Shape · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026
Round Engagement Ring Cost: 217 Real Prices
Buyers of a round engagement ring paid a median of $3,000 across 217 purchases, against $2,250 for every shape together. 53% of those who named the stone chose lab-grown.
$3,000median round ring, 217 purchases
$1,500–$8,000middle half of prices
2 ctmedian center stone (199 stated weights)
53%lab-grown, among buyers who named the stone
Round rings by carat
| Center stone weight | Rings | Median | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| Under 0.5 ct | 6 | $650 | $370 to $830 |
| 0.5 to 0.99 ct | 18 | $1,888 | $700 to $3,000 |
| 1 to 1.49 ct | 36 | $3,960 | $2,000 to $7,000 |
| 1.5 to 1.99 ct | 26 | $8,000 | $3,500 to $12,000 |
| 2 to 2.49 ct | 41 | $2,900 | $1,660 to $9,000 |
| 2.5 to 2.99 ct | 23 | $4,000 | $1,421 to $18,000 |
| 3 to 3.99 ct | 34 | $2,950 | $1,464 to $7,800 |
| 4 ct and up | 15 | $3,700 | $2,000 to $6,738 |
Round ring questions
How much does a round engagement ring cost?
A median $3,000 across 217 buyer-reported purchases, half between $1,500 and $8,000; the median for every shape together is $2,250.
Every round ring in the data
| Ring | Stone | Carat | Shape | Metal | Year | What the buyer reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $36 | Moissanite | – | round | other | 2024 | Thin sterling silver setting, bought at writer's own request |
| $38 | Moissanite | – | round | other | 2025 | Green 3ct round moissanite ring with smaller side stones, sterling silver with 18k white gold plating, bought via AliExpress after coupons and coins |
| $60 | Moissanite | – | round | other | – | 3 ct round moissanite solitaire in a silver setting, bought for herself while hoping for an eventual proposal ring |
| $60 | Moissanite | – | round | other | 2023 | Self-bought 3ct round moissanite solitaire ring in a silver setting, worn alongside whichever ring she is eventually given |
| $100 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 2 ct | round | other | – | First engagement ring, sterling silver with a round stone; writer jokes it looks like chipped windshield glass |
| $240 | Moissanite | – | round | gold | 2023 | 14k Jocie setting with 0.25ct OEC side stones at 4mm; ring size 3.5 |
| $300 | Lab-grown diamond | 0.33 ct | round | rose gold | 2020 | 1/3 carat lab diamond cluster ring in 10k rose gold, bought about 5 years before the post; cluster makes the round center look pear-shaped |
| $301 | Lab-grown diamond | 0.5 ct | round | white gold | 2025 | 0.5ct round lab diamond solitaire, F-G color, SI clarity, 14k white gold, $301 after tax and shipping on a sale |
| $305 | Natural diamond | 1.03 ct | round | – | – | Bought secondhand on eBay, GIA-verified through eBay's authenticity service; originally listed around $2,000 retail |
| $370 | – | 0.48 ct | round | gold | – | Bought at a jewelry auction in Sweden; ring hallmarked as made in 1924, stone slightly warm-toned |
| $400 | – | 0.5 ct | round | – | 2023 | Half-carat round solitaire, negotiated down from $500 asking at the pawn shop |
| $400 | Moissanite | – | round | other | – | Separately picked up a 1ct-equivalent moissanite ring in silver; recalls about $400, or as little as $40 in a lower silver grade |
| $500 | Moissanite | – | round | white gold | – | Custom copy of a twisted infinity design: 14k white gold, moissanite side stones, hearts-and-arrows center; very pleased with it |
| $500 | Moissanite | – | round | white gold | 2012 | Round moissanite on white gold; band later swapped to yellow gold after irritation, still worn 13 years on |
| $600 | Lab-grown diamond | 1 ct | round | two tone | 2024 | 1.0ct G lab old-European-cut solitaire, 10k white gold prongs on a 10k yellow gold shank; stone didn't match vendor's example photos/videos, refund dispute in progress |
| $650 | Natural diamond | 0.3 ct | round | white gold | – | Total includes GIA report and appraisal; stone alone valued around $378 per Blue Nile's upgrade-credit terms |
| $650 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 0.3 ct | round | white gold | – | Excellent .3ct round brilliant in 14k white gold including the setting; planning a future upgrade to .6-.8ct using Blue Nile's trade-up program |
| $650 | Lab-grown diamond | 0.71 ct | round | white gold | 2023 | Total for a 14k white gold 6-prong solitaire plus 0.71ct D VVS1 lab round; forum flagged a steep 35.7 crown vs 40.8 pavilion causing twist and leakage. |
| $679 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.3 ct | round | gold | 2026 | Nadia perfect fit style, 10k gold; cheaper than Provence and Fiorese quotes; still in CAD design stage, not delivered yet |
| $700 | Natural diamond | 0.7 ct | round | – | – | Secondhand old-cut diamond found at a thrift store; she paid $500 and he paid $200, financed by selling headphones |
| $700 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | – | Husband bought this online from Luvansh for their Vegas elopement years ago; prices have gone up a little since |
| $768 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.5 ct | round | gold | 2025 | Custom-made near-identical ring in 10k gold, size 12.5, ordered and awaiting delivery, also about AUD1200 |
| $800 | Lab-created coloured stone | – | round | white gold | – | Lab-grown blue sapphire center stone with three small diamonds on each side |
| $800 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.05 ct | round | two tone | 2025 | Platinum basket, 14k rose gold solitaire band; called 'hearts and arrows' make; bought via rep Demi on WhatsApp from a group-buy design; plus $30 shipping |
| $800 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2025 | Bought in a fire sale from a vendor going out of business; simple bezel setting; original price reportedly under $2000 |
| $830 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 0.3 ct | round | – | 2021 | Proposed with a placeholder ring first, then picked the real one together; her gold wedding band cost more than the engagement ring |
| $900 | – | 0.33 ct | round | gold | 1994 | Her ring has a center diamond surrounded by about 8 smaller stones; his band is a plain gold band |
| $900 | Lab-grown diamond | 3 ct | round | white gold | – | Lab stone sourced directly from a manufacturer, set in 14K white gold band, used to argue lab is the better financial choice |
| $914 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.62 ct | round | yellow gold | 2025 | Solitaire basket setting, 2mm band, heart-and-arrows ideal cut; plus $30 shipping |
| $945 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.6 ct | round | gold | 2024 | Bought through writer's own wholesaler; she contrasts it with an earlier, pricier earth-mined diamond she now regrets |
| $1,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | – | Newer lab diamond, GIA-graded with an AGS triple-0 cut mention, cost 1/12 of the original $12k natural ring. |
| $1,000 | Moissanite | – | round | – | – | Round solitaire moissanite ring from RingComeTrue, described as not showing much rainbow flash |
| $1,032 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.34 ct | round | white gold | 2025 | Stone was $682 plus a PayPal fee; custom setting in 10k white gold |
| $1,090 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2023 | 2ct round H VS1 lab diamond ring bought last July for $800 stone plus a $290 Fiorese setting; prices have shifted since |
| $1,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.4 ct | round | gold | 2024 | Hearts-and-arrows cut round diamond; same vendor custom-made a 10k gold setting with lab diamond accents |
| $1,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | two tone | 2026 | Tulip 6-prong setting currently being made by the writer's local jeweler |
| $1,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2025 | A recent lab-grown replacement stone graded ideal across the board by AGS, costing about one-tenth of her original natural diamond |
| $1,250 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.75 ct | round | white gold | 2023 | Bought online in 2023 for about the same price as the 2017 setting alone; kept the original ring for sentimental value |
| $1,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.3 ct | round | – | 2024 | Stone was $700, band brought the whole ring to $1300; vendor sent video and photos before purchase |
| $1,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.1 ct | round | – | 2026 | Whole ring, about 3.5ct total including accent stones; stone price is an estimate by the buyer |
| $1,350 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.28 ct | round | white gold | 2025 | Lab E/VVS1 ideal-cut GIA diamond negotiated $1200 to $800; custom 18k white-gold pave setting quoted $735; full ring negotiated to $1350 total |
| $1,350 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | platinum | 2025 | All-in price for stone plus platinum setting; vendor beat a competing online quote |
| $1,400 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.9 ct | round | yellow gold | 2025 | Upgrade ring: $640 14k yellow-gold Etsy solitaire setting plus $389 for a 2.9ct round lab diamond plus $200 setting fee, about $1400 total with tax |
| $1,400 | Natural diamond | 0.6 ct | round | white gold | – | Says her ring is similar to a same-era natural diamond ring described above |
| $1,400 | Natural diamond | 0.5 ct | round | yellow gold | 1997 | No lab option existed at the time of this engagement |
| $1,421 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.77 ct | round | – | 2024 | Setting custom made in China for $370, plus $150 for a local jeweler to set the diamond into it |
| $1,450 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.75 ct | round | – | 2024 | 2.75ct round lab diamond, Triple Excellent grading, set in a 14kt white gold six-claw prong setting; kept the 2019 natural ring for sentiment |
| $1,451 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.55 ct | round | – | 2023 | Lab-grown 1.55ct D VVS2 round stone $1,157 + $294 setting from Ritani, picked over Blue Nile/James Allen/Rare Carat on price; size 2 finger, 2mm band. |
| $1,464 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.9 ct | round | gold | 2025 | Setting quoted $770 before tax, about $830 with 14k gold tax; stone to be set separately by a local shop |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 5.02 ct | round | gold | 2025 | 18k (Au750) gold setting, about 4.61g total weight; haggled down from quotes as high as $2,500; verified afterward at a third-party testing center |
| $1,500 | Moissanite | – | round | gold | 2023 | 7mm (~1.3ct equivalent) moissanite in a 14K gold basket setting, final sale ~$1,500 incl. tax at a Seattle jeweler; ~$1,200 pre-tax. |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.5 ct | round | white gold | – | Basket setting, 14k white gold, with a quarter carat total weight of natural accent stones on the band |
| $1,500 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.33 ct | round | white gold | – | 18k white gold setting with warranty, tax and shipping included; diamond sourced through a broker Ritani used. |
| $1,500 | Moissanite | – | round | – | 2006 | Round 2ct-equivalent moissanite engagement ring; buyer says moissanite prices have dropped dramatically since |
| $1,500 | Natural diamond | 0.5 ct | round | white gold | 2002 | Engaged 24 years before the comment; solitaire, no lab option existed at the time |
| $1,550 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.79 ct | round | yellow gold | 2024 | Ordered a 1.79ct lab diamond in a six-prong trellis 14k yellow gold setting for a price comparable to a forum-linked ~$1550 example; later hit a shipping delay from India |
| $1,569 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.59 ct | round | white gold | 2026 | 1.59ct round G/VS2 IGI lab diamond, price-matched $800→$484, set in 14k white gold (Christian Siriano) for $1,085; $1,684 total w/ tax & appraisal. |
| $1,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 3 ct | round | – | 2025 | 3ct round bezel setting from a US-based jeweler, chosen partly to avoid import tariff issues |
| $1,630 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | round | gold | – | One of several lab diamond rings she owns; far less than her original natural diamond ring from 13 years earlier |
| $1,650 | Lab-grown diamond | 3 ct | round | white gold | 2025 | Bought a 3ct round EF-VS2 lab diamond ring from Von Diamonds after finding James Allen's version overpriced; paid about half of James Allen's $3,300 price for a similar ring |
| $1,660 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.24 ct | round | gold | 2025 | Old-European-cut stone from Fiorese, set separately in an antique-style 14kt gold band bought a few weeks before the comment. |
| $1,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.81 ct | round | – | 2025 | Listed as Super Ideal cut; vendor price-matched a cheaper competitor quote, order already being made |
| $1,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.52 ct | round | gold | 2026 | Remade ring with hidden-halo cathedral setting and smaller 3.52ct lab diamond (ideal-cut hearts and arrows); previous ring had a 4.82ct stone in a thinner 1.7mm band. Each partner's second marriage. |
| $1,800 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 3.52 ct | round | gold | 2026 | Remade from a thinner previous band (1.7mm) into a thicker cathedral setting with hidden halo, downsizing the center stone from 4.82ct to 3.52ct; out-the-door price including tax was about $1,800 |
| $1,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | yellow gold | 2024 | Custom order, used a LAB30 coupon; original price before discount was about $2,300; setting cost more than the stone |
| $1,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.38 ct | round | platinum | 2025 | Replacement ring bought in June: $600 for a 1.38ct round lab diamond (GIA, VVS2, E, excellent cut) bought online plus $1200 for a platinum hidden-halo setting from a local jeweler; separate $1750 platinum wedding band wi |
| $1,800 | Natural diamond | 0.98 ct | round | – | 2020 | Vintage 1930s-40s transitional-cut estate ring bought on eBay; now estimated worth about $6k |
| $1,900 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.11 ct | round | white gold | – | Went custom instead of the jeweler's $10k quote; halo with side stones and matching band, still being made |
| $1,975 | Natural diamond | 0.6 ct | round | – | 1994 | 0.60 ct round with two dark ruby trillions, receipt kept; her channel-set diamond and ruby band about 600; married 32 years, no wish to upgrade |
| $2,000 | Moissanite | – | round | two tone | 2020 | 6-prong two-tone solitaire, 8.25mm (about 2ct equivalent) moissanite in 18k yellow gold and platinum; the thin (~1.7mm) 18k band bent easily and needed repeated warranty repairs. |
| $2,000 | Moissanite | – | round | platinum | – | 4ct DEW-equivalent round brilliant moissanite set in platinum, bought a few years before the comment |
| $2,000 | Moissanite | – | round | – | – | Priciest of her several moissanite rings, custom-made with a kite-set cushion halo; first held a 2 ct stone, later redone with a 1 ct as it looked too big |
| $2,000 | – | 2 ct | round | white gold | – | Round pave-band solitaire with hidden halo, 2.75 ctw total weight, bought on a July 4th sale down from an original list price |
| $2,000 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | 2024 | Final stone chosen after narrowing down from a $2,000-2,500 budget toward a smaller, better-color round diamond; exact final carat/color not stated |
| $2,000 | – | – | round | white gold | – | Originally wanted a $3k emerald-cut design on a $2k budget; ended up with a white-gold round halo ring just over $2k |
| $2,069 | Lab-grown diamond | 0.75 ct | round | white gold | 2020 | Stone, band, setting and shipping combined |
| $2,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.06 ct | round | white gold | 2026 | Diamond bought separately from the 18k white gold custom-made band, built while traveling overseas; total covers both |
| $2,100 | Natural diamond | 1.3 ct | round | platinum | 1999 | Haggled at a small pawn shop roughly 10 years after their ~1990 wedding; graded by 'IGA', not a recognized lab |
| $2,100 | – | 1.3 ct | round | platinum | – | Vintage 1940s hand-cut diamond with 0.3 ct baguette side stones, bought secondhand, haggled, no financing used |
| $2,150 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.8 ct | round | – | 2023 | Stone $1.6k exact; setting roughly $500-600; writer's own total given as about $2.1-2.2k. |
| $2,200 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 2.02 ct | round | white gold | 2024 | Super ideal cut; white gold shared-prong setting with 10 accent diamonds; stone origin not stated |
| $2,200 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.68 ct | round | other | – | 14k gold and platinum combined setting |
| $2,300 | – | – | round | – | – | Buyer's own round solitaire on a size 4.5 finger, said it reads far less oversized than the asker's 2.8ct on a 4.25 finger |
| $2,300 | Natural diamond | 0.63 ct | round | – | – | Loves the cut and sparkle but wishes she had traded some color and clarity for a bigger carat |
| $2,400 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.2 ct | round | – | 2026 | Lab solitaire bought before proposing, a lot of money for him; girlfriend then demanded a 2 ct natural; many said he overpaid |
| $2,450 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.42 ct | round | platinum | 2024 | Paid a little over $1,100 for a Hearts & Arrows round stone plus $1,350 for a custom platinum setting, bought in March |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.97 ct | round | yellow gold | 2023 | 18kt yellow gold 6-prong solitaire with a 2.97ct CVD lab-grown diamond, bought for an upcoming proposal |
| $2,500 | Natural diamond | 0.55 ct | round | white gold | 2019 | Paid for center stone and setting separately from Blue Nile, then had them assembled into one ring; band carries 20 melee diamonds totaling 0.1ct |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.21 ct | round | yellow gold | 2023 | Stone bought around end of 2023 through a diamond broker he personally worked with, well under typical market price; 18k yellow gold cathedral setting with a 2mm diamond halo; almost used Helzberg for the setting instead |
| $2,500 | Other gemstone | – | round | – | – | Custom low-set bezel ring built around a round green gemstone with channel-set diamonds on the band |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.8 ct | round | gold | – | Fully custom ring: 1.8ct round excellent VVS2 E center stone, CAD-designed setting with six 0.04ct natural diamond accents (three per side), 4.2g of 18k gold; took about a month |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | round | gold | – | Round lab stone bought separately for $800; bezel setting in gold with rubies on the band quoted at $1700, about $2500 all in |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 6 ct | round | white gold | 2026 | 14k white gold setting with D VVS2 side pear stones; super-ideal excellent/excellent cut center stone |
| $2,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.32 ct | round | platinum | – | Pave platinum band |
| $2,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.06 ct | round | white gold | – | 14k white gold hidden-halo pave-band ring, originally bought at this price, now being resold |
| $2,700 | Natural diamond | 2.81 ct | round | white gold | 2025 | 2.81ct hearts-and-arrows round stone bought separately for just under $1200; David Klass built the 18k white-gold cushion-halo setting for $1500 |
| $2,770 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.02 ct | round | – | – | Solitaire with 2mm band, price after tax and shipping, came with a free small diamond earring set |
| $2,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.13 ct | round | – | 2023 | Center stone bought online, set by a local jeweler to save money; setting carries about 0.36 ctw of accent stones |
| $2,816 | Lab-grown diamond | 3 ct | round | platinum | – | Splurged on a specific designer solitaire setting; a similar non-designer setting is available online for about 650 |
| $2,900 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.36 ct | round | rose gold | – | Military discount applied; ring ordered but proposal hasn't happened yet |
| $2,900 | Lab-grown diamond | 3 ct | round | – | 2026 | Ring total before tax, after a price-matched diamond; the JM Care Plan was quoted separately at $499 since the price match excluded other site-wide discounts. |
| $3,000 | – | 0.7 ct | round | gold | – | Six-prong solitaire with three pave accent stones on each side, 14k gold band |
| $3,000 | – | – | round | – | 2005 | Round diamond ring bought about 18 years before the comment; writer says it still looks timeless. |
| $3,000 | – | 3.75 ct | round | white gold | – | Pave band, ring being made, a little over this price; a local jeweller separately quoted $15k for comparable specs |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.1 ct | round | – | 2025 | Customized setting |
| $3,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.6 ct | round | – | – | Bought an old mine cut diamond ring on the resale market, offered as a ballpark comparison for the asker's antique ring |
| $3,000 | – | 3 ct | round | – | – | 3ct round with setting, current ring; far cheaper than the first, possibly lab-grown |
| $3,100 | Sapphire | 1.29 ct | round | white gold | – | Teal-colored sapphire centre stone with two 0.42ct side diamonds |
| $3,315 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.01 ct | round | platinum | 2023 | Bought a 3.01ct lab diamond platinum solitaire as a stock setting, whole ring together |
| $3,500 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 0.97 ct | round | white gold | 2016 | 18kt white gold; 22 small accent diamonds (.05ct total, per the person asking); assembled by a family friend/wholesaler; resized twice free; no GIA |
| $3,500 | Sapphire | 3.36 ct | round | gold | 2024 | Self-designed 3.36ct natural Ceylon sapphire with 3 round + 1 marquise diamond side stones; sapphire bought loose at an Asia gem expo, setting made by a local jeweller |
| $3,500 | Lab-grown diamond | – | round | – | – | GCAL 8X certified round diamond, all 8 grading categories excellent; paid $3,500, appraised by Adiamor at $5,500 shortly after |
| $3,500 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | – | Bought this stone secondhand for far under its original $12,000 price |
| $3,600 | Natural diamond | 0.75 ct | round | – | 1993 | Price given as approximate, "give or take" |
| $3,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.82 ct | round | yellow gold | 2026 | 4.82ct round VS1 F, ideal cut/polish/symmetry, bought out the door; thin yellow-gold band, weighing a sturdier cathedral reset |
| $3,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.82 ct | round | yellow gold | 2026 | 4.82ct round lab diamond, VS1/F, ideal cut, thin yellow gold band, bought out the door; band measured about 1.7-1.9mm wide |
| $3,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.82 ct | round | yellow gold | 2026 | ~$1,000 for the 4.82ct F/VS1 ideal round lab stone (price-matched), ~$2,300 for a yellow gold pave setting from the same vendor since matching the stone price voided setting discounts; $3,700 out the door; buyer debating |
| $3,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.07 ct | round | – | 2025 | JannPaul Nova branded cut lab diamond in halo setting with melee shank; fiancee later stopped liking it |
| $3,800 | Other gemstone | 3.3 ct | round | gold | 2017 | 3.3ct amethyst with a diamond-accented gold band; considering a Montana sapphire upgrade around their 10th anniversary, not yet bought |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 6 ct | round | gold | – | Bought well below typical retail through industry connections; not intended as their forever ring, plan to upgrade later |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.5 ct | round | – | 2024 | Stone from a wholesale site; David Klass made a matching setting and 1ct eternity band, hidden halo, about $4k total including the diamond |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | – | round | – | 2025 | Replaced first stone with a bigger one (3.57-3.77ct discussed) around a $4k budget via same diamond buyers online; had it set |
| $4,220 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.38 ct | round | two tone | – | 220k/year household; chose lab deliberately over natural for cost and personal reasons, not out of necessity |
| $4,400 | Lab-grown diamond | – | round | – | – | Writer's own OEC lab diamond, bigger stone but lower grade than the asker's, bought from a US vendor; said she paid about the same as the person asking |
| $4,500 | – | 1 ct | round | – | 2016 | Double halo split-shank setting with 0.5 ct of accent diamonds |
| $4,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.09 ct | round | – | 2023 | Chosen for its look over a stricter ideal grading; ordered before finding a diamond buyers' forum, price confirmed later here as $4600 |
| $5,000 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | 2022 | Reset a just-under-1ct mined diamond with a new halo onto her original band, and repaired her late grandmother's inherited band as the new wedding band |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | – | Boyfriend's original budget of $10-15k would not have gotten a good natural 2ct round, so going lab for about $5k instead |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2021 | 2ct round lab-diamond solitaire from Brilliant Earth, worn daily for 4 years as of the comment, cost about $5k when bought; the same style is cheaper now |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | – | – | Husband earns about $12k/month; ring cost far under the outdated '3 months' salary' rule, which would have been about $36k, roughly their wedding budget |
| $5,000 | Natural diamond | 1.3 ct | round | yellow gold | 1992 | "near perfect cut"; a few baguette side stones on a yellow gold band; price was "$5,000 and change" |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.08 ct | round | rose gold | 2021 | 1.08ct G VVS2 lab old-European-cut round from Distinctive Gem, set in a custom 14k rose gold Zeghani 1199 halo with pave by a local jeweler; chose a ~$5,000 upgrade over a $10,000+ option |
| $5,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.62 ct | round | – | 2024 | 3.62ct round stone cost $4.1k after tax plus $1k for the band; says the asker's deal isn't bad if the band is included |
| $5,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.75 ct | round | platinum | 2023 | 2.75ct F VS1 ideal round lab diamond in platinum with a Tacori band; got a friend-of-a-jeweler discount |
| $5,500 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | – | Writer calls it her diamond, but Costco sells only finished rings; six-prong round; bigger and better than listed; appraised a bit under 11k |
| $5,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.33 ct | round | – | 2025 | Total carat weight with setting stones is 3.03ct; chose the Jared setting for its design |
| $5,600 | Natural diamond | 1 ct | round | – | – | Eye-clean stone with a pave setting |
| $6,000 | Natural diamond | 1 ct | round | – | – | Round 1ct solitaire ordered online, medium blue fluorescence |
| $6,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | – | 1.5ct round lab diamond plus setting from a local jeweler, still awaiting delivery; compared favorably to Brilliant Earth pricing |
| $6,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.41 ct | round | platinum | – | 9.3 StoneAlgo cut score; the same stone sold for 1600 elsewhere; local jeweler making a platinum band with 22 small diamonds in a hidden halo plus two 6x4mm unheated Ceylon sapphires around 2200, total ring cost roughly |
| $6,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | platinum | 2025 | 1.5ct round natural diamond with only Good polish/symmetry on an old 2004 GIA report, set in platinum; paid via $1,500 trade-in, $1,000 down and $3,500 on a card, with 18-month 0% financing |
| $6,000 | Natural diamond | 1 ct | round | – | 2015 | First ring, bought over 10 years before the comment; later upgraded to a 3ct lab diamond |
| $6,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.62 ct | round | – | – | Lab diamond ring bought and made in St Thomas, no sales tax; researched comparable listings for the same stone afterward and found large vendor price gaps |
| $6,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.01 ct | round | yellow gold | 2026 | DG August Vintage OEC in a Stuller 14k crown solitaire, size 7.5; holiday sale cut the 9k list to 6k; resold two months later |
| $6,200 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2025 | Bought the loose 1.5ct G/SI2 diamond informally from a family friend's husband described as a wholesaler; separate $600 plain four-prong mount |
| $6,500 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | platinum | – | Writer's first husband bought this as her engagement ring years back; exact year not stated |
| $6,650 | Natural diamond | 1 ct | round | white gold | 2019 | Branded Forevermark earth-mined diamond in an A JAFFE trellis setting; appraisal figure worked out from the jeweler's trade-up terms |
| $6,670 | Natural diamond | 0.75 ct | round | white gold | – | 18K white gold three-stone trellis; 0.75ct center plus two roughly 0.25ct side stones; paid a premium for conflict-free Canadian diamonds |
| $6,738 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.01 ct | round | platinum | 2024 | Bought the rough 4.42ct HPHT lab stone for $2,970, paid Southwest Diamond Cutters (Ashley) $2,317.50 to recut it down to 4.01ct, plus a $1,450 platinum David Klass setting; reselling because the recut stone wears too big |
| $6,850 | Natural diamond | 1.01 ct | round | – | 2004 | A Cut Above Hearts & Arrows round, paid by bank transfer |
| $7,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.3 ct | round | – | – | 1.3 carat round brilliant, D VS1 with triple-excellent cut/polish/symmetry, given as a comparison; suggests price-matching online |
| $7,100 | Natural diamond | 1.2 ct | round | – | 2020 | Petite micropave setting in 14k white gold with small side stones; stone has strong fluorescence, now being sold years later |
| $7,700 | Natural diamond | 1.41 ct | round | – | 2015 | Original engagement ring bought roughly 10 years before the anniversary upgrade discussion; now being traded in under James Allen's 100% upgrade program |
| $7,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.04 ct | round | – | 2025 | Bought from James Allen; the diamond alone was about $5.5k before tax; ring was ultimately returned after community feedback that it was overpriced |
| $8,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2022 | Round solitaire in 18k gold with some fluorescence; stone and setting priced separately then combined, appraised well above the purchase price |
| $8,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.5 ct | round | rose gold | – | 1.5ct round center, about 2ct total weight including the halo; top grade on all Cs but clarity. |
| $8,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 2.57 ct | round | – | 2025 | Pave band; regrets buying from Jared before discovering this community |
| $8,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2025 | Thin band; writer feels they got duped on price |
| $8,300 | Natural diamond | 1 ct | round | platinum | 2024 | Platinum halo pave setting; buyer weighing a return within the 30-day window to try a different vendor |
| $8,400 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2003 | Original engagement ring purchase, about 20 years before this discussion; now considering an upgrade |
| $8,950 | Natural diamond | 1.27 ct | round | – | 2013 | Star129 (129-facet) natural round diamond with diamond halo, bought from husband's jeweler friend for their 26th anniversary; has a side-visible carbon inclusion |
| $9,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | yellow gold | 2019 | 18k yellow gold French pave setting; husband paid a premium since lab-grown was less common in 2019; appraised higher in 2021 |
| $9,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 2 ct | round | yellow gold | 2019 | 18k yellow gold French pave engagement ring, center 2ct brilliant-cut lab diamond; husband paid a premium since lab diamonds were less common then; appraised 2021 |
| $9,000 | Natural diamond | 1.01 ct | round | platinum | 2022 | 1.01ct round H VS2 very-good cut on a simple 4-prong platinum band, price included tax and the setting; appraised for $13,000 soon after |
| $9,950 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.5 ct | round | platinum | – | 2.5ct lab old-European cut stone ($6,600) in a platinum David Klass setting ($3,350), appraised by David Klass at $10,600; now reselling since lab prices dropped and she's upgrading to a 5ct stone |
| $10,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 3.33 ct | round | – | 2022 | 3.33 ct VVS2 round diamond ring bought Nov 2022; buyers said the cut lacked ideal optical symmetry despite the popular round shape |
| $10,000 | – | 3.5 ct | round | platinum | 2023 | Platinum ring with round and baguette diamonds, 3.5ct total, upgrade about 2 years before the comment |
| $10,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.5 ct | round | platinum | 2024 | Round brilliant lab diamond on platinum with ~10 melee stones and engraving; called a lot to pay for a lab |
| $10,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | yellow gold | – | Custom 14k solitaire, three tapered baguettes per side; band cost forgotten; now in a bank box, she wishes the money had gone to the mortgage |
| $10,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | – | round | – | 2024 | GIA diamond deposit paid via Dubai vendor; forum flagged sloppy cut (42.5% pavilion); ~$10k all-in incl. band; $2200 deposit at risk if he backs out. |
| $11,000 | Natural diamond | 1.7 ct | round | – | 2022 | Round natural diamond with medium fluorescence, which the writer says doesn't read as yellow to the eye |
| $11,000 | – | 2 ct | round | platinum | 2026 | Marked down from $30k list; upgraded from a 1ct original stone, paid the difference; certified, no visible inclusions to the naked eye |
| $11,035 | Lab-grown diamond | 2.7 ct | round | – | 2023 | Negotiated a custom Tacori setting's stone down from $8,700 to $5,035 by showing a comparable Ritani listing; ring still being made |
| $12,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2019 | Bought for his fiancee, triple-excellent cut, polish and symmetry grading |
| $12,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2004 | Natural diamond engagement ring bought twenty years before the 2024 comment. |
| $12,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | – | 2003 | Original engagement ring bought about 22 years before this 2025 comment; very good polish and symmetry but table and depth not ideal |
| $12,500 | Natural diamond | 1.8 ct | round | yellow gold | – | A Cut Above branded-cut diamond in a 6-prong yellow-gold solitaire; planning to use a $1 upgrade offer to trade up |
| $13,000 | Natural diamond | 1.5 ct | round | platinum | 2008 | GIA 1.5ct that faces up like 1.4ct due to cut quality; SI2 eye-clean; setting was a shared-prong band ($2500) plus a platinum head ($500); bought at a local store |
| $14,500 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.1 ct | round | – | – | Buyer's own round 1.1ct E/FL diamond ring cost $14,000-15,000; asked whether that was a fair price |
| $14,700 | Natural diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2015 | Paid for a 2ct GIA round solitaire in 2015; the setting was cheap so almost the whole price was the diamond |
| $15,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.18 ct | round | platinum | – | Pave band, cathedral setting, hidden halo with diamonds on every side but the prongs |
| $15,000 | Natural diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2009 | First upgrade, natural stone in a Vatche setting |
| $17,000 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | – | Natural round diamond from Canada, chosen to mark their first trip together; husband is a physician |
| $18,000 | Natural diamond | 2.75 ct | round | – | 2007 | 2.75ct round brilliant bought at a small independent stone seller in 2007, given as a price comparison to the Tiffany piece |
| $18,500 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 1.7 ct | round | platinum | 2017 | First ring, bought about 8 years before this post through a NYC jeweler |
| $20,000 | Natural diamond | 2 ct | round | platinum | 2011 | Writer's original 2011 engagement ring, natural round diamond in pave platinum, recalled only approximately |
| $21,000 | – | 1.8 ct | round | – | – | Round solitaire with hidden halo; band is an eternity style totaling about 1.5 ct; bought in a high cost-of-living city |
| $23,000 | – | 2 ct | round | – | – | 2ct round with setting, first ring |
| $23,000 | Natural diamond | 2.7 ct | round | – | 2026 | Recent purchase, natural round diamond with no certification |
| $25,000 | Natural diamond | 1.89 ct | round | – | 2023 | Cathedral setting with diamond accents; total covers stone and setting together |
| $25,000 | Natural diamond | 3 ct | round | platinum | – | Bought from a motivated seller; GIA graded cut and symmetry VG, uncommon for an old European cut; appraised 2018 |
| $28,000 | Natural diamond | 2.5 ct | round | rose gold | – | AGS-000 H&A branded ideal cut from Crafted by Infinity/High Performance Diamonds; insured value now above what was paid despite market softening |
| $29,000 | Natural diamond | 2 ct | round | – | 2005 | 2.90ct total engagement ring: 2.00ct round center plus two pear-shape side stones; separate 1.25ct 5-stone wedding band, its price not given |
| $29,000 | Natural diamond | 2 ct | round | – | – | His wife's diamond ring; paid this but says resale value is poor and he can't sell it |
| $30,000 | Natural diamond | 2.7 ct | round | – | – | She asked for lab or moissanite but husband bought natural; visible inclusions, lower clarity; he earned about 10x the asker's pay then |
| $30,000 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | 2008 | Husband spent this on her engagement ring 18 years before this post, while she was considering selling it now |
| $33,000 | Natural diamond | 1.69 ct | round | – | 2008 | Flawless round natural diamond, bought 18 years before this comment |
| $35,000 | Natural diamond | 3.25 ct | round | – | 2020 | Paid mid-$30k range in March 2020 for a 3.25ct round VVS1 natural diamond, color one grade from best but not recalled |
| $37,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 2 ct | round | – | 2023 | Engaged about a month before posting; described as a super ideal cut; carat/shape from a buyer's read of the asker's post history |
| $42,000 | Natural diamond | 4.04 ct | round | – | – | AGS-ideal round natural diamond bought for his wife; she loves it for the sparkle, not the price |
| $43,000 | Natural diamond | – | round | – | – | Carat stated as just over 3; hidden halo |
| $43,000 | Natural diamond | 2.7 ct | round | – | 2025 | Second upgrade, round brilliant cut |
| $47,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 3.04 ct | round | platinum | – | Triple excellent cut, 100% eye-clean, medium fluorescence; custom hand-forged platinum setting; total includes tax |
| $60,000 | Natural diamond | 3.38 ct | round | – | 2026 | 3.38ct natural round E VVS1 excellent-cut ring, almost $60,000; cited to show many big stones seen online are actually lab grown |
| $70,000 | Natural diamond | 2.8 ct | round | – | 2022 | Bought by her in-laws through a jeweler who has known the family for years; writer also cites a diamond-pricing site showing similar prices for the specs |
| $80,000 | Natural diamond | 6.05 ct | round | – | 2026 | 6.05ct K SI2 antique old European cut diamond found after a long personal search; deposit paid, pickup in August; plans a new vintage-style setting; funded partly by trading in her old emerald-cut ring |
Sources and method
Price reports on this page come from 172 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.
The largest discussions used here (60)
- 2026-01: Update on 30k ring. See last post for more details (1100 comments)
- 2026-01: Ring will be around 23k-35k. NEED ADVICE (1050 comments)
- 2026-04: my girlfriend told me she wants a 2 carat natural diamond or she'll say no. i already bought this lab diamond ring. am i crazy for thinking shes a red flag (898 comments)
- 2025-01: How much did you pay? (703 comments)
- 2025-04: What is your ring size and what carat did you go with? (652 comments)
- 2026-02: Lab Grown Diamond Engagement Ring - Did I let her down? (600 comments)
- 2003-03: The Forum Engagement Ring Folder/Eye Candy (599 comments)
- 2025-10: Did you help your partner pick your engagement ring? (559 comments)
- 2025-03: Do people actually spend 3 months salary on a ring? (539 comments)
- 2026-01: I don’t mean this rudely at all but is everyone posting here marrying rich guys or are my standards just not attuned to what the norm is these days? (533 comments)
- 2023-08: Show me you inexpensive rings! (475 comments)
- 2023-12: To all the dealers trashing Lab Diamonds (430 comments)
- 2026-03: Am I crazy for wanting a $6k ring? (412 comments)
- 2024-07: A bit different: No engagement ring (409 comments)
- 2022-10: How much y’all paying for your engagement rings? (399 comments)
- 2023-04: Why does everyone have a HUGE diamond these days? (370 comments)
- 2023-09: What do you consider expensive for a wedding ring? (355 comments)
- 2026-02: Is this diamond worth the price? (339 comments)
- 2022-10: Is everyone here super rich? 😅 (336 comments)
- 2026-05: MEN of SG, how much did you spend on your engagement ring? (333 comments)
- 2026-09: Anyone else pay for a portion of their engagement ring? (328 comments)
- 2026-01: How to convince myself to not want a natural diamond? Or is it worth the sentimental value? (326 comments)
- 2023-04: Lab grown diamonds are not "fake" diamonds. (308 comments)
- 2024-07: Absolutely mortified about getting a ring for my gf (308 comments)
- 2024-11: Not meant to be a negative post/turn into a debate, but since lab diamonds are coming more into the mainstream and are becoming more accepted, what happens to the natural diamond industry? (295 comments)
- 2023-07: I know she will love it, but now I’m nervous that I overpaid (290 comments)
- 2025-12: What would you reply to someone asking if your diamond ring was “real” or lab? (276 comments)
- 2026-05: What’s wrong with a fiancée wanting engagement diamond ring? (260 comments)
- 2023-03: How do people afford engagement rings?! (258 comments)
- 2026-05: So disappointed with jeweler’s bait and switch (257 comments)
- 2025-12: Does this carat size look disproportionate for my 4.25 size ring? (254 comments)
- 2025-04: For those who have a ring costing 30-50k usd, what does it look like? (252 comments)
- 2025-05: With the caveat that the actual answer is “however much you’re both comfortable spending”, how much did you spend on an engagement ring? (242 comments)
- 2025-09: Average cost of an engagement ring (229 comments)
- 2025-12: How’d I do? (223 comments)
- 2022-12: Engagement Ring (219 comments)
- 2024-07: When comparing apples to apples, are Costco engagement rings cheaper than other jewelers? (216 comments)
- 2024-09: Is Luvansh for real ? (215 comments)
- 2025-07: Why would anyone want natural diamonds? (208 comments)
- 2025-10: Planning on proposing soon. Am I Overpaying? (207 comments)
- 2025-12: Is this ring worth what they’re asking for? (174 comments)
- 2025-04: Moissanite vs diamond in real life, has anyone actually noticed? (174 comments)
- 2023-09: Falling White Diamond Prices (171 comments)
- 2023-10: Round or Oval? (168 comments)
- 2025-07: How much did you spend on an engagement ring ? (165 comments)
- 2026-01: So it looks like I need to sell my great great grandmothers ring. Please help! (159 comments)
- 2023-10: Engagement/ wedding rings through Costco (154 comments)
- 2024-01: What do you think about this news? 🤔 (154 comments)
- 2025-08: Lab grown diamond prices (152 comments)
- 2025-12: Any recommendation on cheap place to buy lab grown diamonds? (150 comments)
- 2026-04: For those who've owned both - did paying more for a lab diamond feel worth it long-term? (145 comments)
- 2024-02: I have just lost my mind (142 comments)
- 2026-02: $3,135 for this 3CT F VS1 (139 comments)
- 2024-06: I designed my own engagement ring and I couldn't be happier! (138 comments)
- 2024-07: Did I just get ripped off on a lab grown diamond ($10K for 3.25 carats)? (137 comments)
- 2025-08: I paid $5600 for this diamond. Good deal or I got played about how good of deal I’m getting. It’s from a wholesaler? (136 comments)
- 2025-12: Is $1500 a good price? (130 comments)
- 2026-08: Should I go lower clarity for bigger carat? (125 comments)
- 2023-01: My GF wants a large oval Solitaire diamond ring, how do I get this on a budget? (125 comments)
- 2024-09: Can you show me you 3k-10k rings? (122 comments)
- and 112 more, all in the dataset
A ring counts here when the buyer named the center stone's shape. Old European and old mine cuts are counted as round or cushion.