engagementringcost.comBuyer-reported ring prices
All sections

Carat · buyer-reported prices · updated September 2026

How Much Is a 3 Carat Engagement Ring? 339 Real Prices

A natural 3 carat ring cost a median $35,000 across 27 purchases, 15.2 times the $2,300 median for a lab-grown one (209 purchases). Weight alone does not set the price: the stone does, and so do its cut, colour and clarity.

339rings with a 2.9 to 3.39 ct center stone
$35,000median natural diamond ring (27)
$2,300median lab-grown diamond ring (209)
$600median moissanite ring (48)

A 3 carat ring by center stone

Each row takes the rings whose center stone weighed 2.9 to 3.39 ct, the weights sold as "about 3 carat".

Center stoneRingsMedian ringMiddle half
Natural diamond27$35,000$20,000 to $45,000
Lab-grown diamond209$2,300$1,480 to $5,000
Moissanite48$600$200 to $1,100

Shapes at 3 carat

Oval28%
Marquise17%
Cushion16%
Round16%
Radiant14%
Emerald9%

3 carat ring questions

How much is a 3 carat natural diamond engagement ring?

A median $35,000 across 27 buyer-reported rings with a 2.9 to 3.39 ct center stone, and half cost between $20,000 and $45,000.

How much is a 3 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring?

A median $2,300 across 209 buyer-reported rings with a 2.9 to 3.39 ct center stone, and half cost between $1,480 and $5,000.

How much is a 3 carat moissanite engagement ring?

A median $600 across 48 buyer-reported rings with a 2.9 to 3.39 ct center stone, and half cost between $200 and $1,100. Moissanite is sold by diamond-equivalent weight, the size of diamond it looks like.

How much does a 3 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring cost?

Buyers here reported totals from roughly $2,100 up to $5,000 for large lab stones depending on color and clarity, with local jewelers often quoting near the top unless pushed to compete. Buyers here reported paying roughly $2,700 to $8,500 for 3-carat-range lab diamond rings (F-G color, VS1-VVS1 clarity) in 2022-2023, with prices trending down over that time.

How much does a 2.5 to 3 carat natural diamond in VS1 to VVS2 cost?

One buyer's 20k to 24k budget wasn't enough for that size and clarity with a top cut; a dealer said that size and quality combination typically needs roughly double the budget, or buyers need to drop carat, clarity, or consider lab-grown instead. One owner's 2.7 ct natural stone with visible inclusions and lower clarity cost 30k, so she doubted a higher-spec natural stone of that size could be had for 30k; others noted the requested specs looked unrealistic.

How much does a 3 carat lab-grown diamond engagement ring actually cost?

Buyers said a $10-15k budget for a 3ct lab stone is a big overpay; a well-cut 3ct lab oval from a top cutter runs about $4-6k, a comparable stone from a less famous brand runs $2-3k, and a hand-forged NYC setting typically adds another $4-6k. Buyers said natural 3-carat diamonds run from about 20,000 for a lower color grade up to 34,000 or more, with a band and tax pushing the total near 40,000, while a comparable lab-grown 3-carat stone can come in around half that, roughly 15,000 or under.

How much does a 3 carat natural diamond cost?

Buyers estimated retail prices from about 30,000 to 35,000 dollars for a 3 carat natural diamond, rising to 50,000 dollars or more from luxury brand names. One owner claims her 3 ct natural stone is worth $100,000, while another buyer says she has never seen a 3 ct diamond priced that high.

How much does a loose lab-grown diamond around 2.5 to 3 carats cost?

Buyers reported roughly $700 to $750 each for radiant-cut lab diamonds in that range (G to E color, VVS to VS clarity, IGI certified) from low-price online sellers, while a round 2.55ct stone was listed for under $500 and larger 5-plus carat round ideal-cut stones ran about $1,350 each from a New York seller. Forum members found comparable D/VS1 round lab stones from about $2,300 to just under $3,000 in the 2.3-2.9 carat range, with a larger near-3-carat GIA stone sometimes cheaper than a smaller one depending on the vendor.

How much should I pay for a roughly 2.5 to 3 carat emerald cut diamond?

One buyer said not to pay more than about 3,500 dollars in person, since the same stone could be found online for around 2,600, guessing the in-store asking price was closer to 5,000. Similar lab old European cut stones around 2.5 to 3.5 carats sold or were listed for roughly $750 to $2,350 on marketplaces like LooseGrownDiamond and Ritani, well under comparable jeweler-sourced or natural stones.

Is $2,000 a fair price for a roughly 1.3 carat pink sapphire ring with no paperwork?

Forum consensus was that $2,000 for an approximately 1.3ct natural-looking pink sapphire (no lab certificate) in an 18k rose gold setting with accent diamonds is a fair to good price, even without a certificate. Opinions were split: most buyers called it too high for a private resale once they realized the carat figure likely covers all the stones combined rather than a center stone, suggesting $1,200-1,800 would be more reasonable, while one said it wasn't a crazy price.

How much does a 3 carat lab grown radiant cut diamond cost online

Buyers cite roughly $900 for a CVD-grown stone and about $2,000 for an HPHT-grown stone with the same E VVS2 specs, though another buyer could not find a GIA-certified match under $1,000 on the same site. Two similar 3-carat round lab diamonds with decent but not top-tier cut proportions were priced around $2,270 to $2,280 online, though experts said material quality mattered more than small proportion differences.

Why is it hard to find a well cut diamond just under 3 carats

One buyer explained cutters try to keep rough stones as close to the next whole carat as possible, so sizes like 2.7 carats sit in an awkward range that's harder to find well cut; she suggested aiming just above the next whole carat instead. A shopper said well-cut stones above 3 carats are much harder to find due to rarity, noting that neither Whiteflash nor Brian Gavin currently stocked any super-ideal cut stone above 3 carats in better than I color.

2 carat vs 3 carat engagement ring on a size 7

Several owners say about 2 ct hit the sweet spot: a 2.4 ct emerald wearer sometimes wishes she had gone nearer 2 ct, and a 3.02 ct owner nudged up from 2.2 ct by the jeweler finds it big at times. A 2.02 ct pear owner who expected to want bigger now calls 2 ct perfect.

Am I getting ripped off paying about $10.5K for a custom 3.3 carat lab diamond engagement ring?

Nearly every buyer said yes, pointing out that similarly specced lab stones plus a custom platinum setting typically ran $2,000-4,000 elsewhere, a fraction of the local jeweler's price.

Are 2-3 carat lab diamond rings still seen as a status symbol?

Buyers said no, carat sizes that used to look impressive 10-15 years ago, like 2 carats, are now considered normal thanks to affordable lab diamonds, with 3-4 carat rings increasingly common.

Every 3 carat ring in the data

Each row is one buyer's ring, cheapest first, with what they said about it.

RingStoneCaratShapeMetalYearWhat the buyer reported
$30Moissanite–––2026Proud of how little her 3ct moissanite cost compared to her sister-in-law's heirloom diamond
$38Moissanite–roundother2025Green 3ct round moissanite ring with smaller side stones, sterling silver with 18k white gold plating, bought via AliExpress after coupons and coins
$50Moissanite––other–3ct moissanite solitaire in silver, called a placeholder ring until they can afford gold.
$50Moissanite––other–3ct moissanite solitaire in 925 silver, bought during a sale; replying to a similar silver Kalala ring.
$50Other gemstone3 ct–white gold–Cubic zirconia replacement ring bought after his wife's fingers swelled during pregnancy and the original no longer fit.
$60Moissanite–roundother–3 ct round moissanite solitaire in a silver setting, bought for herself while hoping for an eventual proposal ring
$60Moissanite–roundother2023Self-bought 3ct round moissanite solitaire ring in a silver setting, worn alongside whichever ring she is eventually given
$67Moissanite–oval–2023Engagement ring from an AliExpress stock listing, worn with two stacking bands (one also Kuololit) totaling just over $100 for all three pieces, size 5.5
$70Moissanite––other20223ct moissanite ring in sterling silver ordered directly through a Starsgem rep; $40 item plus $30 shipping, arrived in 6 days
$78Moissanite–ovalother–3ct oval cyan moissanite bought in a silver setting because gold was too expensive at the time; price is the listing price at time of comment
$98Moissanite–emeraldother2023Stock ring, 18k white-gold-plated silver band, GHI color VVS clarity moissanite, 3ct equivalent
$98Moissanite–––20233ct Tianyu-brand crushed-ice moissanite engagement ring bought on Amazon for $98; the listing describes the stones as GHI clarity, cloudier than higher DEF-clarity moissanite.
$200Moissanite––yellow gold2024Custom recreation of a photographed ring via an Alibaba seller; 18k gold, cost is approximate per writer
$200Moissanite–radiant–2024Crushed-ice radiant-cut moissanite ring bought off AliExpress, described as very shiny
$200Moissanite–––20263ct moissanite ring bought instead of a $1,600 2.5ct lab diamond stone-only quote
$275Moissanite––other2022Etsy listing said solid 14k gold plus a 3ct 10.8mm moissanite; ring was actually gold-plated silver and tarnished within a year, past the 180-day refund window
$350Moissanite–ovalrose gold–3-stone oval setting ordered through Provence (working with Bobby), still being made, plus $30 shipping; her first time buying moissanite online
$380Moissanite––––3-carat moissanite ring
$380Moissanite––gold–3-stone moissanite ring, 3ct-equivalent center with tapered baguettes, 2.2mm band, 4.6g of 10k gold; bought in January, gold prices may have risen since
$500Moissanite–emerald–2022Emerald cut solitaire; good communication and fast shipping
$500Moissanite–cushiongold20243ct elongated cushion moissanite with hidden halo and accent stones on the band, 10k gold
$500Moissanite––gold2025Just under 3ct moissanite in 14k gold with a hidden halo; matching wedding band also made by the same maker
$500Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Same specs as a 4 ctw listing the vendor also sells for about $1000; carat figure may be total weight, not center stone only
$500Moissanite––gold202510k gold bezel setting; kept as a comparison piece against a similar lab diamond ring
$500Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctpear––Writer says she isn't wealthy despite the large carat size
$570Sapphire3.02 ct––2025Bought near gold-scrap value; $430 of the $570 was gold. Stone was a natural 3ct sapphire; recut quoted at $200
$600Moissanite–––2022Whole ring including setting; just over 3ct-equivalent, she loves it more than the pricier diamond stone
$600Moissanite–––2024Custom design via a well-reviewed Chinese jeweler found through an online group and Alibaba; bought pre-tariffs
$600Moissanite––gold–3ct (DEW) moissanite ring on a 14k gold band
$697Moissanite–oval–2023Band bought separately from a local small business
$725Moissanite–––2025Upgrade from an original small diamond three-stone ring; custom whiskey-brown 3ct moissanite in a Georgian cut-down setting, stated as 700-750 usd
$770Moissanite–cushion––3ct elongated cushion, order placed but not yet delivered at time of comment
$800Moissanite–––2025Husband bought her 3ct halo ring for $800, cited as reasonable compared to the boutique's prices
$800Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctroundtwo tone2025Platinum basket, 14k rose gold solitaire band; called 'hearts and arrows' make; bought via rep Demi on WhatsApp from a group-buy design; plus $30 shipping
$800Moissanite––gold–Custom 3ct-equivalent moissanite solitaire in 10k gold, hearts-and-arrows cut, made as an upgrade ring for the writer's mother
$830Moissanite–ovalplatinum20263-carat oval stone in a custom platinum setting; ring still being made
$830Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold20263ct lab diamond solitaire on an 18k gold band, bought via the EBTH auction site for $830 pre-tax/shipping
$850Moissanite–oval––Jeweler reset wedding ring with new 3ct oval moissanite center replacing a marquise, plus matching moissanite side stones
$862–2.91 ctpear–2025Bought via RareCarat's price-match process; calls the ring gorgeous.
$883Lab-grown diamond3 ctemeraldgold–Bought a 3ct emerald-cut lab diamond ring in 14k gold from an overseas vendor a few months earlier; no baguette side stones, unlike the ring being asked about
$884Moissanite–cushionyellow gold20263ct square cushion old-mine-cut moissanite custom ring in 10k gold; loved the setting but found the stone dull and dark in person versus the video
$900Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearwhite gold2024Hidden-halo solitaire setting from Starsgem; stone-setting labor still to be paid separately
$900Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundwhite gold–Lab stone sourced directly from a manufacturer, set in 14K white gold band, used to argue lab is the better financial choice
$929–3 ctpeargold–The asker's own diamond and hidden-halo mount bought separately online; setting-vendor price includes shipping; a local jeweler's labor to actually mount the stone was still being quoted, 150 to 390
$930Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Ring being made with overseas vendor Starsgem
$950Lab-grown diamond3.06 ct–yellow gold–Price given only as somewhere in the 900s; certified 3.06 ct lab stone in 14k yellow gold, one of several engagement-style rings the writer owns
$950Lab-created coloured stone3 ct–––Pink lab-grown diamond set in a bezel by a local jeweler; setting fee flat regardless of the carat weight
$990Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold2026Custom 3-carat marquise lab diamond ring in 10k gold
$1,000Moissanite––––Custom marquise moissanite via Etsy, after first considering a $7k natural marquise lab-diamond alternative within an original $20k budget
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctprincessgold2025Double band with 24 melee diamonds and 3ct princess center, 14k; three weeks start to finish
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Estimates saving at least $50,000 versus friends' mined stones by choosing lab; inherited a separate mined ring with poor resale reality
$1,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Writer's own 3ct lab diamond ring
$1,032Lab-grown diamond3.34 ctroundwhite gold2025Stone was $682 plus a PayPal fee; custom setting in 10k white gold
$1,070Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025Different shape than the writer's 3ct moissanite ring, very similar bezel setting
$1,074Lab-grown diamond3.22 ctmarquise–2025Full setting included; considers the asker's ring overpriced by comparison
$1,100Moissanite––––3-carat moissanite the wife wears; a jeweler who recognized it as moissanite still later offered far more to buy it back
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20253ct center stone with small accent diamonds; buyer called it amazing value.
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct–yellow gold202518k yellow gold setting with a 2.5mm band
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearplatinum2025Fancy blue pear-shaped lab diamond in a platinum setting; total price
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.22 ctmarquise––Marquise solitaire lab diamond chosen to go bigger within budget; specs good but not flawless
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquiseyellow gold2026Lab-grown marquise ring being made in 14k gold
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3.21 ct–gold20263.21ct ring on a 14k band being made by a Chinese vendor for about $1,100 or a bit more
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–2026Pear-cut stone in a bezel setting, all-in price, not yet delivered
$1,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear––Most recent upgrade, price covers diamond and setting together
$1,160Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctoval–2025Stone price given separately from the combined stone-plus-setting total
$1,160Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant––Loose lab diamond bought for a past partner plus a separate custom-made setting; year not stated, from an earlier relationship
$1,200Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–platinum2024Stone type not specified in the reply
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.06 ct––20253.06ct E VVS2 lab stone including tax; recommends loose-stone sellers over big-name retailers
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalgold20253ct oval lab diamond, good cut/color/clarity, set in a 14k gold solitaire; no trade-in option there
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025Full ring with a 3-carat stone of slightly lower specs than the asker's, cited as evidence the person asking overpaid
$1,200Moissanite––gold–Gold band ring from a jeweler whose Instagram handle suggests a moissanite specialist, in an online group discussion
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–gold–Custom design made through Provence with every detail specified
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Bought around the same time as the asker's post, at a similar price point to the Etsy listing being discussed
$1,200Lab-grown diamond3.03 ct–gold2026Bought for herself: 3.03ct E VS1 excellent-cut lab diamond in a hand-engraved 10k gold band, ordered via a China-based vendor's WhatsApp rep, $1200 total
$1,250Moissanite–marquiseyellow gold20263-carat marquise moissanite in 14k yellow gold with a pave band, given as a surprise; writer finds the stone cloudy for the price
$1,250Lab-grown diamond3.23 ctcushion–2024Elongated cushion cut in a simple solitaire setting
$1,250Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–––Paid about what a 1-1.5ct ring would cost at Kay for a 3-carat ring, per his own comparison.
$1,250Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2026Bought a 3ct diamond and 14k gold bezel setting together from Romy at LGG for a combined 1250.
$1,250Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20263-carat ring made by overseas vendor LGG
$1,260Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctovalyellow gold2025Custom oval with two half-moon side stones (~0.70-0.75ct total, 4.3x7.3mm each) in 14k gold (4.8g); paid $1260 plus $30 shipping; contacted the maker via Alibaba then WhatsApp
$1,279Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold202614k setting; order placed, not yet received
$1,300Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctovalgold–$400 lab stone + $600 14k gold Etsy setting (with moissanite accents) + $300 to a local jeweler to assemble them
$1,300Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–––Bought from an unnamed vendor in China; had it appraised well above the purchase price
$1,300–3.02 ctmarquisegold202614k gold; writer said this post was helpful to her while shopping
$1,300Lab-grown diamond3 ctemeraldgold20263ct lab emerald cut ring, 10k gold, 2.5mm euro shank band; custom order via WhatsApp/PayPal from maker Romy (LGG), shipping to Canada included
$1,300Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctround–2026Whole ring, about 3.5ct total including accent stones; stone price is an estimate by the buyer
$1,333Lab-grown diamond2.99 ctradiant––Wife's upgrade ring, 2.99ct radiant with a 1.45 ratio, price-matched via Rare Carat into their tulip-basket solitaire setting, all-in price
$1,333Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant–2025Just-completed upgrade to a 3ct lab radiant, replacing the natural cushion above
$1,333Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant–2025Ring bought for his wife's upgrade
$1,350Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctradiant–2025Exchanged the original 5.08 ct stone because it was too large to wear comfortably; kept the same Vivian setting, new stone price-matched from Ruby Harper Fine Jewelry
$1,400Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant––Half-infinity stone wedding-style band
$1,400Lab-grown diamond2.9 ctroundyellow gold2025Upgrade ring: $640 14k yellow-gold Etsy solitaire setting plus $389 for a 2.9ct round lab diamond plus $200 setting fee, about $1400 total with tax
$1,400Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–2026Pink pear-cut stone with a channel-set diamond band
$1,400Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Custom-cut stone and custom-designed setting from Zuvelio
$1,450Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantgold–3ct radiant lab diamond with pave setting in 10k gold via a group buy; felt like a great price and quality
$1,450Lab-grown diamond3.34 ct–gold–Hearts and arrows cut lab diamond in a 10k gold setting
$1,480Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold20264.5 total-carat-weight ring with a 3ct center stone on a 3.5mm 10k gold band, from an Etsy shop
$1,500–3 ctoval––Pave band with a hidden halo
$1,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Buyer reports paying this for a 3ct D VS1 diamond ring, cited as pushback against the asker's higher quoted price
$1,500Moissanite–emerald––Chose a 3ct emerald-cut moissanite ring for about $1,500 over a smaller natural diamond he'd also considered (~$3,000); his fiancee didn't reveal it was moissanite until after buying it
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–Paid $1,600 for a 3-carat lab diamond in a pave white gold setting
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctround–20253ct round bezel setting from a US-based jeweler, chosen partly to avoid import tariff issues
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold2026Dutch marquise cut lab diamond, 14k gold, bought with a coupon from an India-based Etsy seller
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3.06 ct–gold202614k gold setting with hidden halo, all-in price for a ring just bought for the writer's girlfriend
$1,600Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–Etsy shop promo cut listed $1900 to $1600; band left too thin (1.4-1.5mm) at bottom per seller's suggestion, otherwise happy
$1,600Sapphire3.2 ct–gold2022Vintage heavy solid 14kt ring with a natural sapphire jeweler called not top quality (green flashes); bought from a gold/diamond broker on eBay
$1,650Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundwhite gold2025Bought a 3ct round EF-VS2 lab diamond ring from Von Diamonds after finding James Allen's version overpriced; paid about half of James Allen's $3,300 price for a similar ring
$1,650Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold20263ct lab diamond with 14k gold setting from a US-based independent seller, avoiding import tariffs
$1,667Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalwhite gold2026Bought for the writer's fiancee, cited as a much cheaper comparison to the asker's quote
$1,699Lab-grown diamond2.94 ctmarquise–202418kt setting with hidden halo, replacing an earlier Luvansh ring; being made to order at time of posting
$1,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantyellow gold2026Replacement ring bought because the original couldn't be resized to fit
$1,700Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctcushiongold–Elongated cushion cut, 1.24 length/width ratio, 18k gold, price includes shipping
$1,730Lab-grown diamond2.94 ct–gold–Loose lab diamond bought separately, setting with added diamonds from Fiorese, local jeweler charged 40 to mount it
$1,763Lab-grown diamond2.93 ctmarquise–2026Diamond price was matched to a listing from Loose Grown Diamond
$1,768Lab-grown diamond2.99 ctcushion––Price-matched an Aurelinne-sourced stone through Rare Carat for the full ring cost
$1,785Lab-grown diamond3.27 ctpearwhite gold2025$1785 for a 3.27ct D VS1 triple-excellent elongated pear lab diamond, custom made in 14k white gold, plus $50 import duties; replaced an earlier inexpensive Amazon proposal ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctasschergold20233.07ct asscher with an 18k solitaire setting, price included tax.
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold–3-carat lab diamond in an 18k setting from a US-based jeweler; also owns moissanite but wouldn't pay more than $1,000 for that
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval––Comparison example bought elsewhere; color not given, unclear if price is stone-only or full ring
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise––Bought through her employer jewelry store at employee cost; a comparable natural stone would run $8k-$60k depending on source and quality
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctcushionrose gold–Fancy vivid blue stone, modified elongated cushion, solitaire cigar band
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.25 ctradiantwhite gold–6-prong white-gold tulip cathedral setting
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctemeraldplatinum2024Lab diamond bought 2024, mounted in platinum with lab diamond side stones; stone alone would cost far less today but mounting rose
$1,800Lab-grown diamond3 ctothergold–Antique-style 'moval' cut, just over 3ct, set in 18k gold
$1,850Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctradiantyellow gold2025Hidden halo with a diamond eternity-style band, includes shipping; designed by the writer herself
$1,895Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–platinum2024Center stone lab-grown; 0.3ct natural diamond side stones bring the total to 3.37ct; bought secondhand with eBay authentication
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctoval–2025Found the stone via Stone Algo; stuck with this jeweler for warranty and workmanship
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Family-run Michigan Etsy shop; customized order received in 12 days with IGI certificate
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–platinum2026Writer says they paid about $1500 less than the asker's $3400 quote, for a 2.4mm platinum band
$1,900Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–––Custom-designed ring built around a 3.3ct solitaire
$1,994Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctovalgold202514k gold hidden-halo oval; exchanged an initial 1.51ct IF stone for this larger, lower-clarity one before delivery to fiancee; crafted in India, shipped via a NY office
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Bought a 3ct lab diamond with a band for about $2,000
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.2 ct–gold–14k gold halo ring; also separately bought a 7ct diamond pendant (not a ring) for $3200
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Recently got a 3ct lab diamond ring from a Boston diamond-district jeweler; shows how far lab prices dropped
$2,000–3 ct–yellow gold–10k yellow gold; diamond bought separately, bands custom made by a local jeweler
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum2025Custom-designed elongated oval with hidden halo, diamond prongs, and round/marquise side stones on a platinum band
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiant–2026Paid about a third of the asker's $6k quote for a similarly sized 3ct radiant; knowingly overspent for the convenience of one jeweler sourcing and designing it
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum2026Stone bought at a wholesale price; platinum hidden-halo setting with marquise/round accents brought total to $2,000.
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Stone bought via a TikTok live auction from a custom jeweler who will also set it
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Certified 3-carat ring bought via an Etsy jeweler; the price for the carat size points to a lab-grown stone
$2,000Lab-grown diamond3.1 ct–platinum2026Just over $2k total set in platinum, offered as a comparison to the asker's much higher quote
$2,008Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantplatinum2025Discount code cut list price from $2510; platinum band added about $430 vs a ~$1768 white-gold version
$2,050Lab-grown diamond3.04 ctemeraldplatinum–Platinum band with hidden halo; bought from Complete Carat (contact named as Nick)
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.06 ctroundwhite gold2026Diamond bought separately from the 18k white gold custom-made band, built while traveling overseas; total covers both
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3 ctoval–2025Rare Carat price-matched the stone with a $3700 discount off list; setting changed at no cost after being unhappy with the first choice
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Pave setting; vendor's stone pricing is often inflated but price-matches other retailers, praised for a 30-day no-questions return policy
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctpear–2025Recently bought; a lower-quality 2.5ct natural in the same style was quoted around $26k
$2,100Lab-grown diamond3.1 ctcushiongold2026Elongated cushion stone with small marquise diamond accents in a 14k gold setting
$2,109–3.08 ctradiant–202414kt pave setting radiant solitaire; later replaced with a marquise stone from a different vendor
$2,120Lab-grown diamond3.03 ct–platinum2024Includes 2x1ct total weight blue diamond side stones
$2,150Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–Tulip/hidden-halo white gold setting; she loves it
$2,150Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Bought loose stone online then paid a jeweler to set it in a hidden halo band
$2,250Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctradiant–2025Radiant stone with two diamond halos; carat figure may include the halo stones
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald–2024Emerald-cut center from Brilliance.com; site was running 30% off lab diamonds at the time
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctradiantplatinum–Brilliant cut radiant, hidden halo, cathedral setting, 1.8mm band
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2025Ordered on a Black Friday sale; stone type not stated but the price implies lab-grown
$2,300–3 ctovalwhite gold20253ct oval center stone (writer unsure of exact grade, thinks F VVS2) in 14k white gold with peekaboo stones and hidden halo; originally quoted $2.6k, reduced to $2300; total diamond weight around 3.30ct
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.35 ct––2026Went custom on a budget well below what they saw in store and saved about 4-5k; writer wanted only lab
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctovalplatinum20263.09ct E VS1 oval diamond bought online for $620 with IGI cert; jeweler set it into a hidden-halo platinum ring with round accent stones for about $2300 total, using the online cert to push toward wholesale pricing
$2,300Lab-grown diamond3.35 ctother––3.35ct moval-cut stone sourced from Luvansh for 950; whole ring built by Victoria's Diamond Vault came to 2300
$2,321Lab-grown diamond3.35 ctoval–2026Budgeted $2300, final price came to $2321 for a modified-oval cut; this was their main ring, not a travel one
$2,336Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctovalplatinum20253.08ct E VVS2 lab oval, platinum pave twist setting; diamond price-matched down from Rare Carat's $5500 listing via Loose Grown Diamonds
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctovalgold20253.08ct lab moval (marquise-oval hybrid) sold as antique cut, disputed by buyers as lacking an open culet; 18k bezel setting, price covers stone plus setting
$2,400–3 ctcushion––Paid about the same as the asker's $2400 for their own 3ct cushion cut ring
$2,400Moissanite––gold–Moissanite center stone is almost 3 ct
$2,400–3 ctasscherplatinum–3ct E VS1 Asscher cut solitaire in platinum; recommends the vendor highly
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–gold–3.3ct lab in 18k gold for the same sum the person asking paid (2400); ring came 7 sizes too big and she wore it with a plastic sizer for over a year
$2,400Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalplatinum2026Picked the diamond first then found the jeweler with the least margin on it; slow turnaround, awkward mobile site
$2,500Lab-grown diamond2.97 ctroundyellow gold202318kt yellow gold 6-prong solitaire with a 2.97ct CVD lab-grown diamond, bought for an upcoming proposal
$2,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearrose gold202514k rose-gold French pave ring, 3ct D/VVS2 pear stone; bought online instead of an in-person jeweler to save money.
$2,550Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold–3ct lab marquise with an 18k hidden-halo setting, bought from a local jeweler who also supplies bigger brands
$2,600Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalwhite gold2024Out-the-door price, bought this week
$2,600Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctmarquisewhite gold20253.02ct lab marquise with 0.54ct pave, stone and 14k setting together; local jeweler custom-set it after ordering several center stones online
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3.22 ct–––3.22ct stone; less than one month of her husband's car payments.
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold202310k gold, 3.00ct F VS1 marquise; cites this as a cheaper comparable to the asker's ring
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Very pleased with the clarity and brilliance for the price
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Accepted the price knowing a good portion covers the small jeweler's overhead for custom service
$2,700Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct–white gold2025Matching quality side baguettes; kept the original Verragio halo setting and had the center stone reset
$2,800Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctemeraldgold202514k gold ring with platinum prongs and emerald-cut side baguettes totaling 0.035ct
$2,816Lab-grown diamond3 ctroundplatinum–Splurged on a specific designer solitaire setting; a similar non-designer setting is available online for about 650
$2,900Lab-grown diamond3 ct–gold2025The asker's post was deleted; price and appraisal reconstructed from answers addressing the person asking about a 3ct lab diamond ring
$2,900Lab-grown diamond3 ctround–2026Ring total before tax, after a price-matched diamond; the JM Care Plan was quoted separately at $499 since the price match excluded other site-wide discounts.
$2,900–3.07 ctmarquise–2026Old mine cut marquise stone sourced from a fellow online user; setting is 14k white gold with 0.5ct pave diamonds made by a local jeweler
$2,900–3 ctovalwhite gold–Lab-grown oval solitaire with hidden halo from a local family-owned business
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20233ct diamond with a custom setting, similar specs to the asker's ring; total included the setting.
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3.2 ctheart––Complete ring, offered as a much cheaper lab-diamond comparison to the asker's natural-diamond order
$3,000Moissanite–––2024Custom-made 3ct moissanite; writer estimates an equivalent diamond ring would have cost about $15k
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3.08 ct–yellow gold–Custom made; non-fluorescent; natural diamond accents in the hidden halo
$3,000–3.01 ct–––Also considered VVS1 stones around $4,000-5,000 before deciding on this one
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–white gold–14k white gold solitaire hidden halo; bought locally rather than at a chain store like Jared or Kay
$3,000–3 ctround––3ct round with setting, current ring; far cheaper than the first, possibly lab-grown
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantyellow gold–3ct radiant lab diamond bought loose, set locally in a custom pave setting with hidden halo, a little over $3k
$3,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Loose diamond from Calvera; ring custom-built through CustomMade including shipping
$3,000Sapphire3.11 ct–––Sapphire, 7.14x8.83x6.10mm dimensions, GIA certified; post title phrased cost as 'cost was 3000 grand', read as about $3,000 from context
$3,150Lab-grown diamond2.98 ctoval–2025Jeweler set the online-bought stone after failing to upsell their own lab-grown stone; quoted over 8000 replacement value for insurance
$3,300Lab-grown diamond3.05 ctmarquiserose gold202318k rose gold band with a 3.05ct F VS1 marquise; says there are better deals out there than the asker's price
$3,315Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctroundplatinum2023Bought a 3.01ct lab diamond platinum solitaire as a stock setting, whole ring together
$3,500Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ct–––Total carat weight across black and white diamonds in a halo-style ring; now divorced and selling
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctradiant–2024Bought for a girlfriend not yet proposed to; diamond $2,250, setting custom-made from a Frank Darling-inspired design, total out the door about $3,500; jeweler also price-matched an earlier Ritani quote
$3,500Sapphire3.36 ctroundgold2024Self-designed 3.36ct natural Ceylon sapphire with 3 round + 1 marquise diamond side stones; sapphire bought loose at an Asia gem expo, setting made by a local jeweller
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3.36 ct–white gold–Triple-excellent cut, 14k white gold with 0.50ct natural side stones; vendor is Fantasy Diamonds on W 47th St, ask for David
$3,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise–2026Writer wasn't fully certain of the exact price
$3,600Lab-grown diamond3.07 ctcushiongold2023Elongated cushion, marketed as super ideal cut grade; semi-custom engagement ring, stone and 18k gold setting together
$3,625Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctovalplatinum–Loose diamond bought separately about 40% off, set into a platinum pave-twist setting with 0.6ct accent diamonds (setting about 50% off, plus $200 to set); recommends buying stone and setting apart
$3,800Moissanite–––2016Custom gold/platinum setting plus a 3ct-equivalent moissanite stone; said to have saved about $40k versus natural
$3,800Diamond, lab or natural not said3.01 ct–white gold2025Diamond bought and set locally in a 'Little Vietnam' jewelry district; French pave setting and eternity band with a hidden halo; writer first said about $3k, then gave $3.8k as the full price
$3,800Other gemstone3.3 ctroundgold20173.3ct amethyst with a diamond-accented gold band; considering a Montana sapphire upgrade around their 10th anniversary, not yet bought
$3,800Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval–2025Oval center with pear and round accent stones, lab diamond chosen to save money, made by a longtime family jeweler with low overhead
$4,000Moissanite––––Custom hand-engraved ring with a custom-cut 3ct old mine cut moissanite center stone
$4,000Moissanite–oval––3ct oval moissanite with pear-shaped accent stones; sized locally then ordered online
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold20243ct marquise lab diamond with a simple gold band and 6-prong setting; stone was $3,400 of the $4,000 total
$4,000Moissanite–cushiongold2024Custom hand-cut antique elongated cushion moissanite from a domestic maker; $2,000 stone, $1,200 design/CAD/manufacturing, $800 hand engraving
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Current 3ct lab solitaire; feels more secure wearing it since it costs far less to insure than the original
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3.08 ctovalgold2026Pave band; she asked only for oval cut and gold, fiance chose the rest
$4,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.09 ct–––Bought a ring of similar size and cut to the asker's; out-the-door price with insurance and resizing was a little over $4000
$4,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Fiance paid for a 3ct lab diamond that gets constant compliments; a sister-in-law's pricier natural 1ct looks less impressive by comparison
$4,100Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctovalwhite gold2023Jeweler quoted $5000 for a 3ct oval; after shopping around, countered with 3.01ct E VVS2 excellent for $3800+$300 band; bought there near online price.
$4,100Lab-grown diamond3.12 ctmarquiseyellow gold–Found the stone via a price-comparison site then price-matched at a major online vendor; shipped with a 30-day return window
$4,200Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Bought a similar ring, 3.5 total carat weight with a 3ct center, calling it similar to the asker's Helzberg quote
$4,200–3 ctoval–2026Upgrade with an oval diamond band bought at a local jeweler; combined household income about $200k/year
$4,300Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Custom-designed ring with a 3ct lab stone
$4,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Ex bought a 3 ct lab-grown diamond ring for about $4,500 on a 24-month, 0%-interest payment plan
$4,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion––Lab center stone with a halo and pave band the writer believes are natural
$4,650Moissanite––––Grey moissanite centre with lab diamond accents, 3.01 total carat weight
$4,900Lab-grown diamond3.3 ctcushion–2024Ten-year upgrade, elongated cushion (1.3 ratio) lab stone plus setting and tax; kids' birthstones set inside the band.
$5,000Sapphire3 ctcushionrose gold–Halo and half the band set with diamonds, rose gold prong accents, husband designed it himself
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion––Elongated cushion lab stone with a custom-designed setting; not proposed yet at time of posting
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–platinum2025Upgrade ring being made, roughly 3ct total weight, due in a few weeks
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3.01 ct–white gold2026Partner negotiated up from her $1.5k opening figure; ring from a small Canadian jewelry brand
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––3ct lab stone with a custom setting
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctemerald––Paid for the convenience of a ring arriving complete rather than buying a loose stone and finding a setter
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctcushiongold–Elongated cushion cut, custom ring setting and band design
$5,000Lab-grown diamond3.11 ct–gold–Fancy-color lab diamond custom-designed with a local jeweler, thick gold band with diamond starbursts
$5,100–3 ctasscherplatinum–0.4ct tw side stones, double-prong setting like the asker's ring
$5,200Lab-grown diamond3 ctradiantplatinum2026Stone bought loose online for its specific length-to-width ratio; custom platinum split-shank setting with hidden halo and micro pave made separately by a jeweler
$5,300–2.9 ct–––Loose stone and setting bought separately from the same seller, recent purchase
$5,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Spent about $5k-$6k on a 3-carat lab-grown ring
$5,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Felt guilty about this price until reading the original buyers's much larger ask
$5,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––She chose a 3 ct lab stone; partner never asked the price and it came to 5.5k on about 80k combined income; no plan to upgrade
$5,500Lab-grown diamond3 ctovalgold–Oval solitaire on a gold band, called cheap for a stone this size
$5,600–3.02 ctcushionyellow gold–Marquise side stones with a hidden halo; thinks sourcing the stone separately could have cost less
$5,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold–Bezel setting with a 3.3mm cigar band and gold milling detail around the stone
$5,850Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Went with the lab-grown option after comparing color difference against moissanite in person
$5,900Lab-grown diamond3.03 ctmarquiseyellow gold2023Negotiated a $4,500 in-store quote down after finding the same stone online for about $3,100; finished ring came to about $5,900
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3.31 ctovalplatinum2025Out-the-door price included expedited shipping, engraving, presentation box, and free lab earring studs
$6,000–3 ctoval––Includes 24 additional accent diamonds and the setting
$6,000Sapphire3 ct–––3 ct sapphire instead of a diamond; the husband earned $100k at the time
$6,000–3 ctmarquise–2026The Sage style from designer Sarah O; writer wasn't certain of the exact price
$6,000Lab-grown diamond2.94 ct–––Gold solitaire with 6 mini clustered diamonds, total carat weight about 2.99; specs set locally, bought online
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2026Boyfriend bought it at an unnamed retailer; hidden halo setting, like the asker's ring
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Bought about 3 years before this comment
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquisegold–Total carat weight of two lab marquise stones, not a single stone; now wonders if it was overpriced
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3.07 ct––2025Switched from a flagged CVD stone to a bigger one after forum feedback; hand-forged custom ring quoted just over $6k, plus $750 more to reach 3ct; final 3.07ct stone secured, exact final total not restated
$6,000Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctroundyellow gold2026DG August Vintage OEC in a Stuller 14k crown solitaire, size 7.5; holiday sale cut the 9k list to 6k; resold two months later
$6,072Lab-grown diamond2.94 ctradiantyellow gold2025Custom-made with discounts; $860 mounting + $800 diamond-halo head + $214 lifetime warranty included in the $6072 total
$6,500–3 ct–––3.65 total carat weight including accent stones
$6,500–3.08 ctmarquisegold2026East-west setting; had the original center stone custom-replaced with a marquise and added tip prongs; total includes a $250 insurance add-on; 18k gold
$6,600Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctcushiongold2023Elongated cushion cut, 14k gold band; came with a GIA report and was insurance-appraised right after buying
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––3-carat lab diamond, said to cost less than an average natural 1-carat
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Fiance paid in two installments of $3,000-4,000 each.
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–platinum2022Paid about $7k for a 3ct F VS1 ring in a platinum setting in December 2022; felt like a steal then
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2023Paid about $7k for a 3ct lab ring with setting; a similar natural setting was quoted at $50k
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2024Paid around $7,000 for a 3-carat lab diamond from a local jeweler; comparable specs looked pricier online
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctpear–2025Thinks the asker's $10k quote for a smaller lab marquise is overpriced by comparison
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct–gold–Gold band cost more than the stone; jeweler said quality was nearly top-grade with no visible difference to the eye
$7,000Lab-grown diamond3.28 ct–––Engagement ring alone; writer helped pay as a shared purchase
$7,000–3 ctemerald––Includes tax; 8 small accent diamonds in the setting
$7,200Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2021Bought August 2021 with a simple solitaire setting; notes labs were much pricier then.
$7,300Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20233ct lab stone bought on Ritani, paired with a custom setting made in the diamond district for $1,300
$7,500Lab-grown diamond3 ct––20223-carat lab diamond described as not the cheapest option available
$7,700Lab-grown diamond3 ctpearplatinum2025Hidden halo, pave band
$7,800Lab-grown diamond3.04 ctround–2025Bought from James Allen; the diamond alone was about $5.5k before tax; ring was ultimately returned after community feedback that it was overpriced
$7,900–3.25 ct–gold–Single-stone ring with a gold band, bought via Brilliant Earth's online ring builder tool
$8,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct–––Writer isn't fully sure of the exact price, estimates around $8k; almost 3ct
$8,000Lab-grown diamond3.09 ctoval––29-year anniversary upgrade; mounting is Ashi Couture with 0.90ctw diamonds; separate 1-carat lab diamond band; total for everything $9,499
$8,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctasscher–2025Custom split-shank ring with kite-set side stones, nicknamed 'the Symphony'; partner recalled the price only approximately
$8,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3 ctcushion–2021Modern cushion cut, S-T color with no brown tint, no cert mentioned; writer says it cost about the same as the asker's quoted price
$9,500–3 ct–––3-carat ring described as the best specs for the price, found via Rare Carat's search tool
$10,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.33 ctround–20223.33 ct VVS2 round diamond ring bought Nov 2022; buyers said the cut lacked ideal optical symmetry despite the popular round shape
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3.32 ctovalplatinum2024Total ring with platinum setting came to about $10k after tax; chose a nicer stone than first shown
$10,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Three-stone ring bought after a discount; carat is the approx total weight of all three stones; resale offer came in far below this
$10,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Paid a bit more than the asker's roughly $10k lab quote, for an almost-3-carat natural diamond
$10,000–3 ct–platinum20253ct VS1 solitaire in platinum found on eBay for $10k, appraised at $20k retail; fiance bought it for her
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2021Almost 5 years before the 2026 comment; painful to see much lower current prices
$10,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushion––Two 1.5ct G VS1 square cushion stones at $5k each for a past-present-future style ring, bought before the pandemic
$10,200Diamond, lab or natural not said3.29 ct–––Appraised for insurance at almost $13k after paying $10,200; diamond quality varies a lot
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design; paid a $5k non-refundable deposit toward the $10.5k total for the ~3.3ct size they chose; buyers said it was overpriced
$10,500Lab-grown diamond3.3 ct––2024Custom design and setting from a small local jeweler; paid a non-refundable $5k deposit, about half the total, before work started
$10,750Lab-grown diamond3.11 ctcushion––Paid $10,500-11,000 (midpoint used); appraised higher at $13,000.
$11,000Natural diamond3.05 ctcushionyellow gold–Cathedral setting with hidden halo; stone bought from an Instagram seller who cuts gemstones, color grade as stated by writer
$11,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Light yellow fancy-color 3ct diamond and setting together; cheaper than a colorless stone would be
$12,000Lab-grown diamond3.35 ct–––3.35ct lab diamond, a slightly elongated cut, cited as a comparison against the asker's $58k quote for a 5ct lab
$12,000–3.1 ctemerald–2024Original online diamond order (about $12k) couldn't be returned; a local jeweler with a family tie did an even swap for a 3.10ct emerald-cut stone instead.
$13,000Lab-grown diamond3 ct––2022Paid about $13k for a 3ct lab diamond, estimating a similar mined stone would have cost upwards of $200k
$13,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctmarquise––Whole ring 13k; she estimates a natural stone that size would have been over 50k for the diamond alone
$14,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Previous ring; total weight 3ct natural set, later replaced by a lab solitaire
$15,000Lab-grown diamond3.18 ctroundplatinum–Pave band, cathedral setting, hidden halo with diamonds on every side but the prongs
$16,000Lab-grown diamond3 ctcushionyellow gold2022Elongated cushion lab diamond with a thick band, made by a small Austin jeweler
$20,000Natural diamond3 ctovalplatinum2025Bought ahead of a proposal; natural stone confirmed in comments, clean to the eye despite SI2 clarity with twinning wisps, needles, and an indented natural
$20,000Natural diamond3.28 ctcushion–2022Old mine cut stone plus setting bought together for a little over $20k
$20,000Natural diamond3 ct––2020She still comments on it almost daily
$20,000Lab-grown diamond3.01 ctoval–2020Partner's 3.01ct oval lab diamond bought about five years before this 2025 comment
$21,000Natural diamond3 ct––2005Bought about 20+ years before this 2025 comment; buyer now unconcerned about resale value on a planned lab anniversary ring
$21,000Natural diamond2.9 ct––1999Her second engagement; center solitaire with channel-set side stones totaling about 1.0ct
$25,000Natural diamond3 ctroundplatinum–Bought from a motivated seller; GIA graded cut and symmetry VG, uncommon for an old European cut; appraised 2018
$26,000–3 ct–––Writer suspects a discount because his aunt is a jeweler
$30,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Buyer's own natural diamond ring, cited to argue the asker's lab ring was reasonably priced
$32,000Lab-grown diamond3.02 ctradiant––A very elongated radiant cut; Dreamstone is a lab-grown diamond brand
$34,000Natural diamond3.26 ctoval––Bought in NYC's diamond district
$35,000Natural diamond3.25 ctround–2020Paid mid-$30k range in March 2020 for a 3.25ct round VVS1 natural diamond, color one grade from best but not recalled
$35,000Natural diamond3.1 ct–––Buyer's own antique old mine cut, called it roughly the same as the asker's stated $30-40k budget
$35,000Natural diamond3.26 ctovalplatinum–Bought some years before the comment; appraised well above the purchase price
$36,000Natural diamond3 ct–––3 ct natural stone (~$30k) plus $6k Tacori setting; writer earns about $150k/year; wife rarely wears it now due to work gloves
$37,000Natural diamond3 ctoval–20003ct oval center diamond plus about 2ct of surrounding diamonds, all natural; now rarely worn because it's heavy, replaced day-to-day by three thin ~$800 stacking bands
$40,000Natural diamond3 ct–platinum–Partial cathedral channel set, plus about 1 additional carat of diamonds set into the band
$45,000Natural diamond3 ctcushionwhite gold–Custom-made ring with a natural cushion center just over 3ct plus two matching natural side stones in 14k white gold, stone sourced from Belgium; Blue Nile pricing for similar specs looked comparable
$45,000Natural diamond3 ct–––Described as super ideal cut; $40k of the $45k total was the center diamond alone
$45,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.2 ctcushionplatinum2022Second ring, elongated cushion with 0.7 tcw tapered baguette side stones, bought about 3 years before this post through the same NYC jeweler
$47,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.04 ctroundplatinum–Triple excellent cut, 100% eye-clean, medium fluorescence; custom hand-forged platinum setting; total includes tax
$49,000Natural diamond3.08 ct–––Insures it for $360 a year as one of over a dozen pieces on a single policy
$50,000Natural diamond3.11 ctpear––Halo setting
$50,000Natural diamond3.21 ctoval––Original budget was under $40k but raised it once a stone hit every C without compromise
$50,000Diamond, lab or natural not said3.01 ct–––Price given for the entire ring, center stone specs only described
$60,000Natural diamond3.38 ctround–20263.38ct natural round E VVS1 excellent-cut ring, almost $60,000; cited to show many big stones seen online are actually lab grown
$70,000Natural diamond3.3 ctoval–20193.3ct D VVS2 natural oval bought in 2019
$70,000Natural diamond3.01 ctemeraldplatinum–Tapered baguettes 0.25ct each; got wholesale pricing through a trusted jeweler

Sources and method

Price reports on this page come from 203 public discussions where buyers answered in their own words. Each comment that stated what someone paid became one row; notes are paraphrased, never quoted.

The largest discussions used here (60)

A ring counts here when the buyer gave the center stone's weight and it fell between 2.9 and 3.39 ct. Moissanite weights are diamond-equivalent, as moissanite is sold. Quotes not taken, price bounds and rings reported second-hand are left out.