Carat · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026
How Much Is a 4 Carat Engagement Ring? 140 Real Prices
A natural 4 carat ring cost a median $32,000 across 9 purchases, 10.7 times the $3,000 median for a lab-grown one (95 purchases). Weight alone does not set the price: the stone does, and so do its cut, colour and clarity.
A 4 carat ring by center stone
Each row takes the rings whose center stone weighed 3.8 to 4.49 ct, the weights sold as "about 4 carat".
| Center stone | Rings | Median ring | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| Natural diamond | 9 | $32,000 | $22,000 to $48,000 |
| Lab-grown diamond | 95 | $3,000 | $1,980 to $4,500 |
| Moissanite | 20 | $575 | $300 to $1,300 |
Shapes at 4 carat
4 carat ring questions
How much is a 4 carat natural diamond engagement ring?
A median $32,000 across 9 buyer-reported rings with a 3.8 to 4.49 ct center stone, and half cost between $22,000 and $48,000.
How much is a 4 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring?
A median $3,000 across 95 buyer-reported rings with a 3.8 to 4.49 ct center stone, and half cost between $1,980 and $4,500.
How much is a 4 carat moissanite engagement ring?
A median $575 across 20 buyer-reported rings with a 3.8 to 4.49 ct center stone, and half cost between $300 and $1,300. Moissanite is sold by diamond-equivalent weight, the size of diamond it looks like.
How much does a 4 carat lab-grown diamond cost?
Buyers here found IGI-certified lab stones near 4 carats priced from about $2,200 up to $3,090, with quality varying a lot even within that range. One buyer said a higher color and clarity 4-carat lab oval, normally cut rather than a designer freeform shape, could be bought for under $1,000.
Is a 4 carat lab diamond too big for a size 3.5 ring finger?
Most buyers said yes, calling it oversized and costume-jewelry-looking on a small finger, and recommended sizing down to around 2.5 to 3.5 carats instead. Opinions split heavily: many buyers say 2 to 2.5 carats is the sweet spot on tiny fingers and anything past 3 carats starts to look like costume jewelry, while just as many argue there is no such thing as too big and it comes down to personal taste and confidence.
Is a 4 carat diamond too big for an engagement ring?
Opinions split: several buyers said a 4.01 ct stone with good proportions and a near-invisible bow-tie looked stunning, while others thought that size can read as costume jewelry, especially to strangers. Owners say it comes down to hand size and taste rather than any rule; several with larger hands find it proportionate, while a couple with smaller fingers felt their 4+ carat stone looked too heavy and considered reselling.
Is a 4 carat diamond too big for an average hand
A jeweler buyer said perceived size shrinks with exposure over time, and thought the 4-carat stone looked well proportioned on the asker's hand even though she started out worried it was too much. It can look surprisingly large: one buyer who got a 4.12-carat round lab diamond said that size was her personal limit for a round stone because of how big it already looked on her hand.
4 carat or 5 carat marquise, which is the better choice?
Other readers here said they were still torn between a 4 and 5 carat marquise themselves and did not settle on which size was better.
Can you upgrade a 3/4 carat center stone to 3 carats in the same three-stone setting?
Jewelers here said no; a 3 carat stone is far too large for a setting built around a 3/4 carat stone, and forcing it in would distort the prongs and side-stone detailing, so a new setting or ring is needed.
Does '4 carat' on a pair of earrings mean 4 carats per stone?
No - carat totals on earrings are almost always the total weight for the pair, so '4ct' studs work out to about 2 carats in each ear.
Does a 3 or 4 carat oval look too big when upgrading from a smaller stone on a size 4.25 finger?
Most buyers recommended the 3 ct over the 4 ct for a small finger, since ovals carry visual weight on top and a 4 ct can overwhelm a slender hand, though a few big-stone owners said finger size shouldn't stop you if you love the look.
Does a 4 carat elongated radiant diamond look balanced on a size 10 ring finger?
Buyers said there is no reliable way to judge without trying it on or seeing real photos, though one said the specs alone sounded like it would look great.
Does a 4 carat radiant cut diamond look too big for a small ring size?
Most buyers said no, longer or slimmer fingers tend to carry a 4-carat stone well, and only a few thought the smaller 3-carat option looked more proportional on a size-5 finger.
Does a bigger moissanite, like 4 carats, still sparkle as much as a smaller one?
A buyer argues 2 to 3 carat stones actually sparkle more since their facets are proportionally smaller and reflect more light, while a 4 carat stone risks reading as an obviously fake stone to some viewers.
How big does a 4 carat diamond look on the hand?
Buyers with 4-5 carat center stones say it reads as prominent and even statement-sized, especially with a halo and split shank adding visual bulk, though how big it feels also depends on finger size.
Every 4 carat ring in the data
Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.
| Ring | Stone | Carat | Shape | Metal | Year | What the buyer reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $25 | Moissanite | – | emerald | other | 2024 | 4ct emerald-cut moissanite pave ring in S925 silver, bought via an AliExpress SuperDeal discount |
| $25 | Moissanite | – | radiant | other | 2024 | Same buyer also bought the radiant-cut version of the same ring at the same discounted price |
| $40 | Moissanite | – | emerald | – | 2026 | 4ct emerald-cut moissanite ring bought on AliExpress |
| $200 | Moissanite | – | – | – | 2025 | 4ct moissanite ring bought from Etsy for about $200; a 1.5ct one was spotted at a physical jewelry store for $400 |
| $300 | Moissanite | – | emerald | – | – | Stock 4ct emerald-cut moissanite piece bought instead of a lab diamond of the same size and shape |
| $300 | Moissanite | – | – | gold | 2023 | A little over $300 for a 4ct stone in a 10k solid gold setting from the same overseas vendor mentioned earlier |
| $350 | Moissanite | – | – | gold | 2025 | 4ct moissanite ring in 10k gold, offered as a comparison to the $3k jeweler piece the person asking saw |
| $408 | Moissanite | – | pear | white gold | 2023 | Solid 14k white gold pear-shaped ring |
| $408 | Moissanite | – | pear | white gold | 2023 | 4ct brilliant-cut pear moissanite in a 14k white gold tulip setting from Provence, about $408 with tax and $30 shipping. |
| $500 | Moissanite | – | – | – | – | Swapped her 2.5 ct lab ring (a few thousand dollars) for a $500 4 ct moissanite push present because she liked its setting more |
| $650 | Moissanite | – | – | gold | – | 4-carat moissanite in a 14k setting; chosen to save money for the wedding and honeymoon over a natural diamond |
| $800 | Moissanite | – | oval | gold | – | Custom-cut 4ct elongated oval moissanite plus 14k setting, both included in the price; vendor also sells via Etsy |
| $868 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.8 ct | – | – | – | Says a 3.8ct lab diamond ring cost about half of the asker's $1,735 quote, so roughly $868 |
| $900 | Sapphire | 4 ct | – | – | – | Antique 4ct white sapphire bought from an antiques dealer in Copenhagen; price before tax, favorable exchange rate to the dollar |
| $900 | Moissanite | – | – | – | – | Ex-fiancé bought a 4ct moissanite ring for a prior engagement that ended after six months; no one could tell it wasn't a diamond |
| $1,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.04 ct | – | gold | 2026 | 14k gold ring with a 4.04ct E VVS2 lab diamond; writer asks whether this was a good price |
| $1,100 | Moissanite | – | – | – | 2021 | 4ct diamond-equivalent with a halo; custom service, took about 8 weeks to arrive |
| $1,150 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.94 ct | radiant | yellow gold | 2025 | Setting with a diamond halo was still being made at time of comment |
| $1,250 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.12 ct | – | – | 2025 | Bought a 4.12ct hidden-halo ring with 8 small accent diamonds on the band for $1,250, made by Provence |
| $1,250 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2026 | Writer says they've bought two 4-carat lab diamond rings in this price range, band included, well under the asker's $3,135 quote |
| $1,280 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | yellow gold | 2024 | Bought a 4ct cushion lab diamond via an estate-auction site, then had an Etsy maker build a custom 14k yellow gold setting for it; her 4th piece from that maker |
| $1,300 | Natural diamond | 3.8 ct | – | platinum | 2026 | 3.8ct stone bought at auction with graduated side stones, platinum band custom made overseas |
| $1,300 | Moissanite | – | radiant | platinum | 2026 | Fully custom setting, 9.4g of PT950 platinum made up most of the cost; upgrading to a lab diamond would have added about 500 |
| $1,350 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4 ct | oval | – | 2025 | Through a downtown LA jewelry district connect, wholesale-priced stone plus gold ring and setting made nearby; approximate |
| $1,400 | Moissanite | – | oval | gold | – | Custom 4ct crushed-ice oval moissanite with 2 baguette side stones in 14k gold, from a UK-based Etsy seller; writer calls it a sweet deal |
| $1,464 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.9 ct | round | gold | 2025 | Setting quoted $770 before tax, about $830 with 14k gold tax; stone to be set separately by a local shop |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | pear | gold | 2025 | 14k gold band from Starsgem was $498 |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | white gold | 2025 | Found stone on Calavera, verified IGI cert via Rare Carat, got Calavera to price-match Rare Carat; saved over $8,000 off the original price |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.97 ct | – | white gold | 2025 | Loose stone just under $600 plus an $800 14k white-gold setting; total investment about $1500 |
| $1,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.19 ct | pear | rose gold | 2026 | Center pear stone plus 1.49ct of accent stones on the band, all bought from one US vendor |
| $1,565 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.45 ct | pear | – | 2025 | Budget lab pear stone plus $265 for a solitaire setting with a gallery rail for extra security; setting also lowered for free on request. |
| $1,565 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.45 ct | pear | – | 2025 | Budget lab pear stone plus $265 for a solitaire setting with a gallery rail for extra security; setting also lowered for free on request. |
| $1,600 | Moissanite | – | – | white gold | – | 14k white gold ring, 10mm center stone with 1mm halo, sized 8; graded D color VVS like a diamond report. |
| $1,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2026 | New setting for a 4ct lab stone |
| $1,630 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | round | gold | – | One of several lab diamond rings she owns; far less than her original natural diamond ring from 13 years earlier |
| $1,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | 4 ct engagement ring with a custom-made setting and side stones from a Chinese maker; writer praises such makers for lab diamonds set in real gold |
| $1,710 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | radiant | platinum | 2024 | Recreated a $35k natural-diamond estate ring look; discounted center stone from Rockher, custom platinum setting with tsavorite and lab-diamond side stones from Fayjewelry, center stone mounted by a local jeweler |
| $1,720 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.05 ct | – | – | 2025 | Custom setting $850 plus $50 to have local jeweler set it |
| $1,795 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.13 ct | pear | – | 2024 | IGI inscription checked under a loupe and matched the paperwork after early fears of being scammed |
| $1,900 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.02 ct | – | white gold | 2025 | Full ring with a hidden-halo 14k white-gold setting |
| $1,900 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.1 ct | cushion | white gold | 2026 | Antique cushion stone plus a separate custom 10k white gold setting, each about $950 |
| $1,938 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.01 ct | emerald | – | – | Ring total of 1938 includes the setting |
| $1,980 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.47 ct | asscher | yellow gold | 2025 | 18K yellow gold, J-K color, size US6, no IGI cert; adding one would run about $50 per carat |
| $2,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2024 | 4ct diamond in a solitaire setting; writer called it beautiful, stone type not stated but price implies lab-grown |
| $2,000 | Moissanite | – | round | platinum | – | 4ct DEW-equivalent round brilliant moissanite set in platinum, bought a few years before the comment |
| $2,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Says her own big lab diamond cost about $2k, versus roughly $100k for a mined 4ct E VVS1 equivalent; bought it because she loved it, not to impress anyone |
| $2,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Custom 4ct lab diamond ring said to cost about 100x less than an equivalent natural ring estimated at $200,000; price computed from that ratio. |
| $2,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Buyer's own lab diamond, given as a comparison to show the person asking didn't overpay |
| $2,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | gold | 2026 | 4ct G VVS2 IGI-certified lab stone plus a 14kt 4mm setting; writer explicitly summed the total to $2,100 |
| $2,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.01 ct | oval | yellow gold | 2026 | Three-stone pave setting, 2.5mm band, 14k yellow gold, 1.48 length-to-width ratio; upgraded from 4 to 6 prongs for an extra $100; ordered late April, delivered about a month later |
| $2,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2026 | Newer ring: 4ct E VS1 main stone $450 + 1.59ct E VS1 accent stone $250, setting $1600 |
| $2,344 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | platinum | 2025 | Platinum halo setting with diamond accents on the band made up roughly $1,500 of the total; ring arrived weeks early |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | – | – | 5-year upgrade bought secondhand from an online lab-diamond resale community; same ring priced locally at $10k retail |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.05 ct | oval | two tone | 2025 | Custom fancy vivid blue lab diamond, VS1, oval brilliant; diamond alone was about $1200 of the $2500 total; platinum head, 14k gold band, pave |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | round | gold | – | Round lab stone bought separately for $800; bezel setting in gold with rubies on the band quoted at $1700, about $2500 all in |
| $2,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.94 ct | oval | rose gold | 2026 | Price-matched after finding the same stone listed cheaper elsewhere |
| $2,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | oval | yellow gold | – | Cathedral setting with a euro shank |
| $2,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.1 ct | cushion | gold | 2025 | 50% bigger, higher-grade lab diamond replacing the 2020 natural ring; included an 18k gold band and a 30% sale discount |
| $2,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | oval | gold | 2025 | 4ct oval lab stone set in 10k gold |
| $2,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.06 ct | round | white gold | – | 14k white gold hidden-halo pave-band ring, originally bought at this price, now being resold |
| $2,750 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.03 ct | – | – | – | 4.03ct D VVS2 stone $950; 14k setting with two trapezoid side diamonds plus a CAD design fee, $1,800; ruby wedding band bought separately already in stock; took from July to mid-October |
| $2,800 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4.01 ct | – | – | 2025 | Thicker band, described as great specs, no other detail given |
| $2,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.87 ct | radiant | – | – | Stone alone was $889; total ring cost $2,800 after Rare Carat price-matched Calavera's quote (same IGI stone) which ran about $8k higher; later appraised over $12k |
| $2,800 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4 ct | princess | – | 2026 | Sourced the stone separately and had it set; says this saved roughly $4k versus a pre-set ring |
| $2,845 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.11 ct | – | gold | – | 14k compass-prong solitaire with a hidden halo and platinum prongs |
| $2,900 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4 ct | – | – | – | Engagement ring: roughly 900 for a 4ct diamond plus just under 2000 for a custom gold setting |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2024 | Replacement ring ordered from Delicate Gem for $3,000 total (band and diamond), bigger and better quality than the returned Jared's ring |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.45 ct | – | – | 2024 | Upgraded ring bought via a lab-diamond marketplace; writer's original ring was natural |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | pear | white gold | – | Also has a second ring with small diamonds totaling about 1ct, price for that one not given; feels she paid too much |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Elongated shape, exact cut not specified |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | radiant | – | – | Custom 14k cathedral setting with a continuous hidden halo of about 0.2ct plus a $200 appraisal; appraised over $9k, not a resale value |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | marquise | – | 2026 | 4ct center stone with 0.75ct side stones on each side, 5.5ct total weight |
| $3,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | – | 2026 | Custom gold setting cost double the diamond itself; whole ring came in around $3k for a 4ct IGI-certified stone |
| $3,100 | Moissanite | – | – | gold | – | 18k gold setting |
| $3,150 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.01 ct | emerald | platinum | 2026 | Custom platinum ring with a 4.01ct lab-grown pink diamond; shopped around and thickened the band per community advice |
| $3,238 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.85 ct | cushion | – | 2023 | Total included tax; RareCarat price-matched a pricier Ritani listing; setting swapped to a hidden halo plain band (+$10) pre-shipping |
| $3,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.87 ct | – | two tone | – | Stone price-matched from Calavera via Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime care plan and custom cathedral setting with euro shank |
| $3,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.87 ct | – | yellow gold | – | Diamond price-matched to Calavera through Rare Carat; total includes a lifetime Jewelers Mutual care plan, about $2,900 without it |
| $3,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.22 ct | cushion | – | 2024 | Elongated cushion stone bought online, then custom set locally for about $1,000 |
| $3,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | yellow gold | 2025 | Chose the yellow gold emerald-cut option and had the Etsy jeweler upsize the center stone to 4 carats to match the competing ring; total came to about $3,500 including tax |
| $3,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.2 ct | – | – | – | Switched after feeling overcharged by a local jeweler; suggests not ruling out online vendors |
| $3,582 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.35 ct | radiant | – | 2024 | Radiant solitaire, stone and setting bought together from this online lab diamond vendor |
| $3,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | – | 2024 | 4-carat lab emerald cut, GIA certified |
| $3,789 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.07 ct | oval | platinum | 2025 | Oval lab diamond plus custom band, setting and spacer band in platinum, all-in total |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | platinum | 2026 | Platinum cushion halo split-shank ring ordered for his wife as a surprise, not yet delivered; total listed weight was 4.4ct, center stone confirmed 4ct by another buyer reading the specs |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | platinum | 2023 | 4ct F VS1 ideal emerald cut in a platinum setting with two side trapezoids; bought from an Instagram-based dealer after 6 months shopping around. |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.02 ct | – | platinum | 2025 | Paid $580 separately to have it set, included in the roughly $4k total after tax; band called overpriced but exactly what was wanted |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.05 ct | emerald | yellow gold | 2025 | Small custom shop replaced wife's original diamond with a 4.05ct F VS2 lab emerald cut in 14k yellow gold as a birthday gift; took 3 weeks to make |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.2 ct | – | – | 2025 | Husband paid; 6-prong setting with floral diamond details underneath, about 75% pave |
| $4,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | gold | – | Custom 18k gold ring: 4ct center stone plus a 3.15ct emerald-cut diamond band, total stated carat weight 6.15; designed via a Facebook custom-jewelry group |
| $4,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4 ct | – | – | 2026 | Says the cut and clarity are way better than the asker's ring |
| $4,200 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.3 ct | – | platinum | 2025 | Order just placed; hand-made platinum setting with side stones priced separately from the lab stone itself |
| $4,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | – | – | Writer claims to have bought a 4ct emerald lab diamond with setting there, versus an $18,650 quote elsewhere for the same specs |
| $4,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.42 ct | – | – | – | Price included the setting |
| $4,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Chose this 4 ct lab diamond instead, set in vintage upcycled gold, marketed as conflict-free |
| $4,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.14 ct | – | platinum | 2025 | Antique French cut stone; the person asking called this price reasonable for over four carats |
| $4,900 | Sapphire | 4 ct | – | platinum | 1995 | 4ct untreated Burmese sapphire with about 2ct of diamond accents; "husband at the time" paid, marriage has since ended |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.2 ct | oval | gold | – | Side stones originally quoted around $1,500; total paid about $5k for the whole ring, which she calls reasonable |
| $5,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | emerald | platinum | 2022 | Custom 4ct emerald-cut lab center stone with 0.80ct side stones each side, 5.6ct total weight, platinum setting |
| $5,100 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.2 ct | emerald | – | 2023 | Priced relative to the asker's $3,600 quote (+$1,500); total computed from the stated difference. |
| $5,200 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.02 ct | – | platinum | 2024 | Bought Feb 2024, side trapezoids 0.80ct each; jeweler has done about 10 pieces for the writer |
| $5,200 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4.3 ct | emerald | gold | 2025 | Solid 18k gold, thick band, fully custom via a local family jeweler; writer wrote karat, likely means carat weight |
| $5,200 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | platinum | 2024 | Bought secondhand after a divorce, with authenticity papers verified by a jeweler; total weight 5.9ct including small accents |
| $5,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.2 ct | oval | gold | 2024 | 18k gold custom 3-stone ring: 4.2ct lab-grown oval center; side-stone size still being disputed after CAD looked oversized; store's first custom order |
| $5,500 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.02 ct | cushion | yellow gold | – | Elongated cushion, thick 3.5mm band |
| $5,600 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | oval | – | – | Upgraded after a career change; household income now 700-800k/year, just paid off a 228k student loan |
| $5,750 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.38 ct | – | – | 2025 | Buyer said she paid about a quarter of the asker's $23k for a similar 4.38ct D VVS2 lab diamond ring from Ritani |
| $6,000 | Other gemstone | 4 ct | heart | yellow gold | 2007 | A second engagement ring in the safe: double cabochon ruby with about a carat of diamonds, discounted as a professional courtesy |
| $6,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2023 | Appraised value included the setting and side baguette stones |
| $6,000 | – | 4 ct | princess | – | 2024 | Hidden halo setting, pave band, like the asker's ring |
| $6,300 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.4 ct | – | – | 2023 | 4.4ct E VVS2 lab diamond, no bow-ties or fluorescence, plus a semi-unique setting |
| $6,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | platinum | 2024 | Elongated cushion cut center; setting includes two 1ct side stones; done remotely with videos, not yet delivered |
| $6,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | platinum | 2024 | 4ct elongated cushion center with 1ct E VS1 cushion side stones each, total 6ct in the piece |
| $6,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | platinum | 2024 | 6-carat-total wedding anniversary upgrade: 4ct E VS1 elongated cushion center with two 1ct E VS1 elongated cushion side stones, platinum setting, bought remotely from NYC jeweler Harry at Delicate Gem |
| $6,700 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | gold | 2025 | The person asking had it fully customized locally instead of the $15,500 boutique quote; 18kt, 3mm band; lifetime warranty included |
| $6,738 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.01 ct | round | platinum | 2024 | Bought the rough 4.42ct HPHT lab stone for $2,970, paid Southwest Diamond Cutters (Ashley) $2,317.50 to recut it down to 4.01ct, plus a $1,450 platinum David Klass setting; reselling because the recut stone wears too big |
| $7,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 3.8 ct | – | – | 2023 | Paid for a 3.8ct lab diamond ring including setting and tax, instead of a natural 1ct |
| $7,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | cushion | platinum | 2024 | 18th-anniversary upgrade; lab elongated cushion custom-set into a platinum three-stone ring; diamond ~$3.5-4k, setting from $3.1k, total under $7k |
| $7,500 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4.22 ct | – | platinum | 2023 | Boyfriend bought it and didn't share the exact split; she recalls the stone near 4.5k and a platinum pave setting around 2.2-2.8k |
| $7,600 | – | 4.23 ct | – | – | – | About 1.25 months' net household salary |
| $8,400 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4.04 ct | pear | – | 2023 | Pear diamond bought in Miami, then a pave band with side baguettes and a halo setting custom designed around it; writer says 'I just got' it |
| $8,800 | Lab-grown diamond | 4.03 ct | pear | – | – | Lab pear stone plus custom CAD setting with natural accent diamonds; Blue Nile quoted $16k for the same specs |
| $10,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Boutique jeweler made it in-house; gold pave band made up rest of the $10k total beyond the ~$7.5k stone |
| $10,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2026 | Writer worried this price for a 4ct lab diamond and setting wasn't as reasonable as hoped |
| $13,000 | Natural diamond | 4 ct | – | – | 2019 | Husband upgraded her original diamond to a 4ct earth-mined stone he got at a bargain, five years before this comment |
| $16,400 | Sapphire | 4.25 ct | – | – | – | Green sapphire center with two 0.5 ct lab diamond accents; entire wedding cost only $500, eloped at a saloon |
| $18,000 | Lab-grown diamond | 4 ct | oval | – | – | Oval solitaire plus two 0.5ct trilliants, small melee, and a custom hinged shank; total ended up close to the original ring's cost after the trade-in credit |
| $20,000 | Diamond, lab or natural not said | 4.1 ct | – | – | – | Bought his wife a ring with a 4.1ct center stone for almost $20,000; she gets compliments on it often |
| $22,000 | Natural diamond | 3.8 ct | cushion | two tone | 2025 | Antique old mine cushion diamond ring originally quoted around $25k fully set in 18k gold and platinum; final numbers landed at $21.5k-$22.5k, plans to reset into a new setting later |
| $31,000 | Natural diamond | 3.9 ct | cushion | – | – | Stone sourced direct from a wholesaler via jeweler with a small finder's fee; writer estimates the ring is worth upwards of $40k |
| $32,000 | Natural diamond | 4 ct | – | – | – | Husband paid for a flawless 4-carat natural diamond ring; marriage later ended and she tried to sell it |
| $42,000 | Natural diamond | 4.04 ct | round | – | – | AGS-ideal round natural diamond bought for his wife; she loves it for the sparkle, not the price |
| $48,000 | Natural diamond | 4 ct | princess | platinum | 2005 | Custom channel-set center with six 1+ carat princess-cut rose-gold side stones, low profile thick shank for durability |
| $96,000 | – | 4.11 ct | cushion | platinum | – | Elongated cushion |
| $135,000 | Natural diamond | 4.08 ct | – | – | 2017 | 4.08ct fancy yellow diamond with trillion side stones; her last upgrade, bought about 9 years before the comment |
Sources and method
Price reports on this page come from 109 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.
The largest discussions used here (60)
- 2026-04: my girlfriend told me she wants a 2 carat natural diamond or she'll say no. i already bought this lab diamond ring. am i crazy for thinking shes a red flag (898 comments)
- 2026-08: Mom says I need to spend three months of my salary on an engagement ring. I found one for way less. Is that wrong? (792 comments)
- 2026-08: Spent $4,000 at Swarovski… should I return everything? Trying to build a jewelry collection and now I’m having second thoughts. (725 comments)
- 2025-01: How much did you pay? (703 comments)
- 2023-09: The lab diamond Vs. natural debate is a CONSTANT fierce battle in jeweler groups. There are 185,000 people in here, I want your real opinions on WHY you chose a natural or lab diamond. I'll share the most upvoted 20 replies with the jeweler communities I'm in to try and give them some perspective. (602 comments)
- 2026-02: Lab Grown Diamond Engagement Ring - Did I let her down? (600 comments)
- 2026-01: How many people actually want a real diamond ring? (592 comments)
- 2025-03: Do people actually spend 3 months salary on a ring? (539 comments)
- 2026-01: I don’t mean this rudely at all but is everyone posting here marrying rich guys or are my standards just not attuned to what the norm is these days? (533 comments)
- 2025-01: Help me pick my Emerald cut! (443 comments)
- 2025-12: would you be okay with a lab-grown diamond engagement ring? (415 comments)
- 2026-03: Am I crazy for wanting a $6k ring? (412 comments)
- 2022-10: How much y’all paying for your engagement rings? (399 comments)
- 2026-04: Did I overpay for 13 carat lab diamond ring? (363 comments)
- 2025-01: I messed up and I feel bad (363 comments)
- 2023-09: What do you consider expensive for a wedding ring? (355 comments)
- 2026-02: Is this diamond worth the price? (339 comments)
- 2026-01: How to convince myself to not want a natural diamond? Or is it worth the sentimental value? (326 comments)
- 2024-07: Absolutely mortified about getting a ring for my gf (308 comments)
- 2025-06: Jewelers are freaking out about lab growns and it’s been fun to watch (282 comments)
- 2025-03: Can I see your four carats? (274 comments)
- 2026-05: So disappointed with jeweler’s bait and switch (257 comments)
- 2025-04: For those who have a ring costing 30-50k usd, what does it look like? (252 comments)
- 2025-05: With the caveat that the actual answer is “however much you’re both comfortable spending”, how much did you spend on an engagement ring? (242 comments)
- 2025-11: Help! GF loves this 3-ring set from Jewels of Toronto, but I’m scared to pull the trigger ($7.5k, 4.5ct Lab). Advice needed! (242 comments)
- 2026-06: If your partner had a $20,000 engagement budget, do you really want a diamond ring? (235 comments)
- 2025-09: Average cost of an engagement ring (229 comments)
- 2025-07: My custom made blue diamond ring arrived today! Wish it was a sunny day here to get the maximum sparkle, but still looks amazing. Made by Zuvelio (222 comments)
- 2022-12: Engagement Ring (219 comments)
- 2026-01: Let’s see your marquise/dutch marquises with price! (208 comments)
- 2025-10: Planning on proposing soon. Am I Overpaying? (207 comments)
- 2024-01: Will I regret getting a 3ct Moissanite vs a 1.31ct lab diamond (pictured)? (197 comments)
- 2024-08: Was quoted 10k CAD for a 2.5 carat moissanite (196 comments)
- 2023-04: After 2 months of research and searching everywhere, we found the perfect fancy vivid pink diamond. We went to Diamonds Direct in Houston for a setting and the manager was condescending. He called it a cheap lab stone, told us he usually doesn't help people, then walked away while talking to us. (188 comments)
- 2025-06: Buying 3.5 radiant cut . Am I paying too much ? (184 comments)
- 2025-06: UPDATE: They finished my girlfriend's ring. I asked about windowing. (181 comments)
- 2023-12: Can anyone explain why they choose moissanite over lab diamond or vice versa? (178 comments)
- 2024-06: Lab Diamonds feel like a Cheat (173 comments)
- 2026-01: I’m obsessed with my upgrade but waiting for judgment. (169 comments)
- 2025-07: How much did you spend on an engagement ring ? (165 comments)
- 2026-02: $3,135 for this 3CT F VS1 (139 comments)
- 2024-01: 4 carat lab diamond (137 comments)
- 2024-07: Did I just get ripped off on a lab grown diamond ($10K for 3.25 carats)? (137 comments)
- 2023-12: Overpriced? (131 comments)
- 2025-05: Did I get ripped off? (125 comments)
- 2024-07: I feel like we got a great deal today on my future ring (appraised at $37,500, paid $1,895), but I am inexperienced with this- what do you think? (124 comments)
- 2026-03: Price Check? (124 comments)
- 2025-09: I just don’t want to get ripped off (120 comments)
- 2023-01: Do you think lab diamonds are worth it? (113 comments)
- 2026-02: Wedding Ring Cost - How much did you actually spend? (105 comments)
- 2026-01: Where can I the best lab grown diamonds at an affordable price? (102 comments)
- 2026-06: Panicking over these prices (100 comments)
- 2024-05: Hey guys! My boyfriend and I have been looking at engagement rings and are completely blind to lab grown. I need advice. Is this a good deal or is it high, what’s the best lab grown website to shop from, does clarity/color matter as much for a radiant lab grown, etc. All advice welcome! Thanks! (95 comments)
- 2026-07: 1.55 or 2.1 carats? (94 comments)
- 2025-02: Where are you finding these incredibly priced lab diamonds? (94 comments)
- 2024-04: My ladies with 5 carat lab growns and above.... (90 comments)
- 2024-10: Emerald or Radiant? Which one? Why? (83 comments)
- 2026-08: Show me your favorite rings at $100 or less! (82 comments)
- 2026-03: How much should you spend on engagement ring? Help a brother out (73 comments)
- 2026-03: 80s/90s engagements (69 comments)
- and 49 more, all in the dataset
A ring counts here when the buyer gave the center stone's weight and it fell between 3.8 and 4.49 ct. Moissanite weights are diamond-equivalent, as moissanite is sold. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.