engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Carat · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

How Much Is a 2.5 Carat Engagement Ring? 181 Real Prices

A natural 2.5 carat ring cost a median $27,500 across 24 purchases, 9.2 times the $3,000 median for a lab-grown one (113 purchases). Weight alone does not set the price: the stone does, and so do its cut, colour and clarity.

181rings with a 2.4 to 2.79 ct center stone
$27,500median natural diamond ring (24)
$3,000median lab-grown diamond ring (113)
$700median moissanite ring (14)

A 2.5 carat ring by center stone

Each row takes the rings whose center stone weighed 2.4 to 2.79 ct, the weights sold as "about 2.5 carat".

Center stoneRingsMedian ringMiddle half
Natural diamond24$27,500$20,000 to $30,000
Lab-grown diamond113$3,000$1,900 to $5,200
Moissanite14$700$270 to $2,300

Shapes at 2.5 carat

Oval29%
Round24%
Radiant14%
Marquise13%
Emerald12%
Cushion8%

2.5 carat ring questions

How much is a 2.5 carat natural diamond engagement ring?

A median $27,500 across 24 buyer-reported rings with a 2.4 to 2.79 ct center stone, and half cost between $20,000 and $30,000.

How much is a 2.5 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring?

A median $3,000 across 113 buyer-reported rings with a 2.4 to 2.79 ct center stone, and half cost between $1,900 and $5,200.

How much is a 2.5 carat moissanite engagement ring?

A median $700 across 14 buyer-reported rings with a 2.4 to 2.79 ct center stone, and half cost between $270 and $2,300. Moissanite is sold by diamond-equivalent weight, the size of diamond it looks like.

How much does a 2.5 carat lab grown diamond cost

One buyer says a roughly 2.5 carat lab-grown diamond runs about $800, far below what a mined stone of that size would cost. The buyer's budget was around $2,000 for a roughly 2.4-2.6ct G VS1 round stone, and a comparable HPHT stone quoted to them came in around $1,350.

How much does a 2.5 carat lab diamond engagement ring cost?

The buyer didn't disclose a price, but a buyer estimated a 2.5ct lab diamond ring like this would run about $5,000 to $10,000 depending on where it's bought. Community estimates for a 2.5ct+ lab-grown round with a gold band and platinum prongs clustered from about $3,000 up to $9,000-10,000 depending on color, clarity and vendor, with the asker's own $8-9k budget considered comfortably within range.

Are these local jeweler prices for lab diamonds ($3,688 for a 2.5ct pear F/VS1, $2,474 for a 2.23ct emerald-cut G/VVS2) a fair deal?

Buyers said the prices were reasonable to good, noting slightly better prices can sometimes be found online but the in-store option offers peace of mind and the buyer was not being overcharged.

Can I find a 2.5ct natural oval diamond within a $20,000 budget?

Buyers found two specific certified stones under that budget: a 2.51ct H VS1 for $18,403 and a 2.50ct E SI1 for $18,573, both cheapest across multiple retailers.

Can you get a well-cut, eye-clean natural diamond over 2.5 carats on a modest budget?

A buyer said no; that price range usually forces a trade-off in color, cut or clarity, and this particular stone showed light leakage, cloud haze and a brownish tint despite its IGI paperwork.

Does a 2 carat or 2.5 carat diamond look better on the hand for an engagement ring?

Opinions were split roughly down the middle: several buyers thought the 2 ct stone looked more proportionate and elegant on the hand shown, while just as many preferred the 2.5 ct for looking closer to a true 2 ct once mounted and for elongating the fingers.

Does a 2 or 2.5 carat oval diamond look better on a size 4 ring finger?

Most buyers preferred the 2 carat oval for a small finger, calling it more proportionate, more elongated, and noticeably clearer and brighter than the 2.5 carat option shown, though a few still favored the larger stone's size.

Does a 2 or 2.5 carat oval diamond look better on a size 7 finger?

Most buyers preferred the 2 carat oval, saying the 2.5 carat version overpowered the side stones and looked bulkier on a size 7 finger, though a couple still favored the larger 2.5 carat stone.

Does a 2 or 2.5 carat round diamond look better paired with an eternity wedding band?

Opinions were split roughly evenly, with several saying the two sizes look almost identical in photos even though the difference is more noticeable in person, and many warning that a thick eternity or halo-style band makes the center stone look smaller, so a slimmer band suits either size better.

Does a 2.27 or a 2.5 carat oval diamond look better on a size 5 finger?

Most buyers felt the two sizes looked nearly identical on this finger, with a slight preference split between a subtler bowtie effect on the larger stone and a narrower, more flattering look on the smaller one; several just said to go with the bigger stone since the difference barely shows.

Does a 2.5 carat oval E VS1 diamond ring look good?

Viewers called the ring beautiful and said the oval shape made it face up closer to a 3 carat stone, though nobody here confirmed the price paid.

Does a 2.5 carat oval ring look too big or fake on a small finger (size 3.5)?

Buyers said it looked timeless and well proportioned rather than costume-y, and that a small finger can actually make the same carat weight read as more eye-catching than it would on a larger hand.

Every 2.5 carat ring in the data

Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$130Moissanite––white gold2023Bought on eBay in a white-gold-fill setting; called out another buyer's $2100 ring as overpriced by comparison
$131Moissanite–emeraldyellow gold2023Complete solitaire ring just ordered online; quality not yet confirmed on arrival
$204Moissanite–cushiongold20238x7.5mm old mine cushion stone set in a 10k gold ring; says no lab diamond of the same size and setting could match the price
$270Moissanite––other–Quoted 270 or 300 for ~2.5ct solitaires with slightly different specs; bought theirs in sterling silver, planning to reset the stone in a couple years since silver isn't durable long-term.
$400Lab-grown diamond2.78 ct––2025Bought a 2.78ct lab diamond ring for $400 about six months before the comment.
$400Moissanite––yellow gold–10k yellow gold moissanite, price after a coupon code; arrived the day of the comment
$425Moissanite–cushionyellow gold2024Custom 10k gold cushion moissanite ring with lab sapphire and garnet accents; shipping included in price
$600Lab-grown diamond2.58 ctemerald–2025Writer gave the price only as '600-something', exact amount not stated
$700Moissanite–––2023Chose a 2.5ct moissanite over a lab diamond ring quoted around $5,000
$700Moissanite–––20232.6tcw three-stone moissanite engagement ring, total weight across three stones
$768Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctroundgold2025Custom-made near-identical ring in 10k gold, size 12.5, ordered and awaiting delivery, also about AUD1200
$800Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctradiantwhite gold2025Radiant cut lab diamond ring bought a couple months before the comment
$900Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––2.5 ct stone including the setting for $900 from Aurilenne; the comment's context points to lab grown
$914Lab-grown diamond2.62 ctroundyellow gold2025Solitaire basket setting, 2mm band, heart-and-arrows ideal cut; plus $30 shipping
$945Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctroundgold2024Bought through writer's own wholesaler; she contrasts it with an earlier, pricier earth-mined diamond she now regrets
$1,000Moissanite–marquise–2024Writer corrected an earlier $800 estimate to the exact $1000 price
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ctovalrose gold2025A little over $1k for a 2.66ct D oval lab diamond in 10k rose gold, cited as cheaper than moissanite cost six years earlier
$1,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.5 ct––2025Solitaire setting mentioned, stone shape not stated
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant––Near-perfect specs; writer says an equivalent natural would run over $50k
$1,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ct–gold20262.66ct H VVS1 lab diamond ring, 14k gold, priced around $1,000 after price-matching the stone through Loose Grown Diamonds
$1,100Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––20242.5 carat stone, setting and setting labor, bought a couple of years ago when gold prices were lower
$1,145Lab-grown diamond2.57 ct–gold–Overseas Etsy seller; total for stone plus thick gold band was exactly $1,145, first described as about $1,200.
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct–––Price included the setting
$1,200Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalgold20252.5ct center, 2.75ct total weight including band stones
$1,250Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctroundwhite gold2023Bought online in 2023 for about the same price as the 2017 setting alone; kept the original ring for sentimental value
$1,300Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–2.5 total carat weight platinum diamond ring custom made by an overseas (Chinese) maker, price included shipping and tariffs; writer was impressed with the quality
$1,400Moissanite–oval–202310x7mm oval solitaire with hidden halo, ring size 4.5, bought around the time of a recent proposal
$1,400Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant––East/west half-bezel setting made by a jeweler; total is approximate
$1,400Diamond, lab or natural not said2.7 ct––20262.7 ct diamond with setting from brilliance.com, used a discount code
$1,421Lab-grown diamond2.77 ctround–2024Setting custom made in China for $370, plus $150 for a local jeweler to set the diamond into it
$1,422Lab-grown diamond2.77 ct–white gold–Loose stone from Brilliance.com, setting custom made overseas in 10k white gold, then set by a local jeweler for $150 more; price implies lab-grown given the grade
$1,426–2.7 ct–rose gold–Price is after taxes; got a free upgrade from color G after a chip was found in the originally picked stone
$1,450Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctround–20242.75ct round lab diamond, Triple Excellent grading, set in a 14kt white gold six-claw prong setting; kept the 2019 natural ring for sentiment
$1,500Lab-grown diamond2.58 ctoval–2025Paid about $1500 for a CVD lab diamond from Ritani after Adiamor raised its price on a similar stone; later got Ritani to price-match a $1082 listing elsewhere, saving roughly $500 more
$1,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctemerald–20252.5ct emerald-cut lab diamond ring from Renaissance Jewel, list price $3k, paid half after a 50% Cyber Monday discount
$1,500–2.7 ctoval–2026Cathedral-style setting with a basket top
$1,500–2.7 ctovalrose gold–2.7ct oval E VVS2 ring cost $1,500; her 2mm 14k gold band unpriced, his 5mm band $800; all under $3k total
$1,513Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctmarquiserose gold2025Bezel setting with a band tapering 5mm to 2mm, still being made at time of comment
$1,520Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctcushion–20252.75ct center, 3ct total weight including side diamonds on the band
$1,700Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctradiant––Replacement lab diamond ring with a 1/4ct pave band, bought with the same 30% discount as her first ring
$1,775–2.55 ctemeraldrose gold–Cathedral solitaire setting; appraised at nearly 3 times what was paid, for replacement-value insurance, adding only about 3 a year to the premium
$1,800Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct–platinum20252.2mm half-pave platinum setting; price matched to a store searchable by certificate number, not the cheapest one; insured via Jeweler's Mutual using the receipt rather than an appraisal since lab stones are losing value
$1,845Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctovalgold202418k gold split cathedral setting with double prongs, customized and seen in person before deciding
$1,890–2.52 ctemeraldyellow gold–4-prong setting; appraised for about 2.5 times what was paid
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.68 ctcushion–2023Custom-cut old mine cushion lab diamond bought during the cutter's September sale, overseas (China) via a WhatsApp rep; stone came back 2.68ct instead of the ordered 3ct and the cutter offered a refund for the size diffe
$1,900Lab-grown diamond2.67 ct––2025All-in price for a fancy pink diamond in a simple locally-made setting, mentioned as a comparison to the asker's blue diamond ring
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalgold20232.5ct oval lab diamond solitaire in 14k gold, all-in cost about $2,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctoval–2024Paid in the low $2,000s for a custom design after two earlier ring attempts with a different jeweler didn't feel right; came with a free lab diamond necklace thrown in
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–white gold2025Custom replica of the asker's style made by Tianyu: 2.51ct F/VS1 stone with band diamonds in 18k white gold, $2k all-in shipped; likely lab given the price.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.74 ct–––Setting found on Rare Carat, diamond price-matched to Calavera; total was just over $2k
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–Proposed with a lab diamond ring appraised around $7,400, price-matched down to $2,000 by a jeweler who does price matching
$2,000–2.5 ct–––Paid via Rare Carat's diamond price-matching after finding a similarly priced $7,400 ring elsewhere; the savings figures given in the comment were a bit inconsistent
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.59 ct–––Bought the loose stone online then paid $150/carat to have it set; an uncommon cut cost a bit more; a jewelry company had quoted $5,000 for the same stone
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctasschergold2025Custom-designed 2.53ct lab Asscher diamond in a gold bezel; picked the stone in-store, rest of design handled online
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct––2025Approximate price, 'around $2000'
$2,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant–2025Bought a 2.5ct D VS1 radiant-cut lab diamond ring for $2,000, clarified as the full ring price not just the stone
$2,000–2.56 ctmarquise–2026Cathedral setting with side stones and a tulip basket
$2,100Lab-grown diamond2.51 ctovalwhite gold202414k white gold solitaire, ring still being made/shipped at time of comment; similar rings elsewhere cost over $4k
$2,146Lab-grown diamond2.44 ctcushionplatinum2024Ordered stone from Luvansh, set at Jared with baguettes using a gift card
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.68 ctroundother–14k gold and platinum combined setting
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.78 ct–white gold2026Lab-grown fancy yellow diamond in 14k white gold, all-in price; bought for the color despite lab stones holding little resale value
$2,200Lab-grown diamond2.49 ct––2026Ring with a 2.49ct center stone
$2,300Moissanite––––Custom-made 2.5ct moissanite; everyone assumes it's a real diamond
$2,300Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–––Chose this over a pricier 3.15ct D/VVS alternative from the same vendor
$2,450Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctroundplatinum2024Paid a little over $1,100 for a Hearts & Arrows round stone plus $1,350 for a custom platinum setting, bought in March
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––A natural diamond with the same specs would run about $70,000; she feels 2.5ct is a bit large and might read as fake
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.42 ctovalgold202418k gold band with accent diamonds; a local jeweler confirmed it was a real lab diamond
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–white gold–Second wife's ring; she says it's about the meaning, not the cost
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.72 ct––2023Platinum cluster ring, 3.5 total carat weight, designed by a private jeweler, came with a certificate; writer prefers lab over Costco's mined stones
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.42 ctovalwhite gold–Husband purchased; writer recommends going to a jeweler rather than Etsy
$2,500Diamond, lab or natural not said2.5 ctemeraldyellow gold2026Own ring, 2.5ct emerald-cut diamond in 10k yellow gold, cost fell within the buyers's stated 2-3k range
$2,527Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctemerald–2025Stone price-matched against Loose Grown Diamond; total with setting, tax and lifetime warranty was 2527.30
$2,600Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Shopped around to find this stone-plus-setting price point at a local jeweler
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.64 ctemeraldtwo tone202318k gold band with platinum prongs, shipped to Canada; ended up about 4200 CAD after conversion and provincial tax, no duties
$2,700Lab-grown diamond2.45 ct–platinum–Chose lab over natural for a 2.45ct E/VVS2 diamond in a platinum setting with channel-set side stones
$2,750Moissanite––––Moissanite ring bought through Moissanite.co, engaged recently
$2,750Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct––2026Similar intricate band with a 2.6ct lab diamond from Keyzar, price given as a 2.5-3k range
$2,800–2.59 ctradiantgold2025Petal basket 14k setting from a local jeweler in a Midwest state; Northeast jewelers quoted higher for similar work
$2,800Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquise–2026Ring has side diamonds
$2,900Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquise–2026Hidden halo ring bought at a jewelry store; writer says a retail premium was likely paid there
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.56 ct–––Lab solitaire at about two weeks of his wages; arrived two weeks late with poor updates, quality pleased him
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctpear––Lab pear appraised at three times the price; she says a natural stone of these specs would top 20k
$3,000Moissanite–ovalplatinum2023Near-colorless oval moissanite solitaire; writer says a comparable natural stone would run about $40k
$3,000–2.63 ct–––Setting has about 0.3ct in pave diamonds, a Keyzar hidden-halo style
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct––2025Tulip setting; buyers said this was still reasonable since it was local
$3,000–2.51 ct–white gold2025Custom tulip setting in 14k white gold cost $1000; the 2.51ct F VS1 diamond cost $2000, bought in June
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––Husband chose a top-of-the-line lab diamond, more than she felt was necessary
$3,000Lab-grown diamond2.51 ct–white gold2024Upgraded from a smaller 20-year-old ring; 2.51ct F VS1 ideal-cut CVD lab diamond on a 14k white gold tulip setting, 2mm band
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.6 ct–gold–2.6ct stone bought separately, then a 14k setting with side stones added, totaling about $3200
$3,200Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctovalgold2026Lab oval diamond in Indian gold band with marquise and princess side stones; keeps a CZ travel dupe too
$3,300Natural diamond2.55 ctradiant––Loose stone sourced separately; jeweler charging to set it in 18k gold, described as under $3.5k total
$3,300Lab-grown diamond2.55 ct–gold2026Bought stone separately for $500; jeweler setting it in 18k gold with pave diamonds and a birthstone in the band
$3,300Diamond, lab or natural not said2.55 ctradiantgold2026Stone bought separately; setting upgraded from a $2,200 14k-gold quote to $2,800 for an 18k cathedral with french pave, engravings and birthstones; CAD approved, ring in production.
$3,800Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctovalgold202640th-anniv. upgrade; IGI lab oval; setting by Gabriel & Co NY, 14K gold, 28 natural accent diamonds; later comment gives ~$1800/$2100
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–white gold–Lab diamond ring bought on sale; originally listed around 7000 before the discount
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Near-flawless, colorless lab diamond; writer says about $3k possible with a simpler setting
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctasscher–2025Lab asscher stone plus setting; writer wishes they had shopped around more before paying this
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––About 1 month of his salary; center stone with small side diamonds
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctround–2024Stone from a wholesale site; David Klass made a matching setting and 1ct eternity band, hidden halo, about $4k total including the diamond
$4,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctcushion–2026Custom elongated cushion solitaire; paid about 15% extra for the specific cut ratio and grade requested, jeweler included a lifetime guarantee
$4,000Sapphire2.6 ct–gold–Husband earned $90k/year and had roughly 3x this amount saved; bought the exact ring wanted, a 2.6ct sapphire with a diamond halo on 18kt gold
$4,200Lab-grown diamond2.75 ct–gold–2.5-3ct lab stone in a 14k gold band; thought it was pricey but most people she met in real life thought it looked huge anyway
$4,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctpearwhite gold–Stargazer cut with a decorative basket, plus a 0.5 carat diamond infinity band
$4,500Lab-grown diamond2.54 ct–––Very similar style to the asker's ring; could've been cheaper but fiancé didn't want to shop around
$4,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctoval–2026Completely custom setting and band from a local shop
$4,520Lab-grown diamond2.59 ctradiant––Custom 14k setting plus lab diamond, total after tax; budget was $2,500-3,000 so went over by about $1,500
$4,800Moissanite––––Grey moissanite center with a lab diamond halo and pave band
$4,900Lab-grown diamond2.73 ct–white gold–2.73ct lab diamond bought separately for $4k, local jeweler made the white gold setting
$4,958Lab-grown diamond2.58 ctovalplatinum–Platinum cathedral setting with 15% discount, super ideal cut, GIA certified, took 5 weeks including CAD approval
$5,000Lab-grown diamond2.4 ct–––Bought three years into marriage; a natural version of the same look would have cost about $30,000 versus about $5,000 for lab
$5,000Sapphire2.5 ct–gold202514k gold bezel, petal basket, cathedral setting with a 2.5ct teal sapphire instead of a diamond
$5,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquise––Lab marquise the writer says looks indistinguishable from natural
$5,000Lab-grown diamond2.73 ctmarquise–2026Lab diamond bought from designer Lauren B in New York
$5,000Lab-grown diamond2.63 ct––2023Bought May 2023; prices have dropped since but writer has no regrets
$5,200Lab-grown diamond2.57 ct–yellow gold202418k yellow gold ring with 2x0.5ct trapezoid side stones; being returned after vendor sent 14k gold instead of 18k and skipped the paid engraving
$5,200Lab-grown diamond2.57 ctothergold2025Lab lozenge/step-cut stone, 14k gold setting with hidden halo diamonds; stone's own price not separately known
$5,300Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctradiant–2025Writer strongly recommends the vendor, calls Ring Concierge's markup insane
$5,400Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant––An earlier 2ct radiant lab VS1 E stone at 2000 from the same jeweler sold before writer went back for it
$5,500Lab-grown diamond2.75 ctroundplatinum20232.75ct F VS1 ideal round lab diamond in platinum with a Tacori band; got a friend-of-a-jeweler discount
$5,700Lab-grown diamond2.4 ctpear––Pear-shaped solitaire
$5,750Lab-grown diamond2.57 ctoval––Accented with pear, marquise and round diamonds totaling about 0.80 additional carats
$5,800Lab-grown diamond2.53 ctpearyellow gold–Higher than originally planned; $5.8k for the center stone and setting; couple's combined budget for engagement ring plus wedding band was $7k
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2022Triple excellent cut lab diamond bought fully paid; appraised at double the purchase price
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.76 ct––2022Bought from a wholesaler, replying to the asker's lab-grown overpay question
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.41 ctroundplatinum–9.3 StoneAlgo cut score; the same stone sold for 1600 elsewhere; local jeweler making a platinum band with 22 small diamonds in a hidden halo plus two 6x4mm unheated Ceylon sapphires around 2200, total ring cost roughly
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.41 ct–platinum–Stones sourced separately; natural ceylon sapphire side stones about 0.65ct each; hidden halo of 22 small lab diamonds
$6,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.6 ct–platinum–Fiancé sourced the stone separately and had it set locally; ring size 4.5
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct––2024Bought a 2.5ct lab diamond ring about 2 years before this 2026 comment
$6,000–2.54 ct–––Luxury-brand-style setting (Tacori/Verragio price range) plus the center stone
$6,100Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctradiant––Pave band with an upgraded crown and hidden halo; price given as a $5,500-$6,700 range, ring not yet delivered
$6,400Diamond, lab or natural not said2.6 ctmarquise–2026Fancy yellow diamond
$6,500Lab-grown diamond2.54 ctoval––Verragio setting bought through Diamonds Direct
$6,800Lab-grown diamond2.6 ctprincessplatinum–Paid for a similar platinum princess-cut setting; total carat weight (center plus accents) is 2.6ct after an edit corrected an earlier 1.5ct center figure
$6,950Natural diamond2.5 ct–yellow gold20242.5ct natural M/VS2 GIA diamond from Brilliance $6,200, appraised near quadruple that; mounted with an 18k yellow gold band bought on eBay for about $750
$7,500Sapphire2.5 ct––2023Victorian-era (circa 1890) ring: 2.5ct Ceylon sapphire center plus 1.75ct total old mine cut diamond accents; appraised well above the purchase price
$7,500Lab-grown diamond2.58 ctpearyellow gold–Custom design from a reputable NYC jeweler; tulip basket setting with cathedral and a small hidden diamond in the bridge
$7,800Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctmarquiseplatinum–Side stones: 0.5 ct natural pear diamonds plus 25 smaller diamonds; wedding bands still pending
$8,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.57 ctround–2025Pave band; regrets buying from Jared before discovering this community
$8,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.52 ctovalrose gold–Custom blush-colored oval diamond ring with a rose gold band and diamond accents
$8,500Lab-grown diamond2.55 ctovalrose gold202314k rose gold setting with a 2.55ct ideal F VVS1 oval; other buyers were surprised the price was so low
$8,500Lab-grown diamond2.79 ctmarquisegold202618k gold band/setting has real diamonds; writer gave an $8k-9k total range
$8,500Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–––2.5 carat lab diamond ring bought during a store sale with a $2000 discount applied; price included insurance
$9,950Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctroundplatinum–2.5ct lab old-European cut stone ($6,600) in a platinum David Klass setting ($3,350), appraised by David Klass at $10,600; now reselling since lab prices dropped and she's upgrading to a 5ct stone
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctovaltwo tone2022New 2nd set, platinum and yellow gold; writer says a natural equivalent would have run $20k+, so chose lab to get a bigger stone
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum2023Paid $10k for a 2.5ct diamond in platinum; doesn't think the person asking overpaid
$10,000Lab-grown diamond2.66 ctpear––Fiance earns $225k/year; couple set a $10k budget and picked a 2.66ct pear lab diamond together
$11,035Lab-grown diamond2.7 ctround–2023Negotiated a custom Tacori setting's stone down from $8,700 to $5,035 by showing a comparable Ritani listing; ring still being made
$12,000Natural diamond2.54 ctoval––Fancy yellow-brown diamond, originally listed at $22k, bought for $12k
$13,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ct–platinum–Halo setting customized by a local jeweler to her exact design.
$13,000–2.5 ctprincess––Bought from a trusted jeweler in the LA diamond district; 2.5ct princess center plus about 2ct of smaller accent stones; both partners were 50 and remarrying
$14,000Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Buyer bought a natural 2.5ct J/VS1 diamond for $14k, saying the person asking could get a much better ring for similar money
$14,000Lab-grown diamond2.7 ct–––Enjoyed choosing the stone and band together rather than going the DIY route
$15,000Lab-grown diamond2.5 ctovalplatinum–Diamond bought wholesale online through Rare Carat; cost was split between both partners
$15,000Natural diamond2.5 ctcushionyellow gold–2.5ct SI1 cushion natural diamond bought wholesale through a family diamond-district connection; ring appraised near double what was paid
$18,000Natural diamond2.75 ctround–20072.75ct round brilliant bought at a small independent stone seller in 2007, given as a price comparison to the Tiffany piece
$18,000–2.5 ct–––No special discount, found this price through a lot of online research before buying in store
$19,000Lab-grown diamond2.52 ct––2022Writer's own lab diamond ring, no other specs given
$20,000Natural diamond2.7 ct––2021Buyer's own ring, bought about three years before this comment; she said she wishes she'd known about lab diamonds then
$20,000Natural diamond2.75 ct–yellow gold20072.75 ct natural bought for 18k; custom 18k yellow gold euro-shank with four 0.5 ct baguettes brought it to 20k; she thinks upscale retail would ask 35k+
$21,000Natural diamond2.58 ct–––GIA triple excellent; writer notes IF stones get a bigger discount than VVS since fewer buyers want to pay the IF markup
$23,000Natural diamond2.7 ctround–2026Recent purchase, natural round diamond with no certification
$24,000Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Described as super ideal cut; upgrade from a 0.75ct IF I-color original ring bought years earlier
$27,000Natural diamond2.51 ctoval–20222.51ct natural stone bought at Diamonds Direct through her fiance's personal jeweler contact; buyers cited the price as about $27k (one said $25k); independent appraisal came in $6k above what was paid
$28,000Natural diamond2.5 ctroundrose gold–AGS-000 H&A branded ideal cut from Crafted by Infinity/High Performance Diamonds; insured value now above what was paid despite market softening
$29,000Natural diamond2.52 ct––2025Her fiance, a bartender, bought her this natural diamond ring
$30,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.5 ct–––2.5 ct stone she calls flawless and colorless, about 30k, possibly the stone alone; bought only once they owned their home
$30,000Natural diamond2.6 ct–––Good specs on the natural center stone; included a lab-diamond travel replica bundled with the purchase
$30,000Natural diamond2.7 ctround––She asked for lab or moissanite but husband bought natural; visible inclusions, lower clarity; he earned about 10x the asker's pay then
$30,000Natural diamond2.5 ctpear–2011Husband bought a mined pear-shaped diamond; she dislikes the shape and plans to buy her preferred shape after 15 years of marriage
$30,000Natural diamond2.4 ct––2020Costco diamond, color D, writer called it 'flawless' but graded VS1; said a same-spec Tiffany ring would cost roughly double
$30,000Natural diamond2.5 ct–––Wife wanted natural; couple rented their home an extra year to afford it; no regret years later
$32,000Diamond, lab or natural not said2.52 ct––2024Custom brick-and-mortar build; paid premium for 1-on-1 design service, compared BN/JA/BE prices first; appraised at $43,100 by Pacific Gemological Laboratory
$43,000Natural diamond2.7 ctround–2025Second upgrade, round brilliant cut
$48,000Natural diamond2.6 ct–––Buyer's own ring, a 2.6ct eye-clean fancy yellow center stone with almost 6 ctw total, cited as a genuine example at about the same price as the cruise ring's asking price
$55,000Natural diamond2.53 ct–platinum2005GIA-certified upgrade with top color and clarity; writer wishes lab diamonds had existed back then since they look the same
$55,000Natural diamond2.5 ctemerald––Framed as an investment and future family heirloom; writer says she was embarrassed by the cost
$70,000Natural diamond2.56 ct–––Fancy vivid yellow diamond, 2.56ct, gift from husband; cited to help judge whether the asker's inherited yellow stone could really be a diamond
$98,000–2.5 ct–––Paid in cash; husband owns a commercial driving business

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 133 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

A ring counts here when the buyer gave the center stone's weight and it fell between 2.4 and 2.79 ct. Moissanite weights are diamond-equivalent, as moissanite is sold. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.