engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Carat · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

How Much Is a 1.5 Carat Engagement Ring? 188 Real Prices

A natural 1.5 carat ring cost a median $10,000 across 39 purchases, 4.6 times the $2,175 median for a lab-grown one (82 purchases). Weight alone does not set the price: the stone does, and so do its cut, colour and clarity.

188rings with a 1.4 to 1.69 ct center stone
$10,000median natural diamond ring (39)
$2,175median lab-grown diamond ring (82)
$700median moissanite ring (23)

A 1.5 carat ring by center stone

Each row takes the rings whose center stone weighed 1.4 to 1.69 ct, the weights sold as "about 1.5 carat".

Center stoneRingsMedian ringMiddle half
Natural diamond39$10,000$7,000 to $14,000
Lab-grown diamond82$2,175$1,451 to $4,000
Moissanite23$700$400 to $1,300

Shapes at 1.5 carat

Round30%
Oval28%
Marquise16%
Pear12%
Emerald9%
Princess6%

1.5 carat ring questions

How much is a 1.5 carat natural diamond engagement ring?

A median $10,000 across 39 buyer-reported rings with a 1.4 to 1.69 ct center stone, and half cost between $7,000 and $14,000.

How much is a 1.5 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring?

A median $2,175 across 82 buyer-reported rings with a 1.4 to 1.69 ct center stone, and half cost between $1,451 and $4,000.

How much is a 1.5 carat moissanite engagement ring?

A median $700 across 23 buyer-reported rings with a 1.4 to 1.69 ct center stone, and half cost between $400 and $1,300. Moissanite is sold by diamond-equivalent weight, the size of diamond it looks like.

How much should a 1.5 carat lab-grown diamond cost?

Buyers estimated a stone like the asker's 1.55 carat VS1 F lab diamond should cost roughly $500-800 on its own, well under the $1,950 the person asking was quoted, citing sites like StoneAlgo, Loose Grown Diamonds and Light Box. Buyers cite loose 1 to 1.5 carat lab-grown stones selling for roughly $250 to $500 apiece, with a complete solitaire setting reachable for around $740.

1.25ct vs 1.5ct round solitaire, which is better for a low-set platinum band?

The buyer leaned toward 1.25 carat because she found a 1 carat stone too small for a low-set mounting, while feeling 1.5 carat might be too flashy for her social circle in Europe.

Do people assume a diamond over about 1.5 carats must be lab-grown?

Yes, several buyers said they automatically assume any diamond bigger than roughly 1 to 1.5 carats is lab-grown, since a natural stone that size is usually out of reach for most buyers.

Does a 1 carat or 1.5 carat diamond look better on a small (size 4-5) ring finger?

Opinions were split: several buyers said a 1 carat stone looks proportional and elegant on a small finger, while others felt 1.5 carat filled the hand better without looking excessive; one buyer with a small (3.25) finger who chose 1.59 ct said in hindsight she wishes she had gone smaller, closer to 1-1.25 ct.

Does a 2.2 carat diamond look noticeably bigger than a 1.5 carat diamond on a size 6.5 finger?

The owner expected a big jump going from a 7.45mm to an 8.45mm center stone, but side by side the two looked close in size, surprising her and several buyers who agreed it looked only somewhat larger.

Does a big carat upgrade (like 1.5 ct to 3+ ct) feel too big at first?

Buyers were reassuring, saying that big a jump is a large visual change that just takes time to feel normal, and that a lower or thinner setting profile can help the new stone look more balanced.

Does a lab-grown diamond look obviously fake above 1.5 carats?

One buyer claimed lab stones over 1.5 carats are visually obvious, but the person asking pushed back, arguing lab-created stones are chemically and optically identical to mined diamonds regardless of size.

Does upgrading from 1.1 carat to 1.5 carat make a noticeable size difference?

A buyer with jewelry design experience said the jump would not look much bigger once mounted in a halo, since overall dimensions matter more than carat weight alone, and suggested capping around 1.5 carats.

How big does a 1 carat vs a 1.5 carat round diamond look on an average finger?

A 1 carat round measures about 6.4mm across and a 1.5 carat about 7.4mm, with a halo adding roughly another 1-2mm, so a 1.5-carat halo ring was estimated to cover about 60% of a size 6.5 finger's visible width.

How much bigger does a 1.5 carat solitaire look compared to its actual size?

Several buyers guessed the ring looked closer to 3 carats, though the owner says small hands and photo angles make her 1.5 carat stone read larger than it actually is.

How much can you sell a pre-owned 1-1.5 carat natural diamond for?

With true specs of 1.21ct, D color and SI2 clarity confirmed by GIA, the best offer the writer got was $1,400, versus a $10,995 insurance appraisal for the same stone under different assumed specs.

How much did a 1.5ct oval halo engagement ring cost in 2018?

The buyer's boyfriend says he negotiated $7,500 for a 1.5ct SI1 oval with a halo of 0.5ct round accents, which a buyer called about right for retail at the time.

Every 1.5 carat ring in the data

Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$40Moissanite––other2022Sterling silver rhodium-plated ring bought two years before the comment, still holding up; says the same listing costs more now
$59Moissanite––other–1.5ct moissanite in sterling silver from an AliExpress seller, $59 with an additional 30% off applied; arrived in about three days
$120Moissanite–ovalyellow gold–1.5ct oval moissanite ring in 10k yellow gold from Kuololit on AliExpress.
$309Moissanite–ovalgold20251.5ct oval moissanite on a 10k gold band bought via Kuololit's AliExpress storefront this summer
$360Moissanite––yellow gold2023Custom milgrain and engraving, 10k yellow gold band
$400Diamond, lab or natural not said1.62 ctemerald–2025Bought a never-worn custom emerald-cut ring for $400 cash from a wealthy neighbor whose fiancee wanted a different ring; came with a gem-grade certificate
$400Moissanite––––Moissanite ring bought on Etsy, rated as the visual equivalent of a 1.5ct diamond
$400Moissanite–ovalgold–DEF color VVS1 moissanite with a certificate; side stones are 0.2 ct total marquise diamonds, G color VS clarity; expected around $1,000, bought on a surprise sale
$400Natural diamond1.5 ct–white gold–Vintage Art Deco ring; 1.5 ct is total diamond weight; cheap because the style was out of fashion
$400–1.5 ctmarquisegold–1.5 carat marquise stone set in 14k gold
$400Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemeraldgold2025Hidden-halo emerald cut in 10k gold bought through a lab-diamond deals group a few months before this 2026 post
$411Moissanite–marquise–2021Custom marquise moissanite ring made to order
$482Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–$450 plus $32 customs duty fee; writer suggests a smaller stone or different style could land at $400 or under
$600Moissanite––––$600ish custom ring; jeweler threw in moissanite earrings with larger stones for free; cost was mostly metal and customization, not the stone.
$600Moissanite––––Custom ring priced mostly by metal and customization rather than the stone; box carried a wholesale sticker valuing the stone at a small fraction of that
$600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold2023Lab grown black diamond, 10k white gold band
$700Moissanite––gold–Buyer's own 14k gold ring, chosen over a diamond for size and brilliance per carat
$700Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Chose lab so as not to spend a huge amount; a natural of the same size would have cost far more
$740Moissanite–marquisewhite gold202212x6mm marquise moissanite, 14kWG cathedral setting with 1.8mm lab diamond pave; price nudged up because lab diamond costs had risen
$770Lab-grown diamond1.4 ct––2023A good deal at the time, before later moving to a bigger lab stone; had tried several unsatisfying moissanite rings first
$800Moissanite––––Both still in college; low price mainly came from stacked military and EMT first-responder discounts
$800Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold2026Classic solitaire setting; writer wishes they had ordered platinum instead
$800Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Bought a top-quality 1.5ct diamond off AliExpress, had an Etsy jeweler design the setting, then a local jeweler set it; similar finished rings sold online for $5-6k
$850Moissanite–marquisegold2026Dutch marquise moissanite in 14k gold; partner paid, writer says 'around' the amount
$900Moissanite––yellow gold–1.5ct diamond-equivalent solitaire on 18k yellow gold
$900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold20241.5ct lab solitaire bought via an internet ad; same ring was marked 2999 in store
$955Lab-grown diamond1.61 ctovalyellow gold2025Vivid blue lab diamond in a 14k yellow gold cathedral pave setting, bought during a DovEggs Christmas sale.
$989Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold20231.5ct lab solitaire on 2mm gold band, waited for the right stone, pleased with purchase
$1,000Sapphire1.4 ct––2023Blue sapphire solitaire engagement ring, about $1k
$1,000Moissanite––––1.5ct moissanite with a diamond pave band, after getting half off the setting price
$1,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalgold–Oval lab stone under 700, total ring in 14k gold with mele diamonds across the band came to just over 1000
$1,050Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemeraldyellow gold2025Ready-to-wear 1.5ct lab emerald-cut signet ring in 14k yellow gold with IGI cert, bought for her boyfriend when she proposed; $950 base plus $100 for a personalized engraving, $1050 total
$1,169Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold2026Custom-cut triangle diamond accents; total includes stone plus having it set in 14k solid yellow gold; a similar natural ring elsewhere would have cost roughly $31,000
$1,200–1.5 ct–white gold–Custom made, lifetime warranty, made in the USA; unrelated to the Rare Carat price-match method in the post
$1,200Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–Bought on a Black Friday sale, down from a $2500 list price; side stones totaling 0.16ct
$1,300Moissanite––white gold2022Center moissanite with natural pave diamond accents; chose over C&C for a more diamond-like look; free year-long warranty
$1,300Moissanite–ovalgold–8 small 3mm side diamonds came from a grandmother's heirloom ring, helping keep the cost down
$1,300Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct––2024Stone alone about 750, ring with setting 1300
$1,300Moissanite––yellow gold202510k yellow gold, green moissanite with 2 diamond baguettes and 6 tiny diamond accents, lab-grown; from a local family jeweler
$1,300Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–1.5ct lab-grown diamond on a thinner 14k gold band, called a bargain next to her natural-diamond ring
$1,300Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–two tone–18k gold band with a platinum setting, in a self-described lower income circle where $1,000-5,000 is typical
$1,400Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctpearyellow gold–Hidden halo with side stones; the official engagement ring among several moissanite/lab rings owned
$1,400Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctpear––Most expensive of several lab-grown diamond rings she owns; says it faces up larger than expected and is worth every penny
$1,400Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2026Custom-ordered 1.5ct fancy intense yellow diamond with white diamond halo and pave band; the loose stone alone cost $600
$1,451Lab-grown diamond1.55 ctround–2023Lab-grown 1.55ct D VVS2 round stone $1,157 + $294 setting from Ritani, picked over Blue Nile/James Allen/Rare Carat on price; size 2 finger, 2mm band.
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctoval–2024Stone from Ritani, setting made by a popular sub vendor, assembled by a local jeweler
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Ring with setting bought using a 30% off discount
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold2024Second engagement ring, 14k gold setting
$1,500–1.55 ctmarquise–2026Step cut marquise, length-to-width ratio 1.95
$1,500–1.5 ctmarquise–2026Bought during a store sale; original price before the discount was about $2,100
$1,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.6 ct–platinum–Caps jewelry spending at $2-3k even with more income; not clear if lab or moissanite
$1,500–1.5 ctpear––Pear cut ring in a similar style to the asker's design, almost $1,500
$1,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–Custom made at a jeweler, 18k gold cathedral setting with pave accent diamonds
$1,569Lab-grown diamond1.59 ctroundwhite gold20261.59ct round G/VS2 IGI lab diamond, price-matched $800→$484, set in 14k white gold (Christian Siriano) for $1,085; $1,684 total w/ tax & appraisal.
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.44 ct––2024Stone plus a local jeweler's fee to set it, total for stone and setting
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2025Recreated a 1.5ct center, 7/8-halo lab diamond ring seen at Jared for $4,000; local jeweler sourced the same band with better-quality diamonds for $1,600
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Upgraded to about 2.5 ctw lab ring with a 1.5-ct center; jeweler built it for less than the 4000 retail price of a similar Jared ring, with higher-quality stones
$1,600Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–white gold202514k white gold, 5.6g, 66 total diamonds incl. 1ct tw accents; Hearts and Arrows noted
$1,650Lab-grown diamond1.51 ct––2023A different buyer bought a complete lab-grown ring shipped to their door, offered as a cheaper alternative to the asker's natural stone
$1,700Lab-grown diamond1.4 ct–––Solitaire lab diamond chosen over moissanite for better outdoor sparkle in a cloudy climate
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ctmarquiseplatinum2025Bought loose lab marquise diamond online, then custom-set in platinum by a DTLA jeweler for the setting fee
$1,750Lab-grown diamond1.53 ct–platinum2025Loose stone bought online, then set locally in DTLA; total for a platinum setting
$1,900–1.5 ct–white gold–Considers the Costco ring in the post overpriced compared to this 1.5ct ring in 14k white gold
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Lab-grown 1.5ct diamond, all-in price including the setting
$1,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushionwhite gold–Brilliant cut with a lab-grown tapered baguette on either side
$2,000Moissanite––platinum2018Self-designed one-of-a-kind ring with diamond side stones; platinum ran about $300 more than white gold would have
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.46 ctpearyellow gold–Bezel setting
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctpearplatinum2022Buyer's own pear diamond ring; another buyers suspected the stone was lab rather than natural given the low price
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.55 ct–yellow gold–Estate 14k yellow gold ridged band bought separately for $700; total ring with the lab diamond and tax came to this amount, with free sizing included
$2,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold–1.5ct lab diamond in 18k gold; writer also has a 1.2ct natural diamond ring inherited from her grandmother at no cost
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–white gold–Custom black diamond ring plus a matching 14k white gold wedding band with a white diamond chip
$2,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––Husband bought her ring years ago when 5-10k was seen as typical spending; she is happy with it
$2,000Natural diamond1.5 ct––1985Graded I clarity with no digit given; one inclusion hidden by a prong, described as slightly warm color and well cut
$2,100Sapphire1.55 ct–rose gold–Diamond side stones totaling 0.3ct; bought the center stone herself for a specific coloration
$2,100Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemeraldgold–Bezel setting in 14k gold; stone type inferred, price consistent with lab pricing
$2,200Sapphire1.5 ctovalwhite gold–0.5 ct diamond on each side; negotiated a discount to stay near a $2k budget
$2,250Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctoval––Pave band; writer unsure whether this was a fair price, remembered as 2200-2300
$2,300Lab-grown diamond1.58 ct–yellow gold2025Bought in May 2025; $2,300 figure includes the 14k yellow gold band and mounting, per writer's husband
$2,500–1.5 ct–––Fiancee's ring, 1.5ct with side stones
$2,500Moissanite––rose gold–1.5ct-equivalent moissanite with rose gold band and diamond halo; says it saved about 75% versus natural
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Upgraded 11.5 years in, caught a 35% off sale; carat is total weight (tw), not necessarily the center stone alone
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.6 ct–––Fiance earns $50k a year; she worried $2,500 was too much to ask for
$2,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Asked for a sub-$2k budget but fiance spent $2.5k on a 1.5ct lab-grown ring
$2,600Lab-grown diamond1.59 ctotheryellow gold–Hexagon cut stone, 2mm bezel band, still being made
$2,700Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Owned about a year, writer says it still looks flawless
$2,850Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct––2021Paid the same $2,850 as the person asking but only got a 1.5ct stone, back in 2021
$2,900Lab-grown diamond1.56 ctmarquise–2026Pave band has 0.52ct total weight natural side diamonds; writer gave a $2800-3000 range
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.52 ctradiant–2024College-budget solitaire, radiant cut, for a size-4.5 finger; simple band left room for her planned two wedding bands.
$3,000Sapphire1.5 ct––2022Writer earns just over $100k, partner a bit more; initial $2,500 budget grew to about $3,000 for a 1.5 ct sapphire with a diamond halo
$3,000Sapphire1.6 ct–white gold2022Halo setting with 18 small diamond accents, sold at cost by a friend who is a jewelry designer
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.53 ct–––Price level consistent with lab-grown rather than natural
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––1.5 ct ring that looks larger than its size to others; cost a little over $3,000
$3,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.6 ctround––Bought an old mine cut diamond ring on the resale market, offered as a ballpark comparison for the asker's antique ring
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum–Ornate filigree ring with emerald, onyx and natural accent diamonds; found a true jeweler after mall-store visits
$3,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Designing her own ring with a custom band; landed on a 1.5ct stone instead of the smaller natural one she expected, within a roughly $3k budget
$3,000Other gemstone1.6 ct–gold–1.6ct natural blue topaz center with natural side diamonds, 18k gold
$3,100Other gemstone1.5 ct–––Used a cubic zirconia stone in a $3k band setting instead of a real diamond, calling it his best decision
$3,250Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold–Three-stone oval lab diamond ring (3.5 tcw total, 1.5ct center plus two 1ct sides) on sale from $7,000; combined household income around $600k
$3,500–1.5 ct–white gold2010Writer's own 1.5ct white-gold estate engagement ring, once thought a huge splurge; valued mainly for sentimental reasons.
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum2024Price-matched a StoneAlgo lab report number for $2,000 off; total includes a care plan
$3,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctmarquise–2026Halo setting; got a complimentary wedding band included free with a good deal
$3,500Natural diamond1.5 ctround––Bought this stone secondhand for far under its original $12,000 price
$3,700Lab-grown diamond1.51 ct–––Has garnet accent stones alongside the lab diamond center
$3,900Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemerald––2 carat total weight; semi-hidden halo and pave band
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum–Lab diamond and platinum setting; a similar mined diamond alone would cost $7-8k more
$4,000Moissanite–––2023Pricier moissanite vendor but praised for customer service and a quick resizing
$4,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––20251.5ct lab diamond ring with small side diamonds
$4,000Sapphire1.4 ct–––Custom ring, sapphire center with diamond accents; fiance paid
$4,200Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Basic solitaire setting
$4,220Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Self-described high earners chose a smaller custom lab diamond over bigger or natural options, prioritizing craftsmanship
$4,300Lab-grown diamond1.63 ctother–2024Custom elongated-hexagon lab diamond ring, 2.29ct total weight with accent stones; price included appraisal and laser-mounting; other jewelers quoted almost $4,000 for the center stone alone
$4,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.51 ct–––1.51ct is the main stone only; total weight with side stones not known
$4,600Natural diamond1.68 ct––2022Same cluster/halo design as the asker's ring, bought as a wedding-ring upgrade; later appraised well above purchase price
$5,000Natural diamond1.68 ct––20221.68 ctw total weight across multiple stones, not one diamond over 1ct; a manufacturer rebate years later made the identical item cheaper
$5,000Lab-grown diamond1.4 ctprincessplatinum–Halo with 0.6 ct pave band bringing total weight to 2 ct; appraisal is above the pre-tax price
$5,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–platinum2024Just over $5k for a platinum 1.5ct lab diamond ring that would have cost over $20k natural; also got free pearl and diamond jewelry with the purchase
$5,000Sapphire1.5 ct––2024Custom two-stone ring: a Montana sapphire with inclusions (kept cost down) paired with a lab diamond, each ~1.5ct, plus lab diamond accents; deposit placed
$5,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ct–––The band mattered more than carat size; gap between 1.0ct and 1.25ct was about $750, then found a 1.5ct priced like the 1.25ct
$5,000–1.5 ct––2025Ring alone ran just over this; wedding band from the same shop cost about $800; total spent was under $6k
$5,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctradiantwhite gold–Three-stone ring, total carat weight about 2 with trapezoid side stones; price estimate includes a roughly $600 lifetime warranty plan
$5,000–1.6 ct–––Opinion: shouldn't spend over $8k unless earning $200k+ at the time of engagement
$5,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Antique toi-et-moi style, 1.5 ct old mine cut diamond paired with a 2.2 ct deep teal sapphire
$5,310Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctovalwhite gold2026Upgrade from a too-shallow oval; chose strong blue fluorescence on purpose for extra white sparkle; ideal-cut oval on a 14k white gold tapered solitaire, 2.3mm band
$5,500Lab-grown diamond1.4 ct–––Center stone plus two side stones and about 30 small stones on the band
$5,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.63 ct–––Bought a bigger stone years after an original smaller diamond-district ring because she always wished it were bigger
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctround––1.5ct round lab diamond plus setting from a local jeweler, still awaiting delivery; compared favorably to Brilliant Earth pricing
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2022Lab-grown 1.5ct ring
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Lab-grown diamond with a hearts-and-arrows cut pattern
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctemerald–2023Chose lab specifically to avoid conflict stones; a little over the stated amount
$6,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–––Upgraded to a 1.5ct lab stone with pristine cut/color/clarity; natural equivalent estimated at $20k
$6,000Natural diamond1.5 ctroundplatinum20251.5ct round natural diamond with only Good polish/symmetry on an old 2004 GIA report, set in platinum; paid via $1,500 trade-in, $1,000 down and $3,500 on a card, with 18-month 0% financing
$6,200Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2025Bought the loose 1.5ct G/SI2 diamond informally from a family friend's husband described as a wholesaler; separate $600 plain four-prong mount
$6,500Natural diamond1.5 ctroundplatinum–Writer's first husband bought this as her engagement ring years back; exact year not stated
$6,600–1.54 ct–platinum2020K color with medium blue fluorescence, bought via an eBay seller who also offers trade-up within 5 years of purchase
$7,000Sapphire1.69 ctoval––John Dyer Starbrite-cut Montana sapphire in a diamond compass setting with about 1.4 ct total of pear and marquise natural diamonds averaging F color VVS1
$7,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Bought diamond and setting at wholesale through her job at a high-end retail store; now considering a simpler re-setting since losing weight changed the fit
$7,350Natural diamond1.64 ct–––Upgraded 10 years after the original ring to a fancy-color natural diamond with top specs; split the cost with her husband
$7,500Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctoval–2018Halo setting with 0.5ct of round accent stones; boyfriend negotiated the price; later also mentioned $5,000, so the exact figure is uncertain
$7,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–gold2026Custom vintage-inspired ring made by an independent goldsmith; price is the recipient's own guess from clues, not a stated exact figure; said custom sourcing beat a big store's markup
$7,500Natural diamond1.5 ct––2007First marriage's solitaire; now remarried with an inexpensive antique diamond and sapphire ring, price not given
$7,700Natural diamond1.41 ctround–2015Original engagement ring bought roughly 10 years before the anniversary upgrade discussion; now being traded in under James Allen's 100% upgrade program
$7,965Natural diamond1.51 ctradiantplatinum2024Custom platinum split-shank build with hidden 58-diamond halo; $7,980 all in with tax; total stone weight 2.07 ct with melee
$8,000Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2022Round solitaire in 18k gold with some fluorescence; stone and setting priced separately then combined, appraised well above the purchase price
$8,000Natural diamond1.5 ct––2023Natural diamond ring bought recently; price included certification and the setting
$8,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctroundrose gold–1.5ct round center, about 2ct total weight including the halo; top grade on all Cs but clarity.
$8,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctcushiongold–Marquise-cut diamond accents on the band, 18k gold; picked together, deliberately ignoring the 3-month-salary rule.
$8,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ctround–2025Thin band; writer feels they got duped on price
$8,000–1.5 ct–––Custom-made ring with a 1.5 ct center stone
$8,000Lab-grown diamond1.6 ctoval––Fully custom pave twist filigree design
$8,400Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2003Original engagement ring purchase, about 20 years before this discussion; now considering an upgrade
$8,500Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct–rose gold2024Custom 1.5ct pinkish-brown GIA-graded lab diamond halo with 28 champagne side stones in rose gold; now regrets the style
$9,000Lab-grown diamond1.5 ct––2020Half-pave thin band, prioritized color grade highest of the specs
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctpear–2017Appraised for insurance at close to double the $10k purchase price; writer says appraisers lean toward high insurance valuations
$10,000Natural diamond1.4 ct–––Husband bought it through Costco's online store; ring was later insurance-appraised much higher
$10,000–1.6 ctpear–2012Pave multi-band setting; says lab-created diamonds now look enviably affordable by comparison
$10,000Natural diamond1.5 ctroundyellow gold–Custom 14k solitaire, three tapered baguettes per side; band cost forgotten; now in a bank box, she wishes the money had gone to the mortgage
$10,000–1.5 ct–platinum–Band is a hexagon shape with 24 diamonds all around, also platinum
$10,800Natural diamond1.52 ctovalwhite gold2024Price includes the 18k white gold setting shown; still needs to be set and sized
$11,500Natural diamond1.57 ctprincess––Jeweler found this stone after several rejected diamonds; eye-clean and F color
$11,500Natural diamond1.4 ct––2017Says if choosing today she'd request a lab diamond instead for a bigger stone at lower cost
$11,700Natural diamond1.5 ct–gold2018Includes 2 small moissanite side stones and a 14k gold band with local setting work; stone alone was a little over $10k of the $11.7k total
$12,000Diamond, lab or natural not said1.5 ctround–2019Bought for his fiancee, triple-excellent cut, polish and symmetry grading
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2004Natural diamond engagement ring bought twenty years before the 2024 comment.
$12,000–1.5 ct––2021Ring bought about 4 years before this comment; now estimated worth only a fraction of that
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Natural 1.5ct diamond, purchase date not stated
$12,000Natural diamond1.5 ctround–2003Original engagement ring bought about 22 years before this 2025 comment; very good polish and symmetry but table and depth not ideal
$13,000Natural diamond1.5 ctroundplatinum2008GIA 1.5ct that faces up like 1.4ct due to cut quality; SI2 eye-clean; setting was a shared-prong band ($2500) plus a platinum head ($500); bought at a local store
$14,000Natural diamond1.5 ct–––Fiancee's diamond; triple-excellent with faint fluorescence, cited as costlier alternative to a lab stone
$14,000–1.5 ct–––Old european cut center with 0.75ct total in side stones
$15,000Lab-grown diamond1.65 ctmarquise–2025Setting is paved with 2.5ct total weight of natural diamonds, separate from the lab center stone
$15,100Natural diamond1.53 ct––2017Paid $15,100 in March 2017 for a 1.53ct internally-flawless natural diamond ring after negotiating 30% off Rapaport list.
$15,400Natural diamond1.5 ctcushion–2023Elongated cushion diamond haggled down from a 17k asking price to 13.9k; band/setting about 1.5k more
$15,500Natural diamond1.5 ctovalyellow gold–4-prong 18k white gold basket setting on an 18k yellow gold band
$17,000Natural diamond1.51 ct––2023Self-described natural-diamond buyer; got a $4,000 discount; purchase partly funded by a legal settlement
$17,000Natural diamond1.5 ctoval–2024First upgrade, oval cut
$17,000–1.5 ct–––Bought secondhand from a reputable jeweler then had Tiffany change the setting; a comparable independent-jeweler ring would have been $14k
$17,100Natural diamond1.51 ctmarquiseplatinum2022Marquise center stone about 1.51ct, near 3ct total weight with hidden accent diamonds; strong fluorescence gives a faint blue cast writer doesn't mind
$25,000Natural diamond1.5 ct––2022Writer was quoted a branded patented-cut diamond at Diamonds Direct but bought this nicer stone at Tiffany's instead
$32,000Natural diamond1.65 ct–platinum–Three-stone natural diamond ring, not directly comparable in style to the asker's solitaire; center about 20k, platinum setting about 12k
$33,000Natural diamond1.69 ctround–2008Flawless round natural diamond, bought 18 years before this comment

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 139 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

A ring counts here when the buyer gave the center stone's weight and it fell between 1.4 and 1.69 ct. Moissanite weights are diamond-equivalent, as moissanite is sold. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.