engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Every report · page 5 of 30 · updated September 2026

Engagement Ring Reports Without a Stated Price

Previous · Page 5 of 30 · Next

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct––2025Bought as a loose lab diamond from a local jeweler for a different project; writer says it wasn't marked up much
––––––Says about this price is normal; wouldn't pay $600
–Lab-grown diamond4.5 ctoval––The asker's loose diamond itself, bought separately from the setting
––4.5 ctoval––Cost of the setting/mounting itself, made by Jason at Provence, before taking the stone to a local jeweler to be set
––––––Chose the cheapest of three quotes ($400/$350/$150); the resulting prongs came out too sharp and catch on things
––––––$100 plus 6% PA sales tax
––––––An Etsy jeweler's quote to set her stone by mail, plus shipping
––––––Bought the setting from Provence and had it set locally for under $25
––––––Thought even this was expensive
––––––In a high cost-of-living area; wouldn't pay more than this
––––––Her personal bench jeweler charges less than this, below the roughly $100/carat she calls the industry standard
––––––Writer says they are not in the US; this is the local asking price where they live
––––––Her jewelry repair shop's price for setting a stone
––2.5 ctoval––Asked around locally and got quotes of $250-300 for her 2.5 ct oval, despite advising others to pay no more than $50
––––––Total to set 3 rings, each 2-3 ct, at a local Canadian jeweler; quoted as $100-120 CAD, about $70-80 USD by her own conversion
–Moissanite––––Declined this quote to set her moissanite
–Lab-grown diamond––––Bought a lab-grown diamond instead for about the same price rather than pay to set the moissanite
––––––Friend's ring; jeweler removed a placeholder stone and set the real one
–Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Labor to set a 2.5+ ct pink diamond bought from Loosediamonds.com; carat given as '2.5+'
––––––The local jeweler's custom six-prong rope-band setting itself, bought separately from the $80 labor
––––––Price of the setting itself at the jeweler who separately quoted $1000 for the stone-setting labor; she declined both
––––––Found another jeweler who set the stone for free after she bought a setting there instead
––––––Never would have agreed to $600
––––––Part of a $170 bill covering three repairs at a small family-owned jeweler; the stone-setting portion was about this much
––––––Declined a competing quote elsewhere over an unwelcoming vibe, not the week-long wait or the price
––––––Included insured, signature-confirmation return shipping
––1 ct–––Charged to set a 1 ct diamond into a setting also bought there; called it insane
––4.25 ctradiant––Quote to set a ~4.25 ct radiant into a setting she'd already had made
––4.25 ctradiant––A second jeweler quoted $50-150 depending on whether the setting needed adjusting
––––––Many other places she asked simply refused to do the job
––––––Quote at a local jewelry store to set a Provence-made setting
––––––Her jeweler's quote came in as a $350-450 range
––––––A mall jewelry and watch repair kiosk
–No stone (plain band)––gold2015Both spouses' 9ct gold wedding bands bought on sale at a shopping-centre jewellery chain; groom's was bigger so cost a bit more
–No stone (plain band)––other2018Men's tungsten wedding band bought online, still looks great 7 years on
–No stone (plain band)––other2015Men's tungsten band, indestructible-looking, unchanged 10 years on
–No stone (plain band)––gold2015A friend's gold wedding band from around the same time, now scratched and banged up by comparison
––––––Thought even this was a lot; took only 5-10 minutes
––3.56 ct–––Jeweler charges by carat size for setting
––––––Jared refused to repair her existing wedding band and instead quoted this to make a new one
–Other gemstone12.5 ct–––Labor to set a 12.5 ct aquamarine into a Tianyu-made setting; her bench jeweler was annoyed the setting wasn't bought from her
––4 ct–––Paid for a 4 ct stone
––––––Quotes for a semi-mount on a custom ring she is working on ranged $400-800; midpoint recorded
––5 ctoval––Local jeweler set a 5 ct oval diamond
––––––Her jeweler charges under this to set her stones
––––platinum–Husband's 4mm platinum band; felt thinner than similar styles compared in person
––––––4mm high-polish band, price before tax
––––platinum–A friend's 6mm platinum band bought on sale; the same style now lists around $1200 without the sale
––––––Husband's 3.5mm band with geometric facets, custom made by a friend and priced at cost
––––––Thought it was expensive at the time but less so compared to $600
–No stone (plain band)––other2005Husband's original silver wedding band from an Indian jewellery market stall; worn 18 years until lost in the surf
–No stone (plain band)––other2023Plain chunky silver replacement wedding band bought after the original was lost in the surf
–––marquise––Local jewelers quoted $1500-2600 just to make a marquise half-eternity setting with V prongs, not counting stone-setting labor
––––––Quote to set a diamond into a custom Provence setting that wasn't his own design
––––––Quote for a solitaire band setting; still comparing to other vendors
––––––Same writer's earlier ring: the setting itself cost this at a different Jared location
––––––Labor to add her own diamond into that Arizona setting
–––––2020Quoted this just for the setting, no center stone, about 5 years before the post
–Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval–2025Just shy of $10k for the loose stone from the cheapest seller, same stone would run $13k-14k elsewhere; ring was fully refunded before shipping over a chipped stone and poorly fitted prongs, then he bought a different ri
––––white gold202510k white gold 4mm beveled band for FH; he also wears a silicone band day to day
–––––2025Bought during a sale, no stone
––––yellow gold20255mm 18k gold band with a scratched 'Ice' textured finish; local jeweler sourced it from an outside vendor whose name started with 'D'
––––other2025Tungsten and antler band
––––other2025Cobalt and chrome band
–––––2025Total for 4 bands: a tungsten main band from The Antlered Doe plus three Groove Life silicone bands bought on sale
––––platinum2025Custom platinum band
––––white gold202510k white gold, 6mm, set with 9 diamonds, chosen for durability
–––––2025No stone; linked an Etsy listing
–Lab-grown diamond––yellow gold202514k gold band with a lab diamond; only minor scratches after daily wear on the brushed finish
––––white gold20254mm 14k white gold band estimated at 400-600, good deal from a local jeweler; bought alongside writer's own gold and lab-diamond pave bands
–––––2025Tungsten ring for a courthouse elopement
–––––2025Later 'splurge' set from Ridge: tungsten ring plus silicone band, for a husband who does factory work and can't wear a ring most of the time
––––platinum20256mm beveled platinum band
–––––20256mm thick Tiffany band
–––––2025Silicone band pack for a husband who dislikes wearing rings
––––gold2025Writer's own 18k band, made from melted-down family gold
–––––2025Titanium ring off Etsy
––––platinum2025Platinum band later lost
––––other2025Replacement titanium ring bought after the platinum band was lost; he barely wears it now
––––gold202514k 4mm band with milgrain edges; writer got a wholesale price through a jewelry-store job
––––other2025Carbon fiber ring from Etsy; husband didn't want a ring at first but now wears it daily
––––yellow gold2025Made in a day-long metalsmithing class, 14k yellow gold
––––yellow gold2025Custom-made 6mm, 1/3 oz gold ring from the NYC Diamond District
––––yellow gold2025Simple 14k yellow gold band
–––––2025Tungsten ring off Etsy
––––other2025Gold-tone tungsten ring from Etsy, listed at $146 but bought on sale for $87
––––two tone2025Custom white gold two-tone band; the vendor's simple bands run $400-600 depending on style and material
––––white gold2025One of two men's wedding bands bought together, no engagement ring involved; each ring ran 2-2.5k
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––platinum2025Partner's platinum band set with a diamond, bought at the same time
––––gold20255mm 9-karat gold plain band
––––yellow gold202522k yellow gold, domed, 3mm; recommends Asian goldsmiths for better prices on simple bands
––––yellow gold202518k 5mm yellow gold band with engraving
––––platinum2025Cost more because it was sandblasted for a matte finish
––––other2025Tungsten meteorite ring off Etsy during a sale
––––white gold202514k white gold, 5mm, from Etsy; writer said prices for local options were hard to compare, quoted as roughly 350 or 400
–––––2025Writer was unsure of the exact figure
–––––2023Cost reflects 2023 gold prices; writer thinks it would cost more now
––––yellow gold2025Simple comfort-fit 14k band listed at $1,400, but the mom-and-pop shop that also sold the couple's engagement ring and bride's band gave 40% off
–––––2025A bit over the initial budget but affordable; no plans to upgrade on anniversaries
–Sapphire––yellow gold202514k gold with a green sapphire, bought off Etsy
–––––2025Both partners' wedding bands together, bought off Etsy
––––yellow gold202514k gold band
––––other2025Hammered black tungsten carbide band with gold inlay, bought as an interim ring before a relative later gifted him a free heirloom band for the actual wedding; similar ones sell for $200+
–Moissanite–––2025Custom ring redesigned into a different shape after a fit issue; vendor remade it for about $30 extra, delivered before the wedding
––––––Husband's ring cost about 2 months of his net salary, more than what some higher earners among friends spent
––––––Husband spent about half a month's salary on the ring
––––––Writer says the ring cost was less than one month's salary; calls the 3-month rule a jeweler marketing ploy
––––––Husband spent about one month's salary on the ring; writer says she'd have been happy with a $50 Etsy ring
–––––2021Writer's parents bought mom's replacement ring and band set in the US in 2021 for about $2k after she lost her original
–––––2007Husband spent about 2 months' salary almost 18 years before the comment; chose big ring over big wedding ($300 wedding)
––––––Partner spent roughly a third of one month's salary at a local jeweler; writer didn't want overspending or debt
–Lab-grown diamond––––Partner spent less than half a month's salary on writer's dream ring, bigger lab-grown diamond than she expected
––––––Writer estimates ring and wedding band together cost about $5k-$6k
––––––Writer says he paid 30% of salary on the ring, calling the 3-month-salary rule insane; time period for the 30% unclear
––––––Wedding ring set with a custom-made matching band; a jeweler later offered only $600 to buy it back
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Fiance spent about 2 months of his salary; 3-carat lab-grown stone; writer prefers lab over mined diamonds
–––––2004Paid one month's salary in 2004; bank flagged the purchase as unusual
––––––Combined budget cost for engagement ring and both wedding bands
––––––Spent about $200 total on both wedding bands; an engagement ring wasn't important to the writer
–––––2016Husband spent about 1.5 months' salary on the ring in 2016, when lab diamond prices were less favorable than today
––––––Cost about half a month's salary; later damaged and repaired, replaced over time, now on ring number four after 30 years
––––––Spouse spent 50% of one month's salary on the ring, calls it a solid financial move
––––––Paid $800 for a diamond listed at $1,700 on rarecarat after price-matching; wedding+ring combined spend was about $3.5k
––––––Spent under 2 weeks' salary on the ring
––––––Fiance spent just over one month's salary on the ring, calls it the most gorgeous ring
––––––First ring cost less than one month's salary; got an upgraded ring around year 10 of marriage, also well under 3 months
–––––2018Engagement ring and wedding band set cost $1,000 total, bought almost 7 years before the comment
––––––Fiance spent less than a 2-week paycheck on the ring
––––––Two rings combined; writer's income is over £100k a year
––––––Combined cost of engagement ring and wedding bands; husband's salary was close to the asker's
–Lab-grown diamond2.06 ctemerald––Asking price for a loose lab diamond stone; writer asks if $2,320 is a good price; clarity given as VSS2, likely a typo
––––––Engagement ring plus wedding band combined cost over $30k; writer doesn't think twice about wearing it
––––––No dollar figure given, only described as about one third of husband's monthly salary
–Other gemstone––––Garnet rings for both partners, combined cost about £500
––––––Engagement ring and wedding ring together cost under $1,000; wouldn't have wanted pricier even if affordable
–––––2005Ring cost about 2 days of husband's salary, married almost 20 years before the comment; still loves it
––––––Wedding band from Amazon; engagement ring itself was an heirloom from husband's great-grandmother, no price given
––––––Fiance's pretax income; ring described as worth less than one week of it, no dollar figure given
––––––No dollar figure given, described as about one-fifth of one month's salary
––––––Ring and band together; prioritized the marriage over a bigger ring
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctpear–2025Chose a smaller 2.5 ct lab pear after comparing it to what an equivalent-quality natural diamond (~$55k) would look like, to avoid seeming too flashy; wears it 24/7
––––––Combined cost of a wedding ring and a Pandora charm used instead of a traditional engagement ring
––––––Custom-made ring and band set
––––––No dollar figure given; spent under half a month's combined salary on their rings
–Lab-grown diamond––––Combined cost of all five rings for their relationship, including her lab diamond engagement ring
––––––Wedding band bought new; engagement ring itself was a hand-me-down from husband's mother, no price given
–Natural diamond––––Husband spent three months' salary because she specifically wanted a natural diamond and they could afford to save for it
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Described a lab-grown alexandrite stone, colors purple and green; unclear if this covers the full ring or the stone alone
$0–––––Engagement ring was a free inherited piece; wedding band cost $500; calls the 3-months rule a marketing gimmick
–Lab-grown diamond9.88 ctovalyellow gold2025Setting only (5mm band, shipping included) for her existing 9.88ct oval stone; exact remake of a previous setting she loved
––––white gold2024Same setting design made in white gold by Provence the year before, about $50 less than the yellow-gold remake
––––––Husband spent about one month's salary (exact income not given); he works in the medical field
––––––Combined cost of her ring and her husband's ring(s); exact split between the pieces not given
–No stone (plain band)––other2025Bought the same titanium wedding band style a size smaller from the original jeweler after weight loss caused the old one to slip off and be destroyed; original ring cost little when bought ~21 years earlier
––––yellow gold2025Size 8, 3.5mm thick gold wedding band from Cartier, engraved, cost $1200
––––platinum2025Fiance's wedding band, Tiffany, 3mm platinum, bought the week of the comment for $1300
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2025Jeweler wanted $2200 for the identical stone and refused to price-match
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–––Boyfriend bought a roughly 2ct fancy blue lab diamond loose stone online ahead of a future proposal, not yet set
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctround––Free overnight or two-day shipping
–Lab-grown diamond2.46 ctround–2023Loose stone for an engagement ring; hearts-and-arrows pattern implies round brilliant cut
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctemerald––Took a lot of shopping around and negotiating
––––––Bench jeweler in a nearby small town
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctpear–2025Loose pear-cut lab diamond bought online, described as having great specs
––1.2 ctpear–2025Fancy yellow diamond won at auction for $220, expedited shipping and tax brought it to $273
–Lab-grown diamond4.5 ct–––Came with full papers; local jeweler was astounded by the price and quality
–––––2025James Allen quoted this to fix a broken setting and reset the fallen center stone, calling it normal wear and tear after 6 months
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Bought from James Allen or Blue Nile (unspecified which); a second independent appraisal matched the online listing specs
––––––Engagement ring and wedding band bought together from Etsy, fully personalized
–Natural diamond1 ct–gold–Trio set (ring plus two wedding bands) bought together from a local jeweler after returning the first ring
–Natural diamond–––2025Channel band with nine princess-cut natural diamonds totaling 3 carats, found at a pawn shop to match the upgrade
–Lab-grown diamond2.9 ctoval–2025Paid a bit under half of the appraisal, which came in just over $9,000; custom-designed via CAD before the final piece
–––––2025Cost of her own setting; also quoted a price similar to the asker's photo for a separate 4.7ct stone
–Lab-grown diamond5.47 ctcushion–2025Price-matched a stone found on Calavera, first spotted near $10k on Rare Carat; with setting, total ran just under $1,900
–Sapphire2.35 ctemerald––Stone-only price for a 2.35ct emerald-cut green sapphire e-ring center stone
–Sapphire1.72 ctcushion–2025Deep mossy green square cushion sapphire bought a couple of months before this March 2025 post
––––––Price covered both resizing and setting the stone
––––––Plus separate shipping and insurance charges, used an online jeweler's setting service rather than a local one
––––––Mom and pop jewelry repair shop
––––platinum–Old setting needed a new prong head to fit the new diamond; platinum made it more expensive; writer expects a plain setting job to cost less
––––––Stuller setting was bought separately from this mounting fee
––––––Customized setting from a designer brand, priced at a premium accordingly
––––––First time using this jeweler
––7.27 ctcushion––Quote from the same jeweler for a newer, large elongated cushion stone; refused and went elsewhere
––7.27 ctcushion––Price actually paid elsewhere for the same large cushion stone after rejecting the 800 quote
––1.53 ctmarquiseplatinum2025David Klass built the whole setting, not just mounted the stone, this past December
––––––Included adding material to a shallow bezel before setting the stone; other quotes ran 2.5 to 3.5 times higher
––––––Writer regrets not shopping around for a better price
––––––Bezel setting with milgrain detail, considered more challenging; price included insured return shipping with tracking and signature confirmation
––––––Quote from a jewelry repair place, not yet done; could cost more if extra work is needed to fit the stone
––––––A second, higher quote from another local jeweler
–––––2022Flat fee the writer called a 'corking fee', paid about three years before the comment
–Lab-grown diamond1 ct–––Bought 4 one-carat stones from Starsgem around this price during a promo; IGI-certified ones cost a little more than uncertified
–––marquise––2-prong setting on a ring not worn daily; this jeweler later had quality issues
–––oval––4-prong setting done at a different jeweler after quality issues at the first
––––––Second setting job at a different place; unhappy with the craftsmanship
––––––Prongs were made specifically to fit the stone
–––––2018Writer expects prices have risen a bit since
––––––Other quotes obtained ranged from 125 to 250
––1.8 ctround––Reset an existing 1.8ct round into a new tulip-style solitaire setting; chose a jeweler with on-site tools rather than shipping the ring out
––2.2 ct–––An earlier, separate setting job on a different 2.2ct stone at a different jeweler
––1.09 ct–––Needed new prongs since the diamond size increased from 0.71 to 1.09 carat
–No stone (plain band)––––Writer's mother now wears a band made from an old spoon instead of her original wedding band, estimated cost
––––––Combined price for two loose sapphire stones bought together from an Etsy seller
–Lab-grown diamond5 ct––2025Just over 5ct lab diamond bought after price-matching another vendor's listing
––––––Quote only, called pricey by the writer
–No stone (plain band)––other–A pair of tungsten rings for the couple from a seller with stock, designs and sizes to try, engraving offered; same rings seen for $15 online, $200+ in stores
––––––Eloping couple bought each other's wedding bands; he gave her a separate engagement ring three years later, price not stated
–Lab-grown diamond4.01 ctmarquise–2025Loose lab stone, about 1k after Rare Carat price-matched a StoneAlgo find; specs from the linked listing; ring use not stated
–Lab-grown diamond10.25 ctoval––Ordered last week for under $2k; mounting in a yellow bezel to offset the slightly low H color
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025A friend's fiance paid this for a lab-grown diamond for the engagement, which a jewelry-trade buyer says was worth only about $700 wholesale at the time
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Fancy pink lab diamond bought for just under $1k; setting bought separately elsewhere
–Lab-grown diamond––––Another buyer (reported secondhand) had Tianyu custom-cut the diamond, create the setting from scratch, and make the wedding band as a set for about $2,100 total
$0–5 ctround––Inherited old single-cut stone, estimated 5ct but could be 6-7ct given its depth; writer says similar stones run $40k-$100k
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.1 ct–––Price given is for the center stone only
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.02 ctcushion––Current stone; diamond alone cost 18k and appraised well above that
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––Writer's original stone before upgrading to the 3.02ct SI1
–Lab-grown diamond3.17 ct–––Loose stone only, type IIa with no fluorescence and no post-growth treatment; sent to a jeweler afterward to be set and sized
––––––Bought as a set on sale
––––white gold2021Simple 14k white gold wedding band bought four years after the engagement ring
–Moissanite––platinum–Custom-made in platinum with a custom-cut moissanite stone, designed together on paper; three times his monthly pay would have been 41k, called that a hell no
–Moissanite––––Customised on Etsy: hers a 2ct moissanite with cubic zirconia halo and side stones in 10k gold, his a wood and Damascus steel ring with Celtic engravings; both still in college, planning to upgrade hers eventually
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Loose lab diamond bought from an Instagram-based seller.
–Lab-grown diamond4.12 ctemerald–2025Bought during a 30% off sale before learning about even cheaper vendors; smaller than what the person asking is seeking.
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2025Loose 2.5ct lab stone bought online; IGI certified though the person asking first looked it up on GIA by mistake
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1 ctoval–2025Bought at a personal discount through a client relationship with the jeweler; price described as out-the-door total
–Diamond, lab or natural not said––––Family member's diamond, cost of the stone alone from a well-known jeweller, reported second-hand by the buyers
–Lab-grown diamond6 ctoval–20256ct oval lab diamond ring plus matching wedding band for one combined price; writer separately owns a natural 3ct solitaire
––––––Artisan-made set; writer's response to finding the pricier rings shown here boring
–Natural diamond3 ct––2025Buyer's own 3ct J VVS1 diamond bought recently, cited to show prices have risen since then
–Natural diamond3.18 ct––20253.18ct antique-cut stone with N color, shared for comparison against the asker's brown K SI2 diamond
–Sapphire3 ctcushionyellow gold–Three-stone ring, antique cushion Ceylon sapphire center with old-mine cut side stones; writer says they paid noticeably less than the ~30k appraised worth
––––gold–Both wedding bands made together at a private five-hour jewellery-making workshop, 18ct gold materials included
–Lab-grown diamond4.25 ct––2025Switched from wanting natural to a 4.25ct lab diamond with ideal proportions, far cheaper than natural options discussed here
––––gold–Fiance's 5mm matted-finish gold ring, pricier due to a recent rise in gold prices
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Quote for a lab diamond high on all 4Cs, 1.5-1.75 ct, about $1k, excludes band and tax; custom ring still being designed
–Lab-grown diamond2.02 ct––2025Buyer accidentally revealed these as the exact specs and list price of their own diamond while joking about wholesale inventory getting different markups across sites.
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Stone-only price for a D VVS2 triple-excellent cut lab diamond bought online, price-matched to another listing
–Natural diamond0.9 ctemerald–2025Loose stone only, a little over 2000 euro, no ring setting price given; likely sourced from 77diamonds per a later comment
––0.33 ct–––1/3-carat engagement ring plus both wedding bands, all from a pawn shop; worn almost 30 years with no regrets
––––––Engagement ring and her wedding band bought together as a set from Walmart; husband's separate band was $40; held up for two years
–Moissanite–round––Original engagement ring center stone; $35 plus $25 shipping direct from a Chinese vendor
–Lab-grown diamond1.8 ctround––Upgraded 5 years later to a lab diamond from the same Chinese vendor; $302 plus $64 shipping, listed E/VVS2/ideal cut, also marked 'EX'
––––gold2025$232.85 for a 10k gold semi mount customized to fit the stone, taxes and shipping included, plus $65 for a local jeweler to set the stone; about 10 days to arrive
–––––2025$430 for the setting from an Etsy shop plus $75 for a local jeweler to mount the stone; came out beautiful
––––––First wedding band, later replaced after it tarnished badly
––––––Replacement wedding band bought after the Pandora one tarnished
–––pearplatinum2025Quote for an elaborate thick platinum setting with two dragons circling each other to hold a pear-shaped stone
A$0–––––Says he's glad he didn't spend money on one
––––––Spent three months' full salary
––––––Sister's total wedding jewellery budget, not broken down by piece; separate from a 70000 wedding budget
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Bridal set with a lab-grown ruby and moissanite, from a trusted repeat jeweller
––––––Spent about one month's salary
––––––Bridal set bought on sale; picked it herself
––––white gold2025Quote for a cathedral setting with pave half-band, which they passed on for a different low-profile design with side stones expected around $1800-2000
––––platinum2025Bought a used setting with a damaged prong on eBay; a local jeweler repaired the prong and mounted the stone
–––––2020Covers the engagement ring plus wedding and eternity bands; would choose differently now but won't replace it
––––––No engagement ring bought, only a wedding band
A$0–––––Original ring was an heirloom, no money spent
––––––No engagement ring bought, just wedding bands for the couple
––––platinum–Plain platinum wedding band bought with a matching one for her partner; it later snapped, said to be common with platinum
A$0–––––Deliberately skipped an engagement ring; wedding band bought mainly for photos
A$0–––––Chose to spend on travel and a house instead of a ring
––––––Quote received previously for a new setting for an existing stone; the setting cost more than double the diamond's own price
–Other gemstone––––Writer helped pay for her son's fiancee's ring, a large tanzanite with small diamonds, plus a band he paid for separately
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab-created white sapphire bought online, set locally; total for the finished ring came to a couple hundred dollars
–––––2018Spent three months' salary on his wife's ring, about seven years before the comment
–Other gemstone–––1990Custom setting took most of the budget; amethyst center stone, swapped for a purple sapphire on their 10th anniversary
––––––Husband's ring, bought on Amazon for $30; writer put 'diamond' in scare quotes, implying it isn't a genuine stone
–Lab-grown diamond5.05 ctround–20255.05ct old European cut lab diamond, no price given; bought from online vendor Firosee, praised by another buyer for a pink diamond and setting too
–Natural diamond2.02 ctpear–1999Husband replaced her lost 0.28ct pear wedding stone with this 2.02ct pear stone for their 20th anniversary; no price given
–Natural diamond0.83 ct––1989Separate right-hand stone given for their 10th wedding anniversary, worn alongside her pear engagement ring; no price given
–––––2025NYC custom jeweler's estimate for a fully custom setting including scanning the diamond for fit; same job would have run $1000-1200 a few years ago
––1.9 ct–––A friend's fiance paid $10k for the 1.9ct diamond alone; later appraised at $27k
–Lab-grown diamond5.14 ctoval–20255.14ct oval lab diamond price-matched with Brilliance from vendor Calavera
––––white gold2023Paid about $800 in 2023 for a 14k white-gold solitaire band; unsure whether that included setting the diamond
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Semi-mount engagement and wedding bands made overseas for $980 incl. shipping, plus $100 for a local jeweler to set a Luvansh lab diamond; total for stone, both rings, and setting was $1496
–Lab-grown diamond–radiantplatinum2025Currently having a lab radiant diamond sourced from Singapore set in platinum by a bench jeweler for $6k
––––gold2025Spent about 5k on a custom 18k setting plus matching wedding band in London; called it worth it for a unique, secure design
–Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold202514k gold setting from Provence cost $500, plus $100 for a local jeweler to set the 3ct Luvansh lab diamond into it
–Lab-grown diamond5.78 ctovalwhite gold20255.78ct oval lab diamond (6.23ct visual weight) in 18k white gold, simple setting, 2.1mm band, size 9.75 finger; no price given
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctround–2025Price included tax; got a courtesy upgrade from a 2.6 ct stone after the seller accidentally double-sold it
–Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquise–2025Loose stone only; prices for this cut reportedly rose shortly before the purchase
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctemerald–2025Loose stone only, no vendor named; writer felt it was not overpriced
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.8 ct–––Upgraded to a 1.8ct stone on a size 4 finger; original stone size not given; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.03 ctround––2.03ct round diamond on a size 7 finger; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2 ctemerald–2025Similar side-pave emerald cut ring design, 6mm band; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.99 ct–––1.99ct stone on a size 6.5 finger; no price given
–Natural diamond3 ctcushion–2021Bought via an Instagram diamond seller; more than double what the asker's local jeweler quoted for a much smaller stone
–Natural diamond1.57 ctround––Brian Gavin Signature cut round diamond; writer says his wife loves it so it felt worth the price
–Natural diamond2 ctradiant––Bought in person at a marked-up store; a visible speck wasn't noticeable online but she liked it in person anyway
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct––2025Bought his fiancee a near-colorless VVS2 lab diamond around this size and price
–Lab-grown diamond3.88 ctemerald––Loose lab stone only, not yet mounted into a setting
–Sapphire2.04 ct–––Green sapphire sourced through a custom jewelry designer
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.44 ct–––Original stone on a size 6 finger before upgrading for more finger coverage; no price given
–Diamond, lab or natural not said5.14 ctoval––Upgraded to a 5.14ct oval on a size 6 finger for more finger coverage; no price given
––2.91 ctround–2025Stone described as super ideal cut; priced higher than seen elsewhere but liked the band and customization options
––2 ct––2025Bought a 2ct ring and matching diamond wedding band together for about a quarter of a comparable $5,000 Kay's ring seen while browsing
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Central stone within the asker's $2500 ring set; a buyer flagged a possible greyish tone typical of some lab stones and said it could be swapped later using the paperwork.
–Other gemstone––gold202518K gold, 6mm, set with tanzanite
––––yellow gold20256mm 14k wedding band from Costco, stated weight 6.84g (about 4-4.5g by her own comparison), kept over the cheaper alternative
–Sapphire–––2024Quote for a matching cornflower sapphire to replace a lost trilogy-ring centre stone; not purchased, felt too costly for the ring's original low price
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctround–2025Bought a loose 2 ct old European cut lab diamond, no setting yet
–Lab-grown diamond5.14 ctoval–2025Upgraded pick from a 3.44ct stone to a 5.14ct one her fiance found her at a bargain price
–Lab-grown diamond4 ct–––Frugal couple who coupon and save; wanted a durable heirloom-quality stone that would not scratch or chip
–Lab-grown diamond1.3 ct–––Wedding set with a 1.3ct lab diamond; writer listed color as C (unusual grade, kept as stated); price reassures her it's real
–Lab-grown diamond2.8 ct–gold202540th-anniversary upgrade; custom 14k setting with lab diamond plus matching wedding band, all together
–Lab-grown diamond3.78 ctcushiongold2025Quote for loose stone only; vendor called the cut 'Ideal+', which buyers said is not a real grade; 14k gold setting shown separately
–Diamond, lab or natural not said–––2025Bought an old-mine cut stone under 2 carats; writer felt $1200 was a bit high
–Diamond, lab or natural not said2.76 ctcushion–2025Elongated old-mine cushion stone bought secondhand from another online user
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctoval––Her own 5ct oval lab diamond upgrade, less finger coverage on a size-8 finger; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond8 ct–––Just received an 8ct lab diamond, still deciding on a setting; no price stated
–Lab-grown diamond–––2025Diamond price-matched from a $2500 Brilliant Earth quote down to $1300 on Rare Carat; upgraded to platinum setting at extra cost; added a $600 wedding band
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctoval–2025Paid about this for the loose stone; cites lab diamonds generally running $200-400 a carat online
–Lab-grown diamond2.61 ctcushion–2025Plus sales tax
–Lab-grown diamond–––2018Lab diamond bought in 2018 with ideal cut and a described 'excellent' clarity; lab stones then ran about 30% cheaper than natural stones of the same specs
–Lab-grown diamond4.2 ctemerald––4.2ct emerald-cut lab diamond sourced from Art of Jewels for a 20th-anniversary upgrade; a local jeweler custom-made and mounted the setting; no price stated
–––––2012Wedding band bought separately from the original ring around the same time, for $200-300
–Natural diamond2 ct––2006Husband bought the roughly 2ct stone from an estate jewelry dealer who pulled it from a men's ring; a jeweler recently appraised it around 30k
–Lab-grown diamond4.11 ctemerald–2025Loose lab stone, $788 before shipping, sourced from a seller met online; 1.55 ratio; fiance has the setting in production
–Moissanite––––Picked moissanite over a 5 ct diamond they could afford; whole set replaced for $150 when ring size went 5.5 to 7.5 in pregnancy; savings went to a house
–Lab-grown diamond2.9 ct––2025Engagement ring plus band totaling 5 carats combined stone weight, for just under $5,000
–Natural diamond–––2017Bought his wife's natural diamond ring+band set with a smaller center stone about 8 years before the comment.
–Natural diamond––platinum2005Platinum natural diamond bridal set; has paid $1,000 a year to insure it for about 20 years
–Lab-grown diamond4 ctoval–2025Loose stone described as having really good specs overall
–Lab-grown diamond–radiant–2025Loose stone cited as proof the asker's $5k price was too high
–No stone (plain band)––gold–3.5 grams of gold worth about $350 at today's melt value; rest of the price is labor and jeweler markup
–Lab-grown diamond1.54 ctcushion–2025Elongated cushion; writer says they don't compare mined vs lab beyond cost
–Lab-grown diamond4.11 ctemerald–2025Total came to about $800 with shipping
–Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquise–2025Bought to enjoy wearing rather than as an investment; a local jeweler admired the stone before learning it was lab-grown, then set it anyway
–Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctround–2025Writer says it felt like a steal
–Lab-grown diamond2 ctoval–2025Blue modified-brilliant oval with 4 main pavilions, found after a week of searching
–Lab-grown diamond5 ctoval–2025Writer calls this the best price they found
–Lab-grown diamond3.34 ctround–2025Hearts and Arrows cut round stone
–Lab-grown diamond2.04 ctasscher–2025Blue asscher cut, one of three stones bought
–Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctemerald–2025Second of three stones bought
–Lab-grown diamond1.04 ctother–2025Pink modified decagon cut, third of three stones bought
––––––Spent three months of pre-tax salary on the ring
–Lab-grown diamond2.25 ctpear–2025Pink pear-shaped stone
–Lab-grown diamond2.2 ct––2025Loose stone bought from Calavera, cited while telling the person asking they overpaid
–Lab-grown diamond0.66 ctround–2019Prices have dropped a lot since; planning to upgrade to a bigger stone for a fraction of this price
–Lab-grown diamond2.44 ctcushion–2025Square Hearts-and-Arrows cushion with no fluorescence; bought after 16 months of research for a ring marking 41+ years of marriage and recovery from major medical conditions
–Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2025Carat given as total weight (ctw); bought about a month before a tariff-driven price rise, called it a steal
–Lab-grown diamond3.04 ctradiant–2025Loose fancy green stone with no fluorescence, ordered ahead of setting by a local jeweler
–Lab-grown diamond2.08 ctemerald–2025Writer says they could have shopped around more but are happy and won't stress over a small amount of money
–Lab-grown diamond5.14 ctoval–2025Writer's fiance paid for the stone
–Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctcushion–2025Elongated cushion; specifically sought chunkier facets and a warmer color, both harder to find at this grade
–Lab-grown diamond2.72 ctoval–2025Price achieved through a price match
–Lab-grown diamond–round–2025Fancy vivid pink stone
–Lab-grown diamond2.62 ctradiant–2025Canadian buyer weighing a 2.5-2.75ct radiant, price after currency exchange and not including mounting; worried tariffs could add more
–Lab-grown diamond5.74 ctmarquise–2025Writer says a natural stone this size and quality would be way out of reach
–Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctcushion–2025Fancy vivid blue cushion modified brilliant
–Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctoval–2025Loose stone bought as a couple, cited among examples of cheaper lab diamonds
–Other gemstone1 ct––2025Price is for a 1ct peridot accent stone only (bought loose, then set); the separate center stone is a 1ct lab diamond, unpriced
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctmarquise–2025First of four IGI-certified stones listed together
–Lab-grown diamond2.87 ctmarquise–2025Second of four
–Lab-grown diamond4.14 ctradiant–2025Third of four
–Lab-grown diamond5.07 ctoval–2025Fourth of four
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2025Visually reads as 3.27ct; happy with the specs, price and buying experience
–Lab-grown diamond10.04 ctemerald–2025Close to $4k; not yet set as of the comment, called the specs really great without giving exact grades
–Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2025Loose stone stated as 3.1ct actual weight, looking like 3.27ct visually
–Moissanite–––2025Stand-in set worn during pregnancy swelling: 2ct moissanite engagement ring + CZ eternity band, together $120
–Diamond, lab or natural not said3.2 ct––2025Bought a 3.2ct+ diamond wholesale himself for $1k; local shop designing ring and band around it for $3k total, still in progress
–Moissanite––other–Custom moissanite-and-palladium engagement ring and band set; his meteorite-inlay band bought separately, both chosen over diamonds on principle
––––other–Plain silver bands from a local jeweler, no diamond; about $300 combined in today's dollars
––––––Each partner picked what they personally wanted, at very different price points
–––––2000Engagement stone was a family heirloom with no direct cost; wedding band has small inset diamonds
$0–––––His engagement ring is a family heirloom, no cost
––––other–Wife's plain silver wedding band bought from a random online store
––––––Writer's sibling, who out-earns the other couples combined, spent only this on both wedding bands
––––––Cheaper hammered rose gold band worn on weekends instead of her main gold band
$0–––––Cheap rings bought on Amazon just to have something for the ceremony
–––––2000Spent 25 years before the comment, when recently a high earner
–Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Personally designed ring and wedding band with a mined, custom-cut center stone and supporting diamonds and aquamarines
–––––2000Two matching wedding bands from a small local shop, engraved with names and year; no separate engagement ring, which was normal there at the time
–––––2013Bought about 12 years before the comment; she had made clear she'd never want any other jewelry
–No stone (plain band)––––No engagement ring at all; both wedding bands cost about the same
–No stone (plain band)––––No engagement ring or diamond by choice; wanted bands practical enough to travel with often
––––other–His tungsten wedding band, which he also uses as a bottle opener
$0–––––Inherited ring; estimates it would have cost about $15k a decade earlier
––––––Cost one month's after-tax salary; picked it out on a trip to Antwerp, which they counted separately as vacation spending
$0No stone (plain band)––––Proposed with an origami paper ring folded together instead of a purchased one
–Moissanite––other–Titanium wedding bands; hers set with moissanite, his plain
–Lab-created coloured stone–––2025Custom platinum ring with a lab-grown gemstone plus a matching wedding band, made at Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter, for under £2k combined
–Diamond, lab or natural not said5.14 ct–––Had a custom-cut old mine cut stone made after months of failing to find a ready-cut one this size
–Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquise–2025Marquise lab diamond with ideal proportions, cited as a cheaper alternative to the asker's UK quote (about under £500)
–––––2018Her first engagement, not the one currently pictured; the under-$3k figure covered the ring and her wedding band together.
–––––2025Reciprocal wedding bands ahead of their wedding this month; she separately already has an engagement ring; six rings total counting spare work bands.
–Lab-grown diamond1 ctroundplatinum–1950s platinum engagement setting with natural side stones and a 1 ct round lab-diamond center, paired with a 1940s platinum band with natural diamonds.
–Moissanite–––2025Buyer had their 3-carat moissanite stone reset into a different setting at a local jeweler with no problems; price not stated.
–Diamond, lab or natural not said1.25 ctemerald––1.25ct emerald cut ring on a size 3.5 finger; no price given
––––––New setting reusing the lab diamond from her first ring.
––––––Two wedding bands together; all four rings (both settings and both bands) totaled $3,700.
––2.5 ct–platinum2025Semi-custom platinum setting only, for a 2.5ct center plus two side stones with claw prongs; buyer supplied own stones; started from a standard setting with 2 rounds of revisions
––––platinum2025Hidden-halo platinum setting only, for what the writer calls a six-figure ring
–––––2025Simple solitaire setting; price includes labor to mount the stone but not the stone itself
––––––Engagement ring and wedding band bought together as a set.
–Lab-created coloured stone––––Lab-created tanzanite engagement ring (her birthstone) plus a moissanite wedding band styled to look like diamond; $800 for both combined
–Other gemstone––––Just-under-2ct light green Oregon Sunstone bought loose for under $300; ring is being remade with a harder Montana Sapphire for durability
–Lab-created coloured stone––other–Jeweler recalls selling a couple matching lab emerald engagement rings (his kite-set signet band, her emerald-cut with white sapphire accents), silver settings, $500 for both
–Lab-grown diamond2 ct–white gold–2ct lab diamond alone cost $600; ring plus white-gold band together came to just under $2,000, bought at a local family-owned jeweler rather than a chain

Previous · Page 5 of 30 · Next

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 91 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

One line is one account. An amount is the price of the ring as a whole in the currency the buyer used, and an account with no amount is kept because what it says still explains a price.