engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 3 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports Without a Stated Price

Previous · Page 3 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
–––––2019Wedding bands line item from an itemized $11,885 wedding budget; wedding was about 4 years before the comment
–––––2019Writer's mother's wedding ring, reported second-hand
––––––Wife's account; no maximum was set on spending, though she wouldn't have wanted more than a grand
–––––2020Wife proposed to him; her wedding ring from Wish, his from Amazon; whole wedding cost under £1,000
––––––She paid for her own wedding ring
––––––Discounted from about £1,000 as the design was being discontinued
––––––Both wedding bands cost about the same as the engagement ring, roughly £1,700 each
$0No stone (plain band)––––Never had engagement rings; hypothetically would have chosen a $100-250 silver or white gold ring
––––––Combined cost of both wedding bands; most went on shaping hers to fit the engagement ring
––––––Her wedding ring
––––––His wedding ring
––––––Bought from an Indian jeweller, about a third cheaper than well-known high street shops; for his ex-wife
––––gold–Wedding band bought secondhand instead of a new 18ct diamond band that would have cost over £1,500
––––––Wedding ring bought separately
––––––Her own choice for a wedding ring
––––other–Titanium wedding band; paid the engraver an extra £10 tip
£0–––––Not part of either family's tradition; no engagement ring bought
£0–––––Writer's mother's ring, passed down through the family at no cost to the writer
––––––Combined engagement ring and wedding band cost; wife thought even that was a bit much
––––––Setting custom made and fitted in the UK around the US-bought stone
£0No stone (plain band)––––Philosophical objection to giving love a physical price tag
£0–––––No engagement ring and no wedding rings worn; whole wedding cost about £100
––––––Spent about 60% of one net month's salary on a design-your-own ring
––––––A 'real' matching pair bought together after the proposal, hers a little more than his
––––––Final wedding bands bought later on a trip to New York, hers white gold with diamonds, his plain platinum
––––––His own wedding band from Etsy; wife's band also from Etsy but no figure given
£0–––––Offered a choice between a £3000 ring or £3000 of tech; she chose the tech
£0–––––An heirloom diamond daisy-cluster ring, no cost to the writer
–Other gemstone––silver–Custom silver and ammolite engagement ring plus a silver wedding band, cost split with partner
––––––Her wedding band; his own band was about £11
––––––Diamond bought and certified separately, first set in a basic ring, later reset into a design she chose herself
£0–––––Grandmother's heirloom ring, given free; will need about £500 of restoration soon, not yet spent
0–––––Married in a trailer park for free, a later marriage for the writer
––––––Proposed with a family heirloom worth about £25k that she never wears; wears a simple £400 platinum band instead
––––––Writer sent her husband an Etsy link of the set she wanted
––––––His handmade festival wedding ring was lost, replaced with a bought one
£0–––––Grandmother's ring, only cost was resizing for his wife
––––––Matching engagement ring, wedding band and eternity ring; reused diamonds from inherited family rings; she paid most of it
––––––A set of three rings imported from the US, not silver or gold, chosen to look nice rather than for material value
–Moissanite––––A 10kt gold moissanite bridal set bought on Etsy
––––––Both wedding bands bought on Etsy; not the engagement ring itself
£0––––1947Grandmother's ring from 1947, only cost was resizing
–Lab-grown diamond2.26 ct––2023Loose 2.26ct lab diamond bought online, no setting included
––1 ct–––She contributed about $1,000 toward her own ring on top of her boyfriend's budget so she could get at least a 1 carat stone; he was grateful
–Lab-grown diamond––––A lab diamond seen in person while ring shopping at a store was quoted around $16k; her account trails off before confirming the outcome
–Lab-grown diamond1.53 ctoval–2023Chose this stone from a local jeweler who required buying it through him to custom design the setting; setting price not given
–Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctemerald–2023Quote for a loose lab stone from an India-based online seller, seller offered before the person asking later bought a different stone
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval––Same writer's original quote for a smaller 1.5ct oval before upgrading to the 2ct D/VVS1 stone actually bought
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctround–20231.00ct round lab diamond, ideal cut, G color, VVS1 clarity, IGI-certified, bought from Ritani for a solitaire setting; no price given, later returned over cut-quality concerns.
–Lab-grown diamond3.26 ct––2022A similar lab-grown stone bought loose from Ritani the October before this comment
–Sapphire1.5 ct––2023Offer for a 1.5ct no-heat vivid blue sapphire stone; buyer unsure if overpriced, hard to compare in Australia
–Lab-grown diamond1.1 ctround–2023Replacement 1.10ct round lab diamond, ideal cut, D color, VS1 clarity, IGI-certified, bought from Ritani after returning the first stone; no price given.
––––––Diamond wedding band made as an exact match to her engagement ring's setting, bought after initially planning to skip a band
––––other2023Tungsten ring; writer says it could've been cheaper online or at a chain jeweler
––––other2023Everyday titanium band; couple also making their own fancier wedding bands together, price not given
–––––2023Husband loses things easily so writer kept the price modest
–––––2023Partner helped pick it out and was excited to have a nice wedding ring
–––––2023Final cost after paying for a sizing exchange
–––––2023Bought on sale, came with a spare silicone band
–––––2023Husband wears it daily
––––other–Titanium band for husband, bought around age 19-21; later given his late father's plain gold band too
–––––2023Used existing jewelry rather than buying new for the wedding
–––––2023Partner's ring from existing jewelry; writer plans a $5,000 upgrade for their 5-year anniversary, not yet bought
–––––2023Husband bought his own band, on super sale
––––other2023Tantalum band
––––gold2023Couldn't find a wide enough band under $500 so went with gold; will wear a rubber band day-to-day
–Lab-grown diamond2.2 ctoval–2023Asked whether this quoted price for a 2.2ct oval lab diamond was reasonable
–––––2020Plain band bought on Amazon to pair with a morganite engagement ring, worn 3+ years
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Jeweler quoted a same-size natural stone at $50k versus the lab stone she chose
–Lab-grown diamond2.1 ct––2023Bought through a personal trade contact; cited to show lab stones need not cost thousands
–Lab-grown diamond1.51 ctemerald–2023Chose the lab stone after a side-by-side comparison at a custom jeweler; side stones and band budgeted separately
–Lab-grown diamond––––Rare Carat matched Friendly Diamond's $5k listing, down from RC's own $11k, honored before a price hike
––––––The ring she wanted cost $1k more than her partner initially said he was comfortable spending, so she paid the difference herself
–Lab-grown diamond2.1 ct–––Traded a 1.1ct diamond engagement ring for a 2.1ct lab diamond, paying $1,500 more to upgrade
––––––Husband spent only 15% of what 3 months' salary would be; no dollar figure given
––––––Engagement ring and wedding band together came to under $1000
––––––Partner spent maybe two weeks' salary on the ring; no dollar amount given
–––––2004Husband's ring cost worked out to roughly two to three weeks of his wages; married almost 19 years
–––––2007Married at 18; household made only 20k that first year; celebrating 16th anniversary in 2023
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround––Hearts-and-arrows round lab diamond bought the day before commenting; sees other retailers as marking up much more than DreamStone
–Lab-grown diamond2.28 ctoval––Favorite loose diamond quote at Ada Diamonds while comparison shopping; ended up buying a bigger, better-graded stone elsewhere for thousands less
–Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctcushion––Ordered ahead of an upcoming proposal; praises DreamStone's communication and friendliness
–No stone (plain band)––other2023Found an affordable tungsten wedding band on Etsy after local stores didn't have the right price or selection; has held up over the years
–No stone (plain band)––other2022Bought two matching black tungsten wedding bands from ArtfulRings on Etsy, $34.99 each, with free engraving included
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald–2023Loose stone only, no setting mentioned; buyer called it about a third of the price seen elsewhere
–No stone (plain band)–––2023Paid a bit more than $100 total for both simple wedding bands, working with a nicer Etsy seller
–No stone (plain band)––white gold2008Bought simple white gold wedding bands for both spouses at Macy's while broke, under $250 total; years later replaced with heavier platinum bands
–Other gemstone––other–Silver Chanel-set alexandrite ring worn day-to-day as a wedding band after her original sapphire-and-diamond ring lost stones and no longer fit
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2023Bought a loose HPHT hearts-and-arrows stone after months of researching specs, verified with a scope
–Lab-grown diamond1.17 ct––2020The asker's coworker paid his store's employee price to upgrade his wife's center stone, roughly 3-4 years before this 2023 comment
–––––2023Combined cost of both wedding bands; the engagement ring's price was not given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.23 ctround–2023Quote received the same day for a 2.23ct round diamond, still deciding
$0–––––Fiancee wanted a family heirloom, so he asked her mother for it
–Moissanite––––Ring plus wedding band together cost about two weeks of salary; moissanite kept the cost down
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Jeweler says a customer paid this for a 3ct lab stone in March 2023 despite finding the same specs listed online elsewhere for $4k-$5k
––2.5 ctovalwhite gold20232.5ct oval ring with band together on 10k white gold; chose a cheaper ring for work safety and financial reasons
–––––2023Husband's plain black ring cost 10 cents; her own ring is a family heirloom that survived the Great Depression, price unknown
–––––2023Engagement ring and band from two different Etsy sellers
–Moissanite–––2023Etsy moissanite set, had the bands soldered together
–––––2023Bought with a coupon code from modgents.com
–Other gemstone–––2023Custom set with rose de France and amethyst stones, mostly worn for special occasions
$0––––2023Engagement ring was groom's mother's, given free; an antique ring jacket wrap bought on Etsy for $650
–––––2023No separate engagement ring since the couple eloped; this wedding band has diamond accents
–––––2023About $450 USD equivalent; made by Provence Jewellery
–Moissanite––white gold202314k white gold, 1ct moissanite VVS center with 0.2ct F-G VS-SI side stones, from Etsy
–––––2023Replacement set bought after losing over 50 lbs made old rings twist; married nearly 26 years
––––––Spent about a third of one month's combined salary on both of their wedding bands, worn as engagement rings too; no dollar figure given
–––––2023Wanted something high quality to wear daily but under $1000; spouse has a matching leaf-design band
–Sapphire––gold2023Three tiny square-cut sapphires channel-set in a 14k band; her ring alone was under $400, husband's more expensive band pushed the combined total under $900
–––––2023Added a second wedding band later for $86
–Moissanite––white gold2023Custom moissanite set from Etsy
––3.5 ctasscheryellow gold–Cathedral setting with a bezel, being made by a local small-town jeweler for a 3.5ct asscher stone
––––yellow gold–Cathedral setting including two diamond side stones; adjusted from an existing setting rather than designed fully from scratch
–Other gemstone––yellow gold–Setting with six sapphire accent stones
–Other gemstone––two tone–Platinum and rose gold three-diamond ring combining two different settings with adjustments, pave diamonds on the band, and birthstones hidden on either side; center diamond cost not included
––––white gold–14kt setting from an overseas vendor, price without tax
––––platinum–Platinum semi-mount setting, a separate ring project from an overseas vendor
––––white gold–A Tiffany-style thick knife-edge band setting, 18k white gold
––––gold–First of two custom rings, gold cathedral setting
–Moissanite–––2023Engagement ring plus a larger eternity band bought together for under this combined price
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––rose gold–Husband's wedding band with a tiny inset heart diamond; thicker 18k rose gold needed to fit the stone raised the total cost
––––gold2023Fiance's 18k gold wedding band, cited to argue the asker's ring price is reasonable
––––––Open wedding band made to sit flush with a similar rose gold setting, under $2000
––––––Semi-custom engagement ring; the setting alone cost over $1k
––––gold202318kt gold band, about 10 grams, bought for fiance; writer says it's roughly $625 USD
–Lab-grown diamond1.73 ctoval–202320th-anniversary ring, hidden-halo oval, made quickly on a tight timeline; replaces her original 0.73ct mined center stone; setting price not stated
––––––Initial quote to resize a sentimental white gold ring (5 to 7.5), fix prongs and thicken the band, no stone included; this jeweler wasn't used
–Natural diamond–––2023Quoted around this for a 2-2.5ct G/F VS1 natural stone still being considered
–Natural diamond–––2023Confirms the ~$30k figure, before tax, matched what was paid for a similarly specced E color natural stone
–Sapphire4 ctother–2023Quote for a loose 4ct sunset padparadscha sapphire gem alone, not yet purchased
–Moissanite–round–2023Loose stone bought before the vendor raised prices; no ring described
–Moissanite–––2023Says a 2.5ct stone cost well under $200, disputing a higher price claim upthread
–Lab-grown diamond0.56 ct––2023Bought during a sale from a vendor the writer abbreviated 'DE'; passed on the same vendor's 2ct stone at a higher price
–Lab-grown diamond–––2013Paid almost this much for just the lab stone about a decade before the comment; says prices have dropped a lot since.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Small engagement ring plus both wedding bands bought together from a local pawn shop
–Lab-created coloured stone–round––Pink lab-created sapphire, 7mm round, set into a ring she already had
–Lab-created coloured stone–cushion––Loose lab-created green sapphire, about 7x9mm cushion, stone-only price
––––––A bridal set counted as two rings; fiance's spending felt expensive to the writer
––––––Handmade mokume gane metalwork with many hand-set small diamonds; figure excludes the center stone
––––––Ring set bought on a cashier's income; marriage didn't last and writer now considers the price too high in hindsight
–Natural diamond2.07 ct–––Antique old European cut center stone; price excludes the setting
–––––2023Writer describes self as extremely frugal; overall wedding budget was about $3k
–––––2023Described as a bridal ring set; breakdown between ring and band not given
–––––2023Writer gave a range of 5500-6000 for ring and band together; wedding not yet held
–––––2023The asker's plain 18K gold cigar band, engraved by a local jeweler
–––––2023The asker's second, simpler 14K band worn instead of the main one while traveling
–––––2023Writer notes all figures are Canadian dollars
–––––2023Writer gives one combined figure for the rings, no breakdown between engagement ring and band
–––––2023Couple eloped abroad with a wedding planner and no guests
–Moissanite––––Chosen for ethical and aesthetic reasons; also helped afford a car down payment; writer feels it's the best ring for the money regardless of price
–––––2023Friends helped run the small 50-70 guest wedding; photographer was a gift
–––––2003Paid off with 0% interest financing since it was more than the buyer could afford outright; couple still married, debt-free besides their mortgage
–No stone (plain band)–––2004Had no engagement ring at the time; band was a cold-forged platinum piece from a German design house, only splurge item
––0.93 ct–platinum2023Bought a platinum wedding band with 0.93 total carat weight from a local Boston jeweler; cited to argue the asker's ring looked overpriced for less diamond weight
–––––2023Writer calls the total spend on wedding plus honeymoon too much but says it was worth it
––––––Upgraded later by adding about two grand more; not a major financial hit given the couple's income at the time
–––––2003Paid extra to upgrade the ring's setting shortly before the wedding
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2023Husband spent $29,000 to upgrade her mined diamond from a 1.4ct H SI1 to a 2.5ct G SI1 for their 25th anniversary; chose natural over cheaper lab options as a personal preference
––––––A full wedding set, ring and band; writer was comfortable with the price
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Fully custom-designed set of engagement ring, wedding band and eternity ring from a Wellington maker using lab diamonds and recycled metals.
–Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctcushion–2023Boyfriend's purchase, a little over $3k; cited as a lower comparison price for a nearly identical elongated cushion lab stone.
–Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctradiant––Loose stone only, ordered online, GIA certified, shipped in about 10 days
–Lab-grown diamond4.16 ct–––Offered as a much cheaper comparison to the asker's lab diamond quote
––––––A ring jacket added later to make the ring look fuller
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion––Paid under $2,000 for a 3ct cushion lab diamond, IGI graded
––––––Wedding set incl. engagement ring; insures it separately for $375/yr via a no-questions lost-for-any-reason policy instead of a homeowners rider
$0Natural diamond––––Engagement ring is a family heirloom that cost nothing; would have chosen lab if buying new
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Chose a $950 lab stone over a natural quoted at $14,000, to invest the difference
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Quoted about $3,000 for a lab stone while shopping; a comparable natural stone quoted around $19,000
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Got an engagement set for $4000 total; a natural center stone alone would have topped $15,000
–Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctcushion–2023Custom-cut 2.8ct lab cushion (IGI labeled it cushion antique brilliant), H color VS1; the person asking quoted about $1,000 per carat, setting from the same vendor
–Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctround–2023Quote for a 4.01ct lab-grown round the person asking was deciding on, plus some extra freebies thrown in by the seller; not yet bought
––––––Restored a family heirloom ring by widening the band and rebuilding the prongs to secure the diamonds
–Moissanite–radiant–2023Center stone for the engagement ring bought locally; a same-size stone bought elsewhere for a necklace cost far less but looked milkier
–Sapphire–––2023Lavender/periwinkle sapphire, about 6.4x5.6mm, sourced from Sri Lankan miners via an NZ gemstone broker before it could be appraised; NZD figures, roughly half in USD
–Lab-grown diamond–oval–2023Bought an oval lab diamond from Harry at Delicate Gem NYC for around $2,500.
–Moissanite––white gold2023Engagement ring and wedding band together, 18k palladium white gold, moissanite, under $1,700 for both
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctoval–20233 ct elongated oval, about 1.46 length-to-width ratio, size 7 finger; ordered from local jeweler and still refundable at time of posting; price never disclosed; jeweler had no 2.5-2.9 ct stones in stock for months due to
–Lab-grown diamond5.02 ct––2023Vendor mixed up shipping of the original GIA pick; buyer switched to an overnight IGI stone that arrived hours before the proposal
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––platinum–Writer's friend owns a $30k platinum wedding ring with a Harrods warranty for cleaning and repairs; the household later went bankrupt.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2023Upgrade this year to an 18k gold ring-and-band set with small diamond clusters shaped like a solitaire, from Dutch chain Lucardi.
–Moissanite–––2023A matching moissanite set, cost was not under $500; buyer says it's holding up great
–No stone (plain band)––gold–Her 3mm solid gold band cost under 200 vs over 350 at other stores; the bands were the reason the couple joined Costco
–No stone (plain band)––gold–His 6mm beveled solid gold band, given as a 500-600 range vs 1,000+ at other stores
–Natural diamond–emerald–2016Emerald-cut Costco set ordered on the website; price recalled roughly; insurance appraisal far above it; stone a touch yellower than she wanted
––––––Husband spent nearly all the cash he had on a wedding band since they couldn't afford an engagement ring too, married at a courthouse while in college
–Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctround––Paid $3800 for a 2.6ct D VVS2 round excellent-cut diamond, offered as a comparison point to the asker's 3.8ct quote
–Natural diamond0.33 ct––1993First wedding set had 8 small stones totaling 1/3 ctw, not a single center stone; later upgraded several times
–Lab-grown diamond1.44 ctround––Bought from a vendor shared privately by PM; about 20% cheaper than the Ritani listings the person asking was considering.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct––2023Bought a 2ct set after extensive comparison shopping; became confident negotiating once informed on real diamond worth
–Natural diamond1 ct–gold–1 ctw diamond gold band bought as an anniversary band; cited price is the product's periodic sale price
–Natural diamond–––2023Wedding band bought from Costco for less than $1,000
–Lab-grown diamond2.58 ctovalplatinum202336th-anniversary upgrade stone bought after researching lab diamonds, set in heavy platinum to match two mined-diamond anniversary bands from Costco (3 ct total); whole set insured for $24,860; no price paid stated
–Lab-grown diamond5.06 ctemerald–2023Center stone was around $5k, priced higher for GIA cert instead of IGI; Debebians sourced side stones and made the ring
–Moissanite–asscher–2023Loose stone only, ordered online after the local jeweler had none in stock; plus $30 shipping
–Moissanite–oval–2023Loose moissanite oval described as excellent hearts-and-arrows cut; not clearly stated if set into the engagement ring or a separate piece
–Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctoval–2023Paid about $1,900 for the loose stone, which the person asking says was below most similarly specced listings elsewhere
–––––2008Wedding set bought as a broke young couple; pawned the following year for a small fraction of the price
–Lab-grown diamond1.8 ct––2020Traded in the original ring at its purchase price plus this extra amount for a bigger lab diamond
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Quote for a second loose diamond graded excellent; a buyer called the price high given its weak cut and expected poor brilliance
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Quote for a third loose diamond graded by HRD; a buyer called the grading lousy and the overall proportions weak
–Lab-grown diamond9 ct––2023Lab-grown 9ct eternity band bought to pair with a family-heirloom natural solitaire; price stated by buyers reacting to the post, still within the return window
–Lab-grown diamond––platinum2023Ring and band bought together under $4k, GIA-certified lab diamonds, found via a WhatsApp seller recommended on this sub
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2023Quote for a fourth loose diamond; two buyers said $4,200 was too high for it
–Lab-grown diamond3.25 ct–––Center stone bought from Brilliance.com after a discount and tax; chosen because Shane Co's stones were pricier
–Natural diamond1 ctround–2018Bought from a big box store; writer says the same specs sell for much less now
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct––2023Quote from a local family-owned jewelry shop, not yet purchased
–Lab-grown diamond1.73 ctemerald–2023Happy with this price in the popular, pricier-per-carat 2-3 ct size range
–Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctoval––Stone bought there but band sourced elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond––gold–14k gold lab-diamond wedding set (solitaire ring plus half-eternity band) cost under $300
––––platinum2023Quote for a 5.25mm platinum band to replace a 10k white gold band suspected of causing a nickel allergy; not yet bought
–Lab-grown diamond1.05 ctround––Recommends a local jeweller over big-box stores
–Natural diamond1.04 ct––2023Fiance paid for an untreated Burma ruby center stone; writer got engaged with it this week
–Moissanite––––Cheap moissanite wedding set (ring plus band), compared with the writer's unpriced mined-diamond set
–Lab-grown diamond3.5 ctround–2023Loose stone purchase recommended as an alternative to Macy's
–Lab-grown diamond2.4 ct––2023Same specs seen listed for about 1700 elsewhere
––––gold202314k gold thin setting with no side stones via a Stuller catalog jeweler; fee included setting the stone
–Lab-grown diamond–––2023Setting fee only, paid at the local store that sold the writer's lab diamond; the semi-mount was made elsewhere
––––white gold2023Stone bought separately on Ritani; custom jeweler charged $1,300 for a hidden-halo cathedral setting with side stones
–Lab-grown diamond–oval–2023Chose a lab diamond oval center after comparing many moissanite rings in person at a Charles & Colvard showroom
–––––2023Writer's mother mailed in her own loose stone; James Allen charged a $100 fee to set it
–Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––20233.3ct diamond described as nearly perfect specs; vendor not stated.
–Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctradiant–2023Pre-tax price for the diamond alone.
–Lab-grown diamond2.09 ctemerald–2023Bought a loose emerald-cut lab diamond from an estate-sale website, sight unseen, to replace the 2ct moissanite in her engagement ring on their next anniversary
–Moissanite––gold2023Worked with a rep at Provence for an all-in 10k gold wedding set; noted gold prices had just risen, likely raising quotes for others.
–––––2023Custom setting with 1.5 total carats of stones from a local New Jersey jeweler; center-stone cost not stated.
––––gold2024Plain 10k gold setting only, made overseas; separate roughly $100 charged by her local jeweler to set the loose stone.
–Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctradiant––Jeweler sourced this HPHT stone from Stuller and price-matched the lowest price found online
–Moissanite––platinum2018Engagement ring and wedding band set with a flawless, colorless-looking center stone plus 14 tiny band stones; bought with little research but felt like great value
–Lab-grown diamond1.81 ct––2024Paid for a 1.81ct CVD lab diamond at a local jeweler to replace a 0.5ct stone in her existing ring; jeweler modifying the setting to fit it
–Lab-grown diamond1.55 ct–––Loose stone deal in progress; same 1.55ct E VVS2 ideal specs listed around $3000 at James Allen and Blue Nile
–Natural diamond1.8 ct–––Antique half-hoop wedding band paired with her lab engagement ring
–Lab-grown diamond3.2 ct–––Diamond and band together; center stone sourced from this vendor; says lab prices have dropped a lot since
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushionplatinum202418-year wedding ring upgrade; price is for the 4ct elongated cushion stone alone, a custom platinum three-stone setting with 1ct cushion side stones priced separately and not stated
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Same specs as the asker's target stone; could have saved about $1000 sourcing the stone directly from LGD or Ritani
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Hearts and arrows cut, bought from an overseas vendor
–Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctround–2024Hearts and arrows cut
–Lab-grown diamond–pear–2024Loose lab-grown pear diamond bought after a 20% site discount, price is after tax
–Moissanite––rose gold2020Combined cost for her 1.5ct moissanite 14k rose gold engagement ring and matching wedding band
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctround–20244ct round H/VS2 ideal cut lab diamond bought loose for around $1,500
–Moissanite––––Writer's mother swapped her natural diamond for a moissanite at a small jeweler; later replaced again with a real diamond after being mocked as fake
–Natural diamond2.5 ctoval–2023Loose stone bought via online wholesale broker at ~5% over wholesale; appraised near $29.7k, would retail $35-40k
–Natural diamond1.2 ctoval––Three-piece set: natural 1.2ct oval center ring plus two flanking diamond guard bands
–Lab-grown diamond2.83 ctpear––Got the stone at cost rather than at retail; not yet certain how it will be used
–Natural diamond––––Combined estimated cost of writer's ring and wedding band.
––––platinum–Engagement ring (Provence PT950/RU platinum) plus wedding band together ran under CAD $1,300; no sizing issues across orders
–Natural diamond––––Wedding set from a marriage that ended in divorce.
–Lab-grown diamond6.12 ctradiant–2024Final diamond bought for a few thousand dollars less than the originally wrote $18k ring; exact total not given.
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctemerald–2024Excellent-cut 2ct emerald lab diamond, E/VVS1, bought for around $2k as a lower-cost alternative to D/IF
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Near-flawless F color lab diamond bought for under $800, cited to show the person asking was overpaying
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024A different recent stone of theirs, warm I color, bought under $500 as lab diamond prices kept falling
–Lab-grown diamond2.29 ct––20242.29ct D/VVS2 lab diamond bought about a month before the comment for $2k
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––20242ct diamond bought from an Etsy seller sourced in India for $2k about 15 days before the comment
–Lab-grown diamond2.01 ctcushion––Quoted $1,250 for a 2.01ct cushion D/VVS2 lab diamond with excellent polish and very good symmetry
–Lab-grown diamond1.03 ctround––1.03ct round D/IF lab diamond for $3k, said to be much brighter than writer's natural engagement diamond
–Moissanite––white gold2024Half-eternity baguette moissanite wedding band in 14k white gold; matching 0.8ct diamond engagement ring's price unknown
–Lab-grown diamond3.13 ctradiant––3.13ct radiant E/VS1 lab diamond for $1.7k, said to visually wear like a 3.5ct stone
–Sapphire3.45 ct––2024Buyer's own heavily included, oddly cut cornflower-blue sapphire bought for under $60, offered as a low-quality comparison
–Moissanite––gold202414k moissanite eternity band with larger stones; developed chips within two months of wear
–Moissanite–––2024Loose 2ct oval moissanite stone only, to be set separately; buyer says this seller's stones are brighter and less cloudy than others
–Lab-grown diamond––––Loose lab diamond bought on an online estate-sale site to upgrade from her original moissanite engagement ring
––––––Plain gold wedding band bought separately by the person asking, matching her husband's band
–Lab-grown diamond2.18 ctemerald––Paid just over this amount for the loose stone from an online lab-diamond vendor
–Lab-grown diamond5.01 ctmarquiseyellow gold2024Bought before posting for opinions; exact price not stated but writer says it was a good deal; buyers warned an I-color stone this large can show visible brown/grey warmth
–Lab-grown diamond1.72 ctoval–2024Loose stone bought to replace a moissanite after local jewelers wouldn't reset it; RareCarat price-matched a cheaper listing
–Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctcushion––Bought a loose cushion lab stone for under this amount, planning to have it set locally
–Lab-grown diamond3.32 ctoval––1.5 length-to-width ratio oval bought from their local jeweler
––––other–Wedding band in cobalt chrome bought on Etsy for $60, looks similar to silver and wears well
–Lab-grown diamond3.26 ct–––3.26 ct E VS1 loose stone bought on Loose Grown Diamond, a lab-only site
–Lab-grown diamond3.2 ct–––Center stone only, super ideal or excellent cut; writer says stores just mark lab stones up
–Lab-grown diamond4.16 ct–––4.16 ct F VS1 from Ritani; not said whether $3,039 is the stone alone or the finished ring
–Lab-grown diamond––two tone202414k yellow gold band with platinum basket and hidden halo from Adiamor; paid about $250 extra for the platinum basket over an all-gold setting
–––––2024Two custom stardust rings bought from an Etsy maker after a chargeback on a Patrick Adair order; smooth process, delivered in about two weeks
–Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctoval––Admits it likely cost more than online but worth it after seeing many stones in person at a trusted jeweler who made a family ring
–Lab-grown diamond4.22 ctradiant–2024Fiancé paid $7,454 for the stone; with setting, wedding band and engraving the total reached $10k
–Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctoval––Compares favorably to two pricier IF lab diamonds the person asking was evaluating; inclusions barely visible to the eye
––4.25 ctoval–2024Paid retail despite being called a friends-and-family discount; similar specs to the asker's stone
–Lab-grown diamond3.86 ctoval–2024Option shown by their local jeweler, not the one they bought
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval–2024Another oval shown by the same local jeweler, not purchased
–Lab-grown diamond3.56 ctround–2024Trade-in credit brought net cost to about $13,000; bought locally in a HCOL area for future service
–Lab-grown diamond4.7 ctroundrose gold202410-year anniversary upgrade to a roughly 4.7ct round diamond described as a bit off-color, set in rose gold to complement it.
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion–2024Upgraded from an original 0.75ct princess-cut stone to a 2ct square cushion cut; also upgraded her wedding band afterward since the old dainty band no longer matched.
––0.75 ct––1999Original 1999 engagement ring built around her mother's diamond, never precisely measured; kept and worn alongside the new upgrade.
––––gold–Custom 18k wedding bands made by a family friend jeweler in Ongpin; paid only for the gold weight, labor was free
––––gold–Plain 14k band bought at Blue Nile in the US before the trip, plus wife's 14k diamond twist ring sized at a local jeweler; under $1,000 total for both
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2024Local jeweler quote, shape undecided between oval and round
–Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct––2024One of three same-trip brick-and-mortar quotes for a 1.6ct stone at different color/clarity
–Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct––2024Second of three same-trip brick-and-mortar quotes, better color than part 1
–Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct––2024Third of three same-trip brick-and-mortar quotes, best clarity of the three
–Natural diamond––––Quote received for a half-eternity band of natural pink diamonds, 1.8-2mm wide; declined and chose not to buy natural pink diamonds
–Sapphire2 ct––2024Unheated padparadscha sapphire on eBay, originally listed at $10k, offered to the person asking for $7k to replace a lost 2ct diamond; eye clean, almost loupe clean
–Sapphire1.6 ct–––Well-cut sapphire bought for under $2k, cited as a price comparison for the asker's stone
–Lab-grown diamond2.74 ctround––The asker's own 2.74 ct round lab diamond; couldn't recall the exact price, estimated between 2300 and 2500
–Lab-grown diamond2.25 ctoval–2024Bought from a seller referred to only as LGD
–Natural diamond1.1 ct–platinum–Natural three-quarter band; first said 2k, then corrected to 1,700; 1.1 is the total carat weight
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–––Comfort-fit band in a style like the asker's; 2 is the total carat weight
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer's parents got engaged and married with a cheap discount-store set, about 200 at most; they never upgraded
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Husband saved 3-4 months; a jeweler in a jewelry district copied a designer style they could not afford
–––––2008Inexpensive full ring set for both partners bought around 16 years before this 2024 comment; now wear $20 silicone rings day to day instead
–Natural diamond3 ct––2024Alternative 3ct option at the same price with no visible cavity, the person asking leaning toward this as the better buy
–Sapphire2 ctcushion––Won a royal blue 2ct cushion sapphire at the same online auction site; seller had not shipped it six months later
–Sapphire2 ct–––Bi-color, no-heat sapphire from the same auction site; listing photo matched the actual stone
–Sapphire1.6 ct–––Stone listed only as a pink sapphire; writer suspected the photo was manipulated, took a chance, had it certified and it came back as padparadscha, though poor quality
–Lab-grown diamond1.02 ctprincess–2024Cheapest/smallest loose princess cut ordered as a test purchase; IGI cert and stone matched on arrival within 2 days, price is after tax
–Lab-grown diamond1.69 ct––2024Second loose stone from the same seller, price after tax; comparable IGI-certified stones at James Allen were quoted at 2-3k
–Lab-grown diamond3.11 ct––2024Loose lab diamond mentioned while comparing cheap lab diamond vendors
–Sapphire3.05 ct––2024Padparadscha sapphire bought via online auction, GRS certified; price included shipping and insurance; color less pink than the listing photo
–Lab-grown diamond4.7 ct–platinum202420th-anniversary upgrade to a 4.7 ct lab diamond in a new platinum setting; traded in the old ring and other jewelry so net cost was zero
–Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctroundplatinum2024CVD lab diamond bought for a tenth-anniversary ring upgrade; planned platinum cathedral setting with six prongs and a pave band, not yet made
–Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctcushion–2024Stone-only price at a sale price; bar culet, dimensions about 9.98x7.67x5.1mm; setting being made separately by the same seller
–Lab-grown diamond2.61 ctcushion–2024Bought a 2.61ct elongated cushion lab diamond stone from Fiorese for $1,030, not a custom cut
–Lab-grown diamond2.67 ctcushion–2024Owns a 2.67ct crushed-ice cushion lab diamond stone from Fiorese, paid about $1,300
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2024Scored a 4ct lab diamond for $1,500, referencing a past group-order post
–Lab-grown diamond5.82 ctround––Bought a 5.82ct G VS1 round lab diamond for under $2400, cited to show how far lab prices had fallen
–Lab-grown diamond2.8 ct–––Paid $1400 for a 2.8ct G VS1 ideal-cut lab diamond; said prices had dropped further to under $1000 by the time of the edit
–Lab-grown diamond7 ct–––Bought a 7ct lab diamond online for $2500; says buying online beats local jewelry-store pricing, names Clean Origin as decent
––––––Same ring; local jeweler quoted this to replace the prongs with 4 double prongs, labor included; says online prices around $100 for prong repair weren't findable locally
–––––2022Husband's wedding band ordered Dec 2022, contained gold so vendor refused to cancel/refund; arrived after about 5 months
––––––Matching wedding band designed a few years after the 2007 engagement ring; exact year not given
–Lab-grown diamond5.02 ctemerald–2024Local jeweler sourced the diamond and made the setting; price given is for the stone
–Other gemstone––––Bought at half off during an Etsy Black Friday sale; moonstone center stone instead of diamond; tested as genuine
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––rose gold–Her wedding band, described as diamond in rose gold, bought separately from the engagement ring
––––gold–Both wedding bands, 10k gold, bought at a jewelry store that was closing down and liquidating stock
–Lab-grown diamond11.1 ctoval–202411.1ct oval F/VS1 main stone price-matched across brokers carrying the same stone; set with pave side stones in a custom Timeless French mounting
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––two tone–Bypass-style replacement wedding band with 2 small diamonds set in each end, 18k gold and platinum, bought on eBay after the original was stolen
–Sapphire––––Matched engagement ring (sapphire solitaire) and a flowery wedding band bought together on Etsy, under $300 with tax and shipping
–Moissanite––gold20233mm moissanite infinity wedding band upgrade in solid 10k gold from kuololit (AliExpress), held up well with daily wear
–Other gemstone––––Garnet (birthstone) engagement ring with diamond accents in white gold at half off from a local jeweler, plus two white gold bands from Etsy soldered on; total under $1200
––––other–Silver wedding band from Tiffany's, bought years earlier ('back in the day')
––––other–Titanium wedding bands; his was about $100, hers cost a bit more for a small inlaid diamond (exact price not given)
–Lab-grown diamond2.19 ctoval–2024Bought via an independent NSW jeweler; writer converted the price to about 3109 USD for comparison
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval–2024Loose fancy blue stone, a little under $500; colored stones typically pricier there
–Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctpear–2024Stone only; same stone had been listed elsewhere as high as $5,500 per StoneAlgo
–Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctoval–2024Local jeweler sold the stone near their own cost
–Lab-grown diamond2.12 ctasscher–2024Stone seen in person before buying; same vendor to make the setting separately
–Other gemstone–oval–2024Bought a loose Zambian emerald just over 2 carats to replace the stone ruined by a careless jeweler; would buy from this vendor again
–Other gemstone3.25 ctovalplatinum2024BE Luxe Nadia setting, 3.25ct oval aquamarine center with diamond marquise and round accent stones (F/G, SI); price not stated; still inside the 30-day return window.
–Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctround–2024Upgrade purchase; total covers the ring and a matching wedding band together
–––––2024Paid $300-400 to replace a damaged head/prongs and reorient the stone east-west, kept the original band, took 2 weeks
––––––Engagement ring described as really nice but its price not given; cheap wedding band bought because the engagement stone will later be reset
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2024Bought this week after comparing fair value on StoneAlgo
–Lab-grown diamond2.72 ctroundplatinum–Paid under $3,000 USD (about $4,100 CAD) for a bezel-set engagement ring plus a matching platinum wedding band
–Lab-grown diamond5.53 ctoval–2024Bought via Rare Carat, which price-matched a 20%-off Brilliance.com listing found by cert number, plus $270 tax; chosen for its 30-day post-verify window
–Lab-grown diamond3.33 ct–––Bought the loose 3.33ct stone for $3,200 CAD, paid ~$70 duties, then had a local jeweller set it; prices have dropped further since
––––––Both wedding bands bought from Etsy at $50 each, no engagement ring; plan to get nicer pieces once finances allow
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctother––Considering a rare-cut 2ct F VS1 lab diamond for $1,500 without an IGI cert (offered separately for $120 extra); intended for an engagement ring
––––––Fiance spent around $15k total on both engagement ring and wedding band; he has a high income
$0Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Engagement ring was inherited, no cost
––––––Fiance spent about 2.5 weeks of his salary on the ring, not stated as a goal, just what fit
––––––The person asking; too broke for an engagement ring at the time, this was just her wedding band
–Lab-grown diamond––––About 1-2 weeks of fiance's salary (less than a week counting her own income too); asked him to spend less on a small lab diamond
£0–––––Fiance inherited the ring, no cost to writer
––––––Spent about 3-4 months of salary, following the traditional guideline deliberately as a sign of commitment
–Lab-grown diamond0.5 ctcushionwhite gold–The person asking; combined cost of her lab-grown cushion halo ring (9ct white gold) and his sterling silver engraved ring, both under EUR600 total; avoids wearing it much for work/cleaning
–Moissanite––rose gold202410k rose gold solitaire from Provence (an Alibaba-based vendor) plus a separate band from AliExpress, combined set price
–Sapphire2.6 ctemerald––Engagement ring center stone is a natural sapphire her fiance called very hard to find; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.44 ct––2024Bought two loose diamonds at auction (1.44ct F IF and a larger 1.97ct F VVS1) for under $2,500 combined; recommends auctions over retail.
––––––Bought a replacement stone from a different local jeweler instead; regretted it once home, suspects grossly overpaying, and returned it so the jeweler could source another stone.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.3 ctradiant–2024Switched from a planned emerald to a radiant after seeing both in person; no price given.
–Lab-grown diamond4.03 ctemeraldtwo tone2024Adiamor Affinity-cut emerald, classic basket setting on 14k yellow gold with a customized platinum head and hidden halo, 1.8mm band; no price stated.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.15 ctround––Her first ring, a round brilliant, bought when she was younger; no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said6.08 ctemerald––Upgraded later in life to a larger emerald cut that she feels suits her better now; no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.75 ctround–2024A round brilliant center with double tapered baguette side stones, meant as a standalone 'everything' ring; no price given.
–––––2024Engagement ring and both wedding bands made by an independent jeweller for just over $4k; nothing ostentatious
–––––2024Spent $3k total on engagement ring and matching wedding band; says meaning mattered more than cost
–––––2014Combined about $15k CAD for engagement and wedding rings bought in Europe roughly ten years before the comment
–No stone (plain band)––other–Recycled silver bands for both partners, no gemstones, bought together on Etsy
––––gold–Plain gold wedding bands for both partners, bought separately from her vintage sapphire engagement ring
–Moissanite––––Loose stone only, bought online from China, not yet set in a ring
–Natural diamond––white gold2024$1,500 for a real-diamond ring and band set, well below three months' salary; chose white gold for skin sensitivity
–––––2024Engagement ring plus both wedding bands together under $1,000; urges others to skip spending big on jewelry
–––––2024Custom band to match a vintage ring cost under $1k; original ring's price unknown to her, diamond has visible inclusions
C$0No stone (plain band)––––Skipped buying a ring entirely and invested the roughly $80,000 (3 months' salary) with his wife instead; grew past $200k a decade later
–––––2024Cheap gold wedding bands from Walmart for $87 total; upgraded to a nicer one after ten years, price not given
––––––Modest matching wedding bands for a software-developer couple; no one thought the price was odd
––––––Custom-designed engagement ring and matching band together at an Ottawa jeweller
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Simulated stone described only as fake; wedding set picked out by his wife, gets many compliments
–––––1998Engagement and wedding ring set cost about 5% of his annual salary; his own band was the cheapest gold option available
–––––2008Engagement ultimately never happened; ring and matching wedding band have sat unworn in a safety deposit box since
––––––Bought on the spot at a mall jewelry store the same day as an unrelated purchase; asked for a modest price
––––––Original pair of inexpensive rings for both partners; husband later lost his within a year
–Lab-grown diamond––––After-tax price for her ring plus both wedding bands during a 25% off sale; lab stones beat pricier natural ones seen; chose a down payment instead
––––––Combined price for the engagement ring and her wedding band
C$0Other gemstone––––Engagement ring was a handed-down ruby ring flanked by two diamonds from husband's parents; both $20 tungsten bands set with cubic zirconia
––––––Engagement ring was a grandmother's heirloom; wedding band found at an antique market
––––––Wife picked a combined engagement-and-wedding ring set on Etsy; lost the first set without it being a big deal
––––––Engagement and wedding rings together cost under $1,000; the engagement ring was a family heirloom needing only a resize
––––––Spent 16% of income; agreed with partner to spend less now and possibly upgrade to something bigger later
––––––Wanted something comfortable and plain that would last, for both rings combined
–––––1989Wore a $20 silver wedding band for decades until it broke; now wears a $100 band instead
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Custom wedding band with lab-created diamonds and sapphires instead of natural stones, saving about $9,000
–––––1972Bought wedding bands in university for about $500 combined, no engagement ring mentioned; married 52 years
––––––Everyday $20 fake gold band substitute worn instead of the original $600 ring
–Sapphire–oval–2024Low-profile basket setting with side stones that make the 8x6mm oval sapphire look smaller than a solitaire would; bought via the vendor's Instagram, no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said4 ctemerald––Roughly 4 carats as stated by the writer (~4ct); no price given.
–Sapphire1.5 ct–––9x7mm sapphire; no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ct–––Toi et moi style with two 2ct stones total, sized up from an original plan of 1ct because loose 1ct looked small on a size 5.5 finger; no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ct–––1ct center stone with an additional 0.38ct of surrounding ruby accent stones, ring size 9; no price given.
–Sapphire2.65 ct–––Given by a friend whose family owns jewelry and gold stores in Dubai; 2.65 is a total carat weight for a natural color-changing sapphire; no price given.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.5 ct–––Corrected from an initial 2.5ct guess to 3.5ct; not a solitaire style; no price given.

Previous · Page 3 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 153 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.