engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 23 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports from $3,146 to $4,000

This page runs from $3,146 to $4,000.

Previous · Page 23 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$3,146Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctpeargold2025Self-sourced loose diamond option; $1,100 covers design, mold and tulip setting from a small local jeweler
$3,150Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctemeraldplatinum2026Custom platinum ring with a 4.01ct lab-grown pink diamond; shopped around and thickened the band per community advice
$3,150–3.5 ctradiant––Radiant stone with a diamond-accented custom band from eastwestgem co; budget cap had been 5k
$3,150Lab-grown diamond2.98 ctoval–2025Jeweler set the online-bought stone after failing to upsell their own lab-grown stone; quoted over 8000 replacement value for insurance
$3,170–––––Signet-style setting with heavy gold; also paid $650 each for a pair of custom guard rings on either side, not included in this total
$3,200Natural diamond0.4 ct–platinum2023Quote for a Catbird Swan Lake ring with rose-cut diamonds, 0.4 ct total weight across several stones not one center stone; platinum version, 14K white gold option was $2,900; still deciding, not bought yet
$3,200Natural diamond1 ct–––Saved money buying secondhand and choosing a warmer (lower color grade) diamond
$3,200–––––She wanted to cap at $2k, he was thinking $4-5k, they split the difference
$3,200Natural diamond––––Natural solitaire, price after tax; writer lived on a grad stipend of about 1600 USD a month at the time
$3,200–––––Mentions the ring's purchase price while explaining that Jewelers Mutual insures it at cost rather than a higher appraisal
$3,200–––––Current fiance's engagement ring; writer says the amount spent isn't the point, it symbolizes their strong bond
£3,200Other gemstone–––20200.7ct sapphire centre with two small diamond side stones
£3,200––––2023Writer's son's recent ring, as reported by writer
£3,200–––––Described as about two months' salary at the time
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.02 ct––20243-stone ring, 1.02ct center with two 0.25ct side stones, boyfriend paid $3,200 total
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctpear–2024Bezel setting, described as super comfortable to wear
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5.6 ctpear––Second purchase by same writer; complete ring with setting bought overseas
C$3,200–––––Custom design with a diamond center and emerald leaf-shaped accents; got a slight discount knowing the jeweller
$3,200Lab-grown diamond1.24 ct–white gold2024Custom design made low-set to avoid spinning while playing piano
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.02 ct–––Price includes a separate 0.55ct E VVS2 side stone plus the setting
$3,200––––2025Writer's own ring from a woman-owned Brooklyn studio
$3,200Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct–––Antique ring, roughly 100 years old
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval––Cathedral setting, tulip prongs, pave bridge; bought when lab diamonds were pricier than now
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct–gold–2.6ct stone bought separately, then a 14k setting with side stones added, totaling about $3200
$3,200–––––Fiance paid for her engagement ring; he later bought himself a $2600 gun as his own counterpart gift
$3,200Lab-grown diamond––––Custom design plus a lab stone; cheaper stone options were available but not chosen
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctovalgold2026Lab oval diamond in Indian gold band with marquise and princess side stones; keeps a CZ travel dupe too
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct–gold–Quote for a custom 2-2.5ct lab piece they considered before buying the vintage ring instead
3,200Lab-grown diamond––––Designed together; she gave no minimum size requirement, he decided after the first viewing
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald––Fiance designed the ring from scratch
$3,200Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–––2ct diamond with a halo of small diamonds around the center stone and on the setting
$3,200Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––5ct lab diamond ring
$3,238Lab-grown diamond3.85 ctcushion–2023Total included tax; RareCarat price-matched a pricier Ritani listing; setting swapped to a hidden halo plain band (+$10) pre-shipping
$3,250Natural diamond1.04 ct–yellow gold1988Writer's father's 1988 purchase, per his original receipt; the ring was appraised at $4,950 the same year; small diamonds on the setting band total an extra 0.02ct
$3,250Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold–Three-stone oval lab diamond ring (3.5 tcw total, 1.5ct center plus two 1ct sides) on sale from $7,000; combined household income around $600k
$3,250Diamond, lab or natural not said5 ct–platinum–Earlier ring: same size 5 ct G VS1 old European stone cost 1300, hinged setting added for 1950
$3,250Natural diamond0.92 ctovalplatinum–2mm platinum band, bought before lab-grown diamonds became widely popular; writer unsure of exact price
£3,250–1 ct–yellow gold–Pre-owned ring with pear-shaped diamond shoulder stones on a 24 carat gold band, found at a local jeweller rather than a chain; monthly income after tax was about £1,800
$3,250Natural diamond0.61 ctround–2023Preowned Tiffany-design solitaire with original papers, price given as a USD equivalent; buyer was deciding whether to purchase
$3,284––––2025Stone bought from Luvansh, setting made by David Klass; a hinged setting pushed it over the $3000 budget
$3,299Natural diamond–––2015Design stocked only in warehouses, never online; appraised a month after purchase; 8 years of daily wear; matching band from a local jeweler
€3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctmarquise–2025Quote for a hand-forged 18kt yellow gold setting with side stones plus a 1ct marquise graded 'top wesselton' VS1; buyers called it overpriced
$3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2017Appraisal done by the same jeweler who made the ring, valued about 50% above the purchase price
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquiserose gold202318k rose gold band with a 3.05ct F VS1 marquise; says there are better deals out there than the asker's price
A$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––A radio competition prize of $5k covered the ring plus a car service
$3,300Lab-grown diamond2.04 ct–platinum20252.04ct lab diamond bought separately for $1500; a referred local custom jeweler quoted $1800 for a 2.5mm platinum solitaire band, size 6, still being made
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Fiancé upgraded from a cheaper option, switching from moissanite to a lab diamond, spending $3,300 total to show her worth.
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.87 ct–two tone–Stone price-matched from Calavera via Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime care plan and custom cathedral setting with euro shank
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.87 ct–yellow gold–Diamond price-matched to Calavera through Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime Jewelers Mutual care plan, about $2,900 without it
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Specific design saved for five years; lab diamond chosen for cost and ethics; got a discount through a family connection at the jeweler
$3,300––––2025Bought from a reputable online jeweler after comparing about 25 stores; hand-made band, not mass produced
$3,300Moissanite––yellow gold–3.5 ct DEW moissanite center stone ($600) set in a $3,300 halo, pave-band ring in yellow gold
$3,300Lab-grown diamond––––Budgeted $500-1500 for moissanite but fiance spent entire summer internship pay on a lab diamond instead
$3,300Lab-grown diamond5.43 ctovalgold2026A friend's custom-made 18k setting, cited as a much better deal than another buyer's $10k ring
$3,300Natural diamond2.55 ctradiant––Loose stone sourced separately; jeweler charging to set it in 18k gold, described as under $3.5k total
$3,300Lab-grown diamond2.55 ct–gold2026Bought stone separately for $500; jeweler setting it in 18k gold with pave diamonds and a birthstone in the band
$3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said2.55 ctradiantgold2026Stone bought separately; setting upgraded from a $2,200 14k-gold quote to $2,800 for an 18k cathedral with french pave, engravings and birthstones; CAD approved, ring in production.
$3,304Lab-grown diamond3.58 ctovalwhite gold202320th-anniversary gift; loose stone set into wife's existing wedding band with a hidden halo of small diamonds; slight bow-tie but she liked it in person.
3,308Natural diamond0.8 ct–platinum20230.8ct with small light blue side diamonds; platinum chosen to avoid a silver-allergy risk; certified but lab not named
$3,315Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctroundplatinum2023Bought a 3.01ct lab diamond platinum solitaire as a stock setting, whole ring together
$3,340Lab-grown diamond2 ctemeraldgold2025Price after a 10% coupon for a 2ct emerald-cut lab diamond ring in 14k gold; exact style his girlfriend had picked out years earlier
$3,350Lab-grown diamond–pear–2022Pear-shaped halo ring from Macy's discounted lab-grown line, bought around 50-55% off list price
$3,370Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctradiantyellow gold2024A friend's ring, found via Instagram; diamond pave band and basket
€3,380Lab-grown diamond1.35 ctovaltwo tone2024Custom hearts-and-arrows oval, GCAL 8X cert; stone all-in ~2570 EUR incl. import fees, custom 18k gold/platinum-prong setting all-in ~810 EUR
C$3,400–––––Ring bought ahead of the proposal, not yet insured
$3,400Lab-grown diamond1.61 ctovalyellow gold2026Quote for a 14k setting with a hidden diamond halo (F color, VS side stones) and a petite ~1.8mm band
C$3,400–1.05 ct–platinum–Platinum ring with two 0.25ct side stones
$3,400Lab-grown diamond1.34 ctpear––Two 0.25 ct side stones plus micro pave diamonds on a 14k cathedral setting; sourced everything herself to cut cost
$3,400–––––Budget was $3k, ended up over after tax and picking desired specs
$3,400Sapphire0.74 ct–––Natural sapphire with diamond halo and band; budget was a friend's spend plus 500, slightly exceeded
C$3,400Lab-grown diamond1.34 ct–rose gold–Setting cost about $2,200 with pave diamonds under the basket; stone and setting both bought on sale; band is a separate split diamond band; total for both rings about $5,500 CAD
3,400Diamond, lab or natural not said––white gold–About CHF 3400 for an infinity-band style ring with small diamonds in white gold, from Meister, which includes lifetime servicing and stone replacement
$3,400Lab-grown diamond5.04 ctroundgold202540th-anniversary upgrade: 5.04ct F VS1 H&A round, 18k gold setting; setting alone $1,250, total with stone & band $3,400
C$3,400–0.76 ct–––Ring with a 0.76ct center stone plus 22 small accent diamonds around the band, paid about $3,400 CAD
3,400Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–––Advises going lab grown to afford a bigger carat size
$3,460Natural diamond0.75 ctothergold2025Bario Neal quote: $3,460 listed, 17% sale brings it to just under $3,000; 0.75ct raw natural diamond, 0.85ct total, 14k reclaimed gold, champagne tones, free resizing, pay shipping
£3,485Natural diamond0.77 ctround––Screened online for HCA under 2 (got 1.3); site showed $2,940 for the stone, £3,485 as the total with setting
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Pawn shop asking price for a secondhand ring the person asking was deciding on, set at half the store's appraised value; the person asking ultimately did not have the money to buy
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–––Total carat weight across black and white diamonds in a halo-style ring; now divorced and selling
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctemerald–2025The asker's coworker's ring, bought from a jeweler in a shopping mall, cited as a cheaper comparison
$3,500Natural diamond1.22 ct–white gold20251.22ct is total weight, not center alone; buyers said center stone is closer to 0.7ct with a halo
$3,500Natural diamond1.02 ctround–2025Brick-and-mortar quote ahead of a planned proposal; store pushed higher clarity citing resale, which buyers said to ignore
€3,500Other gemstone0.51 ct–rose gold2026Quote for an 18k rose-gold ring set with a 0.51ct natural tourmaline plus smaller natural sapphires; most buyers call it overpriced
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalplatinum–Platinum band with 1.5-carat oval center stone, called all-inclusive; wrote for a price check
$3,500––––2011Diamond ring with a matching band bought at a local store that was closing one of its two locations
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said0.97 ctroundwhite gold201618kt white gold; 22 small accent diamonds (.05ct total, per the person asking); assembled by a family friend/wholesaler; resized twice free; no GIA
C$3,500––––2021Custom ring paid for in January that year
£3,500–––––Funded partly by inheritance from writer's late grandmother; chosen together with her father
£3,500–––––Saved up over a few months beforehand; writer thinks financing a ring is a bad idea
$3,500–––––Both stone and setting bought on sale
$3,500Natural diamond0.3 ct––2021Fiance's original diamond ring; lab diamonds and moissanite were not easily available where they lived at the time
$3,500Natural diamond––––Preloved/pre-owned ring bought used, appraised well above what they paid
$3,500Natural diamond––––Bought a preloved mined-diamond ring appraised at $18k; chose secondhand over lab to avoid new mined-diamond sourcing
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ctpearwhite gold20222 ct pear in a classic white gold cathedral setting, all-in price; cited as proof that lab rings from web jewelers are affordable
$3,500–––––3% figure is of his annual income; custom infinity band design with 20 small diamonds of varying colors, white gold, no rhodium plating
$3,500––––2022Custom gemstone design in progress, expected to come in under $3.5k
$3,500–––––Semi-custom: chose the stone and one of the store's settings
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold–Custom lab diamond ring being made, about $1,500 under an up-to-$8k budget
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2022Only knows the ring's price falls somewhere between $2k and $5k, not the exact amount
$3,500Sapphire––––Sapphire center stone with diamond side stones, made by a local jeweller; argued cheap chain/online rings bend and lose stones over time
£3,500Sapphire–––2022Chose a sapphire over a diamond; partner's salary is £80k
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Returned this Costco engagement ring after finding a cheaper, bigger, better-graded lab diamond ring at James Allen
A$3,500–––––Ethically sourced diamond ring for an ex-partner, priced in the $2,000-5,000 range
A$3,500–––––Bought on special for $3.5k; technically a $5k value ring
A$3,500–––––Bought during Boxing Day sales, ring priced around $3,500
A$3,500–––––Wanted a decent-sized stone that would look good; partner didn't care about size but writer did
A$3,500Moissanite––platinum–Platinum trilogy setting with a 9mm moissanite centre stone from Cullen Jewellery
A$3,500–––––Similar salary to the person asking
A$3,500–––––Custom Celtic-knot design; prioritised design over stone size on a combined 200k income
A$3,500–––––Chose stone and design in person at a nice jeweller, before travelling overseas
A$3,500–––––Suggests shopping sales, including pawn shops, for better prices than jewellery stores
A$3,500–––––Bought during a sale planned six months ahead
C$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Bought this engagement ring, not a custom order, before a breakup ended the relationship
$3,500Sapphire1.8 ct––20231.8ct Nigerian sapphire engagement ring, about 3.5k
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.08 ctcushionyellow gold–Custom 2.08ct elongated cushion black diamond ring in 14k yellow gold
$3,500Moissanite––rose gold2023Quote the buyer received for a 1ct moissanite plus a rose-gold setting they were considering, cited to show the asker's ring was priced too low
£3,500–––platinum2016Platinum solitaire, well-cut diamond
£3,500Other gemstone––––Sapphire centre with diamonds around, similar style to Princess Diana's ring
£3,500–––––Saved for a few months; not considered necessary but liked the ring
£3,500–––––Avoided high-street chains because of quality and allergy concerns; bought from Liangs
$3,500–––other–Hand-forged setting in 18k gold and platinum; stones added on top of the setting cost to reach the 3500 total
$3,500Lab-grown diamond–––2023Writer's own new lab-grown ring cost half of the $7k ring being discussed, with a stone about 0.5ct smaller
$3,500Natural diamond2 ctpear––Figure is their 3-4k budget, set just after buying a fixer-upper; picked a heavily included, cloudy natural stone over lab, sapphire or moissanite
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1 ct–gold20231ct lab diamond, plain gold band, top-tier GIA specs
$3,500–1.5 ct–white gold2010Writer's own 1.5ct white-gold estate engagement ring, once thought a huge splurge; valued mainly for sentimental reasons.
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––platinum–Bought a ring in a platinum setting of similar size, cut and clarity to the one discussed here; an independent appraisal came back far higher than the price paid
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Estimates around $3,500; ring not received yet; says a natural stone with same specs would have run 3x boyfriend's monthly salary
$3,500–––––Dream ring priced between $3k and $4k (midpoint used); still being made by the jeweler, won't see it until her birthday
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctradiant–2024Bought for a girlfriend not yet proposed to; diamond $2,250, setting custom-made from a Frank Darling-inspired design, total out the door about $3,500; jeweler also price-matched an earlier Ritani quote
C$3,500––––2024Bought during a sale last month; price stated after tax
$3,500Natural diamond0.76 ct–––Bought years ago; used as a comparison point for how much cheaper lab diamonds have become since
$3,500Sapphire3.36 ctroundgold2024Self-designed 3.36ct natural Ceylon sapphire with 3 round + 1 marquise diamond side stones; sapphire bought loose at an Asia gem expo, setting made by a local jeweller
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.36 ct–white gold–Triple-excellent cut, 14k white gold with 0.50ct natural side stones; vendor is Fantasy Diamonds on W 47th St, ask for David
$3,500Lab-grown diamond4.22 ctcushion–2024Elongated cushion stone bought online, then custom set locally for about $1,000
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum2024Price-matched a StoneAlgo lab report number for $2,000 off; total includes a care plan
$3,500Natural diamond1.65 ct–yellow gold2024Writer's son's custom ring; 1.65 total carat weight (tcw); paid extra for a certificate since it will be insured; bought at a local jewelry exchange of independent jewelers
A$3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Wedding cost about 30k; also buying a 650k property together
A$3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Partner picked the ring
$3,500–5.01 ct–––Custom Cliq shank design, all-in price
£3,500–––––Custom design based on a style partner had sent him; about 1 week's gross pay rather than the touted 3 months
£3,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Proposed the year before the comment; earns about £12k/month after tax; 3ct already looks borderline obnoxious per writer, a natural equivalent would run about £40k more
£3,500Natural diamond0.6 ct–––About two-thirds of a month's take-home; insurance certificate valued it higher than the price paid
£3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold2024Bought a few months before the comment; 18ct gold band; describes it as ethical and identical to natural
£3,500–––––Bespoke design; turned out partner didn't actually want a diamond
£3,500–––––Proposed on Brooklyn Bridge in New York
£3,500–––––Picked the stone himself; wanted something that represented the couple, not the price
$3,500Lab-grown diamond4 ctemeraldyellow gold2025Chose the yellow gold emerald-cut option and had the Etsy jeweler upsize the center stone to 4 carats to match the competing ring; total came to about $3,500 including tax
$3,500Other gemstone––rose gold2025Quote only, not bought: alexandrite ring w/ moissanite+sapphire accents, rose gold, from CustomMade; called overpriced, buyer looking elsewhere
$3,500–––––Husband's income is at least this much per year
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ct–platinum–Buyer's brother bought this for his wife; platinum setting with diamonds along the band, offered as a cheaper alternative
€3,500Natural diamond0.7 ctemeraldgold2025Found the exact ring wanted at an auction house right before a jeweller appointment; newly made from recycled materials with a full GIA report, thin gold band with platinum claws; not married yet
$3,500–––––Custom-made from scratch with more intricate detailing than the asker's inspiration photo; came with warranty and could be insured
A$3,500–––––A more traditional friend's ring, reported by the writer
A$3,500–––––Grandmother's diamonds reset into a new ring; paid only for gold and labour
$3,500–0.5 ct–––Half-carat solitaire with pave diamonds on a twist band; her plain white-gold wedding band was a separate $80
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––gold–Chose lab over mined to avoid ethical concerns; used a local jeweler instead of a cheaper online stone+setting combo
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Wanted lab from the start so cost wasn't a major worry; husband expected to spend more
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2.06 ct–platinum2025Chose to pay a small local jeweler more than buying online, for the relationship and service; ring total includes a lifetime care plan; says a natural equivalent would run about $26,000
$3,500–––––Her own engagement ring was listed at $5,000 but she got it for $3,500 on a Black Friday sale; still finds it pricey to travel with.
$3,500Other gemstone––––Natural emerald center stone surrounded by diamonds; wedding band bought separately afterward.
$3,500–––––No further detail given beyond the price and that it was custom made.
$3,500Sapphire1.37 ct––2025A sapphire with lab diamonds surrounding it, bought March 2025; recommends small business jewelers over big box stores for better value
$3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Won a 2500 design credit from the jeweler via a giveaway, partner paid the remaining 1000 out of pocket; her own wedding band separately budgeted at 500, his future band estimated 500-1500
C$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctradiantwhite gold–Custom pave band adds about 2.4ct of E/F accent diamonds, 5.5ct total weight including the band
$3,500Sapphire1.37 ctmarquisegold–Marquise sapphire center with almost 1 carat of surrounding lab diamonds, from a small woman-owned jeweler
$3,500Lab-grown diamond4.2 ct–––Switched after feeling overcharged by a local jeweler; suggests not ruling out online vendors
$3,500–––––Original engagement ring bought young with little money; later reset into an upgraded ring keeping side diamonds and hidden prong stones
$3,500Sapphire––––Purple sapphire engagement ring, worn daily for about 10 years, then less after prong repair
$3,500Moissanite––––10th-anniversary ring with moissanite, diamond and ruby, cost about the same as her original sapphire ring
C$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctcushion––Taxes and shipping included; got quotes from 12 Canadian jewellers, most $5,000+, home province wanted $9,000+ for the same ring; went out of province for the best price
$3,500Lab-grown diamond–––2025Originally wanted moissanite under $1,500 but fell for a different lab diamond ring instead
$3,500Natural diamond0.67 ct–gold1995Gold setting with a 2/3 carat mined diamond, bought about 30 years before the comment, given risk of loss/theft and wanting to save for a house instead
$3,500Sapphire––rose gold–Natural sapphire center with diamond side stones, under a $3,500 budget
$3,500Natural diamond–princessyellow gold2025Family-owned jeweler stone with GIA report; I1 clarity, thick girdle, oversized table, fair symmetry; still inside return window before proposal
$3,500––––2025Settled on this budget after asking partner in advance what he'd be comfortable spending
$3,500–––––Would retail around 25000, but cost much less since they know the goldsmith and supplied their own gold and stones
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalgold–Gold band with two 0.33ct lab baguette side stones; sized up from what she originally wanted
$3,500Natural diamond––gold2025Second ring stacked on writer's ring finger, custom-made, gold with salt-and-pepper diamonds.
$3,500Lab-grown diamond0.92 ct––2019Lab-grown .92 ct diamond ring; believes much bigger rings than this usually mean debt unless the buyer is wealthy
$3,500Natural diamond–––2025Bought at Costco, which the writer said sells only natural diamonds, for $3,500; appraised by a local jeweler at $11,500 shortly after
$3,500Moissanite––––Told her lawyer partner not to buy a diamond; chose a moissanite ring instead to prioritize savings toward retiring at 50.
$3,500–––––Husband earned well over 100k when they got engaged after 7 years together; she still owns the ring 10+ years later.
$3,500––––2000Ring about 3-4k; married 26+ years so year approximate; she declined husband's upgrade offer for sentimental reasons
$3,500––––1994Unplanned proposal; she picked her own ring for around 3500, less than he expected; married 32 years
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Writer wasn't fully certain of the exact price
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctmarquise–2026Halo setting; got a complimentary wedding band included free with a good deal
$3,500Natural diamond––platinum–Bought on sale; listed price unchanged for 5 years at $4,600
$3,500–––––Writer notes friends who preferred natural over lab diamonds spent over $10k by comparison
$3,500–––––Custom made with a center diamond plus birthstones on each side
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold20252ct lab diamond ring in 14k gold with two 0.35ct side diamonds on each side, bought about a year before this comment
$3,500Natural diamond0.8 ctradiantplatinum1997First ring, custom made
$3,500Natural diamond0.75 ctpear––Chose from finalists within a sub-$5K total budget; believes it's natural but isn't fully certain
C$3,500–––––Engagement ring picked together with husband; her wedding band was $250, his vintage wedding band only $80
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.6 ct–––Partner paid under $3500 for a 3.6ct lab diamond with a custom band; household income is six figures
C$3,500Other gemstone1.6 ct–gold202518k gold ring with a natural 1.6ct blue topaz instead of a diamond
$3,500–––––Got a deal through a sister-in-law who owns a jewelry store; ring appraised over $6k but paid $3500; band appraised $2500, paid $1000
$3,500Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––2-carat lab-grown solitaire that looks far pricier than it was; income similar to the asker's stated bracket
3,500–––––Chose it together
3,500–––––Custom design that looks like a crown
3,500Lab-grown diamond––––Asked his budget first (3k-4k) before shopping; picked the exact carat she wanted
3,500Other gemstone–––2020Paraiba tourmaline chosen to stand out from mainstream diamonds
$3,500–2 ct–white gold–Partner's brother's custom ring: 2ct center stone plus 1ct total in side stones, white gold, custom setting
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said3.5 ctcushionplatinum2026Stone sourced via a TikTok jeweler; a separate jeweler sourced sapphire side stones and set it in platinum
$3,500Lab-grown diamond–ovalgold2026Custom jeweler's rough estimate of $3-4k for a toi-et-moi oval lab diamond and lab emerald ring under 1.5ct per stone, given current gold prices
£3,500–––white gold–A white gold trilogy-style ring
£3,500–––––Bespoke ring; the maker offers both lab-grown and reclaimed stones, stone type for this ring not stated
£3,500–1.75 ct–platinum–Hidden halo, pave band; dealt with a staff member named Miles
$3,500–1 ctpear––Stone and setting bought together in the 1990s, exact year not given
$3,500––––2022Bought about four years before the comment; household income over $10k a month used to show how absurd a 3-month-salary rule would scale
$3,500Lab-grown diamond–round––GCAL 8X certified round diamond, all 8 grading categories excellent; paid $3,500, appraised by Adiamor at $5,500 shortly after
$3,500Natural diamond1.76 cthearttwo tone2023Rose-cut diamond in a platinum bezel on a 14kt yellow gold cigar band; made when gold prices were especially high
$3,500–––––A tension-set ring, $3-4k; practical, doesn't catch on things
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctoval––3.6ct oval diamond price-matched from a $7k listing to $900; custom band made too; ~$3.5k total, appraised at $5k
$3,500Natural diamond1.5 ctround––Bought this stone secondhand for far under its original $12,000 price
$3,500Natural diamond0.84 ctcushiontwo tone2022Late Victorian platinum buttercup setting with 18k yellow gold shank, hand-engraved 1889 Paris; later resold as another buyer's engagement ring
$3,550Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Quote from an independent jeweler for a setting plus a roughly 3 carat lab diamond; exact stone specs not yet chosen
$3,582Lab-grown diamond4.35 ctradiant–2024Radiant solitaire, stone and setting bought together from this online lab diamond vendor
$3,600Lab-grown diamond1.44 ctovalyellow gold2023Quote for a 1.44 ct oval lab diamond in an 18k gold setting with 0.3 ct side stones; considering an E-color upgrade for $300 more
$3,600Lab-grown diamond1.44 ctovalyellow gold2023Ring the person asking is deciding on: 18k yellow gold setting with .3ct side stones plus a 1.44ct G VVS2 lab oval center stone.
$3,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundwhite gold20253ct G/VS1 excellent-cut lab diamond (GIA) in a custom 18k white-gold 6-prong setting w/ 6 accent stones; talked down from an initial $4,000 quote.
$3,600Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–gold2025Jeweler-sourced 2.5ct E-VVS2 lab diamond, all-inclusive design/setting/stone quote from the same small home jeweler
$3,600Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctpeargold2025Same jeweler's all-inclusive price if he sources the stone himself from suppliers in India
$3,600–––gold–Designed the gold band himself for a traditional diamond ring, not huge but decent size; friends have spent from $300 to $15,000
$3,600Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctcushiongold2023Elongated cushion, marketed as super ideal cut grade; semi-custom engagement ring, stone and 18k gold setting together
$3,600Lab-grown diamond4 ctemerald–20244-carat lab emerald cut, GIA certified
A$3,600–––––Bought secondhand on eBay with GIA certification and paperwork
$3,600Lab-grown diamond3.77 ctradiant–2025Specs inferred from replying 'same stats' to the asker's post
$3,600Lab-grown diamond––––Mostly wears a $15 tungsten band day-to-day and saves the diamond ring for dressier occasions
$3,600Lab-grown diamond––gold–14k gold, designed by her partner himself who already knew her style; they prioritized saving for a home over ring spending.
$3,600––––2025Fancy engagement ring with diamonds bought for fiancee; eloping, no kids planned
$3,600Diamond, lab or natural not said–oval–2025Only rough price given here ('I think it was 3.6k'), size 7 finger, no other specs shared
$3,600Lab-grown diamond–––2025Custom setting from Luvansh, due next week at time of comment
$3,600Lab-grown diamond1.75 ctmarquise–202622 smaller stones set in the band and basket
$3,600–––––Antique ring originally made in 1906; would have been close to $30k new if the three-months-salary rule were followed
$3,600Natural diamond0.75 ctround–1993Price given as approximate, "give or take"
$3,600––––2026Husband's original budget had been $20,000
3,600Diamond, lab or natural not said0.53 ct–––Wife loves and wears it whenever she goes out
3,600Other gemstone––––Bespoke gemstone ring, designed together
3,600Sapphire–––2014Custom sapphire ring
3,600–1 ct–––1ct chosen for a specific cut she wanted; she treasures it
$3,625Other gemstone–––2026Aquamarine and diamond ring at an old thrift/antique store; asking price 3900 negotiated down to 3625; store offers its own appraisal but there is no GIA report
$3,625Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctovalplatinum–Loose diamond bought separately about 40% off, set into a platinum pave-twist setting with 0.6ct accent diamonds (setting about 50% off, plus $200 to set); recommends buying stone and setting apart
$3,650–1.34 ctemerald––Praised the vendor's service and competitive pricing; custom setting option with no extra fee
$3,670Lab-grown diamond––rose gold–Halo setting with about 0.5 carats of accent diamonds; diamond price is for the center stone
$3,674Lab-grown diamond7 ctovalrose gold20267ct oval fancy pink stone bought online, paired with a custom 14k rose gold three-stone setting with white diamond pear side stones; ring still being finished as of the comment.
$3,689Natural diamond2 ct–––2 ct natural VS1 H GIA solitaire, described as built at this price through Ritani
$3,700Lab-grown diamond8.53 ctasscherplatinum20258.53ct G VS1 lab asscher plus platinum setting with lab accents; stone price-matched from Calavera through Rare Carat
$3,700Lab-grown diamond4.82 ctroundyellow gold20264.82ct round VS1 F, ideal cut/polish/symmetry, bought out the door; thin yellow-gold band, weighing a sturdier cathedral reset
$3,700Lab-grown diamond4.82 ctroundyellow gold20264.82ct round lab diamond, VS1/F, ideal cut, thin yellow gold band, bought out the door; band measured about 1.7-1.9mm wide
$3,700Lab-grown diamond4.82 ctroundyellow gold2026~$1,000 for the 4.82ct F/VS1 ideal round lab stone (price-matched), ~$2,300 for a yellow gold pave setting from the same vendor since matching the stone price voided setting discounts; $3,700 out the door; buyer debating
$3,700Natural diamond0.7 ctovalrose gold–10 additional small detail stones bring total weight just over 1 ct
£3,700––––2017Did not go into debt for it
$3,700––––2023Dress was a gift from writer's godmother
$3,700Sapphire––white gold–Expected final cost for a sapphire ring in white gold, not finished yet at the time of the comment
$3,700Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Appraised noticeably higher than the purchase price; the jeweler doing the resizing called it very high quality.
A$3,700–0.5 ct––2016Bought from a US retailer since local Australian stores felt overpriced; half-carat solitaire
£3,700––––2016About 8 years before the comment; was earning roughly £45-60k at the time
C$3,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant––1.8mm 3/4 pave band
$3,700Lab-grown diamond1.51 ct–––Has garnet accent stones alongside the lab diamond center
$3,700Lab-grown diamond2 ctovalgold–Custom-made, ordered last week but not yet delivered; band was just over half the total cost
$3,700Lab-grown diamond––platinum2026Writer earns just over $100k a year; recent wife's ring, platinum with a lab diamond
C$3,700–––––Stone bought online from Calavera, setting done separately for a thick solid gold band; paid about $40 CAD customs duty on roughly a $1,000 USD parcel
C$3,700Lab-grown diamond1.09 ctroundyellow gold–1.09ct round lab diamond in a 14k yellow gold custom setting
$3,700Lab-grown diamond1.25 ct––2021Split the cost with partner; writer says the same lab diamond now retails closer to $1,000
$3,700Lab-grown diamond1.07 ctround–2025JannPaul Nova branded cut lab diamond in halo setting with melee shank; fiancee later stopped liking it
$3,740Lab-grown diamond5 ctmarquisegold–18k setting; paid about $300 less than the asker's roughly $4040 total, per the comment's own wording
€3,750Diamond, lab or natural not said0.5 ct––2025Quote (EUR 3500-4000) for a ring seen while on holiday abroad, not yet bought; community called it overpriced given a visible cavity, cloud inclusion and mediocre cut
$3,750Lab-grown diamond––––HENRY couple; each partner's lab-grown ring cost about $3.5-4k
$3,750Lab-created coloured stone––white gold–Fully custom white gold ring with a 9mm lab-grown alexandrite center stone plus lab diamond accents
$3,789Lab-grown diamond4.07 ctovalplatinum2025Oval lab diamond plus custom band, setting and spacer band in platinum, all-in total
$3,800–2 ct–––Stone price approximate; setting design, labor and gold together were $800
$3,800Natural diamond0.92 ct––2016Handmade setting; stone price was just over the stated figure; later traded in for a lab upgrade
$3,800Lab-grown diamond5.1 ctemerald––Same stone spec as another buyer's loose $2800 stone, but set in a custom setting, ready in 3 weeks with returns offered
£3,800–0.33 ct–other2014Custom palladium ring, wife chose the high-quality third-carat diamond herself; writer wasn't a HENRY then
$3,800Natural diamond0.89 ctemerald––Shopped several stores; this was the best price found for a .89ct natural emerald-cut stone plus a basic setting
$3,800Moissanite–marquiseyellow gold–Quote for a marquise moissanite twisted-vine ring; totaled about $5k with tax and an add-on warranty, felt too expensive and not bought
$3,800Moissanite–––2016Custom gold/platinum setting plus a 3ct-equivalent moissanite stone; said to have saved about $40k versus natural
C$3,800Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctmarquise–2025Colorless lab-grown marquise stone; writer says a natural equivalent would run around $80,000
$3,800Diamond, lab or natural not said3.01 ct–white gold2025Diamond bought and set locally in a 'Little Vietnam' jewelry district; French pave setting and eternity band with a hidden halo; writer first said about $3k, then gave $3.8k as the full price
$3,800Other gemstone3.3 ctroundgold20173.3ct amethyst with a diamond-accented gold band; considering a Montana sapphire upgrade around their 10th anniversary, not yet bought
A$3,800Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctasscheryellow gold–Ring still being made at time of posting; chose VVS2 clarity since asscher cuts show inclusions easily, and G color to avoid a cold, icy look
$3,800––princess––Writer calls this a normal price for an engagement ring in the US
$3,800Lab-grown diamond2.27 ctradiantgold202518k hand-engraved orange blossom setting with about 1 ctw of side stones, bought last month
$3,800Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Diamond ring from a marriage of 25 years; she says it has always been enough
$3,800Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctovalgold202640th-anniv. upgrade; IGI lab oval; setting by Gabriel & Co NY, 14K gold, 28 natural accent diamonds; later comment gives ~$1800/$2100
$3,800Lab-grown diamond–––2026Jeweler honored a 20% sale from 2 months earlier and haggled after buyer showed the exact lab diamond selling for $800 on Calavera vs their $4,800 ask; that stone sold before the deal closed, so buyer sourced a better-sp
$3,800Lab-grown diamond–––2026Custom-made 1-of-a-kind ring, similar design to the asker's Macy's ring; all stones lab-grown
$3,800Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval–2025Oval center with pear and round accent stones, lab diamond chosen to save money, made by a longtime family jeweler with low overhead
£3,800Lab-grown diamond4 ctround––4ct lab-grown round diamond bought with a 30% discount from Diamond Factory UK, an online mass-market retailer with limited showrooms; positive buying experience
$3,800Lab-grown diamond2.55 ct––202640th-anniversary upgrade; lab stone and Gabriel & Co setting bought separately
$3,800Lab-grown diamond2.1 ct––2020Lab diamond sourced via RareCarat from Diamond Foundry (1215); ring ordered, awaiting delivery
$3,800Natural diamond2.65 ct––20255 antique OEC diamonds sourced on eBay over ~12mo (2.65ctw K-L VS2-SI2 GIA); David Klass set them in plat+18k gold; retail ~$10-12k for similar.
$3,800Lab-created coloured stone2 ct–gold–2ct lab-grown sapphire with lab sapphire/diamond halo on an 18k gold band; wedding band bought separately; cites about $340k household income
$3,825––––2023Hand-forged eternity ring in the style of a Tiffany piece retailing at $7,650, paid significantly less than half that, version included side engraving
$3,850–––––Writer supplied the center stone herself; this price covers the rest of the ring
C$3,850Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold–Quote for a 14k gold, 2ct diamond ring; about $2750 USD; felt pricey given lab diamonds mostly just cost the gold
C$3,850Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–gold2025Quote for similar specs to the asker's ring but without side diamonds, 14k gold; writer converts to about $2,750 USD
$3,890Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctovalyellow gold2025Custom quote for a low-set oval solitaire with flush accent stones matching a $6,299 reference ring; plus tax
$3,900Lab-grown diamond1.44 ctovalyellow gold2023Alternative quote: same setting with an E-color version of the diamond, $300 more than the G-color option.
$3,900Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantyellow gold2025In-person store quote, discounted for paying cash; 4-prong solitaire, prongs described as yellow gold plated with rhodium; growth method and cert lab not confirmed by the person asking
$3,900Lab-grown diamond–marquisetwo tone–Custom ring in progress: gold band plus white gold setting (later confirmed 14k), hidden halo with diamonds on the band, two rubies inside; $3900 covers all stones
C$3,900Moissanite–round–2022Custom ring combining heirloom stones; setting quoted at 3100 plus 800 for a 2.5ct round moissanite; may source her own stone
$3,900Moissanite–emeraldyellow gold2023Super premium emerald moissanite on a Primrose 14k gold setting; list price $4,130 combined, bought on sale for $3,900
$3,900Lab-grown diamond–––2022Paid $3.9k at Brilliant Earth; found the same specs cheaper elsewhere shortly after and says prices have since dropped further
$3,900Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctroundrose gold2024Custom 14k rose gold ring, 2.5ct OEC lab center plus 0.5tcw custom-cut lab accent stones, made for a customer by the maker who wrote it
$3,900Lab-grown diamond4.66 ct–platinum2024Sourced the diamond from Ritani after a bait-and-switch mishap over a smaller stone, then had it set separately in solid platinum
$3,900Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold20252ct lab-grown diamond with baguette accents; spending over $3500 got her a free solid gold band worth $650
$3,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemerald––2 carat total weight; semi-hidden halo and pave band
$3,900Lab-grown diamond2.01 ctovalrose gold20262.01ct fancy pink lab-grown oval diamond with its rose gold setting, bought online, delivered in 16 days
C$3,900Lab-grown diamond––––Lab-grown diamond ring chosen to match her taste; planning a small wedding after spending more on the ring
3,900––––2017New to the workforce then so it felt pricey; still her favorite ring for its subtlety
$3,960Lab-grown diamond2 ct–gold–2-ct center with 1/3-ct total side stones; a quote being weighed, not yet bought; girlfriend loves this specific design
$3,980Lab-grown diamond1.22 ctotherwhite gold–Quote for lozenge-shaped lab diamond solitaire; pave band +$300 and kite side accents +$450 were optional add-ons, not included
$4,000Lab-grown diamond––––Original cost of the ring the writer is now considering reselling
£4,000––––2024Quoted £4,000 to reset stones from several inherited family engagement rings into one new ring using the old rings' melted-down metal
$4,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctmarquise–2024Cheapest of several jeweler quotes for a marquise with about 1ct of accent diamonds in the setting
€4,000Natural diamond0.93 ct––2025Rome jeweler negotiation for a proposal ring; offer improved from an initial 0.85ct D-color top-cut stone to a 0.93ct higher-grade stone for the same budget; shop doesn't normally stock lab diamonds
$4,000Moissanite–pear––Quote to recreate an Etsy-style pear moissanite ring locally: initially ~$500 stone plus ~$3000 setting, later described by the person asking as almost $4k total
$4,000Natural diamond1.4 ctround––Vintage OEC cape diamond ring bought as a personal upgrade for nearly $4k; band sheared off within 3 weeks of daily wear
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.9 ctemeraldyellow gold–Quote from a local jeweler for stone plus an 18k yellow gold solitaire mounting; buyer deciding if it's fair
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025Jeweler-sourced 3ct E-VVS2 lab diamond, all-inclusive quote from the same small home jeweler
C$4,000Natural diamond0.7 ctemerald–20251.2 ctw total with two 0.25ct side stones; price approx from buyers' CAD-to-USD conversions (~$2,860-2,900 USD); color guessed H-I, unconfirmed
$4,000Lab-grown diamond–––2025Discounted price for a lab diamond ring, 2ct+ center plus ~2ct in halo/side stones; full price without discount was about $6000
$4,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctemeraldwhite gold2026Local jeweler quote to make a custom 14k white gold solitaire setting and set a diamond the person asking bought online for $1000
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushionyellow gold2026Quotes for a 3ct elongated cushion colorless excellent-cut lab diamond in a 14K yellow gold pave setting with rubies ranged $3k-5k against an $8k budget
$4,000Lab-grown diamond4.02 ctoval––Quote from a brick-and-mortar store; excellent polish and symmetry, CVD type IIa; unclear if a setting is included
$4,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum2026Platinum cushion halo split-shank ring ordered for his wife as a surprise, not yet delivered; total listed weight was 4.4ct, center stone confirmed 4ct by another buyer reading the specs
$4,000–––––Put the ring on a credit card despite not affording it; marriage later ended
$4,000–––––A friend's engagement ring, paired with a plain wedding band (price not stated)
C$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2008Loose diamond bought about 13 years before this 2021 comment, set locally by a jeweler; value given in today's rough terms
£4,000–––––Bespoke design by a one-man jeweller, close to wholesale price; worked out to about a month and a bit's salary
£4,000–––––Ring returned to the writer after the couple divorced
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1.24 ctovalgold–The asker's own ring; gold solitaire setting was about $1200, the rest was the diamond
$4,000Moissanite–––2022Custom moissanite ring being made, a little over $4k, suggested as a cheaper alternative to a diamond
$4,000Moissanite––––Custom hand-engraved ring with a custom-cut 3ct old mine cut moissanite center stone
$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–––Diamond-plus-setting quote at a local jeweler in a major metro area, called a rip-off compared to the asker's quotes
$4,000Sapphire2.3 ct–––Teal sapphire center stone paired with grandmother's baguette diamonds
$4,000Sapphire––––Montana sapphire made by a Canadian lapidary
$4,000–––––Now wondering if this was too much
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum–Lab diamond and platinum setting; a similar mined diamond alone would cost $7-8k more
$4,000Sapphire2 ct–––Natural sapphire center stone
$4,000Natural diamond––––First ring, mined diamond; trade-in gave back only half
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant––Same size as the asker's stone but E color, VVS2 clarity, minimal bowtie, no fluorescence, excellent cut, for less than this amount
A$4,000Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab-created ruby ring from Brilliant Earth; very happy with it
A$4,000Other gemstone––––First engagement ring was ruby and diamond, style picked by her, exact ring chosen by fiance; about $4,000
A$4,000Lab-grown diamond––gold–A 0.8k lab diamond set in a gold band cost $4k total; earning $50k a year at the time
A$4,000–––––Spent about $4k while in an entry-level job; wife no longer wears it since it doesn't fit after kids
A$4,000–––––Three-stone custom ring bought by husband himself, just under $4,000; now doesn't fit after having kids
A$4,000–––––After the proposal she went ring shopping and chose a $4k ring herself, affordable but a fair amount for them then
A$4,000Lab-grown diamond––––Custom made online with a lab-grown diamond; avoided heavy in-store markups
$4,000Moissanite–oval––3ct oval moissanite with pear-shaped accent stones; sized locally then ordered online
$4,000–––––After repeatedly changing her mind she settled on a custom design under this amount, choosing stone and setting together with him
$4,000Sapphire–––2013Just under 3ct Ceylon sapphire; stone picked out separately from the band design, later upgraded
$4,000Lab-grown diamond––other–Replaced original ring after it couldn't be resized to fit; lab stone set in silver-toned metal; amount recalled, not exact
£4,000–––––A custom-ish ring; smaller stones around the centre diamond fell out three times but were fixed under the shop's service
£4,000–––––Includes a new wedding band needed after weight loss
£4,000Natural diamond0.8 ctovalplatinum–Picked her own diamond and setting
£4,000–––––Wanted something specific she'd love; she doesn't care about the value
$4,000–––––Diamond bought in the US for better value for money
£4,000–––––Rarely wears the large engagement ring for fear of catching or damaging it; prefers a thin £550 pave eternity band day to day
£4,000–––––Made to order; would have been over £7000 bought off the shelf
£4,000–––––Got the diamond at trade price through an industry contact; bespoke design to complement a sapphire ring she already wore daily
£4,000–––––Followed a one-month-salary guideline; says he would not do it again
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct––2023Quote for the lab stone the person asking is weighing against the natural option below; big price gap drove the decision
$4,000–––––Writer says they earn the same as the person asking (150-180k)
$4,000––––2008Proposal ring; cites national average around $6,000
$4,000Moissanite–––2023Pricier moissanite vendor but praised for customer service and a quick resizing
$4,000–––––Husband spent under two weeks of his income; writer didn't want to spend over $4k
$4,000–––––An amount the couple agreed was affordable, though it still felt uncomfortable to spend on something 'frivolous'
$4,000––––2011Writer says ring was just over $4k, bought about 12 years before this 2023 comment
$4,000––––2023Quoted 2.5-3k by the same jeweler for a custom wedding band, not yet purchased
$4,000Sapphire–roundgold–Chose a restored 1906 antique cocktail-style ring with a hand-cut old mine sapphire instead of spending a $20k diamond budget
$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said0.16 ct–white gold2023Bought in Japan by boyfriend without much discussion beforehand; $4,000 was before import taxes, which added a lot more on top; small center stone with added melee weight from side stones
$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.55 ctemerald–20233.55ct emerald-cut stone plus a custom setting, total price
$4,000Lab-grown diamond5 ct–––Approximate price; writer contrasts it with an equivalent natural stone they estimate would cost $300k+
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1 ct––2023Halo setting; 1ct lab center plus natural side stones totaling about 1ct; independent appraisals came back far lower than seller's figure
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3.55 ctemeraldplatinum–Writer's friend bought from the same vendor, custom platinum band
$4,000––––2019Husband paid $4k for a ring at a pawn shop and had it remade into her engagement ring; it appraised at $10k
$4,000Lab-grown diamond4 ctemeraldplatinum20234ct F VS1 ideal emerald cut in a platinum setting with two side trapezoids; bought from an Instagram-based dealer after 6 months shopping around.
$4,000Natural diamond––––Antique ring; couple earns close to $250k and chose this over a $30k ring to save for a house and retirement
$4,000–––––Husband earns roughly $600-700k a year; writer is a stay-at-home mom
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold20243ct marquise lab diamond with a simple gold band and 6-prong setting; stone was $3,400 of the $4,000 total
$4,000Lab-grown diamond6 ctround–2024Bezel-set 6ct round bought for less than $4,000; returned afterward because it felt too big for the buyer.
$4,000Moissanite–cushiongold2024Custom hand-cut antique elongated cushion moissanite from a domestic maker; $2,000 stone, $1,200 design/CAD/manufacturing, $800 hand engraving
$4,000Lab-grown diamond––––Engagement ring from a past relationship; kept it after the breakup, year not given
$4,000Lab-grown diamond7 ctemeraldwhite gold2024Chubbier emerald ratio, bezel setting, 3mm band
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3.28 ctcushion–2024Setting included; writer thinks the stone alone was under $3k but isn't certain
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1.1 ct–––Just under $4,000 USD (~$5,500 CAD); covers an engagement stack of 2 rings, ~1.58ct total weight; matching wedding band thrown in free as a sale bonus; max budget was $8,000 CAD
$4,000–––––Bought as an estate piece via Zales; appraised well under what was paid
C$4,000––––2024Earns the same $120k salary as the person asking and spent $4k; fiancée was thrilled, felt even that was pushing it
C$4,000Sapphire––––Montana sapphire center stone with small lab diamonds around it, custom made by a local designer
C$4,000––––2024Jeweler with industry connections sold a $7-8k retail-value ring for $4k, plus a $500 eternity wedding band
C$4,000Lab-grown diamond––––Bought via Brilliant Earth; describes lab diamond rings in the $3k-5k range as beautiful
$4,000Lab-grown diamond––––Fiance's total savings was about $12k at the time of purchase; ring cost $4k
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1 ctpear––Quote for setting plus a 1ct pear lab-grown stone; declined as too expensive, used a cheap stand-in instead
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–white gold–Lab diamond ring bought on sale; originally listed around 7000 before the discount
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3.55 ctemeraldplatinum2024Writer's friend's ring with a platinum custom band, reported for comparison
$4,000Lab-grown diamond–––2024Quote from a local jeweler for a similar ring, writer planned to buy here instead of Jared
$4,000––––2024Writer's own ring from Frank Darling still cost well over $4k despite the vendor's reputation for good value
A$4,000Natural diamond––––Made by a jeweller friend near wholesale cost; wife rarely wears it

Previous · Page 23 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 239 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.