$10,000Natural diamond1.3 ct––2026Local jeweler first offered a 1ct F VS2 stone for $7k, then swapped in this 1.3ct D VS1 stone at the same price; total ring came to $10k; found out after agreeing it was GIA excellent cut, not ideal
$10,000Natural diamond2 ctround–2026Quoted almost $10k for a mined 2ct round reset that used her sentimental original stone as trade-in; declined and went lab instead
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Current boyfriend has already spent about this much on her next ring ahead of the proposal; she has not seen the finished piece
$10,000Sapphire–––2026Sapphire halo ring with lab-diamond accent stones; skipped a big wedding for a courthouse ceremony and put money toward honeymoon and house instead
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Partner saved for 18 months and paid upfront for a similarly styled ring; came in just under $10k
$10,000–––––Writer's mother's engagement ring, reported secondhand
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctroundplatinum2024Round brilliant lab diamond on platinum with ~10 melee stones and engraving; called a lot to pay for a lab
$10,000Natural diamond1.2 ct––2012Close to $10k for a 1.2ct ring 14 years before the comment; a later 2ct three-stone setting cost more, no figure given
$10,000–1.7 ct–––Writer unsure how it compares to current lab diamond pricing
$10,000Natural diamond1.5 ctroundyellow gold–Custom 14k solitaire, three tapered baguettes per side; band cost forgotten; now in a bank box, she wishes the money had gone to the mortgage
$10,000Natural diamond1.2 ct––2002Husband's family only bought flawless stones for engagements
$10,000Natural diamond–––2011Paid for her natural diamond engagement ring 15 years before this 2026 comment; later got a lowball resale offer and kept it
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Engagement ring from her ex; price given while describing the resale after their divorce
$10,000–1.5 ct–platinum–Band is a hexagon shape with 24 diamonds all around, also platinum
$10,000Natural diamond1.01 ct–platinum2014Well-cut natural diamond, flawless to the naked eye, on a simple four-prong platinum band
$10,000–––––A Verragio design from writer's first marriage; insured and GIA certified
10,000–––––Regrets buying a pricier Tiffany ring instead of investing the money; SGD amount
10,000–0.7 ct–––Cut is Hearts on Fire's True Hearts branded cut; chose a smaller carat with better color/clarity/cut for his petite wife
10,000Natural diamond––––First wife's mined-diamond ring; she kept it after the divorce
10,000–––––First marriage ring
$10,000Natural diamond0.71 ctprincessplatinum–Same princess shape as the asker's Costco ring but from Tiffany; writer felt paying for the brand name was still worth it
A$10,000–––––Highpoint store; care plan with free cleaning and rhodium plating lost after missing an inspection deadline; ring type implied by discussion
£10,000––––2011Husband wasn't budget-constrained and bought what he liked
$10,000–––––Says over $10k; avoids wearing it to bed for fear of snagging the setting on a blanket
$10,000Lab-grown diamond––––Custom-cut lab stone from a well-known cutter, plus a simple setting and a wedding band, all from a renowned jeweler
£10,000––––2026Paid closer to £10k for the ring but the jeweller's insurance valuation came in at £20k; considering declaring it at £15k instead
$10,000Natural diamond0.7 ct–platinum2026Bought a similar-spec .7 ct I VVS1 platinum solitaire for under $10k earlier this year, prompting a question about whether Tiffany prices differ by store location
$10,000Natural diamond0.6 ct–platinum–Platinum band with a .60ct diamond, per the original post as recapped by a buyer
$10,000–––––Buyer's own engagement ring; says wedding-industry markups run about 12x by the time a chain retailer sells it
$10,000Lab-grown diamond–––2026Custom-cut Brian Gavin lab stone plus Steven Kirsch hand-forged NYC setting; paid a premium over Brian Gavin's in-stock stones to land around a $10k budget
$10,000Lab-grown diamond6 ct––2026Writer said 'almost 6 carats' and spent under $10k; called the cut 'exceptional', not a standard grade term
$10,000–0.81 ct––2011New Tiffany quote option seen on a second store visit
$10,000Natural diamond0.8 ct–––Wanted a natural stone with IF clarity rather than a full carat; got a 0.8ct IF E-color diamond under $10k
$10,000Natural diamond1 ct––2000Original ring bought about 22 years before the comment, with a pricey setting included
$10,000Natural diamond–round––10th-anniversary upgrade ring; the original engagement stone had been a 1.1ct heirloom from her grandmother's dinner ring, price unknown
A$10,000–––––Estimated declared value for a Whiteflash upgrade diamond still being arranged; a hold on one candidate stone was later dropped over shipping-timeline uncertainty.
$10,000Lab-grown diamond––––A comparable lab diamond ring design from By Bonnie was quoted at over $10k (initially quoted 8-10k); she got an equivalent ring instead via a same-value trade-in with a local jeweler
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2025Starting quote for a fully custom ring including a 2ct lab-grown centerstone; declined as over budget
$10,000Natural diamond2 ct––2005Writer's friend's engagement diamond bought about 20 years before this 2025 comment; stone reportedly has no sparkle or fire and looks cloudy
C$10,000Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–––Ring and setting bought in Canada; writer notes Canadian pricing differs from US
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2021Almost 5 years before the 2026 comment; painful to see much lower current prices
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion––Two 1.5ct G VS1 square cushion stones at $5k each for a past-present-future style ring, bought before the pandemic
$10,000Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald––Anniversary ring bought after wearing an heirloom 5ct pear solitaire (mother-in-law's) as the engagement ring; approximate price at the time
$10,000–2 ct–––A 2ct solitaire; spent this much as a symbol of how seriously he was taking the relationship
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–round–2024GIA diamond deposit paid via Dubai vendor; forum flagged sloppy cut (42.5% pavilion); ~$10k all-in incl. band; $2200 deposit at risk if he backs out.
C$10,000–––––Custom made; sourced the diamonds themselves, which kept the price well under the appraisal
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––The asker's real/current ring, per other comments confirming it as her actual engagement ring; she feels it's not worth $10k
$10,000Natural diamond1.15 ctovalyellow gold–Quote for a 1.15ct oval mined diamond with GIA grade plus a 14kt yellow gold hidden-halo cathedral setting; stated total exceeds sum of the two component prices
$10,200Diamond, lab or natural not said3.29 ct–––Appraised for insurance at almost $13k after paying $10,200; diamond quality varies a lot
$10,277Diamond, lab or natural not said1.23 ct––2016Stone and setting priced separately, totaling just over $10k
$10,300Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2016Custom-made ring bought about 8 years before this comment; writer estimates it cost roughly $6,000 more than the asker's $4,300 ring
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design; paid a $5k non-refundable deposit toward the $10.5k total for the ~3.3ct size they chose; buyers said it was overpriced
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design and setting from a small local jeweler; paid a non-refundable $5k deposit, about half the total, before work started
$10,500Lab-grown diamond4.61 ctradiant––The asker's original post stated $10,500 for this 4.61ct lab radiant; another buyer recalled a different figure, over $9k
$10,500Natural diamond6.5 ct–rose gold–Natural black diamond centre with about 1 additional carat of natural white diamonds on the band and prongs
$10,500Lab-grown diamond––––Still enjoys looking at it three years later
$10,500Natural diamond1.1 ct–––Mined diamond chosen deliberately over lab; jeweler offers an upgrade guarantee crediting this purchase toward a future one
$10,500–––––Actual ring bought at fiance's insistence from a local jeweler, roughly 2-3x the online quote
$10,505–1.75 ctpear–2011Bezel pear diamond from James Allen; a a diamond buyers' forum discount took about $700 off, and the final cost ran about $5 over the couple's $10,500 budget
$10,705Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctcushion–2026Quote only, never bought; price rose from $5,700 to $8,700 to a final itemized $10,705; deposit later refunded
$10,750Lab-grown diamond3.11 ctcushion––Paid $10,500-11,000 (midpoint used); appraised higher at $13,000.
$10,800Natural diamond1.52 ctovalwhite gold2024Price includes the 18k white gold setting shown; still needs to be set and sized
$10,800Natural diamond––––Natural diamond option (about 1.7ct oval per a crowd-sourced cert lookup, unconfirmed) with a clear table but fluorescence concerns, weighed against a cheaper option with a visible feather; not yet bought.
$11,000–––––Engagement ring worn daily; writer was getting it insured
$11,000–––––Writer says the reactions from friends and family are what mattered to his wife
$11,000Natural diamond1.7 ct––2022Natural 1.7ct J color SI1 ring with strong fluorescence helping the color face up whiter; cited as a comparison for the asker's budget
$11,000Natural diamond1.7 ctround–2022Round natural diamond with medium fluorescence, which the writer says doesn't read as yellow to the eye
$11,000Moissanite––––Cluster design with sapphire and diamond accent stones
A$11,000––––2020Just over 1ct stone with halo and pave diamonds; called it a happy medium his partner was content with
A$11,000–––––Spent $11k; has a mortgage and similar income to the person asking; partner loves the ring
A$11,000Lab-grown diamond––––Had budgeted 15-20k; income given as 250k or more
$11,000Natural diamond1.71 ct––2023Writer says '$11' for a 1.71ct stone, read as $11k; implies natural, since he says he doesn't know lab prices
$11,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctmarquisegold2023Buyer's own ring: 2ct D VS2 marquise diamond in 14k gold, total $11k, mentioned while complimenting the asker's ring
$11,000–––––Little sister's ring; that household earns roughly half what the writer's does
$11,000––––2015The band cost more than the ring itself; about eight years before the comment
$11,000Natural diamond2 ct––2024Writer's wife got a similarly styled ring with a natural (non-lab) stone; called expensive by comparison
$11,000––––2024Got engaged under two weeks before commenting; had to research to understand why the ring cost that much
$11,000––––2024Diamond picked out together, ring being made at time of comment
$11,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Quote for a same-size same-clarity whiter lab diamond via the designer instead of natural; not purchased
$11,000Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctoval––3.5ct pointed oval lab-grown diamond ring
£11,000–––––Writer describes the cost as slightly under this figure; comfortable spending this much and unconcerned about resale value
C$11,000Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–––Writer's wife loves it; appraisal and insurance both confirmed the value matches what he paid
$11,000Natural diamond––––Aimed for $8-10k on the stone alone; total with natural diamond and setting landed higher
$11,000Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctemerald––Initially insisted on natural but switched to lab once she saw how much further the money went
$11,000–––––Husband would have spent more on his own band but this is what he wanted
$11,000Natural diamond––––Covers both the diamond and the setting
$11,000Lab-grown diamond–––2021Spent this on a lab-grown ring about four years before the comment; reacts with dismay at today's low prices.
$11,000–––––Engagement ring upgrade, says it was worth every penny
$11,000Natural diamond3.05 ctcushionyellow gold–Cathedral setting with hidden halo; stone bought from an Instagram seller who cuts gemstones, color grade as stated by writer
$11,000Natural diamond––––Close to $11k; her 'stack' includes multiple natural-stone rings, not a single ring
$11,000–––––Writer's current ring
$11,000Natural diamond–––2025Combined price for the natural diamond and setting; chose not to insure since she rarely wears it and rarely loses things
$11,000Lab-grown diamond10 ctemerald–202510-year anniversary ring; platinum setting with two 0.5ct baguette side stones made locally; price-matched to Leela Diamonds
$11,000Natural diamond1.78 ct–––10-year upgrade tagged 22k but bought for 11k over 25 years ago; loves it yet feels the money was better used elsewhere
$11,000–2 ctpear––Stated as roughly 10-12k; she did not recall the other specs and is very happy with it
$11,000––––2026Fiance's income is about this amount a year; even this felt like a financial stretch for him
$11,000Natural diamond–––2001Natural diamond retailed near $22k; a friend at the store gave half price; still loves the ring 25+ years later, thinks money could've gone elsewhere
$11,000––––2026Micro wedding at a restaurant for 30 people
$11,000–––––Writer is 36 and fiance 32; says life looks different financially than if they'd gotten engaged younger
$11,000–––––An earlier ring from her 20s with a previous partner, before her current relationship where her ring cost far less
$11,000Natural diamond–––2021Roughly the max they wanted to spend; would have considered lab-grown but not at 2021 lab prices
$11,000–2 ctroundplatinum2026Marked down from $30k list; upgraded from a 1ct original stone, paid the difference; certified, no visible inclusions to the naked eye
$11,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Light yellow fancy-color 3ct diamond and setting together; cheaper than a colorless stone would be
$11,000–––––Owner only wears it leaving the house, never for showering, working out, the beach or pool
A$11,000–––platinum2017Antique early-20th-century platinum ring; replacement value estimated around $15k-18k, a bit above the price paid
$11,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown quote for the same design; budget was $4k so neither version was bought
$11,000–––––Budget was $8-12k; chose this amount to avoid going into debt
$11,000Natural diamond––––Bought the loose natural diamond online, then had a custom FANA-designed setting made at a local jeweler during a wedding-ring sale
$11,000Natural diamond––platinum2021Platinum Tiffany engagement ring; two pave diamonds fell out after five months and were replaced, band snapped in half about five years later
$11,000––––2021Tiffany Soleste; paid extra for a pave repair, later quoted thousands more for a band-snap repair before a discounted remount
$11,035Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctround–2023Negotiated a custom Tacori setting's stone down from $8,700 to $5,035 by showing a comparable Ritani listing; ring still being made
$11,300–0.81 ct––2011Quote seen for a Tiffany Embrace-style ring option; a later recap of the same option gave $11,100 instead
C$11,500Lab-grown diamond3.23 ctemeraldgold2023Paid for a lab-grown emerald-cut diamond ring with an 18K gold band, about $8.7K USD equivalent, before a breakup left the ring unwanted
$11,500Natural diamond2.02 ctovalgold20242.02ct J SI1 oval with strong blue fluorescence in a custom 18k ring; several buyers called it overpriced for the specs
A$11,500––––2016Bought about 7 years before the comment; later resold with a GIA certificate.
$11,500Natural diamond1.57 ctprincess––Jeweler found this stone after several rejected diamonds; eye-clean and F color
$11,500Natural diamond1.4 ct––2017Says if choosing today she'd request a lab diamond instead for a bigger stone at lower cost
$11,500Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––Writer's cousin's ring, cited as proof lab is much cheaper than natural
$11,500Lab-grown diamond7 ctpear––The same custom jeweler friend's earlier work, a 7ct pear lab diamond ring made a few years before the comment
$11,700Natural diamond1.5 ct–gold2018Includes 2 small moissanite side stones and a 14k gold band with local setting work; stone alone was a little over $10k of the $11.7k total
$11,800Natural diamond2.03 ctoval–2025Quoted at local jeweler for a 2.03ct natural oval with a visible knot inclusion; pave setting, thicker band, diamonds halfway around
$11,900–0.9 ct––2011Quote seen at another store for a similarly sized diamond, availability uncertain
£12,000Natural diamond2.5 ctcushion–2020Colour recalled uncertainly by writer as probably F; bought when UK lab-diamond suppliers looked untrustworthy
$12,000Natural diamond2 ct–platinum–Ex paid for a platinum Tacori setting with a 2+ carat center stone and sapphire side stones; now being sold after a broken engagement
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––The asker's ring cost roughly 12k; she is pricing insurance after a coworker lost her ring at work
$12,000Sapphire––platinum–Late-20s buyer earning about $110k; financed interest-free over 12 months at $1k a month; says he doesn't regret it
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctround–2019Bought for his fiancee, triple-excellent cut, polish and symmetry grading
C$12,000–––––Friend's purchase, cited only to warn that Blue Nile packages get left on the doorstep unsigned
$12,000Lab-grown diamond3.35 ct–––3.35ct lab diamond, a slightly elongated cut, cited as a comparison against the asker's $58k quote for a 5ct lab
$12,000–––––No firm budget set beforehand; went to a jeweler to see what her dream ring would cost
$12,000–––––Family friend's wife designed the ring herself; he worked five years to afford it, married 20+ years since
$12,000Natural diamond2.54 ctoval––Fancy yellow-brown diamond, originally listed at $22k, bought for $12k
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––white gold–Ring from an earlier engagement that ended; later sold for 5000; she wishes that money had gone to a house or retirement
£12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.46 ctroundplatinum–Engaged in Sydney; ring bought in Australia; a similar but lower-quality stone was quoted at 23k at a UK chain
$12,000–––––Paid this after trade-in credit from a series of ring upgrades; household take-home is about $10k a month, partly from a VA payout
$12,000––––2015Engagement called off 18 months later; ring returned and later resold
A$12,000–––––Bought more than six years before the comment; insurer revalues it yearly for the premium, now about $13.5k
A$12,000–––––A friend's ring cost over $12,000
A$12,000––––2023Spent this because it mattered to partner; she is buying him a gift too
$12,000Lab-grown diamond1.7 ct–––Lab ring from a former partner for roughly 12k; a reply said a lab stone that size was about 3k at most by mid 2023
£12,000Natural diamond1.81 ctround–2023Triple-excellent cut with medium fluorescence; found listed on James Allen but ordered and sourced through a local jeweler, shipped from India
$12,000––––1991Both partners were doctors, early in their careers at the time
$12,000–––––Originally looking at about 6k, but his mother and sisters convinced him to double it; relationship later ended but writer kept the ring; appraisals have come in close to what was paid, credited mostly to the brand name
$12,000Natural diamond––––First marriage's diamond ring; felt like a waste of money, later drew resale offers of no more than $2,000
$12,000–3.1 ctemerald–2024Original online diamond order (about $12k) couldn't be returned; a local jeweler with a family tie did an even swap for a 3.10ct emerald-cut stone instead.
C$12,000–––––A female friend's ring; the couple divorced after only 3 years of marriage
$12,000Natural diamond1.7 ct––20241.7ct I-color stone cost $10,400; $12k all-in with a pave band setting
$12,000––––2024Set an absolute max of $12k with the jeweler and ended up under that
$12,000Natural diamond––––Tried to resell later and found the gold in the setting was worth more than the diamond
£12,000–2 ct–––150-year-old antique ring, picked in person at Hatton Garden, with 3 main diamonds and 4 small accent diamonds; insurance valuation came in £5k above the price paid
£12,000–––––Custom Hatton Garden jeweller connection via a friend; independent valuation came in well above the price paid; pays a lasting annual insurance premium
A$12,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctroundplatinum20242.5ct lab-grown in a French pave halo, half the setting in platinum with diamonds; writer earned 400k plus about 300k in investment gains last year, partner earned 135k before mat leave
A$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Original diamond ring, later rebuilt after weight loss changed her hand size, then lost at work without her noticing it slip off
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2004Natural diamond engagement ring bought twenty years before the 2024 comment.
$12,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown engagement ring only, not the wedding band; confirmed as USD in a later reply
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctround–2025A friend's fiance's purchase, reported secondhand
$12,000–––––A friend's ring; friend needed insurance and can't travel with it because of the cost
$12,000–––––Writer's brother's ring; engagement fell through afterward and it would resell for far less than he paid
$12,000–––––Partner handled the purchase entirely; writer wasn't told the exact final price
$12,000––––2015A decade before the comment, felt like a huge sum since they were broke then
$12,000–––––First ring bought in college, price not given; recent upgrade came to $12k all-in
$12,000––––2014Probably overspent for their income then, but wanted a forever ring to avoid upgrading later
$12,000–––––Wishes they'd spent more on the engagement ring itself
$12,000Lab-grown diamond2.2 ct–platinum–His pay was $25/hr while her salary was $130k; chose a larger stone anticipating higher future household income
$12,000–––––Says they spent about the same as the $12k another buyer mentioned; no regrets
$12,000Natural diamond2 ctovalyellow gold–The custom band is a regular gold band made from gold recycled from a necklace her fiance's late grandmother had given him
$12,000Natural diamond––––First ring, mined stone
$12,000Natural diamond1 ct–platinum–Floral halo-style custom platinum ring; center stone plus 8 accent diamonds, 3 carats total
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.25 ct–––Her dream ring
$12,000Lab-grown diamond––––A friend financed his fiancee's lab diamond ring with a loan; writer says it is worth only a small fraction now, loan still being paid off
$12,000Natural diamond––platinum–Felt overpriced and swindled; more than 10 years before the comment
$12,000––––2000Writer's mother's upgraded ring
$12,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––Quote for a lab-grown alternative to the stone the writer actually chose; this configuration was not purchased
$12,000Natural diamond1 ctprincessplatinum2014A jeweler recounts a client's original 2014 ring purchase, later brought in wanting to upgrade to a larger lab stone
$12,000–1.5 ct––2021Ring bought about 4 years before this comment; now estimated worth only a fraction of that
$12,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2026Lab diamond (2+ ct, exact weight not given) bought from Brilliant Earth for less than competitors, then set locally in a custom design instead of BE's pricier version
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Natural 1.5ct diamond, purchase date not stated
$12,000Natural diamond2 ct––2000Writer's father bought her mother this upgrade ring in 2000
$12,000Natural diamond––––Paid $12,000 for a natural diamond ring, cited as an example of typical resale depreciation
$12,000Natural diamond–––2026Ring made with natural diamonds and sapphires; paid $12,000, appraised at $37,000
£12,000––––2003Not quite three months' salary at the time; appraised value has grown substantially since
$12,000–1.8 ct–rose gold–Rose gold pave setting and band with half-eternity pave diamonds; clarity grade given with uncertainty by the writer
£12,000Natural diamond5.2 ct–––Writer inherited a natural 5.2ct family diamond bought 20+ years ago; now appraised far higher.
12,000–0.6 ct–––Design caught his eye; made in Japan
£12,000Natural diamond5.02 ctpear–2006Inherited from her mother; bought over 20 years before the comment, now appraised far higher and will pass to her daughter
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2003Original engagement ring bought about 22 years before this 2025 comment; very good polish and symmetry but table and depth not ideal
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.52 ct–––Quote for a ring with this stone before proposing; an independent appraisal was being done to confirm value
$12,200–––two tone–Custom quote for a 15g platinum + 5g rose gold setting ($5,000 materials, $5,700 labor/casting/finish) plus a stone; the person asking felt the metal markup was excessive and went with a cheaper maker instead.
$12,500Natural diamond1.03 ctround–2023Retailer quote for a solitaire setting; GIA report showed only a Good cut grade, buyers said it was overpriced
A$12,500–––––Spent in the $10,000-15,000 range
£12,500Other gemstone4 ct–––10th-anniversary ring with a 4ct emerald centre stone and a 1ct stone on each side; rarely worn
$12,500––––2023Writer unsure of exact ring cost, estimated 10-15k; wedding band and dress are still unspent budgets, not final prices
$12,500––––1998After the first ring was returned, the same girlfriend ended up with a $12,500 ring instead, financed at what the seller calls an obscene interest rate
£12,500–1.25 ctovalplatinum–Income was about £250k/year; describes the stone as extremely good quality
12,500––––2002PHP; writer's own rough estimate (10-15k range) of her first engagement ring, from a relationship in 2002
$12,500Natural diamond1.8 ctroundyellow gold–A Cut Above branded-cut diamond in a 6-prong yellow-gold solitaire; planning to use a $1 upgrade offer to trade up
$12,500–––––Partner spent somewhere between $12-13k; friends spent $4-7k for rings writer also finds beautiful
$12,500–0.91 ct––2011Pricier Tiffany quote option seen the same visit
$12,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.08 ctround–2024Quote for a stone with ASET/Idealscope light leakage issues; writer instead picked a 1.12ct F Whiteflash stone, price not stated
$13,000Natural diamond1.9 ctcushionplatinum–Ring from a previous marriage; GIA-certified cushion solitaire cathedral setting, now being priced for private resale
$13,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Enchanted Garden Luxe pave-band ring, delivered 2 months late; pave diamonds fell out twice after purchase, ring reset into a simpler setting, refunded only the $400 setting-price difference
$13,000Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct–yellow gold–2.25ct lab diamond, excellent color and clarity, two side diamonds, yellow gold; about $13k all together
$13,000–2.1 ct–––Center stone already bought for just under $12k; setting still being finalized, estimated at $1k
$13,000Lab-grown diamond––––Writer says a near-flawless colorless 2.25ct natural alternative would have cost double
$13,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2022Paid about $13k for a 3ct lab diamond, estimating a similar mined stone would have cost upwards of $200k
$13,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–Halo setting customized by a local jeweler to her exact design.
$13,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–pear––Canary pear diamond engagement ring, stone and setting together; husband had talked of 2-3 ct; lab or natural not said
$13,000Natural diamond2 ctprincess––Certified near-colorless 2 ct princess solitaire, 4 prongs; stone came loose after a fall and was repaired; she considered lab only for a backup ring
$13,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise––Whole ring 13k; she estimates a natural stone that size would have been over 50k for the diamond alone
$13,000Natural diamond––––Writer wanted lab but fiance insisted on a natural stone
$13,000–2.5 ctprincess––Bought from a trusted jeweler in the LA diamond district; 2.5ct princess center plus about 2ct of smaller accent stones; both partners were 50 and remarrying
$13,000––––2003About 20 years before this comment; wedding bands were only a few hundred dollars each
C$13,000–––––Earns about $170k/year; considers $30k too high
$13,000––––2024Couple designed the ring together with the exact stones wanted
$13,000Natural diamond4 ct––2019Husband upgraded her original diamond to a 4ct earth-mined stone he got at a bargain, five years before this comment
C$13,000Natural diamond––platinum–Platinum setting was a bigger cost driver than expected; insured and worn everywhere, including travel
C$13,000Natural diamond1 ct–––Writer disliked Costco's settings so had a well-known local jeweller set a 1ct natural stone instead
$13,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2015Worn daily for 10 years, rarely removed
$13,000––––2016On the low end compared to friends who spent more, but they were also saving for a home
$13,000–––––Customized together; both wanted a ring she could wear daily without fear of damage or theft, not something flashier
$13,000––––2013That marriage later ended in divorce; now in a long-term relationship and would rather have no ring at all
$13,000–––––Toi et moi style with a 2.3 carat black diamond pear stone and a 0.8 carat round brilliant stone; wedding band is also black diamonds
$13,000–––––A lab-grown upgrade followed ten years later at a much lower cost, no exact figure given
$13,000–––––Just under 2 carats with a hidden halo of diamonds
$13,000–––––Writer's sister's ring
$13,000–––––No wedding held, so the couple splurged on rings instead
13,000–––––Regrets the spend, thinks a watch or stocks would've been better; ring now sits unused
13,000Natural diamond1 ct––2023Wife wanted a natural 1ct diamond; total including setting about 13k
$13,000Natural diamond––––Natural diamond in a style she disliked, chosen under social pressure; one of her biggest regrets
$13,000––––2023A quote for a possible upgrade stone in the 1.9-2ct range she loved but ultimately decided not to buy
$13,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–Original purchase price of the pre-owned 2.5ct E/VS1 ideal-cut BGD lab ring the person asking was considering buying secondhand; year not stated
$13,000–––––Ring cost $13k against an $8k budget; partner bought it anyway
$13,000Natural diamond1.5 ctroundplatinum2008GIA 1.5ct that faces up like 1.4ct due to cut quality; SI2 eye-clean; setting was a shared-prong band ($2500) plus a platinum head ($500); bought at a local store
$13,500–––––One of three rings bought in the writer's circle, one being her own; which one is hers is unclear
C$13,500Natural diamond3.42 ctroundwhite gold2024Custom trilogy ring size 11 with 3.42+1.01+1.00ct diamonds; got a $3500 CAD discount; jeweler quoted a moissanite version at $7,500-9,000 CAD
A$13,500––round––Quote from Tiffany for a three-stone design with tapered baguettes similar to the asker's Graff ring; decided against it and bought a secondhand T&Co solitaire instead
C$13,500Lab-grown diamond3.42 ctroundwhite gold2025Size 11, rush custom job with two 1ct side round stones; 3rd-party gemologist valuation was lower than the price paid
$13,500–––––Goldsmith gave a 3500 discount for good standing with the family; appraised value given in CAD while the purchase price is in USD as stated by the writer
$13,600––––2026Boyfriend already paid before a planned surprise proposal; paid it off within two months
$14,000Natural diamond1 ctroundgold2024Custom jeweler's quote for a light-yellow SI natural stone in 18k gold jumped from about $9k to $14k after switching to round cut and adding silver casting; ring was not bought, buyer only lost the $250 rendering fee
$14,000––––2008Was told it's supposed to be 3 months' salary; writer explicitly gives the amount in USD
$14,000Natural diamond1.51 ctmarquise–2022Strong blue fluorescence, priced well under comparable 17-19k stones without it; kept the ring after research
$14,000Lab-grown diamond––––Recreated Edwardian design with emerald halo; setting and labor 8k; ex-partner earned nearly 500k; bought before lab prices dipped
A$14,000–––––Spent 14k on a 70k salary at the time of proposal; feels in hindsight it was too much
A$14,000–––––Later resold the ring for a fraction of what was paid
£14,000–––––Together for 9 years before proposing
$14,000Sapphire1.5 ct––2023Separate bespoke quote from two Australian jewelers for stone+ring; unheated 1.5ct vivid blue; heated stones more available/pushed locally
$14,000Natural diamond1.02 ct––20231.02ct E VVS1 natural diamond with 2 smaller side diamonds, bought with a family discount; calls the asker's ring cheap by comparison
$14,000–––––Writer notes rings can range from $500 to $100,000
$14,000Natural diamond–––2023Writer's own engagement ring cost double the $7k ring the person asking asked about; natural stone, has appreciated in value
$14,000Lab-grown diamond5 ctasscher–2024Friend's upgrade ring: a 3-stone asscher setting with 5ct center and 1ct total in side stones, upgraded from a 3ct lab asscher
$14,000Lab-grown diamond–asscher–2024A friend's similar ring with a slightly larger center stone and asscher-cut stones, bought this year as lab diamond prices kept dropping
$14,000Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Buyer bought a natural 2.5ct J/VS1 diamond for $14k, saying the person asking could get a much better ring for similar money
$14,000––––2024Cousin's ring, reported secondhand
C$14,000Lab-grown diamond7 ct–platinum–Platinum band also holds 2ct of additional diamonds, 9ct total combined weight
$14,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Fiancee's diamond; triple-excellent with faint fluorescence, cited as costlier alternative to a lab stone
$14,000Lab-grown diamond––––Diamond and custom setting; household income was mid-six-figures; chose lab even though partner was willing to spend more
$14,000Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct–––Enjoyed choosing the stone and band together rather than going the DIY route
$14,000–––––Upgraded ten years after the original ring
$14,000Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct–white gold–2.25ct center stone plus 3ct of accent diamonds in 14k white gold; natural equivalent estimated near $25k
$14,000Natural diamond2 ctcushion––Old mine cut diamond, bought online from a California-based independent jeweler; shape inferred from the cut style
$14,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Previous ring; total weight 3ct natural set, later replaced by a lab solitaire
14,000Moissanite––white gold2021Custom-designed moissanite ring in 18k white gold, priced in Philippine pesos; buyers note the price is now far below current gold-market rates
£14,000Natural diamond1 ctovalplatinum–Bought a few years before the comment from a well-known British jeweller, not named
A$14,000Natural diamond1.2 ctovalgold–Diamond halo setting on an 18ct gold band; about 10000 USD equivalent; writer says she'd choose lab if buying again
A$14,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Quote for a 3ct lab diamond ring from the seller called out in the post; writer called it a rip-off and declined
$14,000–1.5 ct–––Old european cut center with 0.75ct total in side stones
A$14,000Natural diamond1.6 ctoval–2024Custom band included; bought from an independent Sydney jeweller in the Dymocks building; stone ratio 1.42
$14,500Natural diamond1.8 ctcushion–2025Local jeweler's quote for a 1.8ct elongated (not true square) cushion with crushed-ice faceting; still deciding whether to buy
$14,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.1 ctround––Buyer's own round 1.1ct E/FL diamond ring cost $14,000-15,000; asked whether that was a fair price
$14,500–––––Boyfriend earning around 200k spent about 14-15k by her guess; she had said a later upgrade would be fine
C$14,600–––––Bought through a wholesale distributor rather than retail, estimates about 60% off retail-equivalent price
$14,700Natural diamond2 ctround–2015Paid for a 2ct GIA round solitaire in 2015; the setting was cheap so almost the whole price was the diamond
$14,700–––––Writer's own ring
$15,000Other gemstone–––2023Vintage ruby and diamond ring priced at half of a 30k budget; still negotiating purchase, also pricing a custom remake
$15,000Natural diamond–––2023Friend's ring quoted at $15k as natural, not lab; buyers think it's a mined diamond irradiated blue rather than a true natural blue diamond
$15,000Natural diamond2 ct–––2ct total weight (incl. melee) ring bought with a 30% discount; writer regrets it and is considering an upgrade
$15,000Sapphire2.6 ctcushionyellow gold–Quote for a three-stone ring, 2.6ct cushion deep-blue natural sapphire center with two 3mm round diamond accents, thick yellow gold band; open to lab-created or vintage sourcing to cut cost
$15,000Natural diamond2 ctradiantwhite gold2024HPHT color-treated natural radiant, hidden halo, white gold head; jeweler had not verbally disclosed the treatment, and the setting was called flimsy, so the person asking decided to return it
$15,000Natural diamond0.95 ctovalplatinum2025Tiffany Soleste halo ring, price plus tax not included; polish excellent but symmetry only very good, no fluorescence; still deciding whether to buy
£15,000Sapphire10 ct––202610ct unheated Ceylon sapphire for a Diana/Kate-style halo ring; ring still being made, total expected 15k+; no lab report yet
$15,000–––rose gold–Center stone sourced via Ritani, set into an 18k rose gold split-shank setting, plus a matching wedding band, all from Joseph Jewelry
$15,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalplatinum–Diamond bought wholesale online through Rare Carat; cost was split between both partners
$15,000Lab-grown diamond2.9 ctradiant–2022Custom-made elongated radiant lab diamond; price includes 13% sales tax
$15,000–––––Own ring given as over 10k but under 20k; midpoint recorded
$15,000–––––A friend's ring
A$15,000–––––Her budget was $5k but he went about three times over (~$15k) on a custom-designed ring reflecting his own taste
A$15,000–––––Describes self as a good saver; no regrets
$15,000Natural diamond3.02 ct–––Writer says her natural 3.02ct diamond and others in her well-off circle cost more than $15k; she says everyone has good jobs and is highly educated
$15,000Lab-grown diamond7 ctemerald–2023Friends' recent ring, a lab emerald cut of nearly 7 ct; the asker's partner guessed they paid only around 15k
$15,000Lab-grown diamond2.2 ctoval–2023Custom-made for his fiancee for well under 15k; the 2.2 ct oval is almost too big for her size 3.5 finger
£15,000–––––A strong blue diamond, wife had heard of the three-month rule
15,000–––––Writer also mentions a costly divorce afterward
$15,000––––2023Venue was free for this 75-guest wedding
$15,000––––2023Married at the courthouse in a red velvet dress instead of a traditional gown; biggest spends were rings and honeymoon
$15,000–1.7 ctroundwhite gold–Writer's daughter's purchase; a solitaire on a plain 14k white gold band, writer believes tax was included
$15,000Natural diamond3.55 ct–white gold–Stone $11k plus $4k setting; treated/clarity-enhanced natural diamond per a dealer; AGI report; appraised just under $30k
$15,000Natural diamond2.5 ctcushionyellow gold–2.5ct SI1 cushion natural diamond bought wholesale through a family diamond-district connection; ring appraised near double what was paid
$15,000Natural diamond0.97 ct–platinum1993Six-prong platinum solitaire bought about 31 years before the comment; the diamond has since chipped in places
$15,000Moissanite––––Engagement ring centered on a 4.2ct moissanite (its cheapest component) with diamond accents (about 180 stones); a separate all-diamond wedding band cost almost $10,000
$15,000Natural diamond––––Ex-husband's purchase, made before lab diamonds were a mainstream option; marriage later ended in divorce
$15,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–platinum2024Platinum setting
C$15,000–––––Saved part of the total over four years while building a house before buying the ring
$15,000––––2024Writer says she likes wearing nice jewelry
$15,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Quote for a lab diamond ring from Jared, did not buy
A$15,000Natural diamond––––Was 26 and earning 71k when he proposed
A$15,000–1 ct–platinum–Ordered Whiteflash's super-ideal 'A Cut Above' line in a platinum setting; says most local Australian retailers besides one exception aren't worth buying from
A$15,000––––2024Just gave partner this ring; jeweller's insurance valuation came in at double the price paid
$15,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––2-carat lab-grown diamond ring, pricier than the asker's quoted range despite being lab
$15,000Lab-grown diamond1.65 ctmarquise–2025Setting is paved with 2.5ct total weight of natural diamonds, separate from the lab center stone
$15,000–––––Another friend's ring, said by writer to look like a cousin's $1k ring
A$15,000–––––After 20 years of marriage, spent on a ring she designed herself; earlier chose a house instead
A$15,000Natural diamond1.4 ct–––A compromise ring with visible imperfections, considered about two years before the comment before deciding to wait
A$15,000–––––First marriage; writer felt obligated to say yes and was uncomfortable with the spend
$15,000–1.2 ct–––Husband chose a pricier ring from a well-known jewelry store; she barely wears it and would've preferred the money toward a house
$15,000––––2017Jeweler copied a Cartier style the fiancee had chosen
$15,000Natural diamond––––Wanted a lab stone but her family's objections pushed them toward natural; more than she originally wanted to spend
$15,000Natural diamond1.7 ctradiant––Approximate price for a natural radiant-cut stone, offered as a data point on typical carat vs price
15,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–heart––PHP; wife's small heart-shaped-diamond engagement ring, kept plain so it's comfortable worn daily under the wedding ring
$15,000–––––Husband spent this; right in the middle among their friends
$15,000Lab-grown diamond3.18 ctroundplatinum–Pave band, cathedral setting, hidden halo with diamonds on every side but the prongs
$15,000–––––Writer's cousin's ring, subsidized by her wealthy father
$15,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Husband earns $550k a year and capped the ring at $15k to put money toward a house and retirement
$15,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Sold after her divorce for barely 60% of the price even after shopping it around with its certificate and valuation
$15,000–––––Writer felt her ring was too much even with a $400k a year household income
$15,000–––––Ring just under 15k; household income was over 300k when they got engaged; year not given
$15,000Natural diamond––––Ten-year upgrade on a 600k household income; went natural only because the trade-in program required it
$15,000Natural diamond1.75 ctcushion––Stone later chipped and insurance covered the repair; writer valued age and origin over a lab alternative
$15,000–––––Her fiance's brother reportedly spent this much or more on his fiancee's ring, per a cited article's spending range
$15,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Original ring; household income was around $700k a year at the time
$15,000––––2026Replying to a comment about high-priced rings; says he spent this and got a yes
$15,000–––––A jeweler's niece needed her fiancé to spend this much, from Tiffany specifically, to be happy with her ring
$15,000–1.5 ctemerald––Almost this amount for an emerald cut
$15,000Natural diamond1.7 ctemeraldwhite gold–East-west set emerald cut solitaire, 18k white gold
$15,000Natural diamond2.5 ct–gold–Family member's early-90s ring; main stone plus a lot of extra diamonds on a thick gold ring; marriage later ended
$15,000Natural diamond1.5 ctovalplatinum1999Cost "just under" 15k with the custom platinum setting; says over-1-carat rings were standard in her area at the time
$15,000Lab-grown diamond10 ctcushion––Quoted over 15k for a 10ct lab cushion stone and setting at her local jeweler; switching to an online vendor expecting to pay about half instead
C$15,000Natural diamond––––Natural diamond chosen specifically per writer's stated preference
C$15,000Natural diamond1.54 ct–––1.54ct GIA-certified stone; regrets not going lab-grown instead, feels it was a waste of money
15,000–––––She loved it at the time; his 'next time' comment implies the relationship later ended
$15,000––––2017Verragio ring later lost on a trip; insurer replaced it at reconstruction cost

Previous · Page 28 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 211 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.