engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 4 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports Without a Stated Price

Previous · Page 4 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
–Diamond, lab or natural not said0.2 ct–––No other detail given beyond the carat weight.
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Bought a lab diamond ring via Rare Carat after they price-matched a cheaper stone found on Loose Grown Diamonds; no total given
–Moissanite––gold2024Multiple east-west eternity-style bands made by Provence, each running close to $300 in 10k gold
–Moissanite–––2024East-west eternity band plus matching engagement ring made by Ada at Provence, 14 stones at 2x4mm each in the band
–Lab-grown diamond–radiant–20247-stone east-west radiant lab diamond eternity band from maker Lena, each stone about 3.5x3mm
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctpear––Loose pear lab diamond, roughly 13.9x9.1x5.6mm; shows a slight warm tinge on video, especially side-on; planning to reset it into a yellow gold setting
–Natural diamond1.35 ct–white gold–Daughter gifted mother a 3-piece wedding set with anniversary band; retail valued $13k, daughter paid $2.5k
––––––Wrote it cost nearly this much for her husband's wedding ring; said men's rings can be surprisingly costly
––––––Her partner's wedding band; she wanted him to keep looking but he insisted on this one
––––other–A stainless steel ring, originally a birthday gift, became his wedding band; she separately got him a black tungsten ring with gold and meteorite as a reciprocal engagement-style gift with no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond2.77 ctround––Loose stone bought during a 20% off sale; took about 12 days to ship
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval––Blue-colored loose stone bought for under $400
––––––Husband bought himself this ring off Amazon and declined anything nicer, seemingly put off by the cost of her custom engagement ring
–Lab-grown diamond1.26 ctprincess–2024Loose stone only, no setting price given; same stone was triple the price at Ritani
–Lab-grown diamond2.41 ct––2024Loose stone only, no setting price given; recommended as a cheap direct seller of lab stones
––––gold–Custom-made 18K gold ring setting, price in Mexican pesos, excludes the center stone; longstanding jeweler relationship
–Lab-grown diamond1.76 ctoval––Made-to-measure setting carries a premium; could have been done cheaper shopping online but writer wanted to select everything in person
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctcushion––Writer says lab diamond prices now run roughly 200-400 per carat, citing stonealgo, Debebian's and Luvansh as lower-cost sources
–Lab-grown diamond3.54 ctmarquise––Pink stone, a second lab diamond owned by the same writer
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–2024Pinkish stone; one of several lab diamonds bought over time, earlier ones cost much more with no price given
–Lab-grown diamond2.02 ctemerald––Dimensions given as 8.56x6.10x3.97mm, 1.4 length-to-width ratio
––––––Combined cost of both partners' wedding bands
–Lab-grown diamond5.82 ctround–2024Buyer's own recent purchase of a loose 5.82ct G VS1 round lab diamond, cited as proof big lab stones can be affordable
–Lab-grown diamond2.81 ctovalrose gold2024Custom floral scalloped diamond wedding band made by a Toronto jeweler to pair with her 2.81ct lab oval ring; the ring's own price not disclosed
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Bought a comparable lab diamond for under $1000 with IGI certification
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion–2024Paid $1600 plus tax for the loose stone in Florida
–Lab-grown diamond3.33 ctround–2023Loose diamond, near-perfect specs and cut, bought in December; stone type inferred from the lab-diamond price comparison context
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctcushion–2024Elongated cushion, 1.42 ratio, near flawless, super ideal cut; 25% off summer discount, original price $3,055
–––––2023Line item in a 29.5k wedding budget for 80 guests; combined cost of both wedding bands
–––––2024Just ordered from Rare Carat; they price-matched immediately and cut the price by $2700, final total not given
–––––2024Wedding bands only; writer says the engagement ring is not included in this figure
–––––2024The person asking kept wedding band spending minimal, under 100 total for both bands
–––––2024Part of a 27k total wedding budget for 75 guests; combined cost of both wedding bands
–Other gemstone–pear––Pear-cut morganite ring with diamond accents plus a plain diamond wedding band, bought together
–Other gemstone––––Engagement ring and band set with simulated stones and black rhodium coating
–Other gemstone––rose gold2024Morganite engagement ring with diamond accents plus at least one pave wedding band, bought as a stack on Etsy
–––––2024Custom Etsy engagement ring bundled with a fitted wedding band
–No stone (plain band)––other2024Thin 2mm black carbon fiber wedding band, light and durable, no moisture buildup like her silicone rings
–Lab-grown diamond2.91 ct––2024Custom lab-grown replica of an inherited 5.23ct natural family ring, made for everyday wear; price not stated
–Natural diamond––platinum–Fiancé chose an $8k natural stone over lab hoping it would hold more value; platinum band; the stone alone has about $5k resale value
––––––Writer and husband spent this combined on all their rings; whether it included a stone or was bands only is not specified
––––––Traded in a previous fiancée's roughly $5-6k jewelry for double-value store credit, then paid $7k more for the new set; writer would have chosen moissanite otherwise
–Lab-grown diamond––white gold–Semi-mount from Tianyu (China) with diamond side stones; center lab stone from Brilliance.com set locally for $100; ring+band total about $3k
––––––A wedding set shown in a photo cost about $80, exact contents unclear; husband's ring was $1.79 on Temu
––3.42 ct–––Loose stone only; buyer recommends the vendor for better prices
–No stone (plain band)––––Platinum and 18k gold wedding bands bought together; comparable Cartier-style bands were quoted around $4,000.
––2.5 ctround––Used a 25% off promo code on the loose stone
–Lab-grown diamond6.03 ct–gold–6.03 ct H&A center stone with two 0.50 ct baguettes plus a matching wedding band of lab diamonds, all in 18k gold; carat figure may be total weight, not confirmed center-stone only
–No stone (plain band)––gold–Same 14k gold wedding band was quoted at $1,400 at Zales before he bought it at Costco for $500.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Engagement ring and band bought as a set from a jewelry-crafting shop, not a chain store; appraised same day at $15,000.
–Sapphire1.17 ct–––Won a $150 sapphire auction; the original stone won at that price vanished from the seller's inventory and was replaced with a slightly larger (about 1.17-1.2ct), darker true-royal-blue stone
–––––1984Engaged in June without a ring; picked the wedding set in November, price included resizing; still worn nearly 40 years later
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Loose stone only, meant for one of the vendor's own settings; no bow-tie or windowing
––3.02 ctcushion––Boyfriend's loose elongated cushion-cut diamond, cited as a comparison to the $4,000 quote in the post
–Natural diamond––––Natural diamond wedding set; later sold for a fraction of this after a divorce
–Lab-grown diamond2.41 ctround–2024Loose triple-excellent round lab diamond bought around 2024; also bought other ~2.35ct stones near $400 each from same vendor
–Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2018Loose triple-excellent round natural stone bought in 2018; writer says it looks unimpressive next to the new lab stone
–Lab-grown diamond7 ct–––Sourced a 7ct lab diamond online and had a local jeweler set it, about $2,000 for the stone alone, cheaper than buying a finished ring from one retailer
–No stone (plain band)–––2024Solid gold ring for her fiance during a huge sale, for under this amount; hadn't expected a deal from a large jeweler
–––––2024Husband's band from this online wedding-band brand
––––white gold2024Simple white gold band for her fiance, ordered online; used the one-time free resizing to get a good fit
––––gold2024Classic 14K gold band for her boyfriend, bought on eBay
––––gold2024Her own patterned 14k gold band, bought around the same time as her boyfriend's
–––––2024Band bought for her husband on Etsy; still looking good and holding up years later
–––––2024Band for her partner during a 30% July sale; brand offers a lifetime warranty, installment payments and free engraving; still needs sizing
––––other2024Tungsten ring for her husband, cheap enough she bought several color variants; one worn almost daily for a year and still like new
––––other20245mm yellow tungsten band for her husband, bought on sale; full price is around $200 and the store runs sales often
–Lab-grown diamond6.03 ct–gold–Custom made with side baguettes; includes the wedding band plus about 1ct extra of side stones total
–Lab-grown diamond5.1 ctemerald––Loose stone, not yet set into a ring
–Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctcushion––Custom setting plus a wedding band carrying 0.5ct of stones, flat total price
–Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctround–2024Loose round lab diamond bought in January; writer expects prices have dropped further since
–Lab-grown diamond7.07 ctpear––Loose stone bought online, not yet set
–Lab-grown diamond3.6 ctround––Bought online during a summer sale; original stone sold out so the seller substituted a larger stone at the original price as compensation, so this was a below-regular-price deal
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2024Found via Rare Carat, then price-matched search led to buying the same IGI stone from Rockher over 5k cheaper; not yet proposed
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Writer's own wedding ring set from a broken engagement, later sold after the split
–––––2022Custom wedding band, worn daily for 2 years with no issues
–Lab-created coloured stone4 ct––2024Lab-grown white sapphire center stone, offered as an alternative to diamond or moissanite
–Moissanite–––2020Moissanite engagement ring and wedding band bought together on Etsy, still shiny 4 years later
––––––Setting bought first with a CZ placeholder, a real diamond added 3 years later; ring has since been upgraded again
–Natural diamond0.96 ct–––Triple-excellent cut stone from Whiteflash; buyer also suggests considering lab diamonds.
–Natural diamond1.01 ct–––Says she bought the same spec diamond the week before directly from a diamond manufacturer.
–Lab-grown diamond3.5 ct–––Price-matched a listing found at Rockher via Stonealgo; Adiamour accepted the match within a day.
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Center lab diamond stone over 3 carats; spent far less than an equivalent from Jared
–––princess–2019Princess cut with a halo bridal set; writer is now planning a new set for their 5-year anniversary
–Other gemstone2 ct––20242ct aquamarine center stone quote; whole ring with band estimated around $2,000 total
–––––2024Writer's own wedding band, bought separately from the engagement ring
–Lab-grown diamond1.77 ctemerald–2024Center stone only; writer called it a fraction of local jeweler quotes for similar specs
–Moissanite––yellow gold2024Almost 2 carats of moissanite; ring and matching wedding band bought together, sparklier than any diamond the writer had seen
–Lab-grown diamond1.77 ctround–2024Buyer's own lab-grown round stone bought online, suggested as a way to free budget for setting or band
–Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct––2024Jeweler sourced the lab diamond and made the whole wedding set; unclear if this covers just the engagement ring or both rings
–Lab-grown diamond2.33 ct––2024Jeweler refused to let her leave with under 2ct now that lab-grown is cheap; she picked a 2.33ct lab stone
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–––Quote seen for a 3ct diamond gold ring while shopping for a wedding band; more than she wanted to spend right now
–Lab-grown diamond2.2 ctpear–2024Loose lab pear stone bought to replace an 8-year-old moissanite in the same setting; Rare Carat listed the same spec over $4k
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Bought a little over $1,000 for a 2.5ct lab stone that Rare Carat listed for over $6k
––––––Both wedding bands combined
–Moissanite––––Matching moissanite engagement and wedding rings bought together
––––––Bridal set of engagement and wedding rings, interlocking design
––––––Australian valuation on a ring bought at a 90% jeweller discount while marrying in Las Vegas; now divorced, she kept the ring
–––––2014Both partners' rings made with a jeweller met at a market; no gemstones, mixed metals
––––––Paid about two weeks' wages for the ring
–Natural diamond––gold–Western Australian cognac (deep yellow/olive) diamonds set in 18-karat gold, designed with a local jeweller
––––––Engagement ring and her wedding band bought together as a set; own band bought separately
–Sapphire––––Replaced the lost original stone with a sapphire after 15 years
––––––Insurance-valued around $17k; paid only a fraction of that through research; avoided chain stores like Michael Hill
––––––Given to the writer by its previous owner; sentimental value considered higher than the price
––––––NZD 1600; made themselves over two days at a jewelry maker with supplied gold and gems
–Other gemstone––––Rings no longer fit after a post-baby weight change; replaced with a set from a diamond-simulant and lab-grown specialist
––––––Two matching stacking bands added for the wedding and first anniversary to complete the set
–––––2014Proposed without a ring first, picked the engagement ring and matching wedding rings together a week later
–Moissanite––gold20242ct moissanite ring with diamond side-stones and pave, plus a diamond wedding band; ordered overseas, not yet received
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Stone only; price includes customs and shipping into Canada
–Moissanite–cushiontwo tone2018Moissanite alone about $2500; ring plus wedding band with natural pink sapphire accents totaled $7500, custom made in Israel
–Moissanite–emerald–2024Loose stone price includes shipping
––––––Wedding ring bought separately
–Moissanite–cushionyellow gold2024Pave moissanite ring plus a matching pave eternity band from an Etsy jewelry designer in India
–Lab-grown diamond––––Entire budget for the engagement ring and wedding band together was $2800, in the G-color/VS2-clarity range discussed here
–Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct––2024Paid $1,800 for a 2.7ct stone found using StoneAlgo; later saw a similar diamond listed for $1,000 at Loose Grown Diamond
–Moissanite–round–2024Bought a 6ct round moissanite in the same Amazon deal as the asker's post; undecided what to do with it
–Lab-grown diamond2.08 ctround–2024D/VVS1 2.08ct ideal cut lab diamond with hearts-and-arrows and strong ASET performance, bought for under $1,700; stonealgo estimated its market value around $2,500 and other retailers listed similar stones over $2,000
–Moissanite–round–2024Bought one 6ct round moissanite in the same 50%-plus-8%-off Amazon deal, about $31 total; also owns a cushion-cut Forever One moissanite engagement ring from Charles & Colvard
–Lab-grown diamond1.41 ctpear––Got a 30% discount on this pear-shaped lab diamond
–Moissanite––other2024Anniversary gift: tungsten eternity band for husband wrapped in moissanite, VVS clarity, about 1ct total weight.
––––––Married in 2022 with inexpensive silver bands; later saved up and spent $1,200 on a nicer ring set for his wife while still saving for his own ring
––––––Both wedding bands bought together from Amazon, still looking good years later
––––––Couple made their own wedding bands at a jewelry-making workshop, about €100 each
––––other–Tungsten carbide wedding band with free next-day delivery; people assumed it was platinum
––––––No engagement ring; just a wedding band bought in a half-price sale
––––––The original engagement ring plus both wedding bands combined, bought when he was 17 with little money; worn 15 years
––––––New rings made locally with local materials and artists for their 15th anniversary
–Other gemstone––other–Engagement and wedding ring set, cubic zirconia and sterling silver, held up well for 5 years
––––gold–18k gold band, a walk-in find at the local jeweler who also made her 1.1 ct natural engagement ring; the ring's own price is not given
–––––2024Cheap placeholder rings for both, bought a couple months after their wedding, not meant as their forever rings
–Natural diamond1.5 ct––2024Bought their own 1.5 ct diamond for about the same price the person asking was being quoted, around $7,600; says the asker's stone has out-of-range cut angles though
–Moissanite––––2024 update after marrying; bought her full moissanite ring-and-band set from the same maker she had been researching since 2022
–Natural diamond1 ct–––1ct diamond originally bought by writer's ex-mother-in-law in the 1980s per the receipt/appraisal photo; later became writer's own engagement ring, now for sale after divorce
–Lab-grown diamond5.19 ctmarquise–2024Labor Day promotion purchase, planned for an east-west bezel setting
–Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctasscher–2024Loose asscher stone, likely for a custom ring given the discussion's DIY context
–Lab-grown diamond2.81 ctpear––Fancy Intense Greenish Blue pear; writer notes colored lab diamonds cost much more than colorless ones
–Lab-grown diamond2.8 ctround–2024Bought just before a 10% off sale started
–Lab-grown diamond5.06 ctpeargold–Upsized a 2.08ct pear to 5.06ct timed to their anniversary date; writer recalled paying $1,300 or $1,400; band remade from mother's old gold with sapphire and diamond eternity rows
–Lab-grown diamond6.25 ctpear––Large pear stone bought before Luvansh existed; writer called it a great price at the time
–Natural diamond0.33 ctoval–2022Eternity wedding band of natural oval stones bought via a jeweler relative at an insider price; guesses a lab version would have cost about $3,000
–Natural diamond1 ctround–20191ct Forevermark round brilliant that looked small on a size 8 finger, set in an 18kt white gold solitaire trellis setting
–Lab-grown diamond4.05 ct––2024Bought for under $1,500 and awaiting delivery; writer estimates a natural equivalent would have cost about $40,000
–No stone (plain band)––––Bought a matching set of two plain wedding bands since banding her ornate engagement ring separately would have cost much more; she gave the figure as roughly 350
–Lab-grown diamond5.26 ct––2024Bought a loose 5.26ct lab G/VS2 diamond a few weeks before commenting, for $1,100, as a lower-cost comparison to the asker's $8k stone
–Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctovalwhite gold–Whole set with pave diamonds, described as well under $10k
––––––Price covers two 3-carat-total-weight eternity bands together, bought via AliExpress
–Natural diamond––––Natural sapphire and diamond main ring plus a moon-phase band with one small lab diamond
––––––Eternity wedding band, about 2.1 total carat weight, discounted from $4k since the jeweller is a family friend; engagement ring alone is 1.7ct, price not given
–––––2023Bought via an Ouros group buy; paid extra for excellent-cut diamonds
–Lab-grown diamond2.85 ct––2024Bought a 2.85ct F/VVS2 lab diamond (IGI) from Luvansh for $534; the identical stone (same IGI#) was listed about $1,000 higher on another site.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ct––2024Bought after being warned off a differently-graded stone at a mall jeweler; type not stated by writer
–No stone (plain band)–––2024Her plain engraved wedding band, no stones; fiance's mixed-metal gold engraved band came to about $900
–Lab-grown diamond2.4 ct–platinum–Fully custom 3-ring set designed with the seller, blue sapphire accent stones
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Quote for loose lab-grown stones only (no setting) in a 1/3/1 carat three-stone set from an overseas vendor; they went with a different sourcing route instead.
–Lab-grown diamond2.94 ct–––Loose stone only, no setting mentioned
–Lab-grown diamond2.3 ctprincess––Ring plus matching band, out-the-door total, found through the Rare Carat comparison site
–Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Triple-excellent natural stone; writer says it visually reads the same as a similar lab stone despite the price gap.
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––A friend's lab stone, reported secondhand by the writer as a price comparison.
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2024Quote to trade in current I/SI1 diamond plus $4k cash to go up a carat to this L/SI2 stone; still undecided
––––––Her regular jeweler charged about $40 to set the stone
––––––Charged 2k just to set the stone; jeweler wouldn't set it into her existing gold band, had to use a new one; felt overcharged
–Sapphire––gold2014Custom 9ct purple sapphire (her birthstone) ring plus matching wedding band from a small jeweller, made around 2014-15; mold kept so it stays unique
0No stone (plain band)–––2017Husband proposed with no ring; CHF 1000 total for both wedding bands, made themselves at a ring-making workshop from the cheapest gold available; married 7 years as of the comment
–No stone (plain band)––––CHF 30 for both partners' rings; they dislike wearing metal jewelry
0No stone (plain band)––––No ring bought; the couple agreed it was an unnecessary expense and have been married for several years without one
0No stone (plain band)––––Proposed with no ring at all
––––––Proper rings bought later on a trip to Australia, about 2,000 AUD (roughly CHF 1,200), a favorable exchange rate at the time
–No stone (plain band)–––2004CHF 100 total for both rings; proposed on a remote New Zealand beach; married nearly 20 years as of the comment
––––––Local jeweler charged $370 to set the stone, complained the prongs were too thin, and required a waiver releasing them from responsibility if the diamond cracked during setting
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––1999Paid about a quarter of a month's salary for a ring similar to her grandmother's, found and negotiated at the Diamond District in Manhattan; married 25 years as of the comment
–Natural diamond0.5 ct–––Same buyer's own wedding band also set with a half carat natural alexandrite, similarly priced at $5,000 or more
–No stone (plain band)––other–CHF 250 for simple silver rings for both; jokes that people ask if it's platinum
––––––1.5 months' salary in total; views jewellery as a sunk cost, not an investment
––––––20% of monthly salary at the time; chose a beach honeymoon over a flashier ring
––––––About 75% of one month's net salary
––––––About 1 month's post-tax salary; bought online from an Australian retailer and picked it up on holiday there to reclaim about 10% GST
––––––About 2 months' post-tax pay
––––––Covers two rings bought in total; originally stated as 20-25% of one month's salary
–No stone (plain band)––––Opted out of an engagement ring entirely (finds it antiquated); spent this on custom gold wedding bands for both
––2.5 ct–platinum–About 4-5x monthly income, no absolute figure given; chose a stone between 2 and 3ct on a classic solitaire platinum setting; married 15+ years, no regrets
––––––Stone bought on a US trip where prices were favourable, set and fitted afterward in London
–Lab-grown diamond––––No absolute price given; about 40% of monthly salary; writer is a scientist and liked the lab-grown production process
––––––About 3 months' salary; no absolute figure given
–Lab-grown diamond2.81 ct–––Bought a 2.81ct stone from Ritani for $800; buyer says they can no longer find prices that low.
––––––One month's salary reckoned, not three; no absolute figure given
––––rose gold–Independent goldsmith, pre-HENRY; combined cost for a rose-gold engagement ring (small diamond plus an amethyst cluster, her birthstone) and a wedding-band-making workshop with the gold for both bands
–Lab-created coloured stone––gold–Jeweler's fee to set a 9mm lab sapphire in 14k gold at a mall repair shop; price depends on stone size and metal, platinum setting costs more
––2.26 ctround––Local jeweler charged by the carat to set a stone bought from Luvansh, in a high cost of living area
––––––Quote from a jeweler in the next town over, not used
––––––Quote for setting fee in a high cost of living area
––––white gold–200 for a 4-prong white gold head plus 200 to mount that head into a 14k gold cathedral setting
––––––Most reasonable price found, from an independent old-school jeweler who set it same-day in front of the writer, high cost of living area
––––––Loose diamond bought from Loose Grown Diamond, setting from Provence, mounted by a local jeweller for less than expected
––––––Writer wrote "2m salary", read here as about 2 months' salary; no absolute figure given
––––––One month's salary, no absolute figure given
––––––Made his own wedding band at a design-it-yourself shop in Bluewater shopping centre, choosing stones from trays
––––––Ring and wedding band bought together at Belk during a sale; saved $3,000 off the regular set price
–Lab-grown diamond3.51 ct–––Super ideal cut stone bought for his wife from brilliance.com; shape and year not given; lab implied by the community and the price
–Lab-grown diamond4.3 ct–––After comparing online vendor quotes for a 3ct D-E VVS1/VVS2 stone, chose a private jeweller who quoted $6k for what turned out to be a 4.3ct D VVS1 stone; not yet purchased as of the reply
–Lab-grown diamond3.51 ct––20243.51ct F VVS2 super-ideal-cut stone bought from Brilliance.com for $1,450, shared as a pricing data point
–Lab-grown diamond–––2024Same buyer said the two rings pictured together, likely engagement ring plus band, totaled $3,000
–Lab-grown diamond––white gold2024Custom wedding band, lab diamonds on one side and sky blue topaz on the other, 18k white gold
–Natural diamond3.01 ct–––The best GIA-certified stone-only quote the person asking had found so far, for just the loose stone
–No stone (plain band)–––2024Cheap placeholder wedding band bought instead of a costly custom band to match the engagement ring
–Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctradiant–2024Radiant cut diamond that wears closer to 3 ct visually on a size 8 finger; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond–emerald–2024Emerald-cut wedding band, 2.3-2.6 total carat weight, price included fees and shipping
–Natural diamond2.27 ctround–2024Loose diamond the person asking was deciding on, not yet bought; buyers guessed GIA would grade it I or J color
–Lab-grown diamond6.3 ctoval–2024Loose lab diamond bought for comparison, cited as cheaper than the 5ct oval the person asking was asking about
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushionwhite gold2024Center stone for a 3-stone cushion trilogy quoted at 700; full trilogy ring plus matching wedding band being made for about 2500
–Moissanite–radiant––Self-bought upgrade stone, no price given; her husband first mistook it for a real diamond
–Lab-grown diamond3.91 ctradiant–2024Loose stone, not yet set; arrived in 2 days via FedEx
–Lab-grown diamond3.92 ctradiant–2024Bought during a 20%-off sale
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–20243ct pear that faces up to about 3.3ct visually
–Lab-grown diamond1.09 ctemerald–2024Loose stone only; had a separate setting custom made for it
–Lab-grown diamond3.25 ctpearplatinum2024Stone bought on sale, non-sale price was 1485; custom platinum setting made to match an inspiration design for the extra amount
––––platinum2024Cost of a new head/prongs made on an existing setting in platinum to hold a replacement stone; platinum work costs more than gold
–Moissanite–––2024Loose 4ct moissanite bought online; writer says it looks gorgeous despite the low price
–Lab-grown diamond7.05 ct–––Quote for the 7.05ct option; shows a prominent bow-tie in the video despite specs suggesting it should be minimal
–Lab-grown diamond5.34 ct–––Quote for the 5.34ct alternative; multiple buyers flagged it as hazy from CVD strain/striation
–Natural diamond1.6 ct–––Bought a Brian Gavin branded-cut natural diamond because girlfriend wanted natural; setting not described
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2024Cousin bought a loose 2.5ct stone from this Indian vendor last month, hearts-and-arrows cut; writer's own past order there got an IGI certificate.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.57 ct––2024Buyer's own loose diamond bought from a wholesaler, given as a comparison to the asker's stone; carat stated as CTW
––––gold–Antique 1940s-era 14k gold orange-blossom band found at a pawn shop, priced by weight; her engagement ring is 18k platinum for contrast.
–Natural diamond–princess–2024Jeweler describing a natural D VS2 princess stone sold to a different customer the week before; mounting/setting for a similar ring would run another $1000-1200
––––gold202418kt gold setting only, bought in May for a lab diamond project
–Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctradiant–2024Loose stone bought just barely over $700
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctpeargold2024Quote for a basic 10k gold bezel setting to mount a 2ct pear lab diamond bought earlier that year
–Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Husband paid about $10k for the 1.5ct D VVS2 stone; appraised at $40k; she doubts they'd get more than $8k reselling it now.
–Lab-grown diamond1.52 ct–platinum–Custom engagement ring plus matching wedding band, pave platinum setting, cited as an example of lab-grown value
––3 ctcushion–2024Loose elongated cushion stone bought from a seller on the group; stone type not confirmed
––––gold2024Paying about $1,150 for a custom 18k band only, no stones purchased; described as on the low end for such work
–Lab-grown diamond9 ctoval–2024Loose 9ct oval diamond being bought online while ring is in progress; says Helzberg would charge $20k+ for something comparable
–Natural diamond1.2 ctprincess–2024Also upgraded her center stone through Jared; paid the same amount as the asker's husband for a similar-spec stone.
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2024Bought during a Black Friday sale; a jeweler later quoted their own wholesale cost at about $150 per carat for lab diamonds
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2024Bought on Luvanash; cited to estimate the asker's 5-carat stone could fetch around $1,000 resale
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct––2024Quote for a stone of roughly 3+ carats, exact carat approximate as stated; specific stone type not given
––––gold2024Tiara/crown-style wedding band bought on a whim at an airport jewelry shop; engagement ring is 14k, band is 18k gold
–Moissanite–oval––Quote for a double-claw-prong setting only, shipping and PayPal fees included; still deciding whether to order
–Moissanite––––Chose moissanite for her own engagement ring for affordability and easy replacement; wedding bands are plain 18k yellow gold with no stone
–Lab-grown diamond––––Quote to add 24 round 1.9mm pave stones (about 1/4 carat total) to a ring, offered as a comparison to the asker's baguette surcharge
–Lab-grown diamond––gold–Entire 14kt gold setting including .50 carat trapezoid side diamonds, told they were harder to source in that size
$0–––––Now-husband's grandmother's ring, given at no cost
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2024Paid for a loose lab diamond, cited to contrast against the asker's much pricier 2015 natural stone
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.25 ct––2024Covers the 1.25ct diamond, its setting and a wedding band with small side diamonds
–––––2024Capped spend at 10% of partner's after-tax income instead of a salary-months rule; saved for a year to avoid debt
$0–––––First engagement ring was a family heirloom 1910s miner-cut ring, no cost
––––––Both wedding bands are secondhand used Cartier bands from eBay, each roughly $400-600
–Moissanite–––2024Chose a bigger moissanite stone over a diamond
–Lab-grown diamond–cushion–2024Bought a similar-looking cushion lab diamond for comparison; exact carat/color/clarity not restated
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctemerald–2024Bought just the lab diamond stone from a local jeweler, no setting price given
–Lab-grown diamond1.52 ct––2024Loose lab diamond bought online, under $400, cheaper than the jeweler's quote for a similar stone
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–oval–2024Buyer's own recent diamond purchase, cited as a size/quality comparison to the asker's stone
–Natural diamond––––Researched carefully for a GIA-certified natural stone; price excludes gold setting cost
–Lab-grown diamond1.12 ct––2024Fancy intense green lab diamond bought from a Chinese seller during a sale, with certificate
–––––2024Bought 3 identical simple bands on a Black Friday deal for under $150 total, as spare/backup wedding bands
–––––2024Mounting-only quote in a fairly expensive area, plus a separate $150 charge to set the stone; considered very high
–Moissanite–––2024Moissanite semi-eternity band from an Etsy seller with good reviews
––––gold2024Thin gold band matching her engagement ring; writer says it added roughly $100-200 to the total
––––other2024His tungsten carbide wedding band bought on Amazon
–––––2024Final combined cost for her engagement ring plus his wedding band, up from an original roughly $400 option after he chose to spend more
–––––2024Custom pair of bands from a private online artist, inlaid with opal and some of their daughter's ashes
––––gold2024Husband's simple gold wedding band, a little under $400
–Moissanite–emerald––A second, bigger 10x8 emerald cut ring she also owns, about 4ct diamond equivalent weight; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–white gold2023Custom-made ring inspired by a Brilliant Earth design plus two curved wedding bands each with 5 small lab diamonds
––––––Says he spent about 45 days' worth of his own pre-tax pay on the ring
––––––Used two months' salary as the spending guide, notes it looks high next to other buyers here
–No stone (plain band)––other–Two tungsten placeholder rings for both partners; plans to upgrade to a plain white gold band later since tungsten can't be resized
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval–2024Jeweler said the same specs would be a $20k stone if natural; he'd sold 80 lab diamonds to 2 natural stones that month
–Lab-grown diamond1.93 ct––2024No fluorescence; writer had no prior lab-vs-natural preference and is very happy with the result
––––––Retail value of the set was about 7k but a family discount made the actual cost less than that; now earns much more and has offered to upgrade but wife declined
––––––Combined cost for wife's engagement ring and wedding band, given as a 7-7.5k range; notes higher valuations raise home and contents insurance costs
––––––Combined spend on both partners' rings; similar household income to the asker's, thinks over 5k combined is spending for someone else's benefit
––––––Combined cost of both wedding rings
––––––A love band bought from Etsy
–Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctround–2024Quote received for a lab-grown stone while shopping, not yet purchased
–Lab-grown diamond3.78 ctheart–2024Paid this after a 30% Christmas discount off a $3,000 list price for a super-ideal cut stone
–Lab-grown diamond––––A woman who emailed a jeweler said she had paid this at retail for the stone
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2024Bought a similarly sized stone for about the same price as the asker's listing, around May or June
–––––2024Platinum wedding band remade after it and her engagement ring were cut off her wrist during a fracture; another jeweler quoted about the same.
–––––2024Cost to fix her platinum 3-stone engagement ring and repair 12 prongs after the same wrist injury.
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2024Loose 2.5 ct I VVS1 IGI stone quoted for a wife's ring upgrade; passed after buyers said the cut wasn't ideal despite the listing's claim, citing a large table, high pavilion angle and flat crown
–Natural diamond2.5 ctround––Stone listed on RareCarat for a surprise ring upgrade, still deciding whether to buy; a new setting would be bought separately
–Natural diamond2.5 ct–––2.5 ct GIA-certified diamond bought loose from a dealer in India for $10,000; writer called the RareCarat-listed stone discussed here overpriced by comparison
–Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct––2024Near-perfect lab stone bought online to reset into her original ring's setting
–Natural diamond2.71 ctround–2025Loose stone listed on RareCarat for a surprise ring upgrade; new 18k YG setting planned separately; the person asking passed after K/SI2 looked too warm
–Natural diamond2 ctradiant–2025Diamond alone, untreated with faint fluorescence, from a private jeweler after extensive research; chose to avoid big-name jewelers
–Natural diamond2.6 ctround–2025Loose stone meant for a new 18k yellow-gold setting, paid about half of an ~$18k budget; later returned after feedback about brownish tint and haze
–Lab-grown diamond3.55 ctcushionplatinum2025GIA-certified 3.55ct fancy yellow cushion-cut lab diamond with trillion side stones on a platinum band, proposed in Iceland; she says she doesn't know the cost
––3 ctroundwhite gold–Simple 6-prong setting for a 3ct round stone, via a coworker's connection to a local jeweler
––––yellow gold–Custom tulip setting made flush with the stone's dimensions
––––––Quote for a basic solitaire setting; still comparing prices
––––––Paid to set a new stone into their original engagement ring; new prongs needed to fit it
––––––Considering a local jewelry store setting priced at $1k; the setting labor itself would be free with purchase
––––two tone–Two-tone 14k gold tulip setting with pave prongs and euro shank for a marquise stone; less than $600 for the semi-mount from Starsgem plus $50 to have a local jeweler set the stone; domestic quote for the same design was
––––rose gold–Solitaire setting for a Luvansh stone; other vendors in the same jewelry mart quoted $350-$599
––––––Plus shipping, for a Luvansh stone; setting not yet delivered at time of comment
––1.86 ct–––Setting fee $150-200 plus a hidden halo of additional lab diamonds sourced by the jeweler; still in progress
––3 ct–––Quote to set a 3ct stone into a setting made in China; another local jeweler quoted $300+
–Moissanite––––Paid for a hand-cut stone alone, cited as an example that special cuts cost more than mass-manufactured ones
––––––Used melted-down family gold for the setting; the $800 covers design and setting labor only, not the gold's value
––––––Mall kiosk fast-fix jeweler setting service, used more than once
––6 ct–rose gold–4-prong hidden-halo cathedral setting in 18k rose gold
––––gold2023Sent stone to an out-of-state jeweler for about half of the $1000-1500 quoted locally for a 14k solitaire setting
––––yellow gold–14k yellow gold cathedral band with hidden halo and white gold prongs
––4 ct–––Setting in progress for a 4ct Luvansh stone; writer praised overseas prices
––––gold–Priced in NZD; 18k gold band with platinum prongs
––––––Stone for the custom yellow-gold tulip setting mentioned in an earlier comment
––––white gold–Separate, less-customized white gold setting on another ring, using less gold
––––––Partner spent about a month's salary; writer felt it was too extravagant
––––––Partner spent a month's salary on the ring
–Lab-grown diamond1.7 ct–––Half his monthly salary went to a 1.7ct lab-grown stone; wanted to avoid an outrageous ring
––––yellow gold–18k yellow gold forged setting with side stones; stone mounting included free with the stone purchase price
––––––A little over half his monthly income; picked something modest to save money for other things
––––––Simple gold ring costing about a tenth of his monthly salary
––––––Less than half his monthly income; thinks 1.5x annual pay is too much
––––––Joking answer, roughly one to two days of salary
––––––Writer reports an acquaintance spent about eight-tenths of a month's salary
––––––Fiance's one month salary; more than she expected him to spend
––––––About a month's post-deduction salary for the ring; separate spending on a destination proposal trip
––––gold–Simple gold engagement rings for both partners together in India, about half a month's combined salary; prefers gold to diamonds
––––––Actual ring cost about half a month's salary, more than the 20 percent guideline they had heard
––––––Fiance spent a little over a month's salary on her ring in India
––––––About a quarter of his monthly salary; plans to upgrade once more financially stable
––––––Ring cost about a third of fiance's salary by writer's own estimate; income referenced is his
–Moissanite–cushion––Cushion-cut halo moissanite engagement ring plus a separate custom wedding band with lab diamonds and sapphires; combined cost for both
–Moissanite––white gold2025Fiancé's matching wedding band (MENS185), moissanite, white gold
––––––Bridal set bought while on a tight budget; later exchanged the stone's shape and size for free, and is considering another exchange now
–Lab-created coloured stone––yellow gold–Custom 14k yellow gold ring with two small diamonds and a lab-grown ruby center, plus a matching wedding band set with five lab-grown diamonds
––––gold–Quote for a thick bezel, thick-band setting in 14k from the same NJ jeweler; considered a good price
–Moissanite–––2025In-person quote at a local jewelry store for a 2ct moissanite, compared side by side against a lab diamond.
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2025Lab diamond alternative quote from the same store for the same prospective ring.
––––––Engaged in India; her ring cost about one month of her own salary
––––––Husband's ring cost about two months of her salary; she felt the expense wasn't justified
–Moissanite–oval–2025Online quote for a 3ct oval moissanite, far cheaper than the local jewelry store's price for a smaller stone.
–––––2025Couple's two wedding bands bought together at a good price; the engagement ring itself was still not bought amid budget fights
–Lab-grown diamond1.26 ctround–2025Loose round lab diamond bought cheap off an Alibaba seller; also bought a matching pair, same size and cut, for $197 total
–Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctemerald–2025Not yet set
–Lab-grown diamond3.81 ct––2024Bought during a Black Friday sale
–Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctradiant–2025A quote, seller not identified in discussion
–Lab-grown diamond3.16 ctradiant–2025Bought during a 30% off sale; getting it set locally for an estimated $1400, not yet done
–Lab-grown diamond4.1 ct––2025Loose stone, not yet set
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctcushion–2025Loose stone, all-in after tax and shipping; visual carat looked like about 4ct though actual weight is 3.1ct; not yet set
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctradiant–2025Loose stone, not yet set; ring being made overseas
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2024Husband's 10k gold band with black and white diamonds; sale price down from $1,350 at a Valentine's Day promotion
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2025Secondhand 18k gold wedding band found at a pawn shop, more diamonds and a more custom look than the linked ring
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––gold2025Writer's own 14k men's wedding band set with 9 diamonds
–Lab-grown diamond1.36 ct––2025Loose diamond bought separately, not yet set, earlier the same month as the comment
–Lab-grown diamond2.56 ctcushion–2025Being set at a local jeweler, not yet received back
–Lab-grown diamond4.7 ct–yellow gold2025Solitaire plus a matching gold wedding band; writer now wonders if they overpaid
–Lab-grown diamond2.57 ctoval–2025Writer feels her husband significantly overpaid for the loose stone
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2025Male partner's ring from a mutual ring exchange with fiancee; writer recalls the price only approximately
–––––2019Engagement ring and wedding band together from this local jeweler, a longtime family favorite
–––––2024Writer's brother-in-law bought an engagement ring and wedding band from the same jeweler more recently
–Other gemstone–emerald––Topaz emerald-cut engagement ring plus a wedding band with tiny diamonds, bought together for under $1k; topaz later broke and was replaced with a sapphire
–No stone (plain band)––gold–Solid 24k gold wedding band priced mainly by gold weight with about a 25% markup
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2025Loose stone graded excellent/ideal across the board; bought recently at this price.
––––platinum–Platinum setting only; center diamond already owned, sourced earlier from RockHer and sent in to be set
–Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctcushiontwo tone2025Old-mine cushion diamond priced around $400/carat; 10-prong Andria Barbone-inspired setting in 14k white/yellow gold; about 5 weeks from first contact to arrival
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2025Lab diamond bought online for under $1000, far cheaper than the Verragio setting bought separately from a local jeweler
––––––Buyer's own handmade-to-order Verragio setting cost around $20k
–Natural diamond––––Two-row diamond band, about 0.70 total carat weight; the same style later dropped in price to $599
––––other–A plain sterling silver wedding band worn daily instead of her engagement ring, bought and worn before the official marriage
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2025Loose 5ct E VS1 lab diamond bought from B2CJewels.com
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Three-stone cluster diamond ring plus his and her wedding bands bought together for under $2000; later upgraded to a 1-carat princess solitaire, no price given for that upgrade
––––––Quote for a fully custom platinum setting; $1,150 quoted if made in gold instead
––––––Custom setting with a 14k band and platinum basket, made at Alex Park in NYC
–Lab-grown diamond3.49 ct––2024Loose stone bought in November, final price after sale and taxes
–Lab-grown diamond0.41 ct––2025Second loose stone bought in late January, final price after sale and taxes
––––––Quote for a setting from a local jeweler, versus $1,300+ quoted by online vendors who would not set it themselves
–Lab-grown diamond3.01 ct––2025Certified hearts-and-arrows stone, loose only; shipped factory to NY office then overnighted, no issues
–Diamond, lab or natural not said4 ctcushion–2025Loose stone from an online auction site, listed at 680 before buyer's premium, shipping and taxes; signature required
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctcushion–2023Elongated cushion stone including tax, cheapest of several vendors compared by matching the stone's ID number across sites
–Lab-grown diamond1.02 ct––2025Loose stone out-the-door price; a local jeweler later quoted about $1,000 to copy a $1,500 setting from a badly-reviewed site (quote, not finalized)
–Lab-grown diamond2.14 ctoval–2025Center stone plus two 0.25ct flanking pear stones, bought around Christmas sale season; comes with IGL paperwork
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Chose a lab diamond for her engagement ring after learning the upgrade from moissanite cost only about $300 more; picked moissanite instead for a separate plainer travel ring
–Lab-grown diamond5.1 ctpear–2025A little over $900, bought during a New Year's Eve 30% off sale
–Lab-grown diamond3.13 ctpear––Engagement ring and wedding band cast as one low-profile piece, 4.2mm wide, total for both
–Natural diamond0.8 ct––2024Replacement stone set into her husband's 1938 heirloom setting after the original diamond was lost; she calls it not pretty but says she wasn't ripped off
–––––2025Bought a customized sunburst cocktail-ring setting (Rare Carat's Orion Ballerina Halo design) with single prongs swapped for tabs, after months of practicality feedback online; total budget was about $5k, with the bare s
–Natural diamond2.5 ct––2025Surprised his wife with a natural anniversary upgrade ring, bigger than the 1.5ct she was expecting; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond2.25 ct––2024Loose stone bought in December, in a discussion about sourcing cheap lab diamonds online
–Lab-grown diamond1.93 ct––2025Non-round loose stone, bought through Luvansh; exact shape not stated
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2025Loose 3ct VVS2 fancy vivid pink lab diamond bought from Calavera, an online lab-diamond seller
–Lab-grown diamond3.69 ctradiant–2025Price before taxes; chose elongated dimensions (11.11mm x 7.65mm) so it looks bigger than many 4ct stones
–Lab-grown diamond3.69 ctradiant–2025Bought a 3.69ct E VS1 IGI-certified lab radiant diamond for $908 before tax
–––––2025Paid a small local jeweler just over $100 to fix the setting and reset the diamond after James Allen wouldn't cover it
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Husband's tungsten wedding band; buyer notes jewelry shops sometimes give a free men's ring with purchase of the female ring
–Moissanite––other2021Wife's engagement ring and wedding band set, custom Alibaba order, sterling silver with moissanite; held up well over about 4 years
–Other gemstone––other2021Husband's wedding band with emeralds around the entire band, from the same Alibaba order
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Husband's simple tungsten wedding band, described as very durable with zero problems
–No stone (plain band)––two tone2020Husband's ethically sourced two-tone 14k gold wedding band, no stones, from a local jeweler; bought on credit, no regrets
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Tungsten men's wedding band from Amazon; bought two, keeps a spare in a safe in case of loss
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Gold-colored tungsten men's band from Amazon; gets lots of compliments and try-on requests
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Matching celtic-knot silver wedding bands for both partners, bought together
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Simple silver men's wedding band, price recalled approximately
––––gold2025Bought a 14k gold setting from Luvansh at a discounted price; prongs proved too weak for the stone and the setting cracked and bent after a month, costing $275 to fix locally
––––rose gold–Husband bought her an 18k rose gold marriage/wedding band with 9 diamonds to go with her engagement ring; later appraised higher than the price paid
––––rose gold–The asker's own engagement ring, 18k rose gold, appraised value; mentioned while confirming 18k rose gold is possible

Previous · Page 4 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 166 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.