engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Budget · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

What a $3,000 Engagement Ring Buys: 453 Real Rings

453 buyers paid between $2,500 and $3,499 for an engagement ring. Of the 269 who named the stone, 72% chose a lab-grown diamond, 10% a natural one and 9% moissanite. At this price the median center stone was 2.64 ct lab-grown against 1 ct natural.

$3,000 sits above the median ring: 56% of the 4,438 buyers here paid less, against a $2,250 median. Below: the stones and sizes this money bought, where it was spent, and every ring in the band with the buyer's own account.

453rings bought for $2,500 to $3,499
56%of all 4,438 buyers paid less than $3,000
2.64 ctmedian lab-grown center stone at this price
1 ctmedian natural center stone at this price
Marquisemost common shape (26 rings)

Lab-grown, natural or moissanite at $3,000

The same money buys very different stones. Each row takes the rings in this band with that center stone.

Center stoneRingsMedian priceMedian caratMiddle half of carats
Natural diamond26$3,0001 ct0.75 ct to 1.24 ct
Lab-grown diamond194$3,0002.64 ct2 ct to 4 ct
Moissanite25$3,0002.5 ct DEW2 ct DEW to 3.5 ct DEW
Sapphire15$3,0002 ct1.5 ct to 2.3 ct
Lab-created coloured stone1$2,500––
Other gemstone8$2,5721.8 ct1.5 ct to 2.39 ct
Diamond, lab or natural not said32$3,0001.8 ct1.36 ct to 4 ct

Shapes and metals at this price

Marquise was the most common shape among the rings that named one, 26 of 112.

Marquise23%
Oval23%
Round21%
Pear12%
Radiant11%
Emerald10%

Metal, among the 124 rings that named it:

Gold, colour not said35%
White gold27%
Platinum19%
Yellow gold12%
Rose gold6%

Where these rings came from

Where the ring came fromRingsMedianLab-grown share
Online jewelers66$3,00080%
Custom makers53$3,00061%
Independent local jewelers31$3,00085%
Mall and chain stores14$3,00050%
Pre-owned, estate and pawn10$2,95040%
Ordered from or bought abroad7$2,600100%
Costco and warehouse clubs5$3,000–

Is $3,000 enough?

Is $3,000 enough for an engagement ring?

$3,000 sits above the median ring: 56% of the 4,438 buyers here paid less, against a $2,250 median. Ten buyers in this band said how they feel about the amount: six no regret, three mixed and one regret.

What size lab-grown diamond does $3,000 buy?

Among rings bought for $2,500 to $3,499, the median lab-grown center stone weighed 2.64 ct (151 rings with a stated weight).

What size natural diamond does $3,000 buy?

The median natural center stone at this price weighed 1 ct (18 rings with a stated weight).

Every ring bought for $2,500 to $3,499

Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.97 ctroundyellow gold202318kt yellow gold 6-prong solitaire with a 2.97ct CVD lab-grown diamond, bought for an upcoming proposal
$2,500Natural diamond0.55 ctroundwhite gold2019Paid for center stone and setting separately from Blue Nile, then had them assembled into one ring; band carries 20 melee diamonds totaling 0.1ct
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–––Bought off Rare Carat through the vendor Ascott Diamonds
$2,500–––––Budget was $4,000; he bought the diamond and she paid for the setting, split fairly evenly since they earn similarly
$2,500–1 ctotherwhite gold–Salt and pepper hexagon diamond with moissanite side stones
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.37 ctpeargold–Price level for this size and shape is consistent with lab-grown
$2,500–––––She bought her own ring
$2,500Sapphire––––Chose a dainty sapphire ring over something pricier; put the savings toward an engagement trip instead
$2,500–––––Came in under a $4,000 budget at about $2,500
$2,500–––––Spent $2,500 against a $5K budget
$2,500–––––Classic engagement ring later sold for a fraction of the price after separation
$2,500–––––Roughly 2-3k, bought on a payment plan; kept the wedding small to save costs
$2,500–––––Fiance earns about the same as the person asking (150-180k); custom-made ring
$2,500Moissanite–––2023Custom four-triple-prong solitaire; writer says still far cheaper than a lab or natural diamond at the same size
$2,500Lab-created coloured stone–––2023Lab grown alexandrite with a unique setting, done by a local jeweler, price after taxes
$2,500Moissanite––––Chose moissanite over diamond to help keep cost down; spent about one paycheck, under the 3k limit given
$2,500Moissanite––––Recycled/fair-mined gold drove the cost up more than the stone did; insured it but chose an amount easily replaceable if lost
$2,500––––2023Estimates her ring cost 2-3k, says it's not as costly as some rings she knows of
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–––2024Current, much larger lab diamond ring said to cost about 1/4 of the original $10k natural wedding set.
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––A natural diamond with the same specs would run about $70,000; she feels 2.5ct is a bit large and might read as fake
$2,500Lab-grown diamond4.66 ct–rose gold2024Main 4.66ct stone plus DEF VS1 tapered baguette side stones sourced separately, totaling about 5.5ct; appraisal cost not included
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–oval–2024A similar cathedral-style setting but with a lab diamond instead of moissanite, all-in price, still being made
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.21 ctroundyellow gold2023Stone bought around end of 2023 through a diamond broker he personally worked with, well under typical market price; 18k yellow gold cathedral setting with a 2mm diamond halo; almost used Helzberg for the setting instead
$2,500Other gemstone3.5 ctpear––A Diamond Nexus 'hybrid' simulant stone, not a genuine mined or lab diamond
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––two tone–About half what a similar Zales ring (smaller stone, 10k gold) would have cost; bigger stone in platinum/18k rose gold via custom mold.
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctovalgold202418k gold band with accent diamonds; a local jeweler confirmed it was a real lab diamond
$2,500–––––3-stone design similar to the asker's request built by a local jeweler for about the asker's target budget, under half what comparable online customization quoted; center stone sourced separately from Ritani to help stay
$2,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearrose gold202514k rose-gold French pave ring, 3ct D/VVS2 pear stone; bought online instead of an in-person jeweler to save money.
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.36 ctovalwhite gold–1.36ct oval center with 18 pave diamonds I/I2 on 14k white gold; total included tax and insurance
$2,500–1.5 ct–––Fiancee's ring, 1.5ct with side stones
$2,500Lab-grown diamond––––A similar ring to the one the person asking found, with lab stones
$2,500Lab-grown diamond––gold–Found a similar cheap ring on Amazon and had this small independent jeweler recreate it in lab diamonds and real gold for around this budget
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––––First engagement ring from an ex-fiance, an ordinary mined diamond, included a warranty with free cleanings
$2,500Lab-grown diamond4 ctemerald––5-year upgrade bought secondhand from an online lab-diamond resale community; same ring priced locally at $10k retail
$2,500–––––One of several couples in their HCOL friend group the writer compares
$2,500–––––One of two rings; both women in this couple spent this amount each on their own ring while broke
$2,500––––2005Bought almost 20 years before the comment, when far from a high earner
$2,500Moissanite––rose gold–1.5ct-equivalent moissanite with rose gold band and diamond halo; says it saved about 75% versus natural
$2,500Lab-grown diamond4.05 ctovaltwo tone2025Custom fancy vivid blue lab diamond, VS1, oval brilliant; diamond alone was about $1200 of the $2500 total; platinum head, 14k gold band, pave
$2,500–––––Stated as $2-3k, midpoint recorded; married shortly after college with little saved
$2,500–––––Loose stone plus eternity band set together; the same band style bought again later as the wedding band
$2,500Other gemstone2.39 ctotheryellow gold–Aquamarine engagement ring, Starbrite cut by John Dyer, being custom made and not yet delivered; setting is 14k gold
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–––2025Grand total after replacing the CZ center stone with a lab diamond
$2,500––heartwhite gold–Repeated resizing/repair damage on 6 rings (cuts, burn marks) over 9 months pushed total cost with insurance past $7k; a $400 credit after escalation to district manager brought it back near the original ~$2,500 with ins
$2,500–––––No longer fit after weight gain during a pregnancy and miscarriage; not resized since she didn't intend to stay that size
$2,500–––––Stayed in the $2-3k range; three months' salary would have felt ridiculous to the couple
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Upgraded 11.5 years in, caught a 35% off sale; carat is total weight (tw), not necessarily the center stone alone
$2,500Other gemstone–round––Custom low-set bezel ring built around a round green gemstone with channel-set diamonds on the band
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–white gold–Second wife's ring; she says it's about the meaning, not the cost
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–––2025Bought from a family-owned local jeweler, not a big chain; insurance appraisal came back higher than what was paid
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2025Custom ring with just over 4g of gold, made in October; insurance appraisal valued the finished ring at 153% of the price paid
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.72 ct––2023Platinum cluster ring, 3.5 total carat weight, designed by a private jeweler, came with a certificate; writer prefers lab over Costco's mined stones
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.8 ctroundgold–Fully custom ring: 1.8ct round excellent VVS2 E center stone, CAD-designed setting with six 0.04ct natural diamond accents (three per side), 4.2g of 18k gold; took about a month
$2,500––––1992Bought by her ex-husband 34 years ago; reset with added diamonds two years ago; the 6k appraisal covers the enhanced ring
$2,500Lab-grown diamond––––Household earns about three times the asker's salary; they still chose a 2.5k lab ring
$2,500––––2020Found at Macy's on Black Friday 2020, listed near $10k marked 75% off; had wanted to cap spending under $3k
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct–––Fiance earns $50k a year; she worried $2,500 was too much to ask for
$2,500Sapphire––––Sapphire engagement ring; partner spent 2-3k, which still feels like a lot to her; married 12 years
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.02 ctmarquise–2026The Maren style from designer Sarah O
$2,500Lab-grown diamond5.89 ctmarquise–2026Carat as stated by writer
$2,500–––––First ring; the couple is upgrading to a custom ring this year
$2,500Lab-grown diamond4 ctroundgold–Round lab stone bought separately for $800; bezel setting in gold with rubies on the band quoted at $1700, about $2500 all in
$2,500–0.9 ct–––Warranty replacement after stones fell out; effectively only paid the price difference
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2013Bought for his wife in 2013; writer says it is worth close to $2,000 now, arguing diamonds hold value worse than gold
$2,500Natural diamond––––Vintage 1920s daisy-cluster style diamond ring; price includes resizing
$2,500–––––Setting upgrade with about 20 channel-set round diamonds, price uncertain ('maybe')
$2,500–0.75 ct–white gold–Halo setting makes it look bigger; writer unsure if the stone is lab or natural
$2,500Lab-grown diamond6 ctroundwhite gold202614k white gold setting with D VVS2 side pear stones; super-ideal excellent/excellent cut center stone
$2,500––––2026Bought a preowned ring appraised at $30k for $2,500 via an online marketplace-type deal, then paid a local jeweler to customize it; total stayed under $5,000
$2,500–––––Wedding bands not yet chosen
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.42 ctovalwhite gold–Husband purchased; writer recommends going to a jeweler rather than Etsy
$2,500Lab-grown diamond3.94 ctovalrose gold2026Price-matched after finding the same stone listed cheaper elsewhere
$2,500–––––Engaged in mid-20s; got below-market price through industry connections; that relationship later ended
$2,500Lab-grown diamond–––2026Fiance said he spent about 2,500; she is fairly sure it is lab and loves it, but thinks the sum was too high
$2,500–––gold–Bought a larger stone set in 18k gold for a little over $2,500; considers most pricing in this space overpriced
$2,500Other gemstone0.74 ct–––Ring $2,300-2,700 + two $500 bands, ~$3,500 total for ruby (.74ct); stone chipped when set, Shane Co replaced it free with one worth ~$1,900
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Price included taxes and import duties; picked 1 carat with high clarity and color but slightly lower cut
$2,500––marquisegold2026Marquise plus 10 small princess-cut diamonds, all supplied by the writer, set in a custom 14k setting; labor was about half the $2,500
$2,500Moissanite––platinum2005Chose a custom platinum moissanite setting instead of a budgeted $10k natural diamond ring; the unspent savings grew to about $60k by 2026
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2 ctmarquise–2026Entire ring including setting, from a small company based in Houston
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.5 ctemeraldyellow gold2026Own ring, 2.5ct emerald-cut diamond in 10k yellow gold, cost fell within the buyers's stated 2-3k range
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Asked for a sub-$2k budget but fiance spent $2.5k on a 1.5ct lab-grown ring
$2,500–––––Spent $2500 on the ring, his wife thought it was too much; says three months' salary would be better as savings to start life together
$2,500Lab-grown diamond––––Lab diamond ring that resembles a natural stone the writer values around $30k retail; writer guesses resale would fetch only about $1,200.
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said0.58 ctmarquise–2022Hidden halo marquise diamond ring, just bought; the person asking felt it was expensive next to what others in the sub post
$2,527Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctemerald–2025Stone price-matched against Loose Grown Diamond; total with setting, tax and lifetime warranty was 2527.30
$2,536Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalgold2023Stone alone cost under $2k; setting made overseas (Summer at Better Star) for $512 in 18k gold, plus $75 local mounting, totaled $2,536; appraised afterward at $8,700 for insurance
$2,550Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold–3ct lab marquise with an 18k hidden-halo setting, bought from a local jeweler who also supplies bigger brands
$2,600Lab-grown diamond5.82 ct–gold202410k gold setting; separate ~200 setting fee estimated, still pending at time of comment
$2,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalwhite gold2024Out-the-door price, bought this week
$2,600Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Shopped around to find this stone-plus-setting price point at a local jeweler
$2,600–––––Fiance spent $2,600 on the ring, about half of one month's salary for him
$2,600Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctmarquisewhite gold20253.02ct lab marquise with 0.54ct pave, stone and 14k setting together; local jeweler custom-set it after ordering several center stones online
$2,600Sapphire––––Purple sapphire center instead of a diamond; ended up above the original $2k target
$2,600Lab-grown diamond4 ctovalyellow gold–Cathedral setting with a euro shank
$2,600Lab-grown diamond1.59 ctotheryellow gold–Hexagon cut stone, 2mm bezel band, still being made
$2,600–––––Wanted something happy to wear for the rest of life; felt reasonable for them
$2,600–––––Now-husband proposed with an inexpensive placeholder ring; final ring picked out together afterward
$2,600Lab-grown diamond5 ctother––15-year-anniversary upgrade, a rose-cut stone just over 5 carats, cost mostly labor; writer avoids mined diamonds after working in the jewelry industry
$2,600Lab-grown diamond2.87 ctmarquiserose gold2026Hidden halo, 14k rose gold
$2,600–––––Figures are approximate, writer wasn't fully certain
$2,600–––––Custom diamond ring with a custom setting bought via online price-matching (diamond exchange) for around $2,600; estimates a similar ring would have cost over $10,000 at Costco
$2,600Lab-grown diamond––platinum2026Sourced the stone separately, designed a platinum setting with side stones through a Chinese vendor, set locally
$2,600–––––Includes a care/warranty plan in the total
$2,644Other gemstone2 ct–yellow gold–About 2 ct peridot center with 0.75 ct of diamond accents on an engraved 14k yellow gold band; budget started under $1,000 but total after taxes came in higher
$2,650Natural diamond0.43 ctmarquise–1997Buyer's own 1997 engagement ring; price given already adjusted to today's dollars, from before lab-grown existed
$2,700Lab-grown diamond4.1 ctcushiongold202550% bigger, higher-grade lab diamond replacing the 2020 natural ring; included an 18k gold band and a 30% sale discount
$2,700Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown diamond ring, described as much cheaper than a natural diamond
$2,700–0.48 ctmarquiserose gold–White gold V-prongs on a rose gold solitaire setting, sourced from the jeweler's personal collection
$2,700Lab-grown diamond––––About two weeks of husband's salary; she was fine with moissanite or lab, he picked lab
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3.22 ct–––3.22ct stone; less than one month of her husband's car payments.
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold202310k gold, 3.00ct F VS1 marquise; cites this as a cheaper comparable to the asker's ring
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.64 ctemeraldtwo tone202318k gold band with platinum prongs, shipped to Canada; ended up about 4200 CAD after conversion and provincial tax, no duties
$2,700Lab-grown diamond1.32 ctroundplatinum–Pave platinum band
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Very pleased with the clarity and brilliance for the price
$2,700Lab-grown diamond–oval––Second ring for a new relationship; roughly double the carat of her first natural ring; natural equivalent would run $15k-$20k
$2,700Lab-grown diamond–––2024Custom lab ring quoted at $5,500 when designed in Dec 2022; price had fallen by the time they actually bought it a few months before this 2024 comment
$2,700Natural diamond––white gold–Engagement ring bought by her husband during a Black Friday deal
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.17 ctprincesswhite gold202418k white gold setting; writer feels they overpaid
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Accepted the price knowing a good portion covers the small jeweler's overhead for custom service
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–white gold2025Matching quality side baguettes; kept the original Verragio halo setting and had the center stone reset
$2,700Lab-grown diamond4 ctovalgold20254ct oval lab stone set in 10k gold
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.45 ct–platinum–Chose lab over natural for a 2.45ct E/VVS2 diamond in a platinum setting with channel-set side stones
$2,700Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Owned about a year, writer says it still looks flawless
$2,700–––––Bought on sale; would have been $4k out of budget otherwise; a second-choice ring at $2k not on sale was also considered
$2,700Lab-grown diamond––––Loose stone plus a setting whose price rose due to gold prices; also paid a separate setting fee of a couple hundred dollars not itemized; expected ceiling was $3,500
$2,700Sapphire2.3 ct–platinum20253-stone ring, likely sapphire center with 2 lab diamonds as sides; 2.3ct is total weight; most cost was sapphire and platinum, the 2 lab diamonds were under $100
$2,700Lab-grown diamond–––2025Ring price was roughly $2,700 without the care plan; separately paid $369 for the Rare Carat JM Care Plan (bought in May), which is priced far higher now.
$2,700Lab-grown diamond1 ctmarquise–2026Writer wasn't fully certain of the exact price
$2,700Lab-grown diamond4.06 ctroundwhite gold–14k white gold hidden-halo pave-band ring, originally bought at this price, now being resold
$2,700Natural diamond––platinum–1910s antique found at a vintage shop; bought instead of a custom lab piece
$2,700––––2026Independent Instagram jeweler, diamonds imported from Puerto Rico; big-box retailers had quoted 6-7k for a similar ring
$2,700Natural diamond2.81 ctroundwhite gold20252.81ct hearts-and-arrows round stone bought separately for just under $1200; David Klass built the 18k white-gold cushion-halo setting for $1500
$2,750Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Ring ticketed at $4,500 in a store; writer's ex-fiance bought it on a Black Friday discount
$2,750Lab-grown diamond5 ct–gold–Sourced the loose diamond (a little over 5ct) separately, had the setting made overseas, and had a local jeweler set the stone; total for all steps was $2,750
$2,750Lab-grown diamond4.03 ct–––4.03ct D VVS2 stone $950; 14k setting with two trapezoid side diamonds plus a CAD design fee, $1,800; ruby wedding band bought separately already in stock; took from July to mid-October
$2,750Lab-grown diamond––gold–Went custom instead of Brilliant Earth; got an even bigger, clearer stone plus a 14k setting for this total
$2,750Moissanite––––Moissanite ring bought through Moissanite.co, engaged recently
$2,750Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct––2026Similar intricate band with a 2.6ct lab diamond from Keyzar, price given as a 2.5-3k range
$2,760Lab-grown diamond2.02 ct–gold2024Stone bought earlier in the year, custom bezel setting made locally; prices have since dropped
$2,765Lab-grown diamond2.02 ctheart–2023Custom-made heart-shape lab diamond ring plus a matching wedding band, both made by the same maker
$2,770Lab-grown diamond2.02 ctround––Solitaire with 2mm band, price after tax and shipping, came with a free small diamond earring set
$2,800Moissanite–marquise––Custom made marquise solitaire, diamond-equivalent size
$2,800Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–––Lab-grown; chose lower clarity/color for savings, excellent polish
$2,800––emerald––Designed with fiance; called significantly cheaper than an equivalent diamond
$2,800Lab-grown diamond2.13 ctround–2023Center stone bought online, set by a local jeweler to save money; setting carries about 0.36 ctw of accent stones
$2,800Lab-grown diamond–––2024Set price for diamond plus setting from a small local jeweler; a buyer guessed roughly 3ct G VS2 excellent radiant in 14k white gold from price-matching, not confirmed by the person asking
$2,800Lab-grown diamond––gold2024Custom-made by a local jeweler in 14k gold with lab diamonds because retail chains didn't have the style; $500 commission plus a $500 ring holder brought the total spent to $3,800
$2,800Lab-grown diamond3.67 ct––2024Custom piece; 3.67 is total carat weight (ctw) across stones, not a single center stone
$2,800––––2024Bought on sale, slightly over original budget; also paid for insurance
$2,800–––white gold2025Covers a 4mm plain white gold band setting, mounting the stone, and an appraisal; chose a local jeweler over cheaper options for warranty on rhodium plating
$2,800–0.49 ctprincess–2013Paid for using savings bonds given by family throughout childhood, during his last semester of college
$2,800–––––Referenced a separate prior post about her large ring; no other specs given in this comment
$2,800Diamond, lab or natural not said4.01 ct––2025Thicker band, described as great specs, no other detail given
$2,800Lab-grown diamond3.87 ctradiant––Stone alone was $889; total ring cost $2,800 after Rare Carat price-matched Calavera's quote (same IGI stone) which ran about $8k higher; later appraised over $12k
$2,800–2.59 ctradiantgold2025Petal basket 14k setting from a local jeweler in a Midwest state; Northeast jewelers quoted higher for similar work
$2,800Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctemeraldgold202514k gold ring with platinum prongs and emerald-cut side baguettes totaling 0.035ct
$2,800Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Bought her own engagement ring before later divorcing; still wears it now on her right middle finger
$2,800Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––5ct ring with specs similar to the asker's stone, total 2.8k
$2,800Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquise–2026Ring has side diamonds
$2,800Lab-grown diamond5 ctovalgold20265ct oval lab diamond ring with better specs than the Zales piece, all-in cost from a local jeweler
$2,800Diamond, lab or natural not said4 ctprincess–2026Sourced the stone separately and had it set; says this saved roughly $4k versus a pre-set ring
$2,800––marquise–2026Marquise halo ring bought from small jewelry brand Valquere
$2,800Lab-grown diamond7 ctovalplatinum–Cathedral setting with diamond basket; stone price-matched via Rare Carat, ring total about $2,800
$2,816Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundplatinum–Splurged on a specific designer solitaire setting; a similar non-designer setting is available online for about 650
$2,845Lab-grown diamond4.11 ct–gold–14k compass-prong solitaire with a hidden halo and platinum prongs
$2,850Lab-grown diamond13.09 ctemeraldyellow gold2026Won at an estate auction; price included $338 in fees/taxes; band very thin, only ~1.6g pure gold
$2,850Lab-grown diamond1.2 ct–––Lab diamond on a pave band; couple split it, about 1400 each
$2,850Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct––2021Paid the same $2,850 as the person asking but only got a 1.5ct stone, back in 2021
$2,875–––––Chose the larger diamond and preferred setting for $2,875 after a military discount, above an $1,800 alternative but below the $5k budget; proposal hasn't happened yet
$2,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025The asker's post was deleted; price and appraisal reconstructed from answers addressing the person asking about a 3ct lab diamond ring
$2,900–––––Partner's ring; she wanted a much smaller diamond by preference
$2,900Lab-grown diamond2.36 ctroundrose gold–Military discount applied; ring ordered but proposal hasn't happened yet
$2,900Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctradiantwhite gold–20% off promo; about $600 of the price is the 18k white-gold palladium band; still hadn't shipped after three weeks
$2,900Natural diamond––gold2025Spouse's ring, gold with salt-and-pepper diamonds, bought at a small boutique store.
$2,900Lab-grown diamond3 ctround–2026Ring total before tax, after a price-matched diamond; the JM Care Plan was quoted separately at $499 since the price match excluded other site-wide discounts.
$2,900Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquise–2026Hidden halo ring bought at a jewelry store; writer says a retail premium was likely paid there
$2,900Lab-grown diamond1.56 ctmarquise–2026Pave band has 0.52ct total weight natural side diamonds; writer gave a $2800-3000 range
$2,900–3.07 ctmarquise–2026Old mine cut marquise stone sourced from a fellow online user; setting is 14k white gold with 0.5ct pave diamonds made by a local jeweler
$2,900–––––Engagement ring
$2,900–3 ctovalwhite gold–Lab-grown oval solitaire with hidden halo from a local family-owned business
$2,900Diamond, lab or natural not said4 ct–––Engagement ring: roughly 900 for a 4ct diamond plus just under 2000 for a custom gold setting
$2,900Natural diamond0.8 ctprincessplatinum1998Custom-made wide platinum band; matching 10-stone wedding band bought alongside it
$2,947Lab-grown diamond3.47 ctradiantwhite gold2024Bought in early 2024; writer thinks it would be cheaper now
$2,950Other gemstone––––Chose an emerald over a diamond, feeling diamonds are overpriced for the value; stayed just under a $3,000 budget.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.52 ctradiant–2024College-budget solitaire, radiant cut, for a size-4.5 finger; simple band left room for her planned two wedding bands.
$3,000––––2015Added to fiance's homeowners policy for under $100/year
$3,000––––2015Appraised above cost; $50/year rider added to homeowners insurance
$3,000–––––Husband earned about $70k and paid from savings rather than go into debt
$3,000Moissanite–ovalwhite gold20218.5x6mm antique oval 'radiance summer white' center stone with a diamond pave band, 14k white gold, custom designed
$3,000–0.7 ctroundgold–Six-prong solitaire with three pave accent stones on each side, 14k gold band
$3,000Moissanite––––Harro diamond-cut moissanite engagement ring; doesn't sparkle enough to pass as a diamond, but she loves it and has only minor regrets
$3,000–––––Writer's own ring
$3,000Sapphire1.5 ct––2022Writer earns just over $100k, partner a bit more; initial $2,500 budget grew to about $3,000 for a 1.5 ct sapphire with a diamond halo
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.11 ctovalgold2022Fiancé bought a 2.11ct oval lab-diamond solitaire with a 14k gold band; suggests the person asking reconsider a small natural stone at this price
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct––2022Chosen instead of a $20k natural 1.2ct Tiffany ring the couple couldn't justify
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.3 ctoval–2022Approximate price for the whole ring
$3,000Sapphire1.6 ct–white gold2022Halo setting with 18 small diamond accents, sold at cost by a friend who is a jewelry designer
$3,000Moissanite––platinum–Roughly 1ct moissanite in a platinum setting, price includes customizations
$3,000Natural diamond0.75 ct––2022Diamond about $2200 plus $800 setting, plus an $800 wedding band
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.53 ct–––Price level consistent with lab-grown rather than natural
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.56 ct–––Lab solitaire at about two weeks of his wages; arrived two weeks late with poor updates, quality pleased him
$3,000–––––Wedding ring paid for by the writer's father since her ex refused to spend money on it
$3,000Natural diamond0.63 ct–––Mined diamond solitaire; well under a month's income; bought from his savings for a quick wedding
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctpear––Lab pear appraised at three times the price; she says a natural stone of these specs would top 20k
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Spent $3k instead of the $50-75k they felt they could afford; chose a diamond alternative over a mined stone
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer's own ring; cost about 2% of her husband's yearly income; she knew exactly which ring she wanted before meeting him
$3,000–––––Bought pre-owned; considers 3k reasonable for a ring she'll wear for life
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct––2023Bought a 2.25ct lab diamond for about $3k, estimating it cost roughly a third of a similarly sized natural stone
$3,000Natural diamond1.25 ctprincessplatinum–1.25 ctw princess-cut and round-brilliant Costco wedding ring set, given to her on sale for about $3k; carat is total weight, not center stone
$3,000Natural diamond2 ct–––Setting bought online for $1k, 2ct diamond online for $2k, plus $200 for a local jeweler to set the stone
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctpear––Her original diamond solitaire engagement ring, now outshone in her eyes by her much cheaper moissanite pieces.
$3,000Moissanite––––Implied from saying her ring cost half the cited $6,000 national average spend.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Picked a 2 ct lab ring over a natural one that would have run about 25k; financed at 0% only to build credit, cash already saved
$3,000–––––The couple split the ring's $3,000 cost 50/50 rather than him paying alone; he earns about half what she does but has more savings
$3,000–0.33 ct–yellow gold20221/3 carat total weight (not center stone alone) yellow gold ring from Kay; price includes insurance
$3,000Lab-grown diamond–––2023Spent on a lab-diamond ring; now saving for costly fertility treatment instead of a bigger stone
$3,000Moissanite–ovalplatinum2023Near-colorless oval moissanite solitaire; writer says a comparable natural stone would run about $40k
$3,000–––––Husband earns about the same as the person asking (150-180k); she picked out her own ring
$3,000–––––Designed the ring together with her partner; the couple earns about $1M a year combined
$3,000––––2003Spent less than the 'two or three months salary' guideline, 20 years before the comment
$3,000Sapphire––––Chose a sapphire since it's both partners' birthstone, instead of a diamond
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2019Custom halo ring with plain band (chosen so it could be resized), made 4 years before the comment
$3,000–––––Husband paid the $2k he was comfortable with and writer added the rest; ring is rarely worn while traveling
$3,000–––––Felt like a lot to spend on jewelry despite loving it
$3,000–––––Writer gave her fiance a 2k limit, he ended up spending 3k; she calls the ring perfect
$3,000––––2020Original 50k wedding was cancelled by COVID a few weeks out and refunded, becoming a 50 dollar elopement instead
$3,000–––––Declined a $400/yr insurance quote as not worth it versus replacement cost; saves the money instead
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Fiance paid a bit over 3k for a lab diamond, just under 1 carat, three-stone style with a diamond band
$3,000––round–2005Round diamond ring bought about 18 years before the comment; writer says it still looks timeless.
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctprincess––Proposal ring from Zales, a 1 ct princess of only okay quality; he later regretted paying that much
$3,000–3.75 ctroundwhite gold–Pave band, ring being made, a little over this price; a local jeweller separately quoted $15k for comparable specs
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20233ct diamond with a custom setting, similar specs to the asker's ring; total included the setting.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2024Replacement ring ordered from Delicate Gem for $3,000 total (band and diamond), bigger and better quality than the returned Jared's ring
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4.45 ct––2024Upgraded ring bought via a lab-diamond marketplace; writer's original ring was natural
$3,000–––––Custom-made copy of a ring seen at Jared with upgraded metal and stones, cost $1000 less than the $4k Jared quote for better quality
$3,000Moissanite––––Writer says the same design would have cost 20k as a diamond; has 50k in savings, prioritized a house down payment over a bigger stone
$3,000Moissanite–––20193.5ct moissanite ring from an unnamed popular US vendor, bought about five years before the comment
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2024Fiancé's ring represented several months of savings; stone type (lab or natural) not stated
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5.01 ct––20245.01ct center stone ring, total price approximate
$3,000–––––The asker's first ring, which she later lost
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Friends guessed he'd spent $5k-$6k on it; it appraised at $10k.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Says the same stone would have cost about $45,000 as a natural diamond.
$3,000Moissanite––––High-end moissanite; buyer estimates a comparable diamond version would run about $90,000.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Certified 1ct lab diamond with better cut/clarity than he says a natural stone would cost 10x as much for.
$3,000Natural diamond1.24 ct–platinum–Vintage c.1954 piece styled like a Harry Winston design; carat figure is total weight (TCW), not centre stone alone
$3,000–2.63 ct–––Setting has about 0.3ct in pave diamonds, a Keyzar hidden-halo style
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3.51 ct–white gold–7-stone band in 14k white gold with a 3.51ct F VVS2 super-ideal-cut stone, bought from brilliance.com
$3,000Natural diamond0.8 ct–––Small natural diamond bought years before this comment, no other specs given
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––5 total carat weight lab-grown diamond ring with higher clarity and color than the Costco ring in question
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctheart––Complete ring, offered as a much cheaper lab-diamond comparison to the asker's natural-diamond order
$3,000Moissanite–––2024Custom-made 3ct moissanite; writer estimates an equivalent diamond ring would have cost about $15k
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct––2025Tulip setting; buyers said this was still reasonable since it was local
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.1 ctround–2025Customized setting
$3,000–––––Found dream ring around $3k after setting a budget near $5k
$3,000–––––Fiance's initial budget was about a month's salary, but writer ended up spending $3k; didn't want overly costly jewelry
$3,000–––––Fiance spent about $3k on the ring; writer says he stayed within his own chosen budget
$3,000–1 ct–––One-carat solitaire diamond; may upgrade the carat weight later
$3,000–––––Paid partly from husband's savings
$3,000–––––Not a huge stone but suits her style
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctemeraldplatinum2023Bought over 2 years before a 2025 comment; buyer later learned it was overpriced vs other vendors but has had no issues with it
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Writer says 3k gets a large nice lab stone; a natural stone would not be affordable at 3 months' salary
$3,000––––1998Wife loves the ring; writer credits a long 27-year marriage to focusing on each other, not ring cost
$3,000–2.51 ct–white gold2025Custom tulip setting in 14k white gold cost $1000; the 2.51ct F VS1 diamond cost $2000, bought in June
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Nearly perfect 2ct lab diamond accounted for most of the total, bought online
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––Years later, a much bigger lab stone at a lower price than the original
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Dual high-tech-industry income in the Bay Area; in hindsight would have lowered the clarity/color grade to save a bit more
$3,000––––2014Bought before making six figures
$3,000–––––Wife only wanted a cheap ring; low cost of living area
$3,000–––––Bought at age 22
$3,000–––––Neither partner thought a larger ring would look better
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Felt like the right middle-ground price for a lab diamond.
$3,000Moissanite––white gold–Cathedral setting with a hidden halo, custom made by a Canadian company; she thinks a similar ring from China would run about half the price.
$3,000–0.5 ct–––Antique-style setting; says she gets a lot of compliments because of the setting.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3.08 ct–yellow gold–Custom made; non-fluorescent; natural diamond accents in the hidden halo
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctpearwhite gold–Also has a second ring with small diamonds totaling about 1ct, price for that one not given; feels she paid too much
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Elongated shape, exact cut not specified
$3,000Moissanite––––Grey moissanite fully custom cut and set for his wife's engagement ring, at a local jeweler; she has no band yet
$3,000–––––Budget was $4k, ring cost about $3k of it
$3,000–––––Original purchase price, approximate, recalled loosely years later
$3,000–3.01 ct–––Also considered VVS1 stones around $4,000-5,000 before deciding on this one
$3,000––––2025Writer estimates partner spent around this; exact figure unknown; ring felt too valuable to wear casually
$3,000––––2025Wanted to cap spending at $2k, partner ended up spending $3k
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–gold–18kt setting; writer's fiance recommends the same maker (also known via an online group) for old mine cut lab diamonds
$3,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––Approximate price for a 5 carat lab diamond ring, shown as a comparison photo
$3,000Natural diamond0.4 ct–gold1995Paid $3000 about 30 years ago for the ring; buyer estimates today's raw materials (14kt gold band, 0.4ct diamond, labor) would run about $1500
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctradiant––Custom 14k cathedral setting with a continuous hidden halo of about 0.2ct plus a $200 appraisal; appraised over $9k, not a resale value
$3,000–––––Husband upgraded the set years later, once they could really afford it
$3,000Moissanite––––2ct-equivalent moissanite center stone, chosen over diamond for ethics and cost
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––platinum2025Custom setting from a pricey local jeweler with a larger, near-perfect diamond; writer thinks even this was somewhat overpriced
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Custom platinum ring with a lab diamond from a local jeweler known for craftsmanship, in a high cost-of-living area
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–other202518k champagne-gold custom bezel solitaire; no wedding band purchased
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2025Realized how delicate rings are after buying; insures for $60/yr with $0 deductible through Jewelers Mutual
$3,000Lab-grown diamond9.88 ct–––A little over $3k for the whole ring
$3,000–––––Engagement ring bought for a relationship that ended before marriage; later resold on the resale market
$3,000–0.6 ct–white gold–Wife's ring; about 1.5 total carat VS2 diamonds, .6ct center, 18k white gold; guests guess it cost $8k-$10k
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––1.5 ct ring that looks larger than its size to others; cost a little over $3,000
$3,000Natural diamond1.2 ct–––Husband bought a new natural 1.2 ct diamond ring; in hindsight she'd have preferred vintage or lab grown
$3,000Lab-grown diamond–radiant––Bezel-set radiant-cut lab diamond; writer estimates the same look would run about $10k mined
$3,000––oval–2025Upgraded from a pointy pear-cut ring that caught on gloves to a 3k oval; no stone type or clarity given
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab ring similar to the asker's wish list; about 3k, which she felt was plenty
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2 ctpear–2026Fiancé paid about 3k all in; lab pear with a halo and marquise side stones
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said––––She felt guilty that her husband spent even this much
$3,000––––2026Asked her fiance to keep it under 1k; he spent 3k anyway
$3,000–––––Couple split the ring cost 50/50
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab ring much like the one the person asking described; whole ring about 3k by her guess of what husband spent
$3,000––––2006Retired couple worth millions; upgraded her ring 20 years ago for about a tenth of 30k
$3,000–––––Couple both earn more than the person asking; picked about $3k for the ring to prioritize a house, travel and kids instead
$3,000–––––Ring co-designed with her husband for about 3k; both high earners who chose not to buy a mined diamond
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Husband chose a lab diamond ring that fit their budget; 3k all in
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––gold2026Engaged; an Etsy maker combined design elements she liked after a local jeweler was too pricey; lab stone, solid gold, around 3k
$3,000–––––Said yes with no ring at the proposal; picked one out together afterward
$3,000–––––Household income about four times the asker's 105k, with a kid; ring was 3k and she still feels guilty about it
$3,000Natural diamond1 ct––2000About 20 years later she bought a 1 ct center with two side stones, one the old diamond, using Beanie Baby sale money
$3,000Natural diamond1 ct–gold2002Canadian-mined diamond ring from her ex-husband; later tried to sell it for far less than paid
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctmarquise–20264ct center stone with 0.75ct side stones on each side, 5.5ct total weight
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.6 ctround––Bought an old mine cut diamond ring on the resale market, offered as a ballpark comparison for the asker's antique ring
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.7 ctmarquisegold–Pave band with 10 accent stones and a hidden halo, bought at a major jewelry store; could have been cheaper elsewhere
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctheartwhite gold–Custom heart-shaped fancy blue lab diamond; bezel setting cost more for the custom fit
$3,000–0.38 ct–––Warranty replacement after the band broke; total weight with accents 1ct, center 3/8ct; only paid price differences each time
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum–Ornate filigree ring with emerald, onyx and natural accent diamonds; found a true jeweler after mall-store visits
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––Husband chose a top-of-the-line lab diamond, more than she felt was necessary
$3,000Natural diamond––gold–Dainty natural diamond ring in 18k gold; late 20s/early 30s couple
$3,000Lab-grown diamond–––2026Spent about 3k on Rare Carat; writer says it was a good experience
$3,000––––2016Buyer paid off the ring over a year while hiding it, proposed a year later; his wife still wears it ten years on
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Engagement ring with lab-grown diamonds
$3,000Moissanite––––Chose moissanite for at least 2 carats of coverage on her finger
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–white gold2024Upgraded from a smaller 20-year-old ring; 2.51ct F VS1 ideal-cut CVD lab diamond on a 14k white gold tulip setting, 2mm band
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–14k white gold solitaire hidden halo; bought locally rather than at a chain store like Jared or Kay
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Bought locally; says a similar ring could be found cheaper online, e.g. Blue Nile
$3,000–3 ctround––3ct round with setting, current ring; far cheaper than the first, possibly lab-grown
$3,000–––––Bought a ring online (not Brilliant Earth); separately paid $200 at a local high-end jeweler to redo all 50 prongs after they arrived faulty
$3,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctemerald–2026Custom gold setting cost double the diamond itself; whole ring came in around $3k for a 4ct IGI-certified stone
$3,000–––––Writer recalls spending around $3k, stated imprecisely as 'I think'
$3,000Sapphire2 ct–gold2026Trilogy ring with 2 ct center sapphire and 1 ct tw side trillions; would have been about $2k had they not waited while gold prices rose; handmade in the US
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantyellow gold–3ct radiant lab diamond bought loose, set locally in a custom pave setting with hidden halo, a little over $3k
$3,000–5 ct–––No other specs given
$3,000––oval––Oval stone with nice sparkle, happy with the purchase
$3,000–––––Ordered the wrong size on this Costco ring and returned it easily in store
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Designing her own ring with a custom band; landed on a 1.5ct stone instead of the smaller natural one she expected, within a roughly $3k budget
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Lab ring similar in style to the asker's; owner loves it
$3,000Moissanite––––Custom ring with a 5ct moissanite center stone and 1ct baguette accents cost about $3k after 6 years together
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctmarquiseyellow gold2025The asker's signet ring, ordered online during a Black Friday sale, a bit under the site's list price
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctmarquisewhite gold2025Partner's matching signet ring in white gold, same Black Friday order
$3,000Lab-grown diamond––––Asked for a lab diamond and got exactly the setting she wanted; would have been about $30k under the three-months rule
$3,000–––––Income similar to the asker's stated $80-120k bracket
$3,000Moissanite––––Originally listed at $4,000 but bought on sale for $3,000; 5-carat moissanite center stone
$3,000–––––Unique custom ring for his fiancee; says his income is in a similar range to what others here reported
$3,000–2 ctcushiongold2026Ring was priced near $5,000 in the case; jeweler lowered it to match a $3,000 budget; 2ct square cushion on a 14k gold band
$3,000Other gemstone1.6 ct–gold–1.6ct natural blue topaz center with natural side diamonds, 18k gold
$3,000––––1996First engagement ring, similar design to the asker's flea-market find but with much smaller stones; later sold after a divorce
$3,000–––––Around $3k, most expensive thing owned besides a car; removed for gym, gardening, baking and intense cleaning
$3,000Natural diamond––platinum–He picked it to match her taste; she planned to buy her own roughly $30 silver-and-crystal band separately
$3,000––––2026Originally quoted over $7k elsewhere; this small-business jeweler (Chelsie) brought it to about this price with added customizations
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Loose diamond from Calvera; ring custom-built through CustomMade including shipping
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.24 ct–white gold–Lab-grown diamond ring bought while saving for a house
$3,000Lab-grown diamond–––2026About $3k; she asked for lab to save for a bigger house; income is the fiancé's (three months of his pay put at about $25k)
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2006About $3k ring bought 20 years before the comment; rarely worn now because of arthritis
$3,000–––––Designed together with a jeweler in-store; eloped and put savings toward the honeymoon and a house instead of a pricier ring
$3,000Sapphire––gold–Sapphire center stone with diamond side stones on an 18k gold band, bought online
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctcushiongold–Bought in the LA jewelry district; sees no reason to pay more for natural
$3,000––––2026Writer offered to pay part of the $3k ring cost; partner accepted
$3,000––––2026Mall-store ring listed at $5,500, negotiated down to just over $3,000 cash plus a warranty, saving almost $2,500
$3,000Sapphire3.11 ct–––Sapphire, 7.14x8.83x6.10mm dimensions, GIA certified; post title phrased cost as 'cost was 3000 grand', read as about $3,000 from context
$3,080Lab-grown diamond1.92 ct––2025Cathedral pave setting from a local jeweler; loose lab stone bought separately online; tried on several settings before deciding
$3,100Sapphire2.3 ctcushion––Teal cushion-cut sapphire, 7.6x6.9x4.6mm dimensions, GIA certified
$3,100Moissanite––gold–18k gold setting
$3,100Sapphire1.29 ctroundwhite gold–Teal-colored sapphire centre stone with two 0.42ct side diamonds
$3,100Other gemstone1.5 ct–––Used a cubic zirconia stone in a $3k band setting instead of a real diamond, calling it his best decision
$3,100Lab-grown diamond7.22 ctovalgold2026Self-assembled 14k gold cathedral setting; price includes taxes
$3,100–––––Custom made ring (setting and stone) in a similar style to the asker's design
$3,150Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctemeraldplatinum2026Custom platinum ring with a 4.01ct lab-grown pink diamond; shopped around and thickened the band per community advice
$3,150–3.5 ctradiant––Radiant stone with a diamond-accented custom band from eastwestgem co; budget cap had been 5k
$3,150Lab-grown diamond2.98 ctoval–2025Jeweler set the online-bought stone after failing to upsell their own lab-grown stone; quoted over 8000 replacement value for insurance
$3,170–––––Signet-style setting with heavy gold; also paid $650 each for a pair of custom guard rings on either side, not included in this total
$3,200Natural diamond1 ct–––Saved money buying secondhand and choosing a warmer (lower color grade) diamond
$3,200–––––She wanted to cap at $2k, he was thinking $4-5k, they split the difference
$3,200Natural diamond––––Natural solitaire, price after tax; writer lived on a grad stipend of about 1600 USD a month at the time
$3,200–––––Mentions the ring's purchase price while explaining that Jewelers Mutual insures it at cost rather than a higher appraisal
$3,200–––––Current fiance's engagement ring; writer says the amount spent isn't the point, it symbolizes their strong bond
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.02 ct––20243-stone ring, 1.02ct center with two 0.25ct side stones, boyfriend paid $3,200 total
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctpear–2024Bezel setting, described as super comfortable to wear
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctpear––Second purchase by same writer; complete ring with setting bought overseas
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.24 ct–white gold2024Custom design made low-set to avoid spinning while playing piano
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.02 ct–––Price includes a separate 0.55ct E VVS2 side stone plus the setting
$3,200––––2025Writer's own ring from a woman-owned Brooklyn studio
$3,200Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct–––Antique ring, roughly 100 years old
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval––Cathedral setting, tulip prongs, pave bridge; bought when lab diamonds were pricier than now
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct–gold–2.6ct stone bought separately, then a 14k setting with side stones added, totaling about $3200
$3,200–––––Fiance paid for her engagement ring; he later bought himself a $2600 gun as his own counterpart gift
$3,200Lab-grown diamond––––Custom design plus a lab stone; cheaper stone options were available but not chosen
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctovalgold2026Lab oval diamond in Indian gold band with marquise and princess side stones; keeps a CZ travel dupe too
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald––Fiance designed the ring from scratch
$3,200Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–––2ct diamond with a halo of small diamonds around the center stone and on the setting
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––5ct lab diamond ring
$3,238Lab-grown diamond3.85 ctcushion–2023Total included tax; RareCarat price-matched a pricier Ritani listing; setting swapped to a hidden halo plain band (+$10) pre-shipping
$3,250Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold–Three-stone oval lab diamond ring (3.5 tcw total, 1.5ct center plus two 1ct sides) on sale from $7,000; combined household income around $600k
$3,250Diamond, lab or natural not said5 ct–platinum–Earlier ring: same size 5 ct G VS1 old European stone cost 1300, hinged setting added for 1950
$3,250Natural diamond0.92 ctovalplatinum–2mm platinum band, bought before lab-grown diamonds became widely popular; writer unsure of exact price
$3,284––––2025Stone bought from Luvansh, setting made by David Klass; a hinged setting pushed it over the $3000 budget
$3,299Natural diamond–––2015Design stocked only in warehouses, never online; appraised a month after purchase; 8 years of daily wear; matching band from a local jeweler
$3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2017Appraisal done by the same jeweler who made the ring, valued about 50% above the purchase price
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquiserose gold202318k rose gold band with a 3.05ct F VS1 marquise; says there are better deals out there than the asker's price
$3,300Lab-grown diamond2.04 ct–platinum20252.04ct lab diamond bought separately for $1500; a referred local custom jeweler quoted $1800 for a 2.5mm platinum solitaire band, size 6, still being made
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Fiancé upgraded from a cheaper option, switching from moissanite to a lab diamond, spending $3,300 total to show her worth.
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.87 ct–two tone–Stone price-matched from Calavera via Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime care plan and custom cathedral setting with euro shank
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.87 ct–yellow gold–Diamond price-matched to Calavera through Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime Jewelers Mutual care plan, about $2,900 without it
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Specific design saved for five years; lab diamond chosen for cost and ethics; got a discount through a family connection at the jeweler
$3,300––––2025Bought from a reputable online jeweler after comparing about 25 stores; hand-made band, not mass produced
$3,300Moissanite––yellow gold–3.5 ct DEW moissanite center stone ($600) set in a $3,300 halo, pave-band ring in yellow gold
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Budgeted $500-1500 for moissanite but fiance spent entire summer internship pay on a lab diamond instead
$3,300Natural diamond2.55 ctradiant––Loose stone sourced separately; jeweler charging to set it in 18k gold, described as under $3.5k total
$3,300Lab-grown diamond2.55 ct–gold2026Bought stone separately for $500; jeweler setting it in 18k gold with pave diamonds and a birthstone in the band
$3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said2.55 ctradiantgold2026Stone bought separately; setting upgraded from a $2,200 14k-gold quote to $2,800 for an 18k cathedral with french pave, engravings and birthstones; CAD approved, ring in production.
$3,315Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctroundplatinum2023Bought a 3.01ct lab diamond platinum solitaire as a stock setting, whole ring together
$3,350Lab-grown diamond–pear–2022Pear-shaped halo ring from Macy's discounted lab-grown line, bought around 50-55% off list price
$3,400Lab-grown diamond1.34 ctpear––Two 0.25 ct side stones plus micro pave diamonds on a 14k cathedral setting; sourced everything herself to cut cost
$3,400–––––Budget was $3k, ended up over after tax and picking desired specs
$3,400Sapphire0.74 ct–––Natural sapphire with diamond halo and band; budget was a friend's spend plus 500, slightly exceeded

What buyers asked about a $3,000 ring

Can you get a nice marquise engagement ring on a $3,000 budget?

Yes, many buyers paid well under $3,000 for lab-grown marquise rings around one to two carats, especially by buying the loose stone online and having a local jeweler set it.

Can you get a toi-et-moi ring with an oval lab diamond and an emerald for a 1-3k budget in NYC?

A custom jeweler estimated roughly $3,000-$4,000 for that toi-et-moi design once two stones, a thick band and current high gold prices are factored in, suggesting the buyer stay under 1.5 carats per stone to get closer to budget.

How much lab diamond can $3,000 buy in the 1.3 to 1.5 carat range?

One shopper with that exact budget and size range was steered away from an overpriced 1.34 ct listing and instead bought a stone from Adiamor; another buyer notes a 2.07 ct ideal-cut lab diamond from Adiamor cost only a couple hundred dollars more than a smaller, lower-quality stone elsewhere.

Is $3,000 a good price for a 2.2 carat F color super ideal lab diamond ring?

No, the community called it a bad deal, since comparable or larger lab diamond rings elsewhere went for $1,000-$2,200.

Is $3,000 a good price for a 2.2 carat lab diamond ring from an online retailer?

Most say no; a diamond wholesaler estimated the stone alone should cost about $500-$700 and the whole ring closer to $1,000-$1,200, making the $3k asking price roughly a 1000% markup versus a typical 350-500%.

Is $3,000 for a plain platinum men's wedding band too expensive?

Most buyers agreed it's high; they paid or were quoted $600-$1,500 for similar plain platinum bands elsewhere, with luxury brand-name and full-service brick-and-mortar shops running highest.

Is $3000 per carat a fair price for an untreated 2.88 carat Sri Lankan sapphire?

Multiple buyers called this a fair to good price given the stone's size, unheated origin and the cutter's reputation for precision work, with one noting $3000 per carat would normally be high for sapphire but is justified by this combination of size, color and clarity.

Is $5000 (about $2100 for the setting and $3000 for a small round sapphire) a fair price for an engagement ring like this?

Opinions were split: several called $3000 for a small circular sapphire excessive, noting natural sapphires around 0.7-1ct typically run roughly £1200-2000, and one buyer's much larger 2.55ct sapphire cost only $2000, calling $3000 for a small stone 'nuts'; others said the price could make sense for a high-clarity, unheated stone.

Is $7.3k a fair price for a roughly 1ct G VS1 natural diamond?

Opinions split: several said 6.5k-7.5k is the going rate for those specs and pointed to a much higher Rapaport per-carat price as justification, while others called it high given comparable or bigger stones with better cut or lower clarity could be found for similar or less money.

Is a $3,000 custom 18k setting overpriced?

Most buyers called $3k high for a custom setting even accounting for hand craftsmanship, though one jeweler noted this particular antique-style half-bezel design was unusually labor-intensive to make.

Is a $3,000 offer on a 1.5-carat GIA diamond ring a good deal to take?

Yes, several answers urged taking it immediately since it beats the typical 10-30% resale range and jewelers themselves buy at under a third of retail.

Is a $3,000-4,000 engagement ring budget too low on a $75k salary?

Most buyers said 3-4k AUD is more than reasonable, even generous, on a $75k income; actual reported spends across the discussion ranged from a couple of dollars to over $40,000, so there is no fixed amount tied to income.

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 220 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

A ring counts in this band when the buyer paid between $2,500 and $3,499 for the engagement ring as a whole. The window reaches further above $3,000 than below it, as budgets are stretched far more often than undershot. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.