engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 8 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports Without a Stated Price

Previous · Page 8 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
–––––2013PHP; custom-made rings, told custom would work out cheaper than ready-made
––––––PHP; wedding ring pair
––––––PHP
––––white gold2023PHP; 5.4g total, 18k white gold; writer feels in hindsight it was a bit pricey; wedding still upcoming
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2023PHP; 18k gold, her half-eternity diamond band plus his plain band, 14g combined weight, custom sizing, budget was 50k; gold ran about 4k/gram then
–Diamond, lab or natural not said0.2 ct–––PHP; friend's pair of standard-size bands, bride's has an 18k gold setting with about a 0.2ct center diamond
––––gold2022PHP; brother's plain 18k gold bands, 14-15g combined weight; cost more afterward once custom engraving was added
––––––PHP; wedding rings
––––gold–PHP; 18 karat gold, 5 grams total; her band has stones
––––––PHP; wedding rings for both of them
––––yellow gold2025PHP; bride's band has natural diamonds, groom's is plain; 8g combined weight
––––platinum–PHP; chose platinum over white gold for a naturally white color
––––––PHP; quoted about 50k the year before; regret not buying sooner as the price rose to 80k
––––––PHP; customized because the writer wanted unique designs, not the usual look
––––––PHP; bride's band
––––––PHP; groom's band
––––––PHP; wedding rings, modest compared to the engagement ring
–Natural diamond2.11 ct–––Says a comparable 2ct lab diamond can now be bought for about $4,000
––––gold–PHP; 18k gold wedding rings
––––gold2026PHP; budgeted 40k, ended up at 52k for 6g of 14k gold; blames rising gold prices
––––––PHP; custom design; doesn't know what the engagement ring cost
––––gold–PHP; friend's pair of 18k gold bands from Ongpin, married around the same time
––––––Pair of wedding bands; specs unknown to buyer, bought because it looked good.
––––yellow gold202614k 2mm yellow gold wedding band bought to pair with an existing platinum pave oval engagement ring
–Natural diamond3.5 ct–––Bought through a family connection in the jewelry industry; writer now says they should have gone lab
–Moissanite––gold202610k gold engagement ring and matching band from Kuololit, a different design than the one the person asking was asking about
$0Natural diamond––––Hand-me-down ring from a sister-in-law with a small diamond chip; later given a 1.3 ct ring years afterward, price not stated
$0Natural diamond0.15 ct––2001Free family engagement ring with a 0.15 ct diamond chip
–Other gemstone––platinum2001Platinum cz solitaire wedding band, chosen instead of going into debt for a diamond
––––platinum–Second platinum wedding band added several years after the first
–Moissanite–––2013Replaced the cz stone in the band with moissanite twelve years after the wedding
––4 ct–gold–Total carat weight across the set, not the center stone; bought in the LA jewelry district, avoided big-box retailers
–Other gemstone––gold–18k gold alexandrite engagement ring with diamond accents; matching wedding band has an Australian opal
––––other–Tungsten band, price after winning a raffle discount at a bridal fair; original price unknown
––––––Combined total for writer's engagement ring and wedding band
––––––Writer's own pear-cut ring and band together; the stone looks like sapphire but is blue sandstone, no cracking or fading after almost 2 years
––––other–His tungsten wedding band
––––––Price for both spouses' wedding bands together
––––––Custom piece, husband initially wanted something simple; much of the cost was the price of gold
–––––2011Custom wedding ring plus engagement ring together
––––––Pretax price
––––––Bought via Amazon, pretax price
––––––One of writer's two wedding bands
––––––Writer's second wedding band
–Natural diamond––platinum2018Custom-made set with natural diamonds and sapphires; figure given in 2018 dollars
––––––Each band cost about the same; hers has marquise lab diamonds in a row, his is a wider two-tone hammered band
––––white gold–Her flat band price is a rough guess ('probably a couple hundred'); his hammered white-gold band was handmade by a family friend for $50
–Natural diamond––––Wedding band with natural diamonds
––––––Both spouses' wedding bands together
––––yellow gold–Price in NZD; made-to-order wedding band with engraving
––––––Both wedding bands together
–Moissanite––––Writer's engagement ring and wedding band together, halo setting, black moissanite, continuum silver instead of white gold
–Moissanite––––Spouse's engagement ring and wedding band together, solitaire setting, gray moissanite, continuum silver
––––––His custom-made ring
––––––Writer's own vintage ring
–Lab-grown diamond0.62 ct–white gold–5/8 total carat weight across 7 round lab diamonds, not a center stone
––––yellow gold–Hand-carved 18k gold 2.5mm band
––––other–Cobalt chrome band; he later needed a wider 6mm platinum band instead due to his hand size, price not given for that one
––––––Double-stack pave band with a row of white and a row of black diamonds
––––––50 percent off sale
––––––30 percent off sale
–Moissanite––other–Silver channel-set moissanite wedding band bought on Amazon
–Lab-grown diamond––––Approximate; covers a 3.1 ct lab engagement ring and about a 0.5 ct wedding band, doesn't recall the exact split
–Other gemstone––yellow gold–Half-eternity sapphire band
––––platinum–Plain platinum band
––––platinum–Thicker, sandblasted/textured finish
–Natural diamond2 ct–––Separate 2ct fancy brown diamond bought loose from a trusted dealer; the person asking saw a similar stone priced $10,000 at another jeweler
––––––Custom made to match the engagement ring
––––––Custom band with roses embossed
––––other–Sealed wooden and titanium band
––––yellow gold–Simple 18k gold band
––––yellow gold–Simple 18k gold band
–Other gemstone––white gold–Purple amethyst center stone
–Natural diamond––yellow gold–Three tiny ethically sourced Canadian diamonds
––––yellow gold–10k gold from a local independent maker; 18k was considered too soft a metal for him
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––yellow gold–3/4 round diamond 14K eternity band
––––yellow gold–14K gold spacer band paired with the eternity band
––––white gold–Brushed satin finish
––––––Ring bought on clearance from Sears, band bought separately on Amazon
–Natural diamond2 ct–––2ct brown diamond, I1 clarity, no certificate; cited to show low grade keeps price far below the asker's $3000 fancy brown stone
––––other–Koa wood and tungsten band
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct–platinum–Her platinum band has about 1 ct in tiny lab diamonds; his plain band was lost after three years and replaced with inexpensive ones
–Other gemstone2 ct–white gold2010Natural aquamarine center stone with natural side diamonds in a filigree and milgrain setting
–Other gemstone––other–Black meteorite ring
––––––Her wedding band
–Natural diamond––––Engagement ring used a family diamond reset into a new setting she designed; total covers both pieces
––––yellow gold–Plain 14k comfort-fit band; local jewelry store had quoted 2,095 for the same design
–Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold–1mm micro pave lab-grown diamond band; local jewelry store had quoted 1,800 for the same description
––––––Skinny white gold band worn next to the engagement ring
––––white gold2018Curved half-eternity wedding band
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2026Custom-made engagement ring and matching wedding band together, quality described as very good
––––––Plain band; engagement ring price not given
–Natural diamond––yellow gold–Six Canadian-diamond inlaid band
–Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold–Her half-eternity band and his princess-cut diamond band bought together from a Toronto jeweller, with certificate
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––yellow gold2025Bought summer 2025 before gold prices rose; cluster diamonds on writer's band
–Natural diamond––––1.8 ct natural oval engagement ring plus a 0.82 ct wedding band
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Engagement and wedding ring bought together ahead of a May wedding; called pricey for the couple but modest by typical ring standards
––––other–Titanium band, worn mainly for the ceremony
––––other–Custom Damascus steel ring
––––––Quote for just a solitaire setting with no side stones, no diamond included
–––––2016White gold with small diamonds wrapping half way around, plus three diamonds with hearts underneath
––––other2016Tungsten, gold colored
––––––His custom matte gold band with diamonds encrusted top and bottom; hers a plainer half-diamond band
––––yellow gold2025Bought from a Vietnamese gold shop for better quality and lower cost than a big-box store quote
––––other–Hammered tungsten band remembered as 25-50; replaced twice already, rose gold lined each time
––––––Engagement ring also from Etsy and his wedding band ordered the same week, neither price given
––––––Writer's parents bought a £1 silver band more than 50 years ago and are still together
–Lab-grown diamond7 ctcushion––Elongated cushion-modified brilliant lab diamond stone bought alone for about $1.2k
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026Not yet bought; diamond selected on Blue Nile; writer worries after reading the discussion it may be overpriced
––––––Came bundled with a matching wedding band with smaller matching stones
––––gold2022Cheap faux-gold band worn daily instead of her engagement ring; held up four years without fading, not set with stones
––––gold202614k gold 1ct marquise moissanite e-ring plus 14k gold half-eternity marquise lab-diamond wedding band, engraved with initials and date; a little under $1000 total
–––––2026Custom engagement ring and wedding band set, pale champagne-gold color, about 4 weeks from a one-person Etsy shop
–Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctother––Upgraded from a natural .72ct oval worn 10 years to a 2.59ct elongated-hexagon step-cut lab stone; preferred saving $30-50k vs mined
––––––Silver wedding bands for both partners bought from a local silver shop; no regrets
––––––Wedding ring bought from eBay for £26
–Lab-grown diamond8.39 ctcushion–2026Won this loose stone for $7 via a mystery-box style gambling promotion; an equivalent flawless natural would run about $144k
–Sapphire2.5 ct–––Shopped in person at several stores before finding a natural 2.5+ ct sapphire with good sparkle and clarity, paid under $2,000 for the loose stone alone
–Natural diamond2.6 ct–––Just the 2.6ct fancy yellow center diamond; setting and accent stones were priced separately and not included.
–Moissanite–––2024Two stock pieces bought together from Kuololit about two years before a 2026 comment, before gold prices rose; exact per-piece split not given
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctpear––1.5ct pink pear stone with no visible bowtie, bought from an overseas vendor, loose only
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctmarquise––Loose stone only, no setting mentioned
–Lab-grown diamond6.17 ctoval–2026Quote for just the diamond, buying in person; the person asking reconsidering after bow-tie/windowing feedback and may switch to Whiteflash
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Inquired about a 3ct lab stone; quoted $400-450 from the vendor
–Natural diamond1.21 ctcushion–2026Eye-clean SI1 stone with lower color (I/J) for extra fire, called a good deal
–Lab-grown diamond3.33 ct––2026Said their 3.33ct lab diamond cost around the same price as the asker's Etsy listing
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.89 ctmarquise––Loose stone only, no setting yet; picked GIA over IGI certification, specs filtered via ChatGPT suggestions
–Natural diamond2.55 ct––2024Writer's wife's upgrade diamond, an ideal-cut J-IF stone, given as a benchmark for typical J-color ideal-cut pricing
–Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Writer's own 1.5ct natural diamond, cited as an example of affordable natural diamond pricing during a natural-vs-lab debate
––––––Both wedding bands combined, no engagement ring; simple courthouse wedding
$0––––2026Husband gave his late grandmother's wedding set at no cost, to convey commitment rather than spend money
–Natural diamond3.39 ctround––Loose 3.39ct D FL Type IIa diamond; writer asks how much he overpaid versus trade price
–Diamond, lab or natural not said4 ctasscher––Fancy intense yellow center stone bought separately for a custom ring; still choosing a setting, which ran 3-8k at the store she visited
–No stone (plain band)––gold2026Thin solid gold band bought as an affordable engagement-style ring; called it good quality
––––gold20264mm plain 18k free-trade gold band for husband, currently retails around $1950 CAD; wouldn't pay more than that for 14k
––––gold2026Fiance's 14k 5mm band bought at a fairly large brick-and-mortar jewelry store
––––other–Husband's titanium wedding band came in under $300; her own cobalt chrome ring for the middle finger was also under $300 but is not a wedding band
––––gold2025Simple 5mm men's gold band paid a little over a year before the comment; same listing now shows $988
––––––Included polishing and rhodium plating along with setting the stone
––––––Charged by a mom-and-pop shop; writer says local average seen is about $150
–Moissanite–princesswhite gold–Ordered a 3ct solitaire princess moissanite but received 4.22ct; matching 10k white gold wedding band included; ring insurance was a separate $50 for 5 years
––––platinum–Quotes gathered around town for a 6-prong tulip setting in platinum, 115-150 range; price said to depend on complexity and metal
––––––Family-owned jeweler charges 30 to 50 dollars
––––––Quote from a now-former jeweler to set a diamond into a setting also being bought there; writer switched jewelers to shop around
–––ovalwhite gold–Quote to reset an oval diamond the writer already owns into a simple white gold bezel; blamed on high gold prices, felt too high, hasn't gone elsewhere yet
––––––Small family-owned business
––––––Paid 200 to 250 dollars to have the stone set
––––––Two-stone setting using their own stones; a different jeweler had quoted $3500 for the same design before this small local jeweler agreed to $1450
––––––Paid at a pawn shop to set a ring and a pendant together; ring's own share of the price not broken out
––––––Quote to swap the prongs/peg head of a current setting for a new diamond, said it would take two weeks; a custom jeweler down the street quoted $100 for the same job
––10 ctround––Same trilogy three-stone setting style built around a 10ct center stone; thinks they overpaid for just the setting
––––––Bezel setting, same-day turnaround
–––––2021Vendor called it a 'corkage fee'; writer thinks Kay's $399 quote is reasonable but would still use a local jeweler instead
––––gold–14k gold, 2.5mm comfort-fit wedding band, called much cheaper than local jewelers or Etsy
––––––Fiance paid to set a diamond bought elsewhere into a Diamonds Direct setting
––––––Flat rate that included remaking the head for a slightly larger stone; kept using them for free repairs and resizing over a decade
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Fiancé spent about one month's after-tax salary on the ring; writer felt three months would be excessive and is happy with it
–Natural diamond––gold–Vintage wedding band won as a gamble on an eBay listing titled like a mystery lot; turned out to be real diamonds and 14k gold
–Natural diamond3 ctround––Writer's own 3.0 carat triple-excellent diamond, given as a cheaper comparable to the asker's 2.5ct quote
–Natural diamond5.1 ct–––Wife's stone, paid just over $4,000/carat; sent for inspection before Rare Carat set it
––––––Fee to swap in a new center stone while keeping the original tri-gold setting and hidden halo
––––gold202518k cathedral setting with Euro shank, custom-made, stone bought and set separately
––3 ct–––Mom-and-pop store, for a 3 carat stone
––––white gold–Her solid white gold wedding band vs. his silicone band; explicitly excludes the engagement ring
––––––Combined price for three wedding bands total, individual roles not specified
–Moissanite–––2023Her engagement ring plus wedding band combined; husband's separate wedding band was 200; worn 3 years with no issues
–––––2023Matching silicone backup bands worn instead of the metal rings during active wear
––––––Husband's band was just over 7 dollars
––––other–Matching tungsten bands with koa wood and opal inlay; kept low because the engagement ring cost much more
––––––Her plain metal band cost more due to recent gold price rises; his is a 35 dollar silicone band
––––––Combined price stated for her engagement ring and a wedding band
––––––A separate band priced 1500; exact relation to the first purchase is unclear from the comment
–––––1983Wedding band bought at the time of the wedding
–––––1988Spent on a diamond five years after the wedding, described as bought on top of the original band
–Natural diamond0.5 ct–platinum–Her platinum half-eternity band, 0.5ct total natural diamonds, bought on sale; his is 18K gold, also on sale
––––––Range given for their wedding band cost, specifics not stated
––––––AUD amounts; writer estimates roughly 3.5k USD combined
––––other–Matching tungsten wedding band set bought on Etsy, combined price for both
––––gold–Her 14k gold wedding band; his is platinum
––––––Combined cost for both wedding bands
–––––2017Husband's wedding band, bought about nine years before this comment
–––––2026Combined estimate for her engagement ring and his selected diamond wedding band, priced similarly; not yet purchased
––1 ct–rose gold2021Wife's band added five years after the wedding, rose gold with 1ct total diamonds
––––white gold2010Her white gold band set with 12 tiny diamonds; his is a thick tungsten band
––––platinum–Her platinum eternity band; his is a cobalt band
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Newer marquise solitaire plus a new eternity wedding band bought together, a decade after the original ring
––––gold2002Combined cost of matching 14k his-and-hers bands bought in 2002
––––other2018Husband's replacement black band bought in 2018
––––––Her most-worn band among several bought over the years, which together ranged from about 100 to 1800
–Moissanite––––Earlier 7mm moissanite faced up closer to 1.3 ct; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond1.4 ct–––Jeweler reset a 1.4 ct lab diamond into the same setting after the moissanite; writer felt no size loss, no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctcushion––Husband chose and paid for a 5 ct cushion lab-grown upgrade at their 10-year mark, replacing her original under-1-carat stone; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctovalrose gold20262.7ct lab oval cathedral/basket-head ring plus her 2mm and his 5mm 14k rose-gold bands, all three pieces together
––––––Chose an affordable vintage-style filigree ring setting instead of a large center stone, keeping cost low and sentimental value high.
–No stone (plain band)–––2014Chose a $70 wedding band instead of Cartier; 12 years on, rarely discusses ring cost and has no regrets
––––––Full set (engagement ring plus wedding band) totaling about 3.7ct tw on the band
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctother––3ct lab Ashoka-cut stone (a rare patented cut), bought for about $2k; a mined equivalent was cited near $60k
––––––Local jeweler quoted around $4k for the setting; took many jewelers to find this rare cut
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval––Loose stone bought online; met a local jeweler for the setting next
––––––Local jeweler's estimate for the setting, expected to land the all-in cost in a similar range
–Lab-grown diamond1.51 ctemerald––Price-matched down from a $2,000+ Rare Carat listing to Citrai's $280 price for the same stone
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Jeweler reports a customer's 2ct lab diamond stone cost, for a simple ring style similar to the asker's
–No stone (plain band)––yellow gold2026Fiancé's 18k yellow gold Cartier 1895 wedding band, 5mm; writer felt the price was fair for the quality versus other jewelers
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Bought a used engagement and wedding ring set missing its center stone, like-new condition, $1.5k total
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Sourced her own lab sapphire center stone for under $200; local jeweler charged $125 to set it and tighten prongs
––––––Wedding band custom made with better color-grade stones after a Brilliant Earth quote felt overpriced
–No stone (plain band)––platinum–Solid platinum wedding band with no diamonds, cost upwards of $2k, could've gone cheaper elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctemerald––Price for the loose stone; setting cost not mentioned
––––––Quote from another jeweler for the same setting job, not used
–No stone (plain band)––––A $17 band from a pop-up shop that looks just like the pricier version; prefers spending on trips and home instead of jewelry
––––––Custom setting and band design for a diamond bought separately; called the cheapest option
––––––First setting from a local jeweler recommended by ex-fiancé's family, poorly made and unwearable
––––––Had to redo the setting in New York after the local jeweler's version was unwearable, almost 10x the first cost
––3 ct––20263ct total weight eternity band, marked down from $5700 to $4000 list, paid after Macy's store credit applied
–Moissanite––––Loose moissanite stone, owned about a year, still flawless per writer
–Natural diamond2.2 ctround––Writer's separate wedding band: 2.2ct tw round brilliant natural diamonds
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.5 ctcushion–2026Diamond alone, without setting; described as an elongated old-mine cushion cut of incredible quality
––4.8 ct–––Covers the engagement ring and writer's wedding band together
–Lab-grown diamond–––2026Got both her engagement ring and a band under $2k using lab-grown diamonds and 3D-printed settings; would cost closer to $3k now given higher gold prices
––––gold2026Plain rounded 14k band, a little under $700, no regrets on going simple
–Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–platinum2026Bought a 3.07ct D VVS2 platinum ring plus wedding band together from an Etsy jeweler
–Lab-grown diamond––––Same diamond ran about $4,000 at Ritani and just over $10,000 at Rare Carat.
–Lab-grown diamond1.72 ctcushion––Elongated brilliant cushion cut chosen for specific dimensions (ratio, table%, depth%) not available elsewhere in that carat weight.
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Two fancy-color (yellow, pink) lab diamonds sourced together for $2,000, cut to $1,700 with a $300-off promo code.
–Lab-grown diamond––––Rare Carat wanted close to $3,000 for the same diamond; Ruby Harper Fine Jewelry crafted and set the stone.
–Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctasscher–2026Cited as proof a similar-size D/VVS1 stone should cost far less than the asker's $6k quote
–Lab-grown diamond–marquise––Says they paid less than half of the $2200 the person asking was quoted for a similar-size D VS1 marquise
–Lab-grown diamond5.3 ctpear–2025Paid roughly the asker's quoted $2200 for a larger 5.3ct E VVS1 pear, late in the prior year
–––––2026Original quote was $2200 CAD; price-matched via FacetLane/Rare Carat down to $1600 USD, still deciding
–Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctoval–2026Paid $630 for a 3.09ct oval, called excellent across the board
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026Bought for the writer's fiancee; says everyone has a different idea of what counts as a rip-off
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval–2026Ordering a matching engagement ring and band from a China-based maker for $2000 total
–Lab-grown diamond4.4 ct––2026Bought directly from a wholesale source; the same stone was seen advertised far higher at a jewelry store
–Lab-grown diamond5.44 ctcushion–2026Elongated cushion bought on Etsy before the writer found a cheaper regular wholesale source; says they overpaid
–Natural diamond0.34 ct–gold1986About 2000 for her 14k ring and band plus his 14k band; 0.34 ct is the total diamond weight of her two pieces, his band held 0.25 ct
–Natural diamond1 ct––1991At their 5th anniversary the stone was upgraded to a high-quality 1 ct for 1000; no trade-in mentioned
–Natural diamond0.73 ct––1981Writer's parents; ring plus band with tiny side stones of about 0.15 ct total; her mother saw it as generous for the time
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026An identical copy of her old band being made for 35 years together; almost 2k now because gold prices are high
–Natural diamond0.7 ct––1999Engagement ring with lots of channel-set smaller stones plus a matching wedding band, price approximate
–––––1988Both wedding bands from Art Carved, about $300 each
–No stone (plain band)––other–Husband's tungsten wedding band, recommended as durable and cheap
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1987Writer's parents paid 95 for both of their rings for their 1987 wedding; read as the two wedding rings
–Lab-grown diamond6 ctcushion–2026Cushion cut; writer calls the asker's ring a rip-off by comparison
–Natural diamond1.1 ct–gold1992Custom 18k setting plus a wedding band together
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Seller's asking price for a loose stone with medium blue fluorescence; the person asking compared it against similar VVS2 F stones before deciding whether to negotiate
–––––1992A 7-stone wedding band bought soon after the engagement ring
––––gold–Paid close to double the asker's 1000 budget for an 18k setting with more detail than the person asking wanted
–Natural diamond1.5 ct––1997Engagement ring (1.5 total carat weight) plus gold and platinum wedding band from first marriage, bought together for $8000 in 1997
–––princess–2000Princess-cut engagement ring plus matching princess-cut covered wedding band bought together for about $7000 in 2000
––3.32 ctmarquisegold–10k gold setting for a 3.32ct marquise came in a little under 1000; writer expects 14k to cost slightly more
–Natural diamond5 ctradiant–2023Paid $60,000 for a 5ct natural GIA-certified radiant diamond three years before the comment; says larger stones hold value better
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2018Bought a 2.5ct natural GIA stone from a wholesaler for $13,000 about 7-8 years before the comment, before natural diamond prices rose; writer is in Canada
–Lab-grown diamond7 ctprincess–20267ct princess-cut CVD lab diamond bought through a jeweler friend for $4000, with one microscopic internal blemish; will be set with two triangular pink sapphire side stones
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2026Buyer's own 2ct lab diamond cost $400, cited to show the person asking overpaid
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2026Bought a 5+ carat pink lab diamond from Luvansh for around $1400
–Lab-grown diamond8 ct––2026Bought an 8ct D-VVS CVD lab diamond at $200 per carat ($1,600 total), cited to show the person asking overpaid
–Lab-grown diamond4.05 ctother––Quoted $6,000 for a 4.05ct D FL barion-cut lab diamond, JannPaul's proprietary barion precision cut, graded ideal by GCAL
–Natural diamond2.02 ctcushion––Quoted $10,000 for a 2.02ct H SI1 natural cushion-cut diamond, the alternative being weighed against the lab barion stone
––––platinum2026Ordered a thin 2mm platinum dome wedding band after comparing several online listings under $500
––––yellow gold–Yellow gold bezel setting made after emailing diamond specs and shipping the stone directly to them
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––Defends the cost of her own 5ct stone against a comment that it looked expensive, in a lab-diamond community
––––gold2025Thin 9 carat (9k) gold V-shaped wedding band bought on sale via Etsy to pair with her engagement ring, delivered to a UK address in November 2025
––––gold2026A 2.1mm-wide setting listed online at 1600 but priced at double once current gold market rate was applied; no labor or stone included
––2 ctpeargold202618k gold band, platinum prongs, plus tax, to set an already-owned 2ct pear stone
–––––2026Labor only to set the stone into a mount already bought from Whiteflash; mount price not stated
–––––2026Cost from a local jeweler to set a loose stone
–––––2026Reset a larger stone onto an existing setting; only the head needed rebuilding in gold
––––yellow gold2026Custom 18k yellow gold band with white gold basket, 8 prongs, engraving, peekaboo rubies, ~7g gold
––4 ctpearyellow gold2026Yellow gold setting, natural diamond pave, bridge, platinum prongs, for an owned 4ct pear stone
––2.55 ctovalyellow gold202614k yellow gold bezel setting with open cathedral for an already-owned oval stone
––1 ctmarquise–2026Quoted by two jewelers to set a 1ct marquise; small stones add little to the cost
––––platinum2026Platinum 2.2mm band with hidden halo, set in March; small hidden-halo diamonds cost little
––––yellow gold2026About 8g of 18k yellow gold for the setting; only provided the center stone
––3 ct––2026Ashoka-style cut stone, just under $2k
–––––2026500-700 for the setting plus about 100 labor, through a Chinese custom-design vendor
––2 ctroundtwo tone202614k yellow/white gold tulip 6-prong setting, plain band; under half a $4k quote mentioned nearby
––––––Husband's wedding band, called roughly equal value to her 1000-euro ring
–Moissanite––––Switched to this Etsy bridal set after pricing out a planned 2ct pear lab-diamond ring; the matching band has lab diamonds
––––––She bought his wedding band herself, saving for five months to afford it
–Lab-grown diamond–oval––Diamond alone was under $500; replaced an oval moissanite engagement ring that never felt right
–Lab-grown diamond––––Custom engagement ring plus wedding band from a local jeweler; just over 2ct solitaire and a 2ct five-stone band
–Lab-grown diamond1.1 ct–––Bought a loose certified diamond online with a targeted excellent cut after two poorly cut moissanites
–Lab-grown diamond1.54 ct–––Switched from several mined diamonds to a lab OEC stone before lab prices fell further; happy with the choice
–Lab-grown diamond2.09 ctemerald––Bought during a 50% off sale; final price was just under $3,500 after tax on a $6,500 list price
–––––2026Setting only, with lab-grown accent diamonds, from a local jeweler for a custom design; her tourmaline center stone was paid separately by her fiance, price not given; she guessed roughly $1k of it was custom labor
–No stone (plain band)––platinum2026Engraved vintage 1916 platinum ring bought on eBay to wear as her wedding ring after retiring the placeholder engagement band.
–Lab-created coloured stone1.2 ct––2026Lab-grown purple sapphire (~1.2ct, $200-400) bought for a snake-ring setting still being custom made; used as a temporary band before the proposal
–Lab-grown diamond––––1 3/4 TCW lab diamond wedding band, mentioned as a decent price alongside big-box options like Kay and Zales.
––––––Budgeted and spent one month of gross income on the ring
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval–2026Brought her own loose 2ct lab oval to Shane Co for a custom peg-crown mounting, paid for via trading in an old ring rather than cash
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ct–white gold–Wedding band with five diamonds totaling about one carat, white gold
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–marquise–1986Marquise-cut wedding set worn for 40+ years, so bought in 1986 or earlier
–Lab-grown diamond2.44 ct–gold–Setting made in China with 2.44 carats of side diamonds included, 14k gold
–Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct––2026About 4k for her ring plus both bands last month; 0.5ct center stone; ring was a clearance find at a jeweler; she is 32, he is 24
––––yellow gold2021Custom 18k yellow gold setting (2mm band, about 4g gold) made by an overseas CAD-to-cast vendor for her existing antique old mine cut diamond; took 4-6 weeks
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Paid this for a 4ct loose lab diamond bought online
–Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctmarquise–2025OMC-style marquise lab diamond bought as an engagement ring upgrade, roughly $900 for the stone
––––––Considers her wedding band price on the cheaper end of typical spending; no further specs given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct––2011Husband traded in the ring from his earlier engagement for about half off, paying about 900; 0.5 is total carat weight; 15 years on
–Moissanite––yellow gold–Their two original yellow gold pawn-shop rings, hers set with a moissanite; she later upgraded to a lab emerald cut (price not given)
–Natural diamond1.6 ct––2026About 1.6ct natural stone alone, setting not included; top of an agreed budget; fiance saved for it; couple already owns home and cars
–Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctround––Fiancé bought a 2.7ct round lab-grown ring with pavé band as a set for about $4k
––––––Writer says her ring and her husband's ring together cost about one week of his paycheck
––––––Bought matching $40 engraved bands from Amazon as stand-ins while waiting to repair husband's grandmother's heirloom ring
––––other2011Silver rings he designed himself: her engagement ring and white-sapphire wedding band, plus his wedding band
–Natural diamond––––Husband bought her natural engagement ring plus both wedding bands together for $12,000; she now feels it was too much
–––––2026Rough guess of what her real engagement ring and wedding band together cost; wears silicone rings day to day instead
––––––Her wedding set (ring plus band) cost about $200; she wears silicone rings daily and saves this set for special occasions
––––––Fiance bought her a Bario Neal ring; no price given; company refused a return by calling a standard design custom, did a poor resizing job, and jewelers later called the center stone low quality
––––––Paid between 7.5% and 10% of annual salary on the ring, exact dollar amount not given
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctemeraldwhite gold–Emerald-cut lab diamond band, 2 ctw, VS2 F color, 10k white gold, cost $900
––––––Combined cost for the engagement ring and the wedding ring, stayed within his comfort budget, no debt
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct–white gold–Size 5, 4mm lab diamond band, approx 5 ctw, bought overseas from a recommended vendor before gold prices spiked
––––––Ring cost less than half a month's salary; exact dollar amount not given, wife never asked about price
–Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold202314k yellow gold lab-diamond wedding band custom made overseas, copy of a design that ran about $5000 at a high-end US jeweler; writer gave the year as '2023 or 2024'
–Lab-grown diamond––white gold202414k white gold setting with trapezoid side stones made for an intense yellow lab diamond bought in 2024; center stone set locally for $30 more
––2 ctoval––Quote for a 2ct oval diamond, no longer competitive against Aurelinne/Calavera pricing
––––––UK local jeweler's price to set a stone, about $64 USD; writer still comparing cheaper overseas options
–Other gemstone––platinum–Local jeweler's fee to set a natural garnet in platinum, given as a setting-cost reference; platinum and bezel settings cost more
–Natural diamond–oval–2026Bought with a 15% discount code; same stone seen listed for $1668 at Brilliance, saving $519
–Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctround–2026HPHT round bought partly to compare against Carbon Sparkle, Altura and Aurelinne; $323.47 total with tax, cheapest of the four
–Moissanite–ovalgold2024Paid for both a 10K oval moissanite ring and a matching band together
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct–white gold2026Bought two matching 1ct-ctw, 14k white gold, 2mm bands at $540 each from a Chinese vendor (Evara Diamond) via TikTok Shop
–––––2026Local jewelers will mount writer's own stone but the setting alone runs 2000 plus, making a 3k total ring feel pointless.
––––yellow gold2026Local jeweler quoted 800 for an 18k yellow gold simple halo setting using writer's own stone, cheaper than online.
–––––2026Paid 950 for the Fiorese setting alone; separately paid 300 to have a stone bought from Aurilienne mounted into it.
––––gold2026Got the setting made locally in San Diego for 1800, 14k gold with some pave detail.
––––gold2026Seattle quotes for a similar 14k halo-style setting all came in above 2000.
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctmarquise––Bf's purchase in the DTLA jewelry district, about $370/carat; is currently designing her own ring
––––gold2026Having Fiorese custom-make a ring now; the 14k gold setting alone costs 900.
––––gold–Paid roughly 800 for a slim cathedral-style Blue Nile setting bought a few years back before gold prices rose, after a surcharge and 20 percent discount.
–Lab-grown diamond2.01 ctround––Loose diamond, price shipped; turned out too big and was returned smoothly
–Lab-grown diamond––––The person asking decided against the Shane Co stone and bought from Aurelinne instead after this discussion; price not stated
–Lab-grown diamond2.14 ct–––Says specs matched the asker's Shane Co stone exactly
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––3ct E color stone bought for a fraction of the asker's quoted price
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Loose 3ct stone bought online, no physical store; ordered by IGI certificate number and shipped in 5 days
–Natural diamond4.78 ctmarquise––Custom bridal set including shipping and duties from an overseas manufacturer
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Loose lab-grown 1ct stone bought cheaply; says larger stones are comparatively even cheaper
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––1.5ct lab diamond bought with a certificate
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––1.5ct engagement ring plus a 0.5ct wedding band bought together for $2,000
––––––Husband's diamond wedding band, bought separately for $2,000 from Kay
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Bought a loose 2ct lab diamond only, cited as a much cheaper comparison to the asker's quote
––––gold–Paid about $2600 for a custom euro-shank channel-and-prong setting only (writer supplied their own diamond); used 4.5-5g of gold
––4 ct–––Local Zales quoted $3,000 to upgrade wife's ring up to a 4ct stone
–––––2026A friend bought a cheap $20 placeholder wedding band from Amazon for the ceremony while still searching for a band she'd love long-term
–Natural diamond1 ctmarquise–1991Stone alone, bought about 35 years before this 2026 comment, before lab diamonds existed
––––gold–Paid $2200 CAD for a ring setting in 10k gold using their own diamond; an earlier quote elsewhere was $7000
––––––Fiance had the engagement ring custom made; the gold band/mounting alone cost almost $2500 in Canada
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2026A second quote from the same jeweler for a larger 2.5ct stone; the person asking came close to buying but declined over budget.
–––––1992First ring bought as a set at the start of a marriage now 34 years long; the couple could only afford that much at the time
–Moissanite–––2022Custom-made pair of engagement rings for a same-sex couple, priced together; not a traditional ring-plus-band set
–––––2026Her wedding band, bought a few weeks after the engagement ring; they plan to upgrade it later
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Her bridal set: sapphire ring plus two wedding bands framing it, lab-grown stone with moissanite accents, from Etsy, worn 3 years
–––––2025Wedding band custom-drawn to match the engagement ring by the same Etsy jeweler; worn about 1 year
–––––2011Married 15 years before the comment; her ring and band bought as a set, his band bought separately
––––––Spent about 10% of his salary (same $80-120k bracket as the person asking); felt it was overkill and suggests capping the diamond around $5k
–Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2026Loose old-mine-cut stone bought online; setting arrived crooked and the vendor refunded the setting cost after public pressure.
––––––Later upgraded to custom tungsten bands with opal flakes and meteorite chips
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalgold202614k gold ring and band bought together from an overseas vendor for $2,000 total
––––––Ring and band together cost about 13% of his salary; they went ring shopping together first
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2026Price-matched a 2.5ct lab diamond against Rare Carat's listing of the same GIA-numbered stone; setting bought separately
––––––Her wedding band also cost about this much; she was pregnant at the time and money was tight
––––––All three rings (hers plus both wedding bands) combined; married nearly a decade, rarely worn since ring matters least to them
–Natural diamond–––2002No engagement ring at all; wedding band cost $150 and was set with diamonds salvaged from a grandparent's ring; married 24 years as of the comment
–––––2001Spent about this much on both rings together 25 years before the comment; was earning about $120k then
––––gold–916 gold ring covering both engagement and wedding ring; gold was about $70+/gram then
0No stone (plain band)––––Skipped the ring entirely, calls it a waste of money
–No stone (plain band)––other–Skipped the proposal/engagement ring; 925 silver wedding bands custom made by a small silversmith
–Sapphire–––2003A few hundred dollars for a custom sapphire ring flanked by small diamonds; exact figure not given
–Natural diamond––––Third-anniversary diamond solitaire costing several thousand dollars once income improved; exact figure not given
––––––Wedding rings bought as a mutual gift, cost split between them
––––––Two couple rings from Couple Lab priced together
––––––Spent very little on principle, doesn't see the point of an expensive stone
––––––Custom-engraved wedding bands with their ROM dates
–No stone (plain band)––gold–999 gold ring with no diamond, considers diamonds a scam; his ring cost slightly more for extra gold due to larger fingers
––––––Diamond only, excludes the setting; wife barely wears it, wishes he'd gone lab-grown
–Other gemstone––rose gold–Two gemstones in rose gold, designed so the pieces can be worn separately or combined
––––gold–999 gold rings bought when gold was $105/gram; calls it his best investment
–––––2026Cheapest of several setting jobs this buyer has paid for.
–––––2026Separate job: stone set into a bezel, with extra gold added to fix a shallow setting.
––––platinum2026Platinum ring stone-setting done by a jewelry repair company, not a standard jewelry store.
–No stone (plain band)––––Skipped a pricier engagement ring for simple bands; splurged on $2k-per-band wedding rings instead
–––––2026Paid an independent bench jeweler directly; retail stores wanted $500 and a 2-week minimum wait.
––––––Regularly pays $30-50 to set rings in 14K gold or platinum at a local Virginia jeweler that also does repairs.
––––gold2026Multiple places quoted $2000+ just to set the stone in gold; called it crazy, not stated as paid.
––––gold–1.25g gold wedding band, reacting to a much cheaper gold ring priced elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond2.58 ct––2026Loose lab diamond delivered and set into an existing wedding set the same day; plus tax
–No stone (plain band)––––Cheap costume rings from Lovisa for two; partner didn't care about the ring
––––––Wedding bands chosen together, 1200 for both
–––––2026Quote from the same jeweler who made her engagement ring, for a plain 4mm 14k size-11 band; weighing it against Costco's price
–––––2026Usually pays in this range to have stones set; suggests jewelers who also do watch repair.
–Natural diamond2 ct––2011Picked for sparkle without knowing GIA specs while living in DC, wanted the size to flex; later married wearing a moissanite instead over cost regret
–Diamond, lab or natural not said4.07 ctpear––Paid about $3k for the center stone alone, going with a jeweler they trust though maybe not the cheapest deal out there
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Quoted for a 3ct lab stone; a local jeweler estimated Brilliant Earth likely paid only about $500 for it wholesale
––––other–Tungsten carbide wedding band; engagement ring was handmade by husband from metal and silver wire, no cost given
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushionwhite gold2026Half-eternity-style engagement ring plus a matching half-eternity wedding band, both included in price
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctroundplatinum20264ct old-European-cut stone sourced from an online seller; DK cast the solid-platinum setting for $2,000
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctroundwhite gold2026Custom David Klass wedding set: 2ct round diamond ring plus matching band, both engraved with the couple's dogs; well under $10k, cheaper than a local jeweler's quote.
–Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2026Paid about $4,500 total (tax, shipping, cert) for a well-cut elongated OMC lab diamond; cheaper vendors like Aurelline could've saved about $2,000
–Lab-grown diamond4.04 ctradiant–2026Loose lab-grown radiant-cut diamond bought wholesale on WhatNot, cited when comparing value against the asker's natural Costco diamond

Previous · Page 8 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 107 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.