engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Budget · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

What a $2,000 Engagement Ring Buys: 407 Real Rings

407 buyers paid between $1,750 and $2,499 for an engagement ring. Of the 283 who named the stone, 74% chose a lab-grown diamond, 8% a natural one and 10% moissanite. At this price the median center stone was 3 ct lab-grown against 0.74 ct natural.

$2,000 sits below the median ring: 45% of the 4,438 buyers here paid less, against a $2,250 median. Below: the stones and sizes this money bought, where it was spent, and every ring in the band with the buyer's own account.

407rings bought for $1,750 to $2,499
45%of all 4,438 buyers paid less than $2,000
3 ctmedian lab-grown center stone at this price
0.74 ctmedian natural center stone at this price
Ovalmost common shape (33 rings)

Lab-grown, natural or moissanite at $2,000

The same money buys very different stones. Each row takes the rings in this band with that center stone.

Center stoneRingsMedian priceMedian caratMiddle half of carats
Natural diamond24$2,0000.74 ct0.6 ct to 1 ct
Lab-grown diamond210$2,0003 ct2 ct to 3.5 ct
Moissanite28$2,0002 ct DEW1.5 ct DEW to 2 ct DEW
Sapphire7$2,000––
Lab-created coloured stone4$2,000––
Other gemstone10$2,000––
Diamond, lab or natural not said22$2,0001.29 ct1.09 ct to 2.02 ct

Shapes and metals at this price

Oval was the most common shape among the rings that named one, 33 of 129.

Oval26%
Round20%
Cushion15%
Pear15%
Emerald13%
Marquise12%

Metal, among the 156 rings that named it:

Platinum31%
Gold, colour not said24%
White gold23%
Yellow gold17%
Rose gold5%

Where these rings came from

Where the ring came fromRingsMedianLab-grown share
Online jewelers88$2,00495%
Custom makers36$2,00071%
Independent local jewelers17$2,00083%
Ordered from or bought abroad17$2,00093%
Pre-owned, estate and pawn10$2,000–
Etsy sellers5$2,00080%

Is $2,000 enough?

Is $2,000 enough for an engagement ring?

$2,000 sits below the median ring: 45% of the 4,438 buyers here paid less, against a $2,250 median. Ten buyers in this band said how they feel about the amount: three no regret, one mixed and six regret.

What size lab-grown diamond does $2,000 buy?

Among rings bought for $1,750 to $2,499, the median lab-grown center stone weighed 3 ct (178 rings with a stated weight).

What size natural diamond does $2,000 buy?

The median natural center stone at this price weighed 0.74 ct (18 rings with a stated weight).

Every ring bought for $1,750 to $2,499

Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$1,750–––––He planned about 5k, under a month's salary; she picked a cheaper ring
$1,750–––––Estimated original retail cost of the engagement ring, later resold after the divorce through Worthy
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ctmarquiseplatinum2025Bought loose lab marquise diamond online, then custom-set in platinum by a DTLA jeweler for the setting fee
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ct–platinum2025Loose stone bought online, then set locally in DTLA; total for a platinum setting
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Pink lab-grown diamond bought at a small shop in the Philippines for roughly $1,700-1,800
$1,750Natural diamond0.6 ct–yellow gold2018Remembered as 1500-2000; mined diamond, designed and crafted by an artist; wedding band was free, passed down from mother-in-law; years later a different jeweler found the artist had used a cheap pre-fab basket soldered
$1,750Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1978Original ring bought in 1978 on credit card, stated as $1,500-$2,000; stolen in a 1981 robbery and replaced via insurance
$1,763Lab-grown diamond2.93 ctmarquise–2026Diamond price was matched to a listing from Loose Grown Diamond
$1,768Lab-grown diamond2.99 ctcushion––Price-matched an Aurelinne-sourced stone through Rare Carat for the full ring cost
$1,775–2.55 ctemeraldrose gold–Cathedral solitaire setting; appraised at nearly 3 times what was paid, for replacement-value insurance, adding only about 3 a year to the premium
$1,785Lab-grown diamond3.27 ctpearwhite gold2025$1785 for a 3.27ct D VS1 triple-excellent elongated pear lab diamond, custom made in 14k white gold, plus $50 import duties; replaced an earlier inexpensive Amazon proposal ring
$1,792Lab-grown diamond3.76 ctcushionplatinum2026Sourced stone online then mailed it overseas to have the platinum setting made
$1,795Lab-grown diamond4.13 ctpear–2024IGI inscription checked under a loupe and matched the paperwork after early fears of being scammed
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.52 ctroundgold2026Remade ring with hidden-halo cathedral setting and smaller 3.52ct lab diamond (ideal-cut hearts and arrows); previous ring had a 4.82ct stone in a thinner 1.7mm band. Each partner's second marriage.
$1,800Diamond, lab or natural not said3.52 ctroundgold2026Remade from a thinner previous band (1.7mm) into a thicker cathedral setting with hidden halo, downsizing the center stone from 4.82ct to 3.52ct; out-the-door price including tax was about $1,800
$1,800Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab-created emerald center stone with 3 black diamonds on each side
$1,800Sapphire––––Green sapphire engagement ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––2-carat lab diamond from Lightbox, reset into her existing ring for extra cost
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Replaced a returned, milky moissanite; the 400 bought a new head on her original ring; vendor named in her follow-up reply
$1,800Moissanite––––High-quality 2 ct moissanite that still threw strong rainbows and drew questions about being real; later replaced by a diamond ring, price not given
$1,800Sapphire0.5 ct–white gold2022Husband replaced her ring the year before the comment, after the original was stolen in a mugging 5 years earlier
$1,800–1 ct–––GIA-certified nearly-flawless 1ct solitaire found at a pawn shop
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctasschergold20233.07ct asscher with an 18k solitaire setting, price included tax.
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–3-carat lab diamond in an 18k setting from a US-based jeweler; also owns moissanite but wouldn't pay more than $1,000 for that
$1,800Moissanite––––Husband paid $1,800 for her 2ct (DEW) moissanite ring from Moissanite Co.; she says comparable stones now run about $600-1300 elsewhere
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Setting and lab diamond bought together from a family-owned jewelry business
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum20245ct G VS2 pear diamond set in platinum, all-in price for a deal found via StoneAlgo; writer calls it their dream ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–platinum–2 total carat weight lab-grown diamond platinum ring, color grade G
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ctroundyellow gold2024Custom order, used a LAB30 coupon; original price before discount was about $2,300; setting cost more than the stone
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval––Comparison example bought elsewhere; color not given, unclear if price is stone-only or full ring
$1,800–––––Handmade ring; valued the gesture, quality and look over resale value
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5.46 ctcushion––Price-matched a Calavera stone; the store also handled the setting
$1,800Moissanite–––2014Chose moissanite over family pressure for a diamond; put the savings toward a duplex purchase instead
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2025Ordered a roughly 13x11mm cushion lab diamond for $1800 but canceled after learning the listed dimensions were spread wider than stated
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise––Bought through her employer jewelry store at employee cost; a comparable natural stone would run $8k-$60k depending on source and quality
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctcushionrose gold–Fancy vivid blue stone, modified elongated cushion, solitaire cigar band
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.25 ctradiantwhite gold–6-prong white-gold tulip cathedral setting
$1,800Natural diamond0.56 ct–yellow gold2021Writer calls it her 'first stone'
$1,800Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct–––Diamond designed and sourced through Rare Carat's website
$1,800––––1991Paid 34 years before the comment
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct–platinum20252.2mm half-pave platinum setting; price matched to a store searchable by certificate number, not the cheapest one; insured via Jeweler's Mutual using the receipt rather than an appraisal since lab stones are losing value
$1,800Moissanite––––No one can tell it apart from a diamond, per the writer
$1,800Lab-grown diamond–pearplatinum–Almost 5ct pear lab diamond ring set in platinum, called cheap next to the asker's $7,500 quote
$1,800Lab-grown diamond1.38 ctroundplatinum2025Replacement ring bought in June: $600 for a 1.38ct round lab diamond (GIA, VVS2, E, excellent cut) bought online plus $1200 for a platinum hidden-halo setting from a local jeweler; separate $1750 platinum wedding band wi
$1,800Natural diamond0.59 ct–white gold2003First husband paid $1800 plus tax for a 0.59ct white-gold ring back in 2003
$1,800Natural diamond0.98 ctround–2020Vintage 1930s-40s transitional-cut estate ring bought on eBay; now estimated worth about $6k
$1,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearplatinum2026Paid $1800 for a 5ct pear-cut diamond set in platinum, cited to argue the asker's $10k quote was overpriced
$1,800–––––First engagement ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2 ct–yellow gold–3-stone setting; carat figure is total weight, not center stone
$1,800Lab-grown diamond7.16 ctmarquisegold2026Large marquise stone in 14k gold, still being made
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctemeraldplatinum2024Lab diamond bought 2024, mounted in platinum with lab diamond side stones; stone alone would cost far less today but mounting rose
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctothergold–Antique-style 'moval' cut, just over 3ct, set in 18k gold
$1,815––––2024Custom designed with a $150-off coupon applied
$1,845Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctovalgold202418k gold split cathedral setting with double prongs, customized and seen in person before deciding
$1,850Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctradiantyellow gold2025Hidden halo with a diamond eternity-style band, includes shipping; designed by the writer herself
$1,850Lab-grown diamond0.83 ct––20230.83ct HPHT lab diamond engagement ring cost the equivalent of $1,850 in Sweden, bought three years before the comment.
$1,866Lab-grown diamond5.46 ctcushion–2025Ring with setting; price matched a stone listed on Calavera
$1,866Diamond, lab or natural not said5.46 ctcushion–2025Elongated cushion in a cathedral setting; cut graded ideal by a diamond marketplace though bought elsewhere
$1,875Lab-grown diamond–emeraldplatinum2023Emerald-cut ring with 3 small side stones on each side, platinum, slightly smaller than the asker's 1.44ct.
$1,890–2.52 ctemeraldyellow gold–4-prong setting; appraised for about 2.5 times what was paid
$1,890Lab-grown diamond5 ct–gold–Toi et moi style ring; 5ctw is total stone weight, not a single stone
$1,895Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–platinum2024Center stone lab-grown; 0.3ct natural diamond side stones bring the total to 3.37ct; bought secondhand with eBay authentication
$1,900Other gemstone1 ct––2022Unheated ruby ring with diamond accents, Japan Gemological Certificate, cited as a much better deal than the asker's loose ruby
$1,900–––––Partner aimed around $6,000 but her dream ring came in well under that
$1,900–1.5 ct–white gold–Considers the Costco ring in the post overpriced compared to this 1.5ct ring in 14k white gold
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.68 ctcushion–2023Custom-cut old mine cushion lab diamond bought during the cutter's September sale, overseas (China) via a WhatsApp rep; stone came back 2.68ct instead of the ordered 3ct and the cutter offered a refund for the size diffe
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Picked a 2-carat lab-grown stone; buyer says nice rings don't have to be expensive
$1,900–––gold–14kt pave setting; a second lab diamond ring purchase, separate from her Fiorese piece
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctoval–2025Found the stone via Stone Algo; stuck with this jeweler for warranty and workmanship
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Lab-grown 1.5ct diamond, all-in price including the setting
$1,900Lab-grown diamond4.02 ct–white gold2025Full ring with a hidden-halo 14k white-gold setting
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushionwhite gold–Brilliant cut with a lab-grown tapered baguette on either side
$1,900––––2025Writer's own engagement ring, paid for by her fiance
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.67 ct––2025All-in price for a fancy pink diamond in a simple locally-made setting, mentioned as a comparison to the asker's blue diamond ring
$1,900Lab-grown diamond5 ctpear–2025Custom pear-shape setting with gallery rail and extra prongs, no halo; price given as 'so far' while ring still being made
$1,900Diamond, lab or natural not said1.09 ct––2025Chose a local jeweler for convenience, lifetime warranty, biannual maintenance and lifetime diamond insurance; now second-guessing whether he could have done better
$1,900Lab-grown diamond–cushionyellow gold2025Ready-made antique-style cushion cut lab diamond bought from a small online seller after disliking three round stones; ordered afternoon, delivered by next morning
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.11 ctroundwhite gold–Went custom instead of the jeweler's $10k quote; halo with side stones and matching band, still being made
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Family-run Michigan Etsy shop; customized order received in 12 days with IGI certificate
$1,900Lab-grown diamond4.1 ctcushionwhite gold2026Antique cushion stone plus a separate custom 10k white gold setting, each about $950
$1,900Lab-grown diamond––––Paid for a custom green lab diamond in a bezel setting from a local jeweler, more than online would cost, after the original $750 budget grew
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–platinum2026Writer says they paid about $1500 less than the asker's $3400 quote, for a 2.4mm platinum band
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–––Custom-designed ring built around a 3.3ct solitaire
$1,920Lab-grown diamond2.15 ctpear–20232.15ct E VS1 HPHT pear with ideal proportions; Ritani price-matched a much lower price found elsewhere, vs $3,920/$4,777 listed at Ritani/James Allen
$1,938Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctemerald––Ring total of 1938 includes the setting
$1,950Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval––Full ring from overseas vendor (contact Summer); now planning to buy a 3ct stone from LooseGrownDiamond and have it set locally
$1,975Natural diamond0.6 ctround–19940.60 ct round with two dark ruby trillions, receipt kept; her channel-set diamond and ruby band about 600; married 32 years, no wish to upgrade
$1,980Lab-grown diamond4.47 ctasscheryellow gold202518K yellow gold, J-K color, size US6, no IGI cert; adding one would run about $50 per carat
$1,980–2 ctemeraldwhite gold20262ct elongated emerald cut with trapezoid side stones, 14k white gold, no band stones; buyer still felt this seemed high
$1,994Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctovalgold202514k gold hidden-halo oval; exchanged an initial 1.51ct IF stone for this larger, lower-clarity one before delivery to fiancee; crafted in India, shipped via a NY office
$1,999–––––Originally priced 5000, about two weeks of his pay; waited for it to drop before buying
$2,000Moissanite–roundtwo tone20206-prong two-tone solitaire, 8.25mm (about 2ct equivalent) moissanite in 18k yellow gold and platinum; the thin (~1.7mm) 18k band bent easily and needed repeated warranty repairs.
$2,000Moissanite––platinum2018Self-designed one-of-a-kind ring with diamond side stones; platinum ran about $300 more than white gold would have
$2,000–––––Bought on clearance; writer says pricier designs above about $4k looked tackier and wife preferred the cheaper ones
$2,000––––2011Paid about $2k for an engagement ring roughly ten years before this comment; the ring was returned after the engagement ended.
$2,000Natural diamond0.74 ct–––Chose a lower color grade with fluorescence in a yellow-gold setting to look whiter; researched proportions and saw the stone in person first
$2,000––––2022Writer's own engagement ring; matched against partner's cheaper ring plus extra gifts
$2,000––––2022Replacement ring bought after losing a family heirloom ring; second of two replacements bought over time
$2,000–––––Local jeweler met their $2k cap exactly even though the ring was originally priced $335 higher
$2,000–––––Told fiance this amount was reasonable and it got her the size and color she needed most
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.46 ctpearyellow gold–Bezel setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctpearplatinum2022Buyer's own pear diamond ring; another buyers suspected the stone was lab rather than natural given the low price
$2,000–0.84 ct–yellow gold–AGS 0 ideal cut; chose a lower color grade to save money since it looks white on yellow gold
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Lab-grown 1ct ring
$2,000–––––Under half a month's salary; she spent 55 on his ring
$2,000–––––About 2k for a ring first priced near 5k, via clearance plus an extra sale
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctoval––Solitaire from a little-advertised online seller; 2k was their agreed budget
$2,000––––2022Just ordered after shopping together; not a diamond
$2,000–––––Came out just over $2,000 against a $3,000 budget; skipped the 3x-monthly-salary guideline that would have suggested about $20k
$2,000Moissanite––––Engagement ring price includes tax and shipping, a moissanite in a fairly simple setting; writer thinks she could have paid less without a name-brand vendor
$2,000––––2022Non-traditional, non-diamond ring; jeweler rounded the price down to the couple's $2k budget
$2,000–––––Bought during a store sale plus a store-card discount; paid a little over $2,000 for a ring normally priced around $4,000, on 6-month no-interest financing paid off before interest
$2,000–––––Traded in the original $1k Kay ring for full $1k credit toward this $2k replacement ring with a diamond, paying the remaining $1k
$2,000Moissanite––yellow gold2023She picked her own yellow-gold moissanite ring with a floral theme within her husband's budget; price included tax and shipping.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––––Price matched a $5k listing down to $2k; chose Rare Carat for its stock setting
$2,000Moissanite––––Proposal ring chosen when the husband was 25 and short on money; colorless 8mm stone; later upgraded to a diamond, upgrade price not given
$2,000Other gemstone––––Original tanzanite-and-diamond ring, too delicate to wear; replaced by a moissanite wedding set from an Etsy maker (Moissanite Dove), price of that not given
$2,000Lab-created coloured stone––yellow gold2023Lab-grown alexandrite with accent diamonds, yellow-gold band; slightly over $2,000
$2,000–––––Chose a 2k art deco ring after other options at 6k and 1.5k looked wrong on her hand
$2,000––––1995Husband worked a second job delivering pizza to afford it; celebrated 28 years married in 2023
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalgold20232.5ct oval lab diamond solitaire in 14k gold, all-in cost about $2,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––––A promotional $2,000 purchase came with free lab diamond stud earrings; later returned the order for $200 CAD plus customs hassle
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––––Chose lab-grown over natural, saying it would have cost thousands more natural
$2,000–––––Writer says she is happy with a $1-3k ring, which her fiance covers fully, unlike her future in-laws' $10k split ring
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab diamonds helped keep the total cost down; felt like a lot at the time but a good outcome looking back
$2,000–––––Writer thought this was on the low end and was pleased; her sister was shocked at the price and said she wouldn't pay more than $300
$2,000–––––Husband's gift; writer notes it cost more than her first car
$2,000––––2023The diamond sometimes catches on things during chores, so she takes it off at home
$2,000Moissanite––––Buyer loves her $2k moissanite ring, valuing practicality and other spending priorities over a bigger stone.
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctoval––Bought a used 1ct oval E diamond ring from a store for around $2,000
$2,000––––1994Bought about 30 years before the comment on similar household income to the asker's
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.55 ct–yellow gold–Estate 14k yellow gold ridged band bought separately for $700; total ring with the lab diamond and tax came to this amount, with free sizing included
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion–202420-year anniversary upgrade to an elongated 2ct cushion-cut diamond from a local North Jersey jeweler; original heirloom ring kept to alternate wearing.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion––20th-anniversary upgrade from a 0.80ct natural solitaire bought in 1999; a natural equivalent would run about $18,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–white gold2024Just bought: 2ct lab engagement ring with side diamonds in 14k white gold, about 2k all in
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Three-stone ring with all-lab stones from a family-owned jewelry store; buyer said gold cost was the biggest expense
$2,000Moissanite––––Had the same designer-inspired ring recreated by a custom vendor; original natural-diamond quote was around $9k, finished in moissanite for $2k
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Bought a 3ct lab diamond with a band for about $2,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctoval–2024Paid in the low $2,000s for a custom design after two earlier ring attempts with a different jeweler didn't feel right; came with a free lab diamond necklace thrown in
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Approximate amount, not exact; says a natural equivalent would have run $10k-$15k.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct––20244ct diamond in a solitaire setting; writer called it beautiful, stone type not stated but price implies lab-grown
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.07 ctradiantgold2024Radiant cut with hidden halo and pave side stones, 14k gold setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–gold–10k gold setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.2 ct–gold–14k gold halo ring; also separately bought a 7ct diamond pendant (not a ring) for $3200
$2,000Moissanite–roundplatinum–4ct DEW-equivalent round brilliant moissanite set in platinum, bought a few years before the comment
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Ring type not specified; writer doubts they could resell it for even 500
$2,000Other gemstone––––Chose amethyst over diamond; $2k covered the ring setting, center stone and a matching pair of earrings; a same-size diamond was quoted separately at $10k
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Says her own big lab diamond cost about $2k, versus roughly $100k for a mined 4ct E VVS1 equivalent; bought it because she loved it, not to impress anyone
$2,000Moissanite–––20152ct Forever One brand moissanite ring bought 2015; buyer says moissanite has gotten dramatically cheaper since
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––white gold–Large lab diamond in a white gold setting from an NYC jeweler, arranged entirely over phone and internet
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.25 ct–––1.25ct lab-grown ring cost roughly a couple grand; household income over $400k
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctpear–2025Setting and all, through an NYC diamond district jeweler
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctpear–2025Bought sight-unseen online with a 14-day return period; all-in price including the setting
$2,000Moissanite–cushion–20252ct cushion cut with a half eternity band, right around $2,000 total
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctpearwhite gold–5.08ct pear diamond in a 14k white gold setting from a NYC Diamond District jeweler, amazing pricing
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5.08 ctpearwhite gold20245.08ct lab pear set in 14k white gold, purchased the December before the post, total around $2,000
$2,000Other gemstone––rose gold202518k rose gold moss agate ring from a small-batch one-woman maker, bought for a planned thru-hike proposal; buyers felt the stone itself is cheap and the price mostly pays for the setting and craftsmanship
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5 ctpear–20255ct pear solitaire, all-in price with a stateside custom jeweler, cited as evidence the asker's $8k quote is too high
$2,000Natural diamond––––Husband spent about $2,000 USD (2 weeks take-home pay, converted currency) on a diamond ring; contrasts with cheaper lab option
$2,000––––2005Husband bought a pre-owned loose diamond set into a new setting; ring worth $10k retail then cost about $2k, ~20 years ago
$2,000–––––Partner initially planned to spend $5k but writer brought it down to $2k over anxiety of wearing something valuable
$2,000–––––Custom-made diamond ring bought in Korea for about $2k
$2,000Lab-grown diamond5 ctpearwhite gold20255ct pear lab diamond, F VS1, 14k white gold setting, all-in through a NYC jeweler; cited as a much better deal than the $7k-10k set
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Recently got a 3ct lab diamond ring from a Boston diamond-district jeweler; shows how far lab prices dropped
$2,000–0.5 ct––2000Bought when both spouses earned $36k out of college; ring looked small next to coworkers, in hindsight those were debt-funded
$2,000Natural diamond––––Only requirement was a real diamond; now regrets not choosing lab-grown for cost and ethics reasons
$2,000–––––Cost covered only the setting and mounting a diamond the couple already owned; fiance earns about $14k/month pretax
$2,000–––––Writer's ring was around $2k, more than she expected; would rather spend a similar sum on travel or a house
$2,000Other gemstone2 ct–white gold–2ct aquamarine with diamond accents in 17k white gold bought from a fancy store; suspects she overpaid a bit but likes the quality
$2,000–––platinum–Third ring, described as 'a couple grand,' a vintage platinum art deco piece
$2,000–––––Same-sex couple; partner paid for and picked out this engagement ring together with the writer
$2,000Moissanite––gold–18k gold band; says buying a loose stone and working with an overseas jeweller could have been even cheaper; calls the three-month rule a marketing scheme
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct–––Lab diamond bought online then set by a local jeweler with design tweaks; called the cheapest option she found
$2,000Moissanite–radiant––More rainbow-looking radiant-cut moissanite ring from Kuololit
$2,000Moissanite–round––Priciest of her several moissanite rings, custom-made with a kite-set cushion halo; first held a 2 ct stone, later redone with a 1 ct as it looked too big
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctprincess–2024Kite-set princess cut; added a lifetime warranty for a bit extra covering stone loss; worn daily at a bartending job for almost a year with prongs still secure
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–white gold2025Custom replica of the asker's style made by Tianyu: 2.51ct F/VS1 stone with band diamonds in 18k white gold, $2k all-in shipped; likely lab given the price.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2025Chose this instead of a natural stone, redirecting the savings toward a car, laptop and phone for his wife
$2,000–––––Writer designed the ring after trying styles together; partner paid the bill
$2,000–––––Kept spending low to preserve money for a vacation or house down payment; both partners earn six figures
$2,000–––––Found a ring online and got partner's okay on the price before buying, with no prior budget talk
$2,000––––2025Bought this ring from a reseller who had acquired it for $200; supposedly worth $4-6k, with resale offers of $3,000-3,500 and a full-asking offer of $6,500
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.74 ct–––Setting found on Rare Carat, diamond price-matched to Calavera; total was just over $2k
$2,000Natural diamond1 ctradiant––Solitaire band; another buyer doubted this was GIA-certified natural at that price
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.7 ct––2025Writer's own engagement ring with a custom setting
$2,000–3 ct–yellow gold–10k yellow gold; diamond bought separately, bands custom made by a local jeweler
$2,000–1 ctmarquiseplatinum–14 accent stones in the setting; shown as an example of what $2,000 buys
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–Proposed with a lab diamond ring appraised around $7,400, price-matched down to $2,000 by a jeweler who does price matching
$2,000–2.5 ct–––Paid via Rare Carat's diamond price-matching after finding a similarly priced $7,400 ring elsewhere; the savings figures given in the comment were a bit inconsistent
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Commenting on Ronaldo's ring; says her own ring's diamonds are so small most people would call them scraps
$2,000Natural diamond0.5 ct–gold1985First husband's ring; weak color grade and inclusions visible to the naked eye, just under half a carat
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.59 ct–––Bought the loose stone online then paid $150/carat to have it set; an uncommon cut cost a bit more; a jewelry company had quoted $5,000 for the same stone
$2,000–––––Fiance's ring, bought alongside the writer's own
$2,000–––––Upgraded a few years after the original $800 ring; husband now makes $18-20k a month
$2,000–––––Chose a ring with setting detail, under 2 carats, around $2,000; prioritized saving toward a home
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–1.5ct lab diamond in 18k gold; writer also has a 1.2ct natural diamond ring inherited from her grandmother at no cost
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum2025Custom-designed elongated oval with hidden halo, diamond prongs, and round/marquise side stones on a platinum band
$2,000Lab-created coloured stone–––2025Lab-grown sapphire engagement ring, price given as $2k
$2,000Moissanite––platinum–Three-ring set including a rutilated quartz stone alongside the moissanite center; no plans to upgrade the stones
$2,000–––––Writer's first ring
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctasschergold2025Custom-designed 2.53ct lab Asscher diamond in a gold bezel; picked the stone in-store, rest of design handled online
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct––2025Approximate price, 'around $2000'
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant–2025Bought a 2.5ct D VS1 radiant-cut lab diamond ring for $2,000, clarified as the full ring price not just the stone
$2,000––––2025Engagement ring bought from a small designer; that maker's cheapest style without a wedding band runs $1,200
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Custom 4ct lab diamond ring said to cost about 100x less than an equivalent natural ring estimated at $200,000; price computed from that ratio.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Had Ouros duplicate the design of a $75k antique old mine cut halo ring seen online; no issues since purchase.
$2,000–––––Custom-made ring with sentimental customization; had seen a similar design listed online for $5k+ before going custom
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.83 ct–gold2025Bought a 2.83ct G VS1 diamond with a 2mm 18k gold band via Rare Carat, who price-matched Calavera, for about $2,000
$2,000–1 ctprincess–2025Paid $2000 for a 1ct princess cut ring, called great quality
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2025Compares the cost to roughly the price of a new phone; thinks insurance matters more for pricier, harder-to-replace rings
$2,000–––––Solitaire engagement ring; an anniversary band was added at year 10, price not given; avoided trade-up programs as poor value
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2025Stone plus custom ring and custom setting bundled together; a CVD-grown 2ct stone; writer felt he may have overpaid but was happy
$2,000Natural diamond––––Black diamond ring had visible soldering near two prongs the store denied and poor rhodium plating that wore off unworn; sold at a big loss after being strung along past the return window
$2,000Other gemstone–––2026Garnet center stone with 3 tiny moissanite accents each side; ordered from a jeweler in Spain and shipped to the US, price approximate per writer
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctmarquise–2026Just under 2k including a warranty and other extras; she said half a carat would have been enough
$2,000Moissanite––––Husband designed the ring and sourced the moissanite center stone himself; honeymoon was a separate cost
$2,000––––2026Engagement ring bought days before both bands, about 2k each, plus 2k of same-metal gifts for parents; would now choose no ring or a cheaper one
$2,000Sapphire––––Writer's own ring has a sapphire center stone; she and her spouse earn more than the person asking
$2,000–––––Writer says her 2k ring is perfect; no specs given
$2,000–2.56 ctmarquise–2026Cathedral setting with side stones and a tulip basket
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––––A newer custom lab diamond ring currently in progress; the diamond alone cost $300
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––white gold–Same ring design in natural diamond would cost about $20k instead, per her own estimate
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct––2020First lab diamond ring, bought 6 years before this comment
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–white gold–Custom black diamond ring plus a matching 14k white gold wedding band with a white diamond chip
$2,000Lab-grown diamond–––2026Third ring still being made, a W Signature pave 14kt/platinum setting from With Clarity, will run just over $2k
$2,000Natural diamond0.68 ct––2018Designed by an artist; band was inherited; later found cheap solder on the band
$2,000––––2016First wedding set from about 10 years before this comment, now retired
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–yellow gold–18k yellow gold with diamond accents
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Household income just under $400k; chose a $2k ring instead of a large diamond
$2,000Natural diamond––platinum–Small natural diamond solitaire on a platinum band; would have cost less with a lab-grown diamond or a white gold band instead
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––Husband bought her ring years ago when 5-10k was seen as typical spending; she is happy with it
$2,000Lab-grown diamond––gold–Lab-grown diamond ring in 14k gold
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant–2026Paid about a third of the asker's $6k quote for a similarly sized 3ct radiant; knowingly overspent for the convenience of one jeweler sourcing and designing it
$2,000Natural diamond1.5 ct––1985Graded I clarity with no digit given; one inclusion hidden by a prong, described as slightly warm color and well cut
$2,000Other gemstone––––Husband spent this on an expensive colored stone, not a diamond; she picked it out and still loves it 13 years on
$2,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Buyer's own lab diamond, given as a comparison to show the person asking didn't overpay
$2,000–––––Income bracket similar to the asker's; considered a smaller carat lab diamond to cut cost
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum2026Stone bought at a wholesale price; platinum hidden-halo setting with marquise/round accents brought total to $2,000.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Stone bought via a TikTok live auction from a custom jeweler who will also set it
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Certified 3-carat ring bought via an Etsy jeweler; the price for the carat size points to a lab-grown stone
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–platinum2026Bought after months of comparison shopping; the same ring configured with a natural stone of the same size priced over $25k on the same ordering screen.
$2,000–2.03 ct–gold–14k gold ring
$2,000–2 ctroundwhite gold–Round pave-band solitaire with hidden halo, 2.75 ctw total weight, bought on a July 4th sale down from an original list price
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.1 ct–platinum2026Just over $2k total set in platinum, offered as a comparison to the asker's much higher quote
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–marquise––A buyer mentions owning a similarly styled ring but with a 2k marquise-cut center stone; no further specs given.
$2,000–––––First ring worn 10 years before husband upgraded her to a 3-carat lab diamond, price not given for the upgrade
$2,000Sapphire––––Yogo sapphire center stone; she says she would have been just as happy with a $500 ring
$2,000Natural diamond–round–2024Final stone chosen after narrowing down from a $2,000-2,500 budget toward a smaller, better-color round diamond; exact final carat/color not stated
$2,000–––––Went shopping together and found a ring around $2k that felt special without overspending
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Diamond bought separately for $500, band added for $1,500, about $2k all in
$2,000–––––Partner's own premade engagement ring, part of the combined $6k total split about 70/30 by income
$2,000––roundwhite gold–Originally wanted a $3k emerald-cut design on a $2k budget; ended up with a white-gold round halo ring just over $2k
$2,000–––––Replaced with an estate ring around $2k that she prefers
$2,000Natural diamond1.3 ctmarquiseplatinum2024Vintage 1940s-50s-style platinum marquise ring (about 11x5.6mm) bought with a bonus ring guard for about $2,000, well under other vintage marquise prices seen
$2,008Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantplatinum2025Discount code cut list price from $2510; platinum band added about $430 vs a ~$1768 white-gold version
$2,050Lab-grown diamond3.04 ctemeraldplatinum–Platinum band with hidden halo; bought from Complete Carat (contact named as Nick)
$2,069Lab-grown diamond0.75 ctroundwhite gold2020Stone, band, setting and shipping combined
$2,070Lab-grown diamond5.5 ct–white gold20255.5ct lab diamond ring in white gold from danielwilliamsdiamonds.com for exactly $2070
$2,075Lab-grown diamond1.36 ct––2024Local jeweler built a custom setting around a picked-out 1.36ct lab diamond, sent a 3D preview video first
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctroundwhite gold2026Diamond bought separately from the 18k white gold custom-made band, built while traveling overseas; total covers both
$2,100Sapphire1.55 ct–rose gold–Diamond side stones totaling 0.3ct; bought the center stone herself for a specific coloration
$2,100Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemeraldgold–Bezel setting in 14k gold; stone type inferred, price consistent with lab pricing
$2,100–––––Spent $2,100 despite combined finances that could afford a million-dollar home
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct––20233.5ct stone from a Chinese vendor; setting price is the gap between the stone-only and total prices she gave
$2,100Moissanite––yellow gold2018Self-designed via CAD, 14k yellow gold European shank with diamond channel side stones, no regrets years later
$2,100Natural diamond1.3 ctroundplatinum1999Haggled at a small pawn shop roughly 10 years after their ~1990 wedding; graded by 'IGA', not a recognized lab
$2,100Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctovalwhite gold202414k white gold solitaire, ring still being made/shipped at time of comment; similar rings elsewhere cost over $4k
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval–2025Rare Carat price-matched the stone with a $3700 discount off list; setting changed at no cost after being unhappy with the first choice
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Pave setting; vendor's stone pricing is often inflated but price-matches other retailers, praised for a 30-day no-questions return policy
$2,100Other gemstone––––Insisted on no diamond; center stone is cubic zirconia.
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctpear–2025Recently bought; a lower-quality 2.5ct natural in the same style was quoted around $26k
$2,100–––––Wide gold band with a colorless, large diamond; got quotes from many companies before choosing a small business
$2,100Moissanite–marquise–2025Custom-designed online with a moissanite center stone in a tapered marquise band; bent and lost the stone after 2 weeks of wear.
$2,100Lab-grown diamond–––2026Writer just proposed with a lab diamond ring on about $75k annual income
$2,100Lab-grown diamond––––Combined stone-and-setting cost for a ring later resold at a loss
$2,100–1.3 ctroundplatinum–Vintage 1940s hand-cut diamond with 0.3 ct baguette side stones, bought secondhand, haggled, no financing used
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctcushiongold2026Elongated cushion stone with small marquise diamond accents in a 14k gold setting
$2,100Lab-grown diamond4 ct–gold20264ct G VVS2 IGI-certified lab stone plus a 14kt 4mm setting; writer explicitly summed the total to $2,100
$2,100Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctovalyellow gold2026Three-stone pave setting, 2.5mm band, 14k yellow gold, 1.48 length-to-width ratio; upgraded from 4 to 6 prongs for an extra $100; ordered late April, delivered about a month later
$2,100Moissanite–––2016Husband paid this for a flawless-cut, flawless-color 2ct moissanite worn almost 10 years by the time of the comment
$2,100Lab-created coloured stone––yellow gold2025Lab alexandrite center stone with a lab diamond halo and side stones in 14k yellow gold, price includes insurance; household income about $450k a year
$2,109–3.08 ctradiant–202414kt pave setting radiant solitaire; later replaced with a marquise stone from a different vendor
$2,120Lab-grown diamond3.03 ct–platinum2024Includes 2x1ct total weight blue diamond side stones
$2,146Lab-grown diamond2.44 ctcushionplatinum2024Ordered stone from Luvansh, set at Jared with baguettes using a gift card
$2,150Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctround–2023Stone $1.6k exact; setting roughly $500-600; writer's own total given as about $2.1-2.2k.
$2,150Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–Tulip/hidden-halo white gold setting; she loves it
$2,150Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Bought loose stone online then paid a jeweler to set it in a hidden halo band
$2,150Lab-grown diamond–oval–20242.15ct-range oval recommended by a sales concierge; still deciding whether to keep it or exchange within the return window
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctpear–2024Recent purchase; the person asking asked the community whether the total price was a good deal
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said1.2 ctprincessplatinum2024Wrote asking for opinions but had already bought it before posting; buyers urged a return for lower color/higher clarity instead
$2,200Sapphire1.5 ctovalwhite gold–0.5 ct diamond on each side; negotiated a discount to stay near a $2k budget
$2,200–––––Both partners are social workers on modest combined income; partner's ballpark budget was $2-3k
$2,200Lab-grown diamond0.99 ct–––Lab diamond ring paid for by her husband; money saved funded an elopement trip to Nevada
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said2.02 ctroundwhite gold2024Super ideal cut; white gold shared-prong setting with 10 accent diamonds; stone origin not stated
$2,200Lab-grown diamond––gold2024Large, eye-catching stone bought as a bucket-list item, described as a temporary ring, set in 18k gold
$2,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctoval–2024Bought around Christmas, arrived in February; had customer-service and shipping issues but the ring itself was praised
$2,200Moissanite––––Chose moissanite to get a bigger stone within budget after a few design adjustments
$2,200Lab-grown diamond–other–2025Two stones bought together for a combined total: a 2.87ct pear and a 2.83ct heart
$2,200Lab-grown diamond–princess––Similar princess-cut specs to the natural diamond ring above but went lab, and much cheaper
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctemerald–2025Chose lab diamond for ethical and cost reasons; bought from an independent Etsy jeweler.
$2,200Lab-grown diamond5.28 ctradiantplatinum–Price matched to Calavera through Rare Carat; Rare Carat had originally listed the same stone for close to $9k
$2,200Diamond, lab or natural not said1.3 ct–white gold20251.3ct fancy yellow diamond with a diamond halo in 14k white gold; origin (natural vs lab) questioned by other buyers, not confirmed
$2,200–––––Writer's own ring
$2,200Lab-grown diamond4.66 ctoval–2025Ring price before tax; writer also considered Rare Carat's JM Care Plan lifetime protection add-on, priced separately.
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.68 ctroundother–14k gold and platinum combined setting
$2,200Natural diamond1.2 ctprincess–2009Bought secondhand from a private seller on Craigslist; the same ring was selling for $6,500 at a jewelry store at the time
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalplatinum20252.0 ct E VVS1 lab oval in a platinum pave twist band, bought out-the-door for $2,200, about a tenth of the natural stone discussed here; has a similar bow tie but shows a reddish hue rather than dark
$2,200–5.52 ctemeraldgold20255.52ct F VVS2 emerald cut in 14k gold, bought about a year before the comment; never worn, open to selling
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.84 ct–gold20262.84ct stone in a 14k setting
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.78 ct–white gold2026Lab-grown fancy yellow diamond in 14k white gold, all-in price; bought for the color despite lab stones holding little resale value
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctmarquiseyellow gold2026Blair setting, 18k yellow gold, stone has a few inclusions by choice; includes 10% new-customer discount; ten-year anniversary upgrade.
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.49 ct––2026Ring with a 2.49ct center stone
$2,210Lab-grown diamond4.75 ctpeargold–A set of two 14k gold rings with two pear-cut diamonds; 4.75ctw is total stone weight
$2,250Lab-grown diamond––white gold–Exact figure forgotten, recalled as somewhere between $2,100 and $2,400
$2,250Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctoval––Pave band; writer unsure whether this was a fair price, remembered as 2200-2300
$2,250Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctradiant–2025Radiant stone with two diamond halos; carat figure may include the halo stones
$2,250Natural diamond0.75 ct––1998Writer unsure, recalls 2000-2500 at most; about a 3/4 ct center and maybe 2 ct total; band with about 1/2 ct added at the 2000 wedding
$2,250Lab-grown diamond1 ct–yellow gold2026Own 1ct lab diamond ring in a 14k plain gold band cost about the same as the 2250 ring being discussed
$2,280Moissanite–otherplatinum–Hexagon brilliant-cut moissanite with 10 small accent stones on the band
$2,290Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalplatinum2026Stacked a price match with a CEO discount and Black Friday deal; $500 of the total was a JM lifetime protection plan later canceled for a $460 refund.
$2,300––––2015Not insured separately; homeowners covers the first $1k of loss or theft
$2,300–0.85 ct–––Writer recommends James Allen or Blue Nile; got about a 0.85 ct diamond
$2,300Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Engagement ring for his wife; the filed appraisal set the replacement cost used by the insurer
$2,300Moissanite––––Custom-made 2.5ct moissanite; everyone assumes it's a real diamond
$2,300–1.03 ctoval–2023Ordered from a shop in another country; total includes about $300 postage and tax, not yet received
$2,300Lab-grown diamond–––2024Engagement ring bought from Raad Jewelers, no stone specs given besides a photo
$2,300Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Completely custom platinum setting bought online instead of in person to save money
$2,300Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–––Chose this over a pricier 3.15ct D/VVS alternative from the same vendor
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald–2024Emerald-cut center from Brilliance.com; site was running 30% off lab diamonds at the time
$2,300Lab-grown diamond0.7 ct–––Says she'd have been happier with something smaller and cheaper, even at similar quality.
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctradiantplatinum–Brilliant cut radiant, hidden halo, cathedral setting, 1.8mm band
$2,300Lab-grown diamond1.58 ct–yellow gold2025Bought in May 2025; $2,300 figure includes the 14k yellow gold band and mounting, per writer's husband
$2,300Lab-grown diamond6.69 ctemerald––Stone sourced through a Facebook group selling at wholesale cost; setting made overseas
$2,300Lab-grown diamond–––2025Diamond sourced through a wholesaler, setting made overseas; total came to this after everything
$2,300Diamond, lab or natural not said2.2 ctmarquise–2025Says the ring looks very similar to the asker's
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2025Ordered on a Black Friday sale; stone type not stated but the price implies lab-grown
$2,300Lab-grown diamond2 ctemeraldyellow gold20252ct lab emerald in 14k yellow gold: $1700 setting, $350 stone, $100 setting fee, plus tax, totaling about $2300
$2,300–3 ctovalwhite gold20253ct oval center stone (writer unsure of exact grade, thinks F VVS2) in 14k white gold with peekaboo stones and hidden halo; originally quoted $2.6k, reduced to $2300; total diamond weight around 3.30ct
$2,300––round––Buyer's own round solitaire on a size 4.5 finger, said it reads far less oversized than the asker's 2.8ct on a 4.25 finger
$2,300–––––Writer's own ring picked out together years earlier; at the higher end of what the couple could afford then
$2,300Lab-grown diamond1 ct–platinum–Fancy green lab diamond; colored lab stones cost far more than colorless of same size
$2,300–2.2 ctemerald––Replacement for a lost ring; stone picked after weeks of searching
$2,300Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2026Newer ring: 4ct E VS1 main stone $450 + 1.59ct E VS1 accent stone $250, setting $1600
$2,300Natural diamond1 ctoval–19931ct oval center with 0.2ct trillion side stones on each side; total stated directly by the writer
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.35 ct––2026Went custom on a budget well below what they saw in store and saved about 4-5k; writer wanted only lab
$2,300Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Bought a previously owned ring via Facebook Marketplace for much less than what the seller said it was originally worth; avoided a newly mined stone
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.54 ct–yellow gold–3.54ct old mine cut lab diamond set in 10k yellow gold, total price, called cheap next to the asker's quote
$2,300Natural diamond0.63 ctround––Loves the cut and sparkle but wishes she had traded some color and clarity for a bigger carat
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum20263.09ct E VS1 oval diamond bought online for $620 with IGI cert; jeweler set it into a hidden-halo platinum ring with round accent stones for about $2300 total, using the online cert to push toward wholesale pricing
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.35 ctother––3.35ct moval-cut stone sourced from Luvansh for 950; whole ring built by Victoria's Diamond Vault came to 2300
$2,321Lab-grown diamond3.35 ctoval–2026Budgeted $2300, final price came to $2321 for a modified-oval cut; this was their main ring, not a travel one
$2,336Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctovalplatinum20253.08ct E VVS2 lab oval, platinum pave twist setting; diamond price-matched down from Rare Carat's $5500 listing via Loose Grown Diamonds
$2,344Lab-grown diamond4 ct–platinum2025Platinum halo setting with diamond accents on the band made up roughly $1,500 of the total; ring arrived weeks early
$2,368Lab-grown diamond––rose gold2025Rose gold Tiffany-style repro setting with platinum prongs; will be her most expensive ring so far
$2,398Lab-grown diamond5.02 ctmarquisetwo tone20255.02ct marquise, 1.95 length ratio, ring size 6.75; custom platinum tulip head on an 18k yellow gold band
$2,400Lab-grown diamond0.74 ctemeraldwhite gold2025Custom 18k white gold ring using Jannpaul's patented White Series Emerald 2.0 cut
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctovalgold20253.08ct lab moval (marquise-oval hybrid) sold as antique cut, disputed by buyers as lacking an open culet; 18k bezel setting, price covers stone plus setting
$2,400Lab-grown diamond1.2 ctround–2026Lab solitaire bought before proposing, a lot of money for him; girlfriend then demanded a 2 ct natural; many said he overpaid
$2,400––––2025Custom-designed engagement ring with amethyst accent stones; a prong on one accent stone broke 8 months later, repair quoted at 307 then reduced to 200 after warranty dispute
$2,400Natural diamond0.46 ct–gold2015Recycled 18k gold setting chosen for an 'ethical' feel; relationship later ended and writer sold the ring (sale price not given)
$2,400Sapphire1.2 ctovalyellow gold–Diamonds set on either side of the sapphire; rose gold detailing on a yellow gold band
$2,400Other gemstone––––Mined coloured gemstone ring from Etsy, given as 2300-2500
$2,400Moissanite––gold–Custom hand-designed setting in ethical fair-trade/recycled gold with a custom-cut grey moissanite; girlfriend's cap was $2k, final cost with engraving and finishing came to $2.4k
$2,400––––2023Writer already bought this ring for his soon-to-be fiancee before proposing; her purchase of his ring is still pending
$2,400––oval–1993A similarly styled ring with an oval center stone and baguette diamonds, offered as a price comparison to the asker's inherited heirloom ring.
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–––3.5 total carat weight; diamond sourced from Adiamor and set by a local jeweler; similar lab stones may be a bit cheaper now
$2,400Diamond, lab or natural not said1.28 ct––2024Stone, setting and everything included; bought during a Black Friday sale, would cost more now
$2,400–––––Kept the ring cheap so they could spend more on their honeymoon
$2,400–3 ctcushion––Paid about the same as the asker's $2400 for their own 3ct cushion cut ring
$2,400Lab-grown diamond5.19 ctovalgold2025Uncertified 5.19ct OMC oval lab diamond custom-set by Fiorese in a 14K gold twig setting; about $2400 total with shipping, setting almost half the cost due to the gold used.
$2,400Lab-grown diamond0.74 ctmarquise–20260.74 is stated as the total diamond weight, not a single center stone
$2,400Lab-grown diamond–––2026Loose lab stone bought through Aurelinne, then had a custom setting made by David Klass in LA; $2,400 total
$2,400Moissanite––gold–Moissanite center stone is almost 3 ct
$2,400Other gemstone––white gold–Non-diamond white zircon ring bought by her ex-husband, from a previous marriage
$2,400–3 ctasscherplatinum–3ct E VS1 Asscher cut solitaire in platinum; recommends the vendor highly
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–gold–3.3ct lab in 18k gold for the same sum the person asking paid (2400); ring came 7 sizes too big and she wore it with a plastic sizer for over a year
$2,400Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold202614k gold solitaire, hand engraving on bridge, fully custom; could've saved $100-200 with F VS1 instead of D VVS2.
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalplatinum2026Picked the diamond first then found the jeweler with the least margin on it; slow turnaround, awkward mobile site
$2,400Lab-grown diamond4.52 ctcushionrose gold2026Old-mine-cut elongated cushion stone, 14k rose gold, custom bought overseas with an IGI report
$2,400–4.52 ctcushionrose gold2026Elongated old mine cushion cut, excellent cut/polish, 14k rose gold bezel setting being made; still awaiting delivery, expected end of May or start of June
$2,400––princessplatinum2002Bought his then-wife an engagement set: platinum ring with a princess-cut diamond, in 2002
$2,400––––2026Buyer said their own engagement ring is costing about $2,400, aiming to only propose once.
$2,413Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2026Custom ring made during a 30th-anniversary sale; buyer picked the stone and told them the setting she wanted
$2,450Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctroundplatinum2024Paid a little over $1,100 for a Hearts & Arrows round stone plus $1,350 for a custom platinum setting, bought in March
$2,461Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold20232ct center stone plus an 18k setting with $35 shipping from a Chinese vendor; total ring weight with halo and band stones was 2.8ct
$2,465Lab-grown diamond5.09 ctemeraldyellow gold20245.09ct emerald cut I/VS1 IGI lab diamond in 14k yellow gold, bought on a 10% off sale with a custom setting fee for the larger stone; about 4 weeks to arrive

What buyers asked about a $2,000 ring

Is $2,000 a fair price for a roughly 1.3 carat pink sapphire ring with no paperwork?

Forum consensus was that $2,000 for an approximately 1.3ct natural-looking pink sapphire (no lab certificate) in an 18k rose gold setting with accent diamonds is a fair to good price, even without a certificate. Opinions were split: most buyers called it too high for a private resale once they realized the carat figure likely covers all the stones combined rather than a center stone, suggesting $1,200-1,800 would be more reasonable, while one said it wasn't a crazy price.

Are lab-grown diamonds or moissanite a good choice on a $2,000 engagement ring budget?

Yes, per most buyers: lab diamonds and moissanite let buyers get 1 to 3 carats of noticeable size within budget and are described as close to the new US standard for engagement rings, though a few caution gold and labor costs still eat into the budget.

Can a nice halo engagement ring with a 1.5-2ct lab-grown center stone be custom made on a $2,000-5,000 budget?

One buyer said a well-cut 2ct lab round in a comparable halo was achievable around $2k total (stone $600-1k plus a sub-$1,400 platinum halo setting), though a name custom maker quoted far more for an equivalent-quality stone later here.

Can you get a 4-carat total weight pair of well-cut lab diamonds for under $2,000?

Not at VVS/VS quality — buyers said a sub-$2k pair means dropping to SI1/SI2 clarity or unusual numbers; a well-cut ideal pair closer to $3,500-$4,000 was more realistic.

Can you get an engagement ring, custom setting, and matching wedding band for under $2,000?

One buyer had a 2.8-carat lab diamond set in a custom 14k mounting with a matching wedding band made for a combined $1,700 total.

Is $2,000 (or more) for a moissanite engagement ring overpriced compared to a lab diamond?

Opinions were split: some said a similarly priced lab diamond ring is now easy to find since lab diamond prices have fallen a lot, while others said quality moissanite, especially antique-cut or US-cut stones, commands a premium for cut quality, warranty and vendor reputation, so it comes down to preference rather than one being objectively overpriced.

Is $2,000 a fair price for a half-eternity emerald-cut diamond ring under 1 carat total weight?

Opinions split: one buyer felt it wasn't worth the price for well under a carat total weight, pointing to a 2.6-carat platinum diamond eternity band they'd just ordered for $1,600, while others said the design would look beautiful and the price seemed reasonable.

Is $2,000 a fair price for a loose lab-grown emerald cut diamond around 2.9 carats?

Most buyers said no for the stone alone, pointing to similar or better specs found online for $400-$950, though the full $4,000 for stone plus an 18k gold mounting was called a normal brick-and-mortar price.

Is $2,000 for custom CAD design plus a $650 setting fee a fair price for a custom ring setting?

One buyer called it reasonable if the jeweler can deliver E-color quality, while the sub's moderators suggest sourcing the diamond and setting from the same vendor since separate-stone setting fees keep rising.

Is $2,000 or more too much for a men's 7mm 14k gold comfort-fit wedding band?

Most buyers said $800 to a bit over $1,000 is more typical for a plain 7mm comfort band, though heavier or wider bands and today's high gold prices can push the cost higher, so $2,000 looked steep for a plain design.

Is $2,000 reasonable for a 0.74 carat natural diamond ring, or $1,600 for a 0.51 carat one?

A buyer said $500-600 buys a decent 0.5ct I/VS IGI-graded round stone, leaving over $1,000 of the Dubai quote for the setting, so both quotes looked fairly priced by that standard.

Is $2000-2500 a reasonable price for a small (0.5-0.6ct) diamond engagement ring?

Opinions split: many say it's too high for such a small stone without knowing color/clarity, but a few call it fair for a brick-and-mortar store given current gold prices; comparable small rings elsewhere here ran from about $300 to $2000 depending on lab vs natural and where it's bought.

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 254 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

A ring counts in this band when the buyer paid between $1,750 and $2,499 for the engagement ring as a whole. The window reaches further above $2,000 than below it, as budgets are stretched far more often than undershot. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.